Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 250 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

This was my second time transiting through Ataturk, and I regret to say that most of the recent reviews posted here are sadly accurate: Ataturk is overheated, under-ventilated and chaotic. Overhead signs report that the flight you are trying to transfer to is "Boarding Now", but do not report at which gate. Since there are many more flights at IST (a victim of Turkish Airlines' success) thEn there are gates, arrivals and departures seem to entail riding buses to and from remote stands, only increasing the chances that you will miss your connecting flight. Navigation between the international and domestic terminals is convoluted, archaic and burdensome. Bottom line: avoid IST at all cost unless your destination is Istanbul or some transfer destination served only through IST. It is not worth the aggravation and irritation. Instead, consider flying to and from Esenboga in Ankara, which is served by nonstops from Munich, and which serves a fair number of Turkish domestic destinations. In comparison to Ataturk, Esenboga is serene, organized and on-time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

I think every one is correct that Istanbul Ataturk Airport needs an attitude change and many improvements. I like it because I can sit and have a meal and a few drinks. I agree they are being very stingy by not providing Wi-Fi. As for the attitude, what do you expect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Iran)

This was my first time travelling via Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. Almost all of my 4 flights had some sort of delay and they sent my luggage on a later flight to Vienna. The airport staff are very unfriendly to say the least, they have no care for visitors and are disrespectful to travellers. The same goes for employees at the duty free and restaurants. There is no free wifi that lasts (it works for 15 minutes - if you're lucky) and the rest is you have to pay. The terminal wasn't well ventilated and wasn't very clean. I understand it's peak season but it's as if no one cares. A major airport like this reflects on its country and I I will not fly Turkish Airlines nor go to Turkey anytime soon.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore)

What a horrible experience at the Istanbul airport. Every staff I encountered was rude and had no interest to help (airport information booth, Turkish airlines lounge). No wifi at this airport, except Starbucks. Delays of at least 1 hour of every Turkish Airlines flight I took. Very little duty free shops, nothing to do. What a nightmare!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Worst airport lines and management experienced in 20 plus years of flying. Be sure to arrive with at least an extra hour on top of standard times at Istanbul airport where two passport officers process a snaking lines of hundreds of non Turkish passport holders. With queues snaking into the check in desks, it is clear that neither Turkey nor this airport care for foreigners, tourists or visitors. Hands down this experience at 4am in the morning is enough not to visit Turkey again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Saudi Arabia)

The cafes and restaurants are well organised and had delicious food. We had some problem with my father's visa and the airport police were kind and cooperative and the problem solved in minutes. The Duty Free area is outstanding and I enjoyed it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

You will be charged to use a trolley, very long queue to drop luggage and rude staff especially at passport control. The worst is the internet, you cannot use the internet even to check your flight information. To use the internet you have to pay but you will need a Turkish phone number to receive a message with a user code.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Romania)

Probably the worst in Europe. Very crowded, lacks organization, delays are a daily occurance, staff not friendly. Cleanliness is non-existant, smells awful, no airport wi-fi internet connection available. Never using this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Pakistan)

When you pay so much extra for business class, you'd expect better service and more comfort but this airport didn't provide that. Was travelling Qatar and was informed that only business passengers flying Turkish Airlines cans use the fast track, so had to wait quite a while in long lines. At passport control thankfully there was a fast track but only one member of the staff so the economy line was moving faster than ours. The lounge was decent though, not great but not bad at all. Overall, too crowded, very busy and not enough staff, however it depends on what time you're flying.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Istanbul Ataturk Airport customer review

Review by (Turkey)

Arrivals at Istanbul were efficient. Passport control were OK, but the delivery of Priority declared baggage (tool boxes) a real disaster! Travelling every 2-3 weeks on TK flights with my “Priority” declared tool boxes/baggage, IST Ataturk airport the delivery is a disaster. Average waiting / delivery time is 45 minutes. Other airports and grounding suppliers doing much better. Turkish Airlines, TGS should improve here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes