Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 396 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is terrible"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | The airport was pretty dirty. Staff arrogant and disrespectful. I had 12 layover and the wifi was limited. For conclusion, flying with Turkish Airlines was good experience but the airport is terrible. I have one inbound flight in 12/2017 but I swear after that I will never transit via this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"first experience was excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This has to be up there with the best airports. I've been through Ataturk twice in the last week, once a simple 2.5hr transit, the other time an overnight transit. The first experience was excellent - straight from plane to departures with no security. The second time, there was no queue to get through passport control to leave the airport, and coming back into the airport was very smooth too. Ataturk must be one of the most secure places I've been - security check before check in, 2 passport checks at the check in desk, then passport control, followed by main security, and finally a hand luggage and explosive check at the gate! Yet I spent less time queueing for all these combined than I would have done for the one security check at a UK airport! The departure hall is massive, with a great array of shops, bars and restaurants aswell as 2 smoking terraces.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Awful experience. Not a single staff member explains what they're doing, they just ask questions and are rude, unhelpful and down right arrogant. I had to take my glasses off to check my passport photo when I've never had to do that in any another country. I also felt as if I was being interrogated by the staff simply because they failed to believe I'm coloured and a British citizen born in the UK. Why at the boarding gate do they need to check you passport 3 times before being frisked and your bag checked? The toilets are dirty and the whole gate area smells. I had to travel via this airport as a last minute trip but I will never do it again. After a near 10hr flight prior to landing in Istanbul I was incredibly thankful to leave it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horribly wretched customer service"

(United States)

Unverified | There are not enough words in the English dictionary to describe this airport. So I will just sum it up with a few sentences. The first thing is the horribly wretched customer service at the airport and the flight was only a little better. From the money exchange to the information desk rude and uneducated people. Secondly the airport is nasty and smells near every gate corridor and beyond. The shopping area is the only clean area. They don't even tell you your gate number until 30 min before your scheduled flight. Incredible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"experience was not pleasant at all"

(Switzerland)

Unverified | Unfortunately I had to spend 5 hours at this airport between 2 flights and the experience was not pleasant at all. Overcrowded airport, not enough seating and dirty. I tried different toilets and they were all filthy, very disgusting. This airport is really a shame compared to the very good experience on Turkish Airlines. I guess this will improve with the opening of the new airport next year.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"A little courtesy goes a long way"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Really busy airport, with quite some walking distances. After the fast track passport check, people traveling in economy can join the business security check, a simple lack of cordoning off a lane then fails the 'fast track' approach entirely. (Male) security and passport staff are often stumm - akin to being rude - never saying anything other that 'you have visa', even when you thank them. A little courtesy goes a long way (and it should be a given), especially when you're using priority lanes! Unfortunately Turkish Airlines doesn't have any transport to the gates for lesser abled passengers (even when traveling in Business) either, while other airports (or airlines) have buggies or golf carts. Unlike promised by the check-in staff, there are no business class buses either when flying from an apron gate (where the plane's not docked at the gate). When questioning the ground staff on why there was no business class bus, we were told 'economics' and that buses are are only available for incoming and domestic flights. Considering a business fare is considerably higher than eco, you don't expect to stand and wait around in the shuttle bus for up to 20 minutes until it fills up completely, with everybody stepping on each others toes, being squashed. - pretty poor show Turkish Airlines!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Dirt is literally everywhere"

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | First of all, I do not understand how the airport can score and land as one of the top airports. While having an international transit you have to pass the security which is not scaled and prioritized. Having one lane for business class ticket or gold card holders is a joke. Dirt is literally everywhere. You can easily play football with PET bottles, especially in the elevators. Going to a toilet on a gate was even bigger mistake. I almost returned my breakfast I had eaten a couple of minutes back. Have you missed your flight? Well according to the display at the gate I didn’t - showing last call for another half an hour at least. I arrived 15 minutes prior the scheduled departure. I wasn’t alone as another 7 people arrived about the same time. What’s even better if you look for customer care or service you have to go back literally through the entire terminal. You arrive to the so called care point and guess what the services are limited and the staff can’t help you. To get the service you need you have to go outside and then pass the security once again. The only postitive I can write about the airport is the Turkish Airlines Lounge, which is really best in class. But once you are not gold card member, you will never enjoy the airport, especially when you “miss” your connecting flight. From last friday I will do my best to avoid travelling via this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a nightmare of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Had the misfortune of arriving at this airport for a 1 day meeting and could not wait to leave. The entire arrival hall seemed to be in chaos as many flights had landed at the same time. On departure, check in at Turkish was met with the usual air of rude indifference and once through a basic level of security, the eateries were typically over priced as was duty free. This is a nightmare of an airport to visit and the level of rudeness and unhelpfulness from airport staff does not assist the situation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"ok airport to fly into and from"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Used Ataturk airport with my wife and member of my family to fly to DXB on business. That particular trip was the last of its kind taking place after the July 2016 incidents in Istanbul. Airport security was stricter than before in that the presence of security personnel was increased. Lots of places to eat, albeit much more expensive than in Istanbul itself, and not that tasty! Also, lots of shops with luxury goods with fairly good offers. Turkish products at the airport (tea, baklava, lokum) are much much more expensive than in the most exclusive shop in Istanbul or at Turkey's land borders, and not in a satisfactory variety! The airport is fairly big but can get where need to in good time. The Customs Office (Gumruk) to get the relevant stamp in order to get the Turkish Tax Free Refund is not very easy to find, but asking any Turkish airport employee or security (ozel guvenlik) or police officer will get you there! Arriving without Turkish coins could be a problem as the luggage carts must be paid. An ok airport to fly into and from!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"airport is very overcrowded"

(Romania)

Verified Review | This is the dirtiest airport I have ever been to. Unfortunately I had to spend more than 12 hours during a layover in this mess. The airport is very overcrowded, terminal seating is limited at the gates and there are no rest areas (or at least not easily accessible since I couldn't find any in 12+ hours) for transit passengers which do not need to go directly to the gate. The mess in the terminals was awful. Crumbs everywhere, left over fast food packaging dumped on the floor, soda bottles, the lot. And worst of all, nobody seemed to be assigned to clean the facility, it just stayed like that throughout the day. The airport is also very large, with no convenient way of getting around. If you have to go from terminals 100 to 700 or vice-versa, be prepared for a good walk, since there are very far apart. Passport check lines can be very long also, however waiting times are not that bad. To sum up, not a nice airport to be in, even for short periods of time, let alone for several hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no