Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Most unhelpful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Most unhelpful airport. There is no information point and no staff available to ask, the check in desks are only staffed for brief times for boarding passengers, there is literally no one to ask for help or guidance. In desperation we went into Icelandair's reception/shop - they couldn’t have been less helpful, very dismissive and abrupt. How disappointing is that, the National airline too snooty to help travellers! After a wonderful holiday at a great hotel, with many amazing grips and being astounded at the beauty of Iceland the airport was a complete let down .
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Awful airport experience. I have flown out of this airport twice now and both times it has been chaotic and shambolic. On the most recent visit we had checked in online - which is pointless with their system as you have to print your own baggage labels. The machine did not print the labels so we asked for help - the helper tried (once) but could not make another machine work either - so directed us to the normal check in desk process. This required waiting in an extremely long queue. I have travelled to many countries / many airports in the world - and this is definitely the worst. When you first arrive it resembles a "disaster" zone rather than an airport. Noisy, chaotic, all over the place, unhelpful helpers. As the gateway to a great country and great holiday the management really do need to visit other airports and see how it is done.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Not a great experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Perhaps I’m alone in this experience or it has something to do with it being 6am, but the staff beyond check in were very grumpy, disrespectful and in one case, outright antagonistic. Not a great experience. Coupled with a chaotic check in, I had a terrible time. Signage was actually pretty good though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Good options of restaurants"

(France)

Unverified | Very smooth and friendly check-in, security and passport control procedures. Good options of restaurants. At peak times the boarding area gets really crammed but one can always wait at a nearby café. Liked its mid-sized aspect. Boarding a bus to the aircraft can be considered as a drawback but it gives an opportunity to experience the icelandic pure fresh air!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"super nice staff"

(Denmark)

Unverified | This airport has comfortable seating in their waiting area. There is super nice staff and even the security people are nice. We found the airport quite beautiful and easy to get around. It's rare in our time you have a nice experience in an airport these days and I can honestly say that Keflavik airport offers a friendly reminder to how it should be to travel. Traveling is expensive so to have a bad airport experience is really a nasty way to start or end a trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Check-in was chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Check-in was chaotic. Nobody to ask what do. I had checked in online but bag drop took 1 hour of queuing. Why don't they have" self bag drop" like at Stockholm Arlanda. Then queue to get through security was long. Then call to gate but with 4 gates queuing next to one another in a narrow corridor, it was chaotic. Waiting in this area for 30 minutes. Then boarding with intertwining queues and one person checking boarding pass for 280 people on plane. Then Final call went on screen when only half the people were dealt with in queue. Plane was then 30 minutes late leaving airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport signs were not clear"

(United States)

Unverified | We had only a 1-hour layover in KEF en route to AMS so we were concerned about making our next flight. There was no one in the KEF information booth, and no one else to ask questions. The airport signs were not clear in telling how to get to the next terminal. After we cleared passport check we stood in a long line in a hallway with other people as confused as us. We did make our connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control was poorly organized"

(United States)

Verified Review | I was truly shocked to see how poorly designed this airport is and unable to handle transit passengers - which, as far as I can understand, is the modus operandi for Icelandair. Since the connection times are relavitely tight, I was expecting to see information on connecting flights right at the arrival gate. There was none, nor did the pilot gave any information before the landing as is the case for many other airlines (we were traveling from Europe to US). The passport control was poorly organized, as the lines were interwining. There is very limited seating available in the terminal (it would be terrible to wait ther for any delays). The prices at the airport were, not surprisingly though, pretty crazy (note that one has to buy food on Icelandair even for intercontinental flights). The departure gates are very close to each other so that people lining up to wait for their flights were completely confused which lines goes where. No staff was available to help. Once the gates were open, we had to waith for another 15 minutes to get boarded onto the buses (the first time I saw buses to get onto intercontinental flights). Once on a bus and at the airport, another 10 minutes went for waiting till the doors were opened. This all is happening before getiing onto a fairly long and tiresome flight and I felt truly sorry for people traveling with kids. Overall, I will think now twice before falling for Icelandair relatively cheaper prices.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"critical reviews are overstated"

(United States)

Verified Review | Toronto to Keflavik return July 2017 (about the third time I've used this airport). I can see the bases for critical reviews but I think some are overstated. There are airports in the world where one worries about safety and is hassled by aggressive peddlers as soon as one clears security; those deserve 1 out of 10, and Keflavik is nothing like that. There is free wifi, the airport is clean; there is a frequent bus service into Reykjavik and almost no car traffic whatsoever; there are multiple bathrooms, not just one set; and there are places after security to fill water bottles for free (but they can be hard to find, so ask). Immigration and security were fast for us. Very limited gate seating, however, is a significant problem, and it is common to see many people standing in line, sometimes to the point of confusion and clogged hallways. This is partly indeed because connections to other parts of Europe are effectively scheduled so that there are not long layovers. It did seem boarding was done without enough concern for passenger comfort (e.g. many people on our flight stuck standing on a stairway for 15 minutes). The car rental return (unlike pick-up), while no problem for me, is a moderate a walk from the terminal. Avis, at least, didn’t indicate that there was any shuttle from that particular location; in terrible weather, or for a person with limited mobility, this would be a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Immigration and security were fast for us"

(United States)

Verified Review | YYZ-KEF return July 2017 (about the third time I've used this airport). I can see the bases for critical reviews but I think some are overstated. There are airports in the world where one worries about safety and is hassled by aggressive peddlers as soon as one clears security, those deserve 1 out of 10, and Keflavik is nothing like that. There is free wifi, the airport is clean, there is a frequent bus service into Reykjavik and almost no car traffic whatsoever, there are multiple bathrooms, not just one set, and there are places after security to fill water bottles for free (but they can be hard to find—ask). Immigration and security were fast for us. Very limited gate seating, however, is a significant problem, and it is common to see many people standing in line, sometimes to the point of confusion and clogged hallways. This is partly indeed because connections to other parts of Europe are effectively scheduled so that there are not long layovers. It did seem boarding was done without enough concern for passenger comfort (e.g., many people on our flight stuck standing on a stairway for 15 minutes). The car rental return (unlike pick-up), while no problems for me, is a moderate a walk from the terminal. Avis, at least, didn’t indicate that there was any shuttle from that particular location, in terrible weather, or for a person with limited mobility, this would be a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes