Vote Now  

Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 360 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"a very crowded airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Istanbul Airport is a very crowded airport. Not very modern. After a long, intercontinental flight you may find yourself exiting via stairs, exposed to weather, and then taking a bus to the terminal. Not convenient or a nice way to end a long journey. Transiting is not bad, but I cannot recommend when other airports such as Dubai are so much nicer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"transit was great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I transited in Istanbul Ataturk Airport while flying from UK to Nepal and vice-versa. While flying to Nepal transit was great. I had 2 hours to roam around. I must say this airport is small and compact. There were a lot of people in a small area and it was crowded. WiFi was just okay, not brilliant. There were a lot of place to eat but because it was already midnight not many were open. While returning my plane was 2 hours delayed from Nepal. I was really worried as my transit time was 2 hours that means I would have to run, but guess what there was 3 hour delay.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not a particularly welcoming airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Transit in Istanbul Ataturk from London to SE Asia. The airport is huge and can be confusing. On the outward leg of the journey the plane had developed a fault. On landing it parked in a remote part of the airport and it took a long time for bus transfer to the airport. We were off-loaded at a door and left to find our way into the lounge. There were no signs and no indication of how to find our way to any gate. Eventually after a long tedious walk we found the main lounge area, more by luck than anything else. On the return, however, we were taken to an arrivals door. Once inside all passengers were subjected to yet another security search, not experienced on the outward leg. Once through this, however, it was a short hop into the lounge area. Distance from lounge to gate can be long: a 15 minute yomp to departure gate. Pleany of shops but not a particularly welcoming airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"very busy and disorganised"

(United States)

Verified Review | We had to use this airport 4 times within just 2 weeks, both arrival and departure. For arrival, if you use Turkish Airlines Business Class, you have a special line for immigration (special advantage for the hometown airlines), saving you a lot time when airport is busy and queue for immigration is long. It is the same for departure, special line for immigration if you are Turkish Airlines Business Class passengers. Also the special line takes you directly into its VIP lounge, bypassing all the walk and crowd. As for the airport, it seems like a jungle, very busy and disorganised. Shopping options and dining options also are not optimal, rather limited, especially considering an airport of this scale. I will only recommend this airport if you are Turkish Airlines Business Class passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff are rude and not helpful"

(United States)

Customer service at Istanbul Ataturkis horrible. E-Visa machine is a pain to operate and there is no assistance for using it. Staff are rude and not helpful at all. Would never recommend using this airport voluntarily.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is not passenger friendly"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Istanbul Ataturk Airport was very dirty, noisy, busy and chaotic. For connection flights, it was very tiring to go between domestic and intenational terminals. Also, foods and other things in the airport were much more expensive than town shops. This airport is not passenger friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor and unpleasant facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible airport. Extremely rude staff, poor and unpleasant facilities, difficult wi-fi. To make matters worse, an extra security check despite only being in transit and having been checked in Tokyo. This meant our water bottles had to be emptied (our only drinks - we were out of money) and the security staff handled our hand luggage very roughly. Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrible airport"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Horrible airport. We landed and there was a queue of around 2000 people to a couple of open immigration stands. It would take about 1-1.5 hrs to wait, luckily we were in Business Class, so you have a Fast Track thanks to Turkish Airlines. The toilets are dirty, smelly, flies around urinals. Signage is not very clear. Rude staff - one person made a female passenger cry. On the return there was another 1000 pax queue to intl transfer security check. If you are not on TK flight in Business Class, just do not use this horrific airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues at passport control were horrendous"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | Appalling from start to finish. I arrived at Istanbul as a transit passenger, Antalya to Ercan. I was hoping to transit between the domestic and international terminals without the need to pass through security again. Sadly this wasn’t the case. The queues at passport control were horrendous, we waited for over 60 minutes then still had to pass through security. People skipping the queues, jumping the fences and no form of orderly queuing. To top it off, there was one police man who couldn't care less. When we told him we only had 45 minutes to get to our flight, his attitude was ‘not my problem’. Disgusting customer service. The airport is also very run down and dirty, the toilets were disgusting. This is meant to be an International airport but it isn’t fit for purpose, certainly not anywhere the level of Heathrow, Dubai, CDG etc. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was an atrocious experience"

(Russian Federation)

Istanbul Ataturk Airport was one of the worst airports I've been in. There are no proper waiting halls except for lounges. The airport itself is really small considering the vast amount of people. Very disorganised. Extremely filthy, especially bathrooms. The staff are the rudest I've encountered, they shout at passengers, have an "I don't care" kind of attitude, and more than half of them do not speak any language other than Turkish. I had a transit flight to Cairo and there was no information about the gate number, when asked at the information desk, the reply was "I don't know" in a very rude tone. Then it turned out that the flight was delayed for 3 hours but nobody announced that neither was it written or displayed anywhere, as a result I missed the flight and nobody even called for me when it was time for departure. When I complained at the gate about what happened, the staff member started shouting. Overall it was an atrocious experience and I strongly do not recommend to visit this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no