Airline of the Year  

Jeddah Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"seating and cleanliness is terrible"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Jeddah is undoubtedly the worst in the world. Flight scheduling is a joke. Terminal seating and cleanliness is terrible. Immigration and airport staff with the worst attitude. Queuing system is practically nil. I can't say avoid this because there's no other option to commute to this part of the world
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airport like the plague"

(United Kingdom)

Having read all the bad reviews about Jeddah airport I was prepared for the worst. Sadly I was not disappointed and it is even worse than expected! This place surely cannot be called an airport. The facilities are insufficient, there flight information system is a joke, the immigrations officers are constantly on their phones. They leave long queue as they please and socialise without any sense of responsibility whatsoever with their fellow officers leaving people in queue much to the disgust of those rushing for connecting flights. No matter how grand or modern their new airport would be with these kinds of people manning them. No wonder jeddah airport has been labelled the worst airport in the world. This reputation I am sure will be held for many years in the future. Avoid this airport like the plague!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"immigration is a nightmare"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Jeddah is by far the worst airport I have ever experienced given that it is in a country that is very, very wealthy. Immigration is a nightmare - especially on Friday. It does not matter what class you travel in outbound or inbound. Immigration officers lounge about, on their phones or socializing. The bathrooms are filthy and awkwardly constructed. Parking and airport access is unruly and disorganized. Duty free offerings are a joke. The lounges, whether Saudia or the other one that all airlines end up using, are nothing to rave about. Comparing the Emirates, Etihad and Qatar lounges with the AlFursan lounge is like comparing a Bentley with a Camry. Check-in counters and the space is an absolute mess. All of this chaos is generally brought about due to Umrah passengers. Instead of completely separating operations, including outbound and inbound immigration procedures, the airport continues to operate as a mix bag operation making it a nightmare for the residents of the city (expats and locals). The cherry on top is the lack of jet ways - they still use the old fashioned method of hauling passengers via buses with no priority boarding options. The overall lackadaisical and carefree attitude is seen from top to bottom with all the employees. The only people truly serious about their work are the customs staff. Hats off to them. Everyone else is just passing time. It gives passengers shudders when landing in Jeddah, because no one knows how long and crazy the lines will get and what the 'mood' of the immigration employees be upon landing. The North terminal is much worse than the South terminal and heaven help you if you have to go between the two terminals. At times, you will find out that your flight is departing from the Hajj terminal. It's a project in itself to get to that terminal. Despite the fact that the terminal was built under 10 years ago, it has aged like it was started 20 years ago. The state of the this airport is worse than airports found in 3rd world countries. ** NEEDS TICKET
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we queued for over 3 hours"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We transited through Jeddah Airport en route to somewhere else in Saudi Arabia. We didn't get to experience the airport at all because of the time it took to get processed through security! We queued for over 3 hours and as a consequence we almost missed our connecting flight. The staff were oblivious to the huge queue and didn't seem to have any sense of urgency getting people through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very crowded terminal building"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Very bad airport, in fact it should not be regarded as an airport. But since aircraft's can take-off and land there, one has to call it that. Terminal building is really bad, facilities none and the staff are anything from rude to insulting. No internet, no eating possibilities except Baskins, Tim Hortons coffee and a local food chain. Very crowded terminal building with not enough seating. Even a few hours seem to be never ending. Avoid this airport at all costs unless you are going there for pilgrimage.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"experience was very good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was dreading my experience having read the reviews of Jeddah Airport. I arrived and departed from Saudi Airlines terminal and experience was very good. I heard that experience at international terminal (North) is not as good as South terminal (Saudia terminal). The airport has limited space so seating can be a real problem. Staff were friendly. Baggage arrival can be slow and your bus ride once you deplane can take between 5-20 minutes depending on where the plane is parked.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"a place to avoid"

(Canada)

Transited through Jeddah from Frankfurt to Lahore. For an international airport that services travellers to the holy cities of Makah and Medina, the people who run this airport forgot to keep this place up to date, for the amount of traffic that comes through. You have to take the bus to get to the airport once landed, once there, there is very little signage except a desk with some security to check your passport. there is no concept of queues here, once they look over your paperwork they point you up the stairs, with little to no information and it seems everyone that works here can speak little to no English. Once up the stairs there is a random guy sitting there with a baggage scanner who does not really care and is more concerned to just relax. At this point you walk into a room that looks like an old Cigar smoke shop, with people laying all over the place and no real indication on where to go. Once you figure out how to get to the next security check you will be yelled at by security on what to do and herded like cattle into lines where peoples first priority is push and shove to get to the front. Once again be prepared for extreme rudeness. Once through you will go through the duty free shop area and enter the main departure terminal. I think the seating ratio is 1 seat per 100 people, with more people sitting on the floor. One bathroom for men and one for women to handle the whole terminal. Not much to eat there and no courtesy amongst the employees. My wife was with me with our two month old son and no one was willing to give up their seat to sit down and she and I ended up standing for close to an hour before our gate was called. Once your gate is called you will be bussed off to your plane which in our case was a 15+ minute bus ride as our plane was parked by the new airport under construction. I thought Istanbul airport was bad for seating, this airport made that place look like the greatest place ever. My final suggestion don't come here, maybe once the new airport is opened it might improve, but if they keep the same staff and run the new airport like this current one it too will be a place to avoid.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst (international) airports"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Possibly one of the worst (international) airports in the world - not enough sitting spaces to accommodate travelers, forcing people to sit / lay down on the floor. Only 2 places to get anything to drink (or eat), plus one of those two didn't have any dedicated sitting area. My recommendation - if you can avoid this airport make sure you do!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"definitely has one of the worst services out there"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | My flight landed at Jeddah International Hajj Terminal. I had been told by friends prior to my trip about the dreadful immigration, thus, I had prepared myself for the worst. It turns out, I did experience the worst. Queuing was fine, until the immigration officer handling my line suddenly left - to take a phone call. Once he was finished, he went on to chat with his friend. Moreover, there were other officers who were free. In fact, they saw that my queue was not handled by any officer, but ignorantly walked off as if they saw nothing. After thirty minutes or so, the officer finally came back as if nothing had happened. As a side note, this didn't only happen to my queue, but also to another queue. On the bright side, during my departure, I went through Jeddah International (Not the Hajj one) and the immigrant officers there were actually doing their job and not leaving any stations. Overall, this airport definitely has one of the worst services out there and I would only recommend to those who want to experience the tortuous queue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"had a rather pleasant surprise"

(France)

After having read the worst reviews about this airport, I had very low expectations. Well, I had a rather pleasant surprise: transit was quite quick, very short queue at security and connecting gates (and business class lounge) just a few steps away. Sure, seating can be very limited at times, so is shopping and dining, but on the other hand, you avoid kilometers of walking through endless corridors and useless shops like in the big airports.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews