Top 100 Airports  

Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 82 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"absolute joke of an airport"

(United States)

They have paid employees who go around making sure customers haven't dozed off to sleep in the airport. Customers who paid hundreds of dollars for a plane ticket will be awakened by these individuals for catching a nap before a flight. For such a beautiful, friendly country, this airport is a disgrace. I was just rudely informed by a security guard that I could not sit on my mat because that constituted camping. Literally was just sitting on a small inflatable mat on the floor because there are so few seats and it is a cold, hard floor. What an absolute joke of an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no waiting areas"

(Canada)

Horrible airport to travel through. Avoid taking Icelandair - not worth the few bucks cheaper. Understandably this is a major hub between North America and Europe, but that doesn't mean you don't have to supply seating. Sitting on the floor for hours on the way to Europe and 2 hrs on the way home is ridiculous. No waiting areas so it's either stand or sit on the floor. Lineups everywhere. Stupid thinking on the part of Iceland.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a chaotic mess"

(United States)

To say that Keflavik International Airport is a chaotic mess is an understatement. From the moment you land until the moment you take off, you are shunted through line after line with virtually no one there to offer any information or direction. The marketing of low fares offered by Icelandair and WOW has done its job, but the airport is not equipped to handle the huge numbers of people who are taking advantage of them. Air traffic control seems overwhelmed as well. To get to your gate you must run a gauntlet of people, many of whom simply sit anywhere they can. You sometimes have to step over and around groups that are having a "picnic." Once you get to your gate area, there is no place to sit. Passengers must organize themselves into lines and stand. There is a lot of construction going on. So one can hope that these problems will eventually be solved. But until then, Keflavik may have the word "international" in its title, but it is more like a regional airport with delusions of grandeur.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"does not live up to the expectations"

(Sweden)

I agree with the previous reviewers that this airport does not live up to the expectations we had after the massive stopover PR campaigns. We were looking forward to a nice stopover in Iceland on our way from the US to Sweden, but the experience at the arrival to Keflavik was horrible. Extremely crowded, long wait for luggage, no car rental representative waiting in the arrival hall, instead we had to walk for 5 minutes to pick up the car. The luggage storage was located at least a 10 minutes walk in the other direction. Since we had lots of luggage, we had to make two trips there, having to pay the parking fee at the airport twice. Both luggage storage and parking extremely over-priced. We will not recommend anyone to go to Keflavik Airport or re-visit ourselves.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no idea how to handle volume"

(United States)

We've dubbed Keflavik airport as "Not Ready For Prime Time Player". They have no idea how to handle any kind of volume. The airport design is set up for making people wait uncomfortably for everything - food, drink, and even their flight departure. They've provided about a quarter of the seats needed to accommodate the people waiting for flights. There's long lines for everything and hardly enough room to walk around all the lines. They are terrible at providing flight updates, unless you consider "on time" status to be anytime within 2 hours or so. We had a 1.5 hour layover there and wanted food, but the line was too long to get through before our flight displayed as "on time". It ended up being somewhere over an hour late, yet the status never changed. If we had known we would have waited in the long line for food. All the people working there are very nice, but pretty incompetent. We strongly suggest avoiding this airport if at all possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic, confusing, overcrowded, inefficient"

(United States)

My 12 year old daughter and I spent 3 weeks traveling in 4 countries and made an Iceland stopover our last adventure. Big mistake! Keflavik airport was designed and built for 200,000 people, and they have put 1,000,000 people in it. It's pretty clear that the people of Iceland are capitalizing on a successful advertising campaign, but they are in it for the money. They don't care about your experience as a traveler. They add new stores so you will spend your money there but not new seating or organization to help the crushed masses move through the halls. Want to purchase something? No problem. But if you want to find a seat, forget it. Want to know where you're flight departs? Nope. That's a secret. You need to wait in the shopping area for a last minute update on the board. Did you find your gate? Congratulations. I bet you can't find a seat because there are 5 seats for 200 people. Oh, and mind where you stand while you wait for the secret silent signal that it's time to board the plane - people are passing through to get to other gates. You are going to need your passport out so it can be checked by 10 different people in the span of 40 minutes. Need to pick up your bags? When we arrived, there were 2 carousels for 13 arriving flights, and the bags were being handled manually. So settle in, it's going to take a while. My whole family intended to travel back to Iceland on our next journey but I had such a negative experience in Keflavik that I refuse to return. They want my money but they treat me disrespectfully with they way they manage their chaotic, confusing, overcrowded, inefficient airport. They don't care about you or me. They want your money.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an airport in total chaos"

(United States)

This is our 2nd visit to Iceland. Previously we traveled in 2013. Keflavik was disorganized then with few seats at the gate area but our recent visit we encountered an airport in total chaos. Arrival was fine. We then departed for London after a 5 day stay in Iceland. Keflavik makes no announcements of flight gates or delays. Icelandair checkin was very good. There are about 10 seats per gate and flights were delayed. The flight back from London was dreadful. We left from Heathrow an oasis of calm to an arrival in Keflavik that was bedlam. People milling around not knowing where their gates. Flights were delayed with no information as to departure time. Again, 10 seats at departure gate for a plane of over 200 passengers. A bus draws up to take you to plane. There is no orderly boarding. No seat numbers are called. Just pushing to get on the bus. Never again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2 hours to deliver checked baggage"

(United States)

Over capacity at Keflavik Airport. No seating at gates. 2 hours to deliver checked baggage. Large backpacks delivered to "odd sized baggage" and because of the number of travelers who come here backpacking there are crowds of people waiting in one corner. Upon arrival from our San Francisco flight we waited in line for 10 mins for breakfast and then were told that they couldn't sell us the food because we were arrivals not departures and there's a different tax bracket. At least put a sign up for this ridiculous rule.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not enough seating"

(Canada)

This airport is clearly over capacity. It was designed to carry half the passengers than it does. People are bumping into each other as arriving and departing passengers pass through same narrow corridors. Some of the gates have line ups on sides of these corridors making them even narrower. There is not enough seating for waiting passengers. You can get plenty of food, which is quite tasty and reasonably priced, but then good luck finding a place to sit down to eat it in comfort. The airport is a victim of the success of Iceland's tourism campaign and Iceland's cheap airlines as many passengers use the airport to transfer connections. If you plan on doing that, I would suggest paying the price differential and avoid this airport. When trying to check our luggage, we were shuttled in to a self serve area where you put your luggage on a scale, scan your boarding pass and luggage tags. Great idea, except different scales where showing different weight and our piece got rejected as overweight on one scale but was fine on another. Have you heard of scale calibration or increasing error tolerances? To the management: please travel to other hub airports and learn about terminal design and build another terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"thought this was a great airport"

(Canada)

We thought this was a great airport. We travelled from Toronto to Glasgow with a connection her on our outbound journey and from Glasgow to Toronto with a 5 day stopover on our inbound. For our connecting flight we literally got off our (Icelandair) plane at one gate and had to walk for a short distance to our new gate. Boarding passes had been provided in Toronto for both flights. Signage was easy and the airport was quite quiet when we arrived so seating was not an issue. One huge plus for us - travelling with a 2 year old - was the availability of strollers. Our son is on the cusp of not needing his so we travelled without it but he was asleep when we arrived. Having strollers available in the terminal was a great idea. Arriving back in this airport from Glasgow on our way home we were staying for a few days so came through security rather than just connected. There is a nice large duty free store and plenty of luggage carts. The whole process of getting through security was quick and easy and our luggage was waiting for us. The one downside on this leg of our journey was the plane did not get its own gate so we were bussed to the terminal. For our final trip from this airport back to Toronto, we again had a relatively easy time. We were assisted to check in at the self serve kiosks by a friendly member of staff, and then made our way through security with minimal delay. Again the loaner stroller came in handy and we were able to take it through security with them checking it before we proceeded through the very extensive duty free shop to our gate. This is where our only complaint of the airport comes in. The process for boarding our plane seemed very disorganised. I am not sure if this is the fault of the airline (Icelandair) or the airport but we had to queue to show our boarding passes and then more and more people were herded into a very small area before they opened access to the stairs up to the aircraft ramp. It might have been easier to do this as a single process than two separate ones. The plane departed 90 minutes late due to slow loading (apparently). Overall a pleasant experience at this airport, and would not hesitate to come through it again either as a connecting passenger or as a departing/arriving one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews