Top 100 Airlines  

Kansai Osaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the worst airport I have used"

(China)

This airport gets good reviews worldwide due to their record of never having lost a bag. This must be due to the inordinate amount of time they make people wait at immigration. Even if they did lose a bag, they would have hours to find the thing as everyone is waiting for so long trying to get through the immigration process. Someone needs to teach the immigration officers about using their initiative to just accept a reasonable representation of the address they are staying at in Japan instead of making everyone write 100% clearly the address, postcode, phone number etc of the hotel they are staying at. Quite possibly the worst airport I have used. Frustratingly I am subjected to this airport and the idiot staff on a monthly basis.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"time to consider other options"

(Ireland)

I travel to Japan a couple of times a year and Kansai airport is easily the worst part of the experience every year. Flights from Europe (I think Amsterdam, Paris and Helsinki) all arrive around the same time in the morning, and more often than not so do flights from China and Korea. With many hundreds of foreign passengers arriving around the same time there really should be more than six passport control desks open to process them. This is the routine every day so it's not like they can put it down to other excuses. This has been my experience for several years now and I've reached the point where it's time to consider other options for travelling to Japan.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"frustratingly long lines at immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Kansai Osaka airport has frustratingly long lines at immigration, meticulous customs searching through your luggage (took me about 1.5 hours to clear both immigration and customs). At least there is free wi-fi that works really well, so you can inform all your friends about arriving to Japan while waiting to clear immigration. Not enough information about onward travel options. Ended up buying the wrong train ticket - only had to cover the fare difference on the train, so it's not too bad. Worried a bit about when I have to get to the airport for my return flight - was told that immigration and security lines for departing flights are also quite long.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"horribly long lines"

(Thailand)

Horribly long lines. Completely out of character with Japan in general. Greed clearly took over and they accepted way to many Chinese charter flights compared to what the airport can handle. THAI / Star Alliance lounge also poor, cramped and hot. Overall an embarrassing airport for a country like Japan.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"clean and well-maintained"

(Philippines)

Kansai Osaka International Airport is quite far from the city proper however, there is a regular shuttle bus (and train services) coming in and out of the airport so no problem for accessibility after all. Just prepare the shuttle bus (train) fare as add-on to your budget. Airport staffs are courteous and friendly and are very much willing to assist you. Queuing time at immigration is fast as most of the counters are attended. Signage and direction are clear and easy to understand. There are plenty of seats where you can work (for business travelers) or just take a rest (nap if you will) without being disturbed by other travelers. Upon arrival (if you are on a short visit only) find a counter after immigration where they offer a free wi-fi access for your stay in Japan. Just like with Narita and Haneda, this airport is clean and well-maintained.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a pleasure to visit"

(United States)

A pleasure to visit. Spacious, clean, fast immigration and customs, wide variety of efficient ground transportation, roomy waiting areas, many shops, lockers for luggage, huge plane spotting area, brochure welcoming Muslim travelers, even a pet hotel. As good as it gets, deserves 5 stars.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"convenient and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

A truly a competitive airport. Amazed I was when I stepped out of the airport about 15 minutes after leaving the aircraft, and delighted when I got through security and immigration within 10 minutes - convenient and efficient. The airport was easy to access and directions clear and precise. Terminals and toilets tidy and clean. Dining choices and facilities were spectacular, the observation hall in particular where I spent 6 hours enjoying myself with the spectacular view of the entire airport. Amazing staff and excellent assistance. Highly recommended.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"inefficient and frustrating experience"

(Australia)

This airport was the only inefficient and frustrating experience I had in Japan. Arrived around 9pm on a flight from Hong Kong. Enormous line with only 5 or so gates open, waited for well over 2 hours to get through, then by the time I was able to get to city subway line I needed to connect to, it was closed. This was the worst experience with an immigration line I have ever had at any airport in the world. Had been told by a friend who caught same flight 6 months earlier of the wait, so they don't seem to care about fixing it. Also quite difficult to work out how to get tickets, especially when tired after a long trip and wait.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(United States)

Landed at 1955, start waiting in line for immigration at 20.12. It took me 1 hour 20 mins in line for an immigration officer. More than 300 people (foreign passport holder) waiting for 6 counters. As I was waiting, new arrival keep coming in. Not a good first impression for Osaka.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(United States)

The airport is well maintained and works well except the arrival immigration process. I had to wait about an hour and a half, which felt like forever compared to the usual 5-10 minutes wait time at Narita or Haneda airports. In August, an event that is drawing many colleagues in my field is coming through Kansai and they are on average spending close to 2 hours to get through immigration at KIX. Even with an 8pm arrival time, they are missing the last Haruka train to Kyoto due to this long immigration processing time. It would be great if the immigration authority devises a plan that speeds the immigration process.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews