Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 121 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Good options of restaurants"

(France)

Unverified | Very smooth and friendly check-in, security and passport control procedures. Good options of restaurants. At peak times the boarding area gets really crammed but one can always wait at a nearby café. Liked its mid-sized aspect. Boarding a bus to the aircraft can be considered as a drawback but it gives an opportunity to experience the icelandic pure fresh air!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"super nice staff"

(Denmark)

Unverified | This airport has comfortable seating in their waiting area. There is super nice staff and even the security people are nice. We found the airport quite beautiful and easy to get around. It's rare in our time you have a nice experience in an airport these days and I can honestly say that Keflavik airport offers a friendly reminder to how it should be to travel. Traveling is expensive so to have a bad airport experience is really a nasty way to start or end a trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Check-in was chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Check-in was chaotic. Nobody to ask what do. I had checked in online but bag drop took 1 hour of queuing. Why don't they have" self bag drop" like at Stockholm Arlanda. Then queue to get through security was long. Then call to gate but with 4 gates queuing next to one another in a narrow corridor, it was chaotic. Waiting in this area for 30 minutes. Then boarding with intertwining queues and one person checking boarding pass for 280 people on plane. Then Final call went on screen when only half the people were dealt with in queue. Plane was then 30 minutes late leaving airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport signs were not clear"

(United States)

Unverified | We had only a 1-hour layover in KEF en route to AMS so we were concerned about making our next flight. There was no one in the KEF information booth, and no one else to ask questions. The airport signs were not clear in telling how to get to the next terminal. After we cleared passport check we stood in a long line in a hallway with other people as confused as us. We did make our connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control was poorly organized"

(United States)

Verified Review | I was truly shocked to see how poorly designed this airport is and unable to handle transit passengers - which, as far as I can understand, is the modus operandi for Icelandair. Since the connection times are relavitely tight, I was expecting to see information on connecting flights right at the arrival gate. There was none, nor did the pilot gave any information before the landing as is the case for many other airlines (we were traveling from Europe to US). The passport control was poorly organized, as the lines were interwining. There is very limited seating available in the terminal (it would be terrible to wait ther for any delays). The prices at the airport were, not surprisingly though, pretty crazy (note that one has to buy food on Icelandair even for intercontinental flights). The departure gates are very close to each other so that people lining up to wait for their flights were completely confused which lines goes where. No staff was available to help. Once the gates were open, we had to waith for another 15 minutes to get boarded onto the buses (the first time I saw buses to get onto intercontinental flights). Once on a bus and at the airport, another 10 minutes went for waiting till the doors were opened. This all is happening before getiing onto a fairly long and tiresome flight and I felt truly sorry for people traveling with kids. Overall, I will think now twice before falling for Icelandair relatively cheaper prices.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"critical reviews are overstated"

(United States)

Verified Review | Toronto to Keflavik return July 2017 (about the third time I've used this airport). I can see the bases for critical reviews but I think some are overstated. There are airports in the world where one worries about safety and is hassled by aggressive peddlers as soon as one clears security; those deserve 1 out of 10, and Keflavik is nothing like that. There is free wifi, the airport is clean; there is a frequent bus service into Reykjavik and almost no car traffic whatsoever; there are multiple bathrooms, not just one set; and there are places after security to fill water bottles for free (but they can be hard to find, so ask). Immigration and security were fast for us. Very limited gate seating, however, is a significant problem, and it is common to see many people standing in line, sometimes to the point of confusion and clogged hallways. This is partly indeed because connections to other parts of Europe are effectively scheduled so that there are not long layovers. It did seem boarding was done without enough concern for passenger comfort (e.g. many people on our flight stuck standing on a stairway for 15 minutes). The car rental return (unlike pick-up), while no problem for me, is a moderate a walk from the terminal. Avis, at least, didn’t indicate that there was any shuttle from that particular location; in terrible weather, or for a person with limited mobility, this would be a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Immigration and security were fast for us"

(United States)

Verified Review | YYZ-KEF return July 2017 (about the third time I've used this airport). I can see the bases for critical reviews but I think some are overstated. There are airports in the world where one worries about safety and is hassled by aggressive peddlers as soon as one clears security, those deserve 1 out of 10, and Keflavik is nothing like that. There is free wifi, the airport is clean, there is a frequent bus service into Reykjavik and almost no car traffic whatsoever, there are multiple bathrooms, not just one set, and there are places after security to fill water bottles for free (but they can be hard to find—ask). Immigration and security were fast for us. Very limited gate seating, however, is a significant problem, and it is common to see many people standing in line, sometimes to the point of confusion and clogged hallways. This is partly indeed because connections to other parts of Europe are effectively scheduled so that there are not long layovers. It did seem boarding was done without enough concern for passenger comfort (e.g., many people on our flight stuck standing on a stairway for 15 minutes). The car rental return (unlike pick-up), while no problems for me, is a moderate a walk from the terminal. Avis, at least, didn’t indicate that there was any shuttle from that particular location, in terrible weather, or for a person with limited mobility, this would be a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"long lines, poor signage"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Total disregard for passenger convenience caused by having incoming and outgoing flights arrive and depart within a short window of time. As a result, huge overcrowding, long lines, poor signage, stressful transfers. Will avoid Icelandair again unless dollar discount is huge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"got to be one of the worst airports"

(United States)

Verified Review | This has got to be one of the worst airports I have been to in my life! Seriously Iceland if you want to be a destination and stop over do something! Where do I start? Ok, how about restrooms, one centrally located restroom when you have thousands of travelers really does not cut it! How about the gates? No areas to sit and wait for your flight oh that's right there are seats 8, yes 8 at the gate I was waiting at. No water Fountian's to refill water bottles instead you would rather have people just purchase plastic bottles? Yup that's what we need in our landfills. And that seating bench going down the main hall to the gates just makes navigating your way all the more difficult. If I never have to return to this airport again it would be to soon.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"adequately staffed with pleasant and helpful people"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had read horror stories about Keflavik on this web site and others. I was prepared for the worst. But in fact, the experience was the most pleasant or our recent trip to the UK & Iceland- despite the fact that we were there on a afternoon when multiple flights from WOW and other airlines were all departing within the same 45 minute window. WOW Airlines' automated check-in and baggage check was quick and easy. When we had a question, there were several WOW staff wearing bright vests for easy ID nearby who were pleasant and helpful. The security line and process took a total of 6 minutes. It was very organized and again, adequately staffed with pleasant and helpful people. The duty free shop was huge and spotless. It lead to a large modern seating area with many available bench seats. The seats had free power and USB outlets for phone charging or other electronic needs. There was a flight status board easily visible from the seats and you could hear announcements clearly. The seating area was surrounded by clean, new, delightful stores and food providers. There were huge, clean restrooms and a water fountain- all free. There was free good WiFi throughout the terminal with simple, non-pass-worded connection. Sinage was clear and visible. There was an information desk available. The place was calm, clean and though busy, very well managed. We relaxed, shopped, picked-up a few things and about one half hour before our flight was to depart, we headed to the gate. The gate area was a bit crowded, but the line moved steadily and the check-in was simple and reasonably staffed. Unlike arriving at Keflavik on WOW, where a bus was required to get from the plane to the terminal, we boarded via a standard jet-bridge onto WOW's beautiful new AirBus 320. The plane actually boarded ahead of schedule. The efficient WOW staff verified that everyone was on board and we departed early. This was easily the best airport experience that I have had. I recognize that Keflavik has recently struggled under the crush of visitors and flights, but they have worked diligently to improve the airport (and there is evidence of a huge new Arrivals complex coming soon). I recognize that not long ago, none of this was true about Keflavik, but they have gotten their act together recently, and once the new Arrivals operation is in place, it will be a world-class Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes