Johannesburg Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 161 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 15th June 2015

Johannesburg JNB lived up to my consistently poor experiences of this airport with long queues, lethargic staff and inadequate infrastructure. Last two occasions they lost my luggage in transit. Last three occasions faced lengthy queues to go through transit checkpoints which are understaffed and have too few security lanes. Forget about a quick transit through this place. Just waiting to see if they lose my luggage for the third time. An airport best avoided.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit15-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (South Africa) 4th June 2015

Flew to JED from JNB. Best airport I have been to. Bathrooms clean staff helpful. Boarding customs immigration all very quick. Will definitely fly here again without hesitation.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (South Africa) 24th March 2015

Used O R Tambo last week when flew to Lagos. Excellent service all round quickly through check in and immigration. When I arrived back landed at 4.50 am and was in the car at 5.30 am. Smooth and painless. Enough immigration counters opened for both South African and Foreign passport holders.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 20th March 2015

We live in the USA. Comparing OR Tambo to LAX couldn't even be compared. Yes its not the best I have experienced but things like cleanliness I would give an excellent. There is always someone on duty cleaning. On average airport restrooms are generally very messy and dirty but Johannesburg is always clean when we arrive.Another thing I can give them is there is plenty of affordable restaurants and entertainment on the floor which makes it less of an irritating experience if you have to stand in long lines. They do however need to get rid of those guys standing around telling tourist they will show them where to go and then afterwards ask for a tip!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (Zambia) 31st December 2014

You could say this is my home airport. Like most it all depends what time you arrive or depart pot luck as to how busy it will be. Immigration on arrival is split between South African passport holders and foreign. They don't have much trust in the electronic board indicating which counter to go to its switched off and someone stands there telling you. Baggage collection and customs are straight forward and I've never experienced a long wait. On departure depending the airline you use check in online and use their baggage drop-off counter with Emirates and Qatar I've found it to be a breeze. The line can be quite long at South African Airways regional and domestic check-in. Security and immigration on departure once again all depends at what time you fly I've never been waiting more than 10 minutes in the line. I've found all the personnel security and immigration to be friendly when you approach them with a smile and a greeting remember you are in Africa and anyone in a uniform thinks they're the Boss. There are a fair amount of shops in the international departure area some of them duplicated and unless the item is on special you'll find it cheaper outside the airport. And now my biggest gripe the two smoking lounges have been bought over by what must be a Muslim company as they are now both Halal and therefore only sell soft drinks you fill your lungs with smoke but your liver will remain dry so much for having a last beer and a smoke before starting off.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (South Africa) 13th October 2014

A complete and utter disgrace. Stood in immigration queue for more than one hour. Only one officer serviced the entire queue. This unfortunately is a regular occurrence. For a country with 25% unemployment maybe the government could train and appoint. It sends such a poor message to tourists who pump more money into the economy than locals on a per capita basis.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
10/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (South Africa) 5th October 2014

The Airport service continues to improve every time I use it. The queues for immigration and check in were quick. The facilities are clean and the airport duty free has a good selection. Compared to other busy airports I cannot fault it.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
2/10

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 11th May 2014

Poor SAA Lounge - what a let down for the flagship. Poorest food selection seating comfort average signage and information missing and in far flung areas where ones attention would barely be drawn. Very poor what a let down.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 24th April 2014

As another reviewer said the first impression you get of this country is passport control and it was the worst experience I've ever had. The agent angrily snatched my passport out of my hand. I was waved to the counter and then he sat there looking down at nothing and ignoring me after I stood in a slow and deep queue for over an hour after being airborne all night. When I asked if he wanted my passport he looked up and yelled "No" to me and I started to walk away and he reached out and grabbed my passport. He wanted to know what my purpose was in being in So. Africa and I told him it was a pass through on my way to Botswana. He looked through my passport like I was public enemy number one reading various stamps. There were other agents who seemed to be very professional. After riffling through the passport he finally stamped it and threw it back at me and nodded for me to pass through. I would never return to this place unless I absolutely had no other choice. Inefficient unprofessional and hostile.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Johannesburg Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd April 2014

Absolutely shocking. On arrival the staff at immigration were extremely rude. Do they not realise that this is the first impression that travellers will get of this beautiful country. Huge queues on departure 2 weeks later. The staff in the big 5 behind the cigarette counter ignored the customers and were chatting amongst themselves. There is a huge amount of unemployment in South Africa. Why give these jobs which are customer service related positions to rude and incompetent people.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 70 Reviews