Vote Now  

Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"toilets to dream for"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Two transits in February on way to the US from London. Smart little airport. Excellent free wifi and toilets to dream for! The best I have ever seen at an airport. Food and drink expensive and a bit limited but free drinking water available as well for a refill. No secondary security for transit which is good. Bus to the aircraft on one occasion and driver was attentive to check all doors were secure and that the icy tarmac had been salted before passengers entered. This small effort was actually impressive. Would be pleased to transit KEF again. And some stunning scenery before landing. The only negative thing about KEF is the lack of seating at boarding gates which is very limited. Most people sitting on the floor for transit periods. And well done with the "outdoor" style smoking areas.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"impossible to find the gate information online in advance"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Recently on a trip from Finland to the US I only had 40 minutes from one gate to the other. First, it is impossible to find the gate information online in advance. This means dashing out of one plane to look for monitors and next dash to the departure gate. Secondly, if one is traveling to the US there are 2 more "passport" checks to go (and I am a US citizen). In one of the the queues people are lined up on some stairs. What about people that have problems standing or walking? Maybe Iceland is only for fit, sporty people. No problem with that, but then they should advertise that if you are not fit then don't go there. Iceland is a beautiful country, the Airport needs to improve a lot so it doesn't leave a sour taste to otherwise a nice experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the majority of staff don’t like to help passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My mother and I arrived at Keflavik airport at around 6am on Friday 28 October 2016 nearly two hours before our flight F1494 was due to leave for Birmingham airport. We’d travelled from Keflavik 18 months previously and had one of the worst experiences at any airport we’ve visited in over 30 years of worldwide travel – we were hoping it had improved since then. Whilst I would say it has improved slightly, they still have a long way to go before it can be said that Keflavik is a welcoming airport. We went to join the lengthy queue for Icelandair so as to check in but we were informed by a dour looking female member of staff that we had to print out our own boarding passes before we could join the queue for this operation. As neither Mum nor myself are technically minded I asked two other female members of staff if they could help us? One of them just walked off. I have noticed that the majority of staff at Keflavik don’t like to help passengers as it prevents them talking to their colleagues. The other lady was new to the job and was hoping to make a good impression, so she assisted us – let’s hope it stays that way. I’d advise all passengers to arrive well in advance of their flight time as all the queues are long and if you get in the wrong one you are in trouble. The queue from customs was so long it stretched to the top of the stairs and lift exit, which prevented people from getting out. This must surely be a health and safety risk? All of the places to eat were full and there are very few seats elsewhere, so be prepared for a lot of standing, especially when waiting at the boarding gate as there are several flights waiting to be boarded in the same small space. The airport could definitely benefit from expansion as at best it’s a shambles, at worst – chaos, but more than that, the staff need to stop seeing travellers as an inconvenience and realise it’s part of their job to be of assistance. If staff don’t want to do what is expected of them then maybe they should ask themselves if they are in the right job and if not, let someone else do it (and that doesn’t mean the passengers!) I would love to visit Reykjavik more often but the thought of having to go through Keflavik at the end of a hopefully enjoyable holiday more than puts me off. Iceland is becoming more and more popular for visitors and the people I’ve met in Reykjavik have been amongst the friendliest in the world, but their fellow countrymen and women at Keflavik let them down big time. All staff could do with a thorough performance management check and, if necessary, be sent for further training so they can be made fully aware that they should be approachable, helpful, courteous and patient, something that sadly they are still miles away from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Utter Chaos"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Utter Chaos. More than an hour and half from arriving to getting through security. Snaking queues of confused passengers everywhere. Not enough signs. Ground staff were trying their best but clearly the shambolic nature of passing through this airport is common as they were very well practised at giving instructions. There were up to 6 planes due to take off at any one time which clearly isn't possible and ensured that the airport was packed. Get there early would be my advice. And bring a book.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not equipped for large passenger numbers"

(United Kingdom)

An expensive airport even for Icelandic prices. Stressful waiting for flight because of continual drilling and machinery noise. Easyjet boarding announcements confusing as they omitted destination! Poor seating arrangements and lack of seating mean this airport is not equipped for large passenger numbers. Too much space allowed for money making restaurants, duty free shops and gift areas.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"there is extremely limited seating"

(United States)

This is the story of the little airport that could. KEF has always been a very efficent airport for arrivals, departures and transits. However, with the recent massive increase in tourism to Iceland with so many new flights, it has been a testing time for KEF. Last week, we arrived during the morrning rush from 0630-0730 but even so the wait for Immigration was less than 10 minutes. Customs was a walk through. On departure, also during the height of the busy time in the afternoon, security took less than 5 minutes and passport control to North America had no line. The problem is that at the gate areas, after passport control there is extremely limited seating. This does need to be addressed but as the airport completes more gates over the next year, the crowding will be diminished. There is still the need to bus people to and from aircraft and yesterday it was efficient. Not the best airport in the world but way better than most US airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"confusing signage, too many stairs"

(United States)

