Vote Airport  

Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"lots of food places"

(United States)

People are great. Not much in the VAT line, lots of food places. Passport control well staffed. We showed up early for a 5:00pm flight but had too much hanging around time. As well run as any other airport I have been in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"lack of seating is not acceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Very busy transfer terminal with few facilities. Lack of seating is not acceptable given the number of flights arriving and departing at a similar time. Very unhappy with the baggage handlers leaving suitcases out in the rain during transit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"blatant disorganisation and rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

I could not have been more excited about travelling to Iceland. The only disappointment of the trip was the departures process when I left. Check in had a line that snaked for ages. The staff on check in were a little short and informed us of the wrong gate. We passed through security with great ease and did a little shopping in duty free and had something to eat. Then came the nightmare of getting to our gate and boarding. They changed the gate while we were walking to it. This involved going upstairs and downstairs a number of times. We also had to pass through Passport control to leave the country. The staff covering passport control were just plain rude. They kept us waiting for ages to open the desks and barely even looked at our passports. When we arrived at our gate we had to stand and wait for 50 mins over the time set for boarding. No explanation was given. When on the aircraft it felt very much like they couldn't get us pushed back quick enough. If you can ignore the blatant disorganisation and rude staff at Keflavik, you'll find Iceland is the most beautiful, friendly and relaxing country you'll ever visit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it was a real let down"

(United Kingdom)

Warning, if you arrive at this airport after 5.30pm on a weeknight there is no hot food available at all. You can buy a sandwich and a pasta salad but that is all. For travellers like us who had been out all day and were looking forward to a hot meal before our flight, it was a real let down. Other travellers were in the same position with later flights than ours.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"terribly disorganized"

(United States)

Terribly disorganized at departure. An hour wait going through passport control leaving the country?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"chaos at Keflavik Airport"

(United Kingdom)

The arrival was quite uneventful. However, the departure from Keflavik was another story. I have travelled the world over and never have I ever seen so many people queuing to check in at the Icelandair desks. It was complete chaos and no-one seemed to be around to ask questions. The check in queue was so wide it took up practically the whole of the ground floor area and people werent able to pass one another with their luggage. There was no queue in Security which was a bonus. Even though we arrived at the airport 2 hours before our flight because of the huge queues we didnt have time to look around Duty Free and as we wanted to change our Kronas back to UK pounds we had to stand in yet another long queue. When we made our way to Gate 28C we had to walk a very long way and then go downstairs and through another Duty Free shop! We made it to the Gate with 15 minutes to spare. Lovely country but marred somewhat by the chaos at Keflavik Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a crowded airport with low ceilings"

(United States)

This is a crowded airport with low ceilings. It creates bad behavior among travelers and staff. The last time I changed planes there, we waited in a long line that contained passengers for three different flights. Passengers simply went to different doorways. It was confusing for many passengers and it showed. There are not enough chairs in the terminal to accommodate waiting passengers. I was in a seat at a gate that was not in use. An Icelandair employee came by and told a number of us, in an unfriendly tone, that since we weren't leaving from that gate we couldn't sit there. (There was no sign advising travelers of this nor was there any reason to have such a stupid regulation). Even if you are in transit and have had your carry on previously checked you may have to have it searched again in this airport. By itself, that is not such a problem. But the line to do this took forever. They had an expedited line for passengers with children. That's nice. But they might have had expedited lines for the rest of us. My guess is that this terminal was designed by architects who don't fly and staffed by people who don't care.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the customer areas are too small"

(Argentina)

Keflavik Airport. No water fountains for customers. The shops got rid of those, no doubt. The customer areas are too small. It's crowded. Terrible WiFi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Keflavik Airport customer review

(Belgium)

Keflavik airport is incredibly badly equipped and is unfortunately not suited for modern traveling and tourism. On a Sunday at 5.30 the "check-in hall" is so crowded that it takes about half an hour to reach the "self check in machines". (There is no other option, it is not indicated). It took more than hour to reach a "baggage drop off point" (with uninterested girls behind counters), and another hour to get through security (although people were waiting already from the stairs of the other floor, it was not deemed necessary to operate more than 4 of the 12 units). There are no seats and basically no space to wait for boarding. As it took more than 2 hours to reach the gate, this was not really necessary, but it is the first airport I have seen where you are so manifestly treated as cattle. Upon arrival it was much the same. Car rental is a disaster with similar waiting lines.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
4/10

Keflavik Airport customer review

(Canada)

For a country as welcoming as Iceland is one can only assume that the people who run the airport come from another planet. On arriving on a flight from Toronto the plane's passengers were subjected to a heavy handed security screening. On leaving we found that the boarding gates have no seating, you stand in a long line waiting to board. As a consequence you hang around in the shopping and restaurant part of the airport. I have flown through many airports and never before found gates with nowhere to sit and read a book.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews