Top 100 Airlines  

Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the airport was just chaos"

(Canada)

First let me say the Icelandic people are some of the most friendly in the world. However their main “International“ airport at Keflavik has to be one the very worst in the world. My wife and I have recently had the misfortune of travelling through the airport travelling Saga Class on Icelandair. We usually try to travel business class as we are both over 70 and both have had artificial implants (two knee transplants for me and two hip transplants for my wife.) Check in was easy, but from then on in the airport was just chaos. Elevators are under repair and the walks from check in to anywhere, are basically route marches with no seating available on route. As we have transplants we are used to being singled out at the security booths. But in all our travels, in those airports where the young and healthy are allowed to leave their shoes on, we have never been very rudely instructed to go back through the screen and remove our shoes after setting the scan alarms off. Taking shoes off is not that difficult for the young, but it is not so easy for our age group when there is no seating at the booth and one is expected to do the task standing up. When I mentioned that I had never been requested to do this exercise anywhere else in the world we have travelled to, I was curtly informed this was standard procedure. If so it is standard procedure for Keflavik and no- where else, as usually shoes are scanned while wearing and either sitting down or gaining support by leaning against the luggage conveyor. Other reviews have mentioned at length about the lack of information, and seating provisions, and the abysmal gate arrangements (we were at gates 33, 34, 35.and 36 and the entire area in front of these gates was just a shambles) so I will not go into any more detail on this aspect as it is well recorded by now. But I would ask whatever happened to simple things like small children or older people being allowed to board first, boarding by row numbers (back of the aircraft first), or without pushing our “business class” arrangements that business class passengers get some sort of early boarding arrangement also. These procedures are standard for most airports around the world, but obviously and rather sadly Keflavik has a set of very very different standard procedures.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"exasperated and frustrated"

(United Kingdom)

This was a really stressful check in. No people just =machines. There were a few people wandering around with I am here to help t-shirts. They were about as much use as a chocolate teapot. All they said was just wait. No hint of walking you through the system. Even the teenagers in our party struggled. Everybody in the queues were exasperated and frustrated. My advice. Get rid of the self service machines and go back to proper check ins with real people that you can interact with.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"inadequate seating, inadequate signage"

(Canada)

We chose to travel by Icelandair to Copenhagen from Toronto. Had we known what the airport in Keflavik is like we would never have done so. How an airport can be run like this is a total mystery. Our experience both going to Copenhagen and from Copenhagen was the worst we have had at any airport ever. As others have mentioned there is completely inadequate seating, inadequate signage, inadequate washroom facilities, no announcements for flights - I could go on and on and on. We will never again fly through Keflavik. What a shame. Iceland is wonderful but the airport is sub standard.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"almost no seats at the gates"

(Canada)

Keflavik arport offers almost no seats at the gates. There are less than 20 seats for 6 gates with international flights every 30 minutes. There were also very few seats in the main hall before security check. In addition, there is no water fountains - just insane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"it's just chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

This is my first and last time using Keflavik to travel between the UK and North America. The departure area is a complete zoo - massively crowded, nowhere at all to sit for most people and very limited useful information is provided. For example, my flight is listed as being on time, we are supposed to be boarding but the gate we are supposed to use is currently being used to board another flight. There are no relevant announcements. Passengers have resorted to asking other passengers for flight-related information. It's just chaotic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the airport is overwhelmed"

(United States)

I regularly travel on Icelandair between the US and Europe, making a connection at Keflavik. The airport was recently expanded and renovated, yet it has trouble keeping abreast of the ever-increasing air travel through Iceland. The two major airlines at Keflavik, Icelandair and Wow, are both aggessively adding departures. As a result, the airport is overwhelmed, with long lines forming at gates with insufficient seating and in the restrooms. In fact, the restrooms seem to have been forgotten when the airport was renovated: while there is now a plethora of shops, the few small restrooms are overcrowded. Keflavik is still a modern, clean airport. The owners, however, need to rebalance traveler comfort and profit. Fewer shops, but more restrooms and waiting areas are called for.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"delays a result of overcrowding and inefficiency"

(South Africa)

Keflavik is one of the worst airports I have ever been to. The lines are longer than ever and it takes 2 hours to get from check-in to your gate. The security process is also really bad because they literally look through every nook and cranny in your suitcases and take everything out of it to examine. The gates themselves have very limited seating. Now for the worst part - the delays! It seems like no flights out of this airport are ever on time. My flight to LHR was delayed 1 hour because they had to wait for people to get through security. According to flightstats.com, this particular flight is only on time 6% of the time. The airport itself has an on-time departure rate of 30%, which is one of the worst in the world. This airport's delays are a result of overcrowding and inefficiency. It desperately needs to be expanded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute joke of an airport"

(United States)

They have paid employees who go around making sure customers haven't dozed off to sleep in the airport. Customers who paid hundreds of dollars for a plane ticket will be awakened by these individuals for catching a nap before a flight. For such a beautiful, friendly country, this airport is a disgrace. I was just rudely informed by a security guard that I could not sit on my mat because that constituted camping. Literally was just sitting on a small inflatable mat on the floor because there are so few seats and it is a cold, hard floor. What an absolute joke of an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no waiting areas"

(Canada)

Horrible airport to travel through. Avoid taking Icelandair - not worth the few bucks cheaper. Understandably this is a major hub between North America and Europe, but that doesn't mean you don't have to supply seating. Sitting on the floor for hours on the way to Europe and 2 hrs on the way home is ridiculous. No waiting areas so it's either stand or sit on the floor. Lineups everywhere. Stupid thinking on the part of Iceland.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a chaotic mess"

(United States)

To say that Keflavik International Airport is a chaotic mess is an understatement. From the moment you land until the moment you take off, you are shunted through line after line with virtually no one there to offer any information or direction. The marketing of low fares offered by Icelandair and WOW has done its job, but the airport is not equipped to handle the huge numbers of people who are taking advantage of them. Air traffic control seems overwhelmed as well. To get to your gate you must run a gauntlet of people, many of whom simply sit anywhere they can. You sometimes have to step over and around groups that are having a "picnic." Once you get to your gate area, there is no place to sit. Passengers must organize themselves into lines and stand. There is a lot of construction going on. So one can hope that these problems will eventually be solved. But until then, Keflavik may have the word "international" in its title, but it is more like a regional airport with delusions of grandeur.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews