Kansai Osaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 50 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Landed at 1955, start waiting in line for immigration at 20.12. It took me 1 hour 20 mins in line for an immigration officer. More than 300 people (foreign passport holder) waiting for 6 counters. As I was waiting, new arrival keep coming in. Not a good first impression for Osaka.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

The airport is well maintained and works well except the arrival immigration process. I had to wait about an hour and a half, which felt like forever compared to the usual 5-10 minutes wait time at Narita or Haneda airports. In August, an event that is drawing many colleagues in my field is coming through Kansai and they are on average spending close to 2 hours to get through immigration at KIX. Even with an 8pm arrival time, they are missing the last Haruka train to Kyoto due to this long immigration processing time. It would be great if the immigration authority devises a plan that speeds the immigration process.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Taiwan)

The airport was bright and clean. Easy to locate airline's counter and the sign was easily spotted. The customs and security check was efficient. There were many duty free shops with a variety of merchandise. However, on my departure day, each shop was full of customers and the queues were very long. I made some purchases at 2 shops and I spent about 30 minutes in each shop and almost missed my flight. The boarding gate was close to the shops so it didn't take me long to get to the boarding gate. The display was easy to be seen and the gate was tidy and clean. If the duty free shop can solve the problem of long queues and waiting times, I think, Osaka should be a great airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (China)

I now have to travel to Kansai Airport every month and have to say travelling through this airport is one of the worst experiences I have had in 35 years of flying through airports worldwide. The queue at immigration is shocking. Every time now, it takes at least 2 hours, with 5 staff members at the desks they were extremely slow processing a growing number of irate passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Italy)

Simply put the longest security check queue I've experienced in last 20 years. The airport looks nice and clean but walking slowly for 50 minutes and half a mile around the terminal before reaching security is really too much.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

I have been through the immigration in Kansai three times. The first in Nov 2014. There wasn't that many people in line - 30 minutes tops and on my way to the hotel. The second and third times were in April 2014 and 2015. Two hours April 2014 and just lately April 2015 it was over 3 hrs standing with hundreds of others. Four immigration booths were empty it should never take more then an hour to go through immigration. More flights were arriving and people just kept making the line longer. The immigration department area has not been upgraded and more staff are required. My flight arrived at 5.30pm and wasn't out until 9.30pm. After flying over 8hrs one wants to get to their hotel to refresh. Add another 1 hr train ride and I didn't arrive to the hotel in Osaka until 11.45pm. This terminal is fine when departing. It is not the airport facilities. It is an under staffed immigration department. More booths and personal are needed. I will change to another city to arrive into next time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands)

Peach Airline operates at Terminal 2. A bus service is provided for the 4km journey. The service is well organised. I traveled on the first flight (domestic) out and the terminal was packed with travelers. You can check-in via a machine only if you have cabin baggage and your booking code available. The lines for security are long. When departure time is close ground staff pick you out of the line for the designated flight and give you priority through a separate security area. Amazing how they manage passengers and on-time departures. Don't be late when traveling via T2.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Japan)

As usual a smooth efficient experience at this modern spacious airport. Only disadvantage is its location: it takes nearly an hour (by Haruka airport express) or 75 minutes (by normal train) from central Osaka.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong)

Osaka Kansai Airport is comparable to the world's best airports although its air traffic is not always busy. Immigration and security are efficient and officers are always friendly to visitors. The signs are always clear so it is hard to get lost. Airport staff are the friendliest amongst other airports outside Japan. Remarkable facilities good restaurants and very convenient traffic to and from the airport. Of note has been the Observation Hall where visitors can access by free shuttle buses. Excellent souvenir shops aviation museum and one of the best observation decks I have seen as it is very close to the runway perfect for plane spotting and is free of charge.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Ranks right up there with SIN ICN HKG and YVR. KIX may be the best for several reasons: 1) Uncrowded spacious clean clear signage. 2) Friendly efficient and numerous staff able to answer English questions. 3) Variety of transportation options within a few steps - many buses two train lines (JR and Nakai) ferry (Kobe). 4) Sky View airport museum with observation decks for great plane spotting served by free shuttle. 5) Hotel (Nikko) in airport a few steps away less expensive hotels served by free shuttles. 6) Beautiful location on man-made island. 7) Baggage storage lockers available rates according to size. 8) Wide variety of restaurants (from McDonalds to gourmet) and shopping prices no higher than in city. 9) Short trip across bay to Rinku Premium Outlets - over 200 stores restaurants bowling alley ferris wheel. 10) Special features - koban (police box) airport lounge for anyone prayer room even a pet hotel. 11) (unlike HKG and NRT) fast takeoffs no waiting in long lines. 12) Quick efficient friendly customs-through in a few minutes. When I arrived they opened Japanese citizen desks for foreigners because of long queue. KIX - could you please train (vast majority of USA) how to run an airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews