Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 244 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Worst airport lines and management experienced in 20 plus years of flying. Be sure to arrive with at least an extra hour on top of standard times at Istanbul airport where two passport officers process a snaking lines of hundreds of non Turkish passport holders. With queues snaking into the check in desks, it is clear that neither Turkey nor this airport care for foreigners, tourists or visitors. Hands down this experience at 4am in the morning is enough not to visit Turkey again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Saudi Arabia)

The cafes and restaurants are well organised and had delicious food. We had some problem with my father's visa and the airport police were kind and cooperative and the problem solved in minutes. The Duty Free area is outstanding and I enjoyed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

You will be charged to use a trolley, very long queue to drop luggage and rude staff especially at passport control. The worst is the internet, you cannot use the internet even to check your flight information. To use the internet you have to pay but you will need a Turkish phone number to receive a message with a user code.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Romania)

Probably the worst in Europe. Very crowded, lacks organization, delays are a daily occurance, staff not friendly. Cleanliness is non-existant, smells awful, no airport wi-fi internet connection available. Never using this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Pakistan)

When you pay so much extra for business class, you'd expect better service and more comfort but this airport didn't provide that. Was travelling Qatar and was informed that only business passengers flying Turkish Airlines cans use the fast track, so had to wait quite a while in long lines. At passport control thankfully there was a fast track but only one member of the staff so the economy line was moving faster than ours. The lounge was decent though, not great but not bad at all. Overall, too crowded, very busy and not enough staff, however it depends on what time you're flying.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Turkey)

Arrivals at Istanbul were efficient. Passport control were OK, but the delivery of Priority declared baggage (tool boxes) a real disaster! Travelling every 2-3 weeks on TK flights with my “Priority” declared tool boxes/baggage, IST Ataturk airport the delivery is a disaster. Average waiting / delivery time is 45 minutes. Other airports and grounding suppliers doing much better. Turkish Airlines, TGS should improve here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
3/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Germany)

This is quite a bad airport. It has no free WIFI, you have to pay with a Turkish card/or get a membership. The facilities in the airport are poor and the toilet isn't the best either. I was walking to the waiting area of my plane and had to pass a guy checking my boarding ticket and passport. His attitude was beyond bad and disrespectful. The airport terminal itself doesn't offer much, only few shops and it seemed very unorganized. It's not comfortable being there, it reminds me of being at a Turkish bazaar as it is overcrowded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Really dont like this airport. Too big, too crowded and very hot. Passport control on departure was painfully slow, long lines and not enough staff. The only advantage was no queue for security. Thankfully I had access to the Turkish Airlines CIP lounge which provided some relief from the crowds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping N/A
Wifi Connectivity N/A
no
3/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates)

Was unfortunate to transit 5 hours in this airport due to a missed connecting flight thanks to Turkish Airlines delayed flight. It would have been great if there is a fast pass accessed at the security checks for those who has an urgent connecting flight to catch, as to be honest, my boyfriend and I would have been able to catch our connecting flight if it wasn't for the long security checks and so on (also the delay did not help). Staff were pretty rude when we asked them for assistance in rebooking our next flight and the Bake and Cake shop which is supposed to supply us with free sandwich due to their flight delay, was horrible. Shops were limited in that airport and most of the time I couldn't figure out if the prices were in Turkish Lira or in Euros (they were not consistent in their price tag throughout the entire airport).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity N/A
no
na

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (India)

Flew in from SFO. Arrivals: Bags took almost an hour to come. Flights coming after ours had their bags delivered first. Trolleys need to be issued by inserting Turkish Lira or Euro. Which means you need to exchange money prior to accessing your own luggage. Trolleys in a condition fit enough to make you cry. Departure: Flying to Delhi. Worst departure terminal in the world lazy ground staff. Flying in Business Class I am supposed to pickup my own suitcases (all 5 of them) as well as my handbags on my own load them onto a security scanner before getting inside the terminal and at the same time bear the brunt of the security staff. Majority Long Haul Flights of Turkish Airlines are parked on the Tarmac instead of the Jetway despite several empty Jetways and they overload people onto their buses.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no