What a mess. Went through here twice - once at 4am and once at 2pm. You'd think a small airport like this would be easy to use, but it's not. Confusing signage, too many stairs, not enough chairs. While boarding, rather than sitting in a nearby boarding area and waiting for your section of the plane to board, everyone lines up in the hallway for at least 30 minutes before a flight. It's not so bad at 4am, but at 2pm all the planes for WOW get in and go out at the same time, and the departure area is crammed with people in long, very slow-moving lines attempting to buy food and board planes. I had about 90 minutes to connect between flights and tried to buy a sandwich and drinks in the airport cafe before a flight, but gave up because the line was so long that I knew I wouldn't be able to do it before my plane left. When you offload from a plane, everyone is routed through the duty-free area in the hopes that you'll buy something. The problem is the people shopping block the ones trying to get out of the arrivals area, which causes a human traffic jam.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not enough room, no seats"

(Netherlands)

Lately I fly often through Keflavik, sometimes because I have business there and other times when connecting between Europe and Canada. Although both Iceland Air and Wow Air offer good products/services this can't be said about Keflavik Airport. Though there is improvement over the last weeks, but still when you have to depart from the higher D gates (21-29 I believe) you are brought to this central bus gate area and that is just horrible. Not enough room, no seats and several flight departing/boarding around same time. And then you get in the bus and go to the aircraft in blowing wind and rain/snow. Now I assume that this will be over when the expansion of KEF is completed? The other deficiency I noticed recently is the Aircraft De-icing. Now you would expect that for an Icelandic airport they would have top of the bill Aircraft De-icing right? Wrong! Old trucks, just one per aircraft and it looked terrible, and I have a little experience so I know when I see poor de-icing. I couldn't really tell (it was dark on both occasions) if it was the airport or the handlers, but they should address this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic Keflavik needs help"

(Canada)

Chaotic Keflavik needs help! This airport can't handle the number of visitors it's getting now. It desperately needs to streamline procedures, change the design and flow of both the terminal and air traffic. Airport staff also need retraining. Until then, things will get worse. Another 700,000 visitors are expected in 2017. Good luck to them all! Arrival: About 6 flights arrived within minutes of each other. That's 1000+ passengers. There are no covered ramps from the planes to the terminal, so expect to get wet and windblown. There's no washroom on the arrivals level. Once back to the main level, it's time for the thousand+ to go up one escalator to customs. The escalator gets shut down during these busy times, so expect to wait. There is a stairway up, but it's blocked by the crowds. Once through customs, manned by police officers who don't say a word or even look at you, it's time to go back downstairs and take the long walk through a leaky walkway and 2 duty-free shops to get to the baggage carousel. After waiting at the only operating carousel, our bags didn't arrive. This was the posted carousel for our flight, but instead our bags were put somewhere else, just dropped on the terminal floor, never on any carousel. The long wait was a complete waste. Okay. Flybus staff person was not helpful at all, so we took Gray Line. Departure: Hurricane Matthew was blowing itself out on Iceland, but this was the least of our worries. You really do need at least 2.5 hours before departure here. Very few self-check terminals were working. Washrooms in this area are not sufficient: 3 cubicles for the ladies. Past the baggage self-check and the hostile woman supervising it, you can expect to pass through 2 duty-free shops again. Yes, Iceland wants you to empty your pockets and forces you through the aisles to your departure gate. Yes, this is heavily staffed, unlike the rest of the airport. 4 flights were scheduled for take-off simultaneously in our gate area, and a fifth 15 minutes later. Yes, that's a throng of 1000+ again, crammed in like cattle in an area with only a few seats. People stand touching shoulders, and sit on the floor. This is a silent airport. So, guess what? Someone decided to change our gate. No announcement was made. We were already past the sign showing the gate number and, oh well, it said we were at the right gate anyways. Departure time came and went without announcement. Someone found a staff person, who told them. They started shuffling to get out, and word spread through the crowd, so then those who weren't trying to push through the crowd to change gates were trying to push to their airline counter. Soon, all the people from 2 flights were turning around. Once we were at the new gate, an announcement was made that all flights were cancelled indefinitely. Oh, wait, it's a silent airport again. People are boarding our flight. This is not on the display board. The board is a cruel joke. Oh, look, a sub-hurricane, blowing bags and laminated pamphlets at us, as we lean into the wind/rain, trying not to be blown off our feet. We're late by 2 hours, soaking wet. No other flights are leaving now. We pray. KEF airport is run by evil gnomes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most dysfunctional airport"

(Iceland)

Verified Review | I travel 35+ weeks each year around the globe and Keflavik is the absolute worst most dysfunctional airport it has ever been my displeasure to set foot in. First off, trying to get to the airport is impossible as there are no signs on the highways. Once in the airport there are still zero signs telling you where to go. The bag check in process is complete chaos as there are kiosks, self bag drop lines, check in lines, and about 10 times as many people as the airport should be able to handle. The security line is another joke. From the person stopping everyone to ask their nationality to the security this is another complete wreck. Better make sure you take literally every piece of lint out of your pocket or the detectors will go off. And then you are going to have to go to the back of the line while the rest of your stuff gets manhandled by security. Now that you've already been in the airport for 4+ hours there's another 15 minute walk just to get to the gates. And all of the flights leave at the same time from the same area so it's just a big room with people squished shoulder to shoulder. Oh and you also have to cram on a bus to get to the airport. I would not come back to Iceland solely just to avoid the airport. It is that bad. The duty free store is nice though. They have about 5 times more people working there than at the bag check in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 82 Reviews