Airline of the Year  

Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 111 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"will not be using this airport again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Transferred flights in Keflavik coming and going from US to Europe. Was not prepared for shuttle bus from plane to terminal and from terminal to plane. I was dressed for warm weather and it was very cold in Iceland. This may seem like a little inconvenience, but with two doors to shuttle you into terminal (and if lucky, two doors on to your plane) things bottleneck at the doors and the few moments you are exposed to the cold weather seems longer. I'm pretty sure it was in the high 40s, maybe low 50's while we were there (Fahrenheit) it could have been the wind chill, too. Chaos reigns once inside. The customs line weaved itself through the terminal as there were multiple flights arriving and departing within a few minutes of each other (others who have traveled through this airport confirmed this is common). The departure board for our connecting flight read "now boarding" when we arrived and found ourselves in this long line at customs which took approximately an hour to work our way through. The departure board changed to "final call" and we still had another 30 minutes to get through customs. No employees were available to provide updates nor were announcements made over the PA. Granted half of the passengers were still in this line, which is probably why the plane didn't leave without us and was delayed. This, by the way, was in stark contrast to our arrival from US transfer 2 weeks earlier where there were no lines. We had time to wait at our "gate" which was a hallway with no seating. By the way, don't expect to sit and wait for your flight. I didn't see any gates. Just hallways lined with people waiting for a shuttle to take you to your plane. You will find this "gate" after weaving through food courts. If there are seats, I might have missed them in our made dash to not miss our flight. No matter how much money we might save flying through Reykjavik, we will not be using this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"So much wasted time"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I read the reviews to confirm the horrendous experience I had leaving the airport last Sunday 18th June. Thank heavens it wasn't just me! I'm an older traveller, was on my own and thought maybe I was at fault. Couldn't find signs that made sense, the crowds were so great that reasons for queues weren't clear and I was in the wrong lines twice. So much wasted time I got nervous about missing the flight. Other travellers gave me info that wasn't always right and the staff were a bit, go round the corner and join the line there. Impossible to then see what line was meant. Hope never to go back. Still disturbed by the experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"only one staff member was found"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | In my opinion one of the worst airports in Europe in terms of organisation. Long lines and groups of people just hanging around, only one staff member was found. Bags took forever (to the point people actually clapped when they came out!). Absolute shambles and obviously cannot handle the increase in tourism in the country. Ensure you come with a great deal of patience and do not plan anything within 3 hours of your expected arrival time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"difficult to get anywhere"

(United States)

Verified Review | Keflavik is handling far too many people for its size. There is no place to queue in an orderly manner for passport control or boarding, so there are large hordes of people milling around, making it difficult to get anywhere. 20 minutes to our flight there was still no gate posted on the signs, and there was almost chaos with people trying to find out where to go. The airport itself is nice and very clean, but our afternoon transit was a mess and our departure delayed almost an hour. I understand it's gotten better recently, but they are just not ready for this amount of travelers. Bring plenty of patience if going through Keflavik, and expect delays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Very clean too"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is the second time we have transited through Keflavik on route to Anchorage. There is no security to go through when transiting, the toilets are the best each having its own large cubicle big enough to freshen up and keep luggage with you. Very clean too. A lot of transatlantic flights leave at the same time which makes the waiting area congested. There may be a bus transfer to the plane but that adds to the experience as far as I am concerned like the old days of flying! We purchased some food for the flight on the way out which was reasonably priced for an airport. No complaints. I would rather transit in Keflavik than Seattle when flying to Alaska.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"experience worst part of the trip"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Iceland is a terrific country with wonderful people but the security and baggage control area for Keflavik Airport departures makes Bristol airport look marginally better! If you can't process the number of passengers in a decent and reasonably civilised manner (avoiding massive queues and long times) you should not allow the number of flights being allowed into the airport. Treat the customer with some degree of respect. Had a great week in Iceland but departure experience worst part of the trip. Dread to think what summer is like here. Elsewhere the airport is excellent - just let down by the "people processing!"
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unfriendly airport staff"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Keflavik is by far the worst airport I have ever been to. There's not enough space to accommodate large number of passengers. Not suitable for overnight, no sofas nothing at all. Unfriendly restaurant workers. Unfriendly airport staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is complete chaos"

(United States)

Verified Review | Arriving wasn't so bad as it was the wee hours of the morning, but departing mid-afternoon was another matter. As others have mentioned, it is complete chaos from the moment you enter until you board your flight. Honestly, I would strongly suggest giving yourself 3-4 hours ahead of your flight departure, because there are lines, lines and more lines, and no staff to provide assistance. Signing is either non-existent or completely confusing. We had gotten there early intending to fill our paperwork to get a VAT tax refund, something all the stores pitch as a means to get you to spend more. "You'll get 14% back at the airport!" Well, you better get there at least 4 hours early, because the line to get the refund was miles long with like 2 staff people working the desk. So no tax refund for us. Ok, Iceland, you got me on that one. When you try to check your baggage, it doesn't get any easier. They don't make clear that you can get boarding passes and check luggage at self-service kiosks, nor that there is a separate area to drop your luggage if you have done so. We waited almost 20 minutes in another line, until I happened to spot a sign that said self-checked baggage could be dropped off at another counter. Then you are funneled through multiple duty-free shopping zones that are amply staffed (unlike all other areas of the airport), before you get to security and your gate. Forget getting something to eat, because there was a huge line and two cashiers for that as well. I guess some people really liked the toilets, but they seemed a total waist of space with huge rooms that take up the space of three stalls (there's a sink in every room). The sinks are weird with these faucets that provide water and air, but of course, the average person doesn't know that, and you end up blowing soap suds all over yourself and the mirror. And finally, the boarding areas are mass chaos. Five gates all boarding, with 50 chairs, so people are sitting all over the floor and standing everywhere, with lines for various flights intersecting each other. No one is there to provide any help, and as mentioned, there are no announcements about flights boarding, flights being changed to another gate, just endless lines of people standing everywhere. This airport needs to be completely redone from the inside out, and their staff needs some serious customer service training.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"wasn't enough seating for everyone"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We recently flew WOW Air from Toronto to Copenhagen and had connecting flights from Keflavik Airport both ways. Our Toronto-Copenhagen connection was fine, except that our plane was parked far from the terminal and we needed a shuttle bus. We were there early in the morning, there was no one around and almost everything was closed. The washrooms are fabulous, as other reviewers have mentioned. However, our Copenhagen-Toronto connection was an entirely different story. We see that the airport is undergoing renovations/expansion. However, arriving at Keflavik mid-day, with many other flights arriving and departing, is a miserable experience. We were at the departures area and it was packed. There wasn't enough seating for everyone. The snack shop chaos looked like something you'd expect at a Boxing Day sale, with lines of about 20-30 people waiting for a cashier. We couldn't even buy the expensive sandwiches because there wasn't enough time to get through the line (we weren't there last-minute) and we were hungry. The washrooms were still fabulous, but there was a big line-up for the one drinking fountain in the area, everyone seemed to want to avoid paying for water (us included). The worse thing about the experience was the smell of cigarette smoke everywhere in the departure area. It brings to mind the days of old when that was commonplace, only the airport is supposed to be smoke-free. Hopefully with the renovations there will be a designated smoking area that is far from the building entrances, it was just terrible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

"one of the best airports I have visited"

(United Kingdom)

Lovely clean airport, arrival and departures had no problems. Duty free shops were easy to navigate. Didn't try food or drink as our coach arrived late at the airport. Toilets were the cleanest I have come across. Queuing was minimal, security was very organised. One of the best airports I have visited.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 93 Reviews