Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 373 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"in bad need of a renovation