Kansai Osaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 48 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (China) 18th July 2015

I now have to travel to Kansai Airport every month and have to say travelling through this airport is one of the worst experiences I have had in 35 years of flying through airports worldwide. The queue at immigration is shocking. Every time now, it takes at least 2 hours, with 5 staff members at the desks they were extremely slow processing a growing number of irate passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit18-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Italy) 30th April 2015

Simply put the longest security check queue I've experienced in last 20 years. The airport looks nice and clean but walking slowly for 50 minutes and half a mile around the terminal before reaching security is really too much.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd April 2015

I have been through the immigration in Kansai three times. The first in Nov 2014. There wasn't that many people in line - 30 minutes tops and on my way to the hotel. The second and third times were in April 2014 and 2015. Two hours April 2014 and just lately April 2015 it was over 3 hrs standing with hundreds of others. Four immigration booths were empty it should never take more then an hour to go through immigration. More flights were arriving and people just kept making the line longer. The immigration department area has not been upgraded and more staff are required. My flight arrived at 5.30pm and wasn't out until 9.30pm. After flying over 8hrs one wants to get to their hotel to refresh. Add another 1 hr train ride and I didn't arrive to the hotel in Osaka until 11.45pm. This terminal is fine when departing. It is not the airport facilities. It is an under staffed immigration department. More booths and personal are needed. I will change to another city to arrive into next time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 17th March 2015

Peach Airline operates at Terminal 2. A bus service is provided for the 4km journey. The service is well organised. I traveled on the first flight (domestic) out and the terminal was packed with travelers. You can check-in via a machine only if you have cabin baggage and your booking code available. The lines for security are long. When departure time is close ground staff pick you out of the line for the designated flight and give you priority through a separate security area. Amazing how they manage passengers and on-time departures. Don't be late when traveling via T2.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
8/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Japan) 14th January 2015

As usual a smooth efficient experience at this modern spacious airport. Only disadvantage is its location: it takes nearly an hour (by Haruka airport express) or 75 minutes (by normal train) from central Osaka.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 20th August 2014

Osaka Kansai Airport is comparable to the world's best airports although its air traffic is not always busy. Immigration and security are efficient and officers are always friendly to visitors. The signs are always clear so it is hard to get lost. Airport staff are the friendliest amongst other airports outside Japan. Remarkable facilities good restaurants and very convenient traffic to and from the airport. Of note has been the Observation Hall where visitors can access by free shuttle buses. Excellent souvenir shops aviation museum and one of the best observation decks I have seen as it is very close to the runway perfect for plane spotting and is free of charge.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 1st June 2014

Ranks right up there with SIN ICN HKG and YVR. KIX may be the best for several reasons: 1) Uncrowded spacious clean clear signage. 2) Friendly efficient and numerous staff able to answer English questions. 3) Variety of transportation options within a few steps - many buses two train lines (JR and Nakai) ferry (Kobe). 4) Sky View airport museum with observation decks for great plane spotting served by free shuttle. 5) Hotel (Nikko) in airport a few steps away less expensive hotels served by free shuttles. 6) Beautiful location on man-made island. 7) Baggage storage lockers available rates according to size. 8) Wide variety of restaurants (from McDonalds to gourmet) and shopping prices no higher than in city. 9) Short trip across bay to Rinku Premium Outlets - over 200 stores restaurants bowling alley ferris wheel. 10) Special features - koban (police box) airport lounge for anyone prayer room even a pet hotel. 11) (unlike HKG and NRT) fast takeoffs no waiting in long lines. 12) Quick efficient friendly customs-through in a few minutes. When I arrived they opened Japanese citizen desks for foreigners because of long queue. KIX - could you please train (vast majority of USA) how to run an airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
na

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Brazil) 26th March 2014

KIX administration never answered my email about the following facts. No dialog with passengers. My Peach flight from Taipei was delayed. I arrived at T2 after midnight. No taxi. Outside temp: 2 degrees Celsius. Shuttle to T1 was there. Doors closed. 10 min later it opened the doors. We arrived at T1 at 12.34. No public transportation. 2 taxis for 60 passengers. This airport is on an island. We were trapped. Sleeping ther ? Monopoly was given to NIKKO hotel at US$24000 per night! No affordable accommodation. They should have in these cases an option either a cheap hotel either a bus to take us to the continent.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
10/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 7th August 2013

Visited Osaka again this summer. Instantly impressed by the extraordinarily friendly ground staff at the airport. Immigration and customs were very efficient and I did not expect actually a smile and a warm greeting from a custom officer which I met only in Japan. Generally the airport service is one of the best I have experienced and I think this is Japanese culture. Airport was spotlessly clean and janitors were always present in the airport to clean the terminal. Facilities in the terminal were fine but what impressed me the most was the Sky View observation building where I stayed for 2 hours for plane spotting. No wonder it was very famous for its beautiful scenery and the shops were great as well with kind staff. Return flight 8 days later to Hong Kong very early in the morning (9:10 flight). There were just a few people and the terminal was quiet. Relaxing music was played which made my stay in the departure lounge extremely comfortable. Still warm smile and greeting from check in and security check staff. The other airport in Osaka Osaka Itami International Airport is almost as good as Kansai Airport. Very sufficient facilities in terms of a domestic airport very clean terminal fantastic restaurants and extremely friendly staff as well. I will not hesitate to go to both airports for hours for plane spotting and sightseeing.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
9/10

Kansai Osaka Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th April 2013

Flew in with ANA from Tokyo Hanida Airport mid evening. 15 minutes after landing was walking out of the terminal building with my checked in luggage directly to either the airport hotel or railway station. The whole experience very organised and clean and above all positive. Just a tip you cannot use a credit card to buy a railway ticket into Osaka it is cash only. Flying out of KXI to FRA was a very positive experience. International Departures are on the 4th level large Check-in groups A-G and then up an escalator to Security Checking. On International Flights the usual European Rules on liquids apply. Again very quickly processed down an escalator and into International Departures which is a long thin hall backing the piers with the usual selection of shops. There is free WiFi available. For some of the more remote piers there is a short train ride that takes you to a sort of satellite set of gates with some limited shopping opportunities. Overall despite being nearly 20 years old the airport is very modern light and airy and very well run and easy to use.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews