Vote Airport  

Kansai Osaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a pleasure to visit"

(United States)

A pleasure to visit. Spacious, clean, fast immigration and customs, wide variety of efficient ground transportation, roomy waiting areas, many shops, lockers for luggage, huge plane spotting area, brochure welcoming Muslim travelers, even a pet hotel. As good as it gets, deserves 5 stars.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"convenient and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

A truly a competitive airport. Amazed I was when I stepped out of the airport about 15 minutes after leaving the aircraft, and delighted when I got through security and immigration within 10 minutes - convenient and efficient. The airport was easy to access and directions clear and precise. Terminals and toilets tidy and clean. Dining choices and facilities were spectacular, the observation hall in particular where I spent 6 hours enjoying myself with the spectacular view of the entire airport. Amazing staff and excellent assistance. Highly recommended.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"inefficient and frustrating experience"

(Australia)

This airport was the only inefficient and frustrating experience I had in Japan. Arrived around 9pm on a flight from Hong Kong. Enormous line with only 5 or so gates open, waited for well over 2 hours to get through, then by the time I was able to get to city subway line I needed to connect to, it was closed. This was the worst experience with an immigration line I have ever had at any airport in the world. Had been told by a friend who caught same flight 6 months earlier of the wait, so they don't seem to care about fixing it. Also quite difficult to work out how to get tickets, especially when tired after a long trip and wait.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(United States)

Landed at 1955, start waiting in line for immigration at 20.12. It took me 1 hour 20 mins in line for an immigration officer. More than 300 people (foreign passport holder) waiting for 6 counters. As I was waiting, new arrival keep coming in. Not a good first impression for Osaka.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(United States)

The airport is well maintained and works well except the arrival immigration process. I had to wait about an hour and a half, which felt like forever compared to the usual 5-10 minutes wait time at Narita or Haneda airports. In August, an event that is drawing many colleagues in my field is coming through Kansai and they are on average spending close to 2 hours to get through immigration at KIX. Even with an 8pm arrival time, they are missing the last Haruka train to Kyoto due to this long immigration processing time. It would be great if the immigration authority devises a plan that speeds the immigration process.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(Taiwan)

The airport was bright and clean. Easy to locate airline's counter and the sign was easily spotted. The customs and security check was efficient. There were many duty free shops with a variety of merchandise. However, on my departure day, each shop was full of customers and the queues were very long. I made some purchases at 2 shops and I spent about 30 minutes in each shop and almost missed my flight. The boarding gate was close to the shops so it didn't take me long to get to the boarding gate. The display was easy to be seen and the gate was tidy and clean. If the duty free shop can solve the problem of long queues and waiting times, I think, Osaka should be a great airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(China)

I now have to travel to Kansai Airport every month and have to say travelling through this airport is one of the worst experiences I have had in 35 years of flying through airports worldwide. The queue at immigration is shocking. Every time now, it takes at least 2 hours, with 5 staff members at the desks they were extremely slow processing a growing number of irate passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(Italy)

Simply put the longest security check queue I've experienced in last 20 years. The airport looks nice and clean but walking slowly for 50 minutes and half a mile around the terminal before reaching security is really too much.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(United States)

I have been through the immigration in Kansai three times. The first in Nov 2014. There wasn't that many people in line - 30 minutes tops and on my way to the hotel. The second and third times were in April 2014 and 2015. Two hours April 2014 and just lately April 2015 it was over 3 hrs standing with hundreds of others. Four immigration booths were empty it should never take more then an hour to go through immigration. More flights were arriving and people just kept making the line longer. The immigration department area has not been upgraded and more staff are required. My flight arrived at 5.30pm and wasn't out until 9.30pm. After flying over 8hrs one wants to get to their hotel to refresh. Add another 1 hr train ride and I didn't arrive to the hotel in Osaka until 11.45pm. This terminal is fine when departing. It is not the airport facilities. It is an under staffed immigration department. More booths and personal are needed. I will change to another city to arrive into next time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

(Netherlands)

Peach Airline operates at Terminal 2. A bus service is provided for the 4km journey. The service is well organised. I traveled on the first flight (domestic) out and the terminal was packed with travelers. You can check-in via a machine only if you have cabin baggage and your booking code available. The lines for security are long. When departure time is close ground staff pick you out of the line for the designated flight and give you priority through a separate security area. Amazing how they manage passengers and on-time departures. Don't be late when traveling via T2.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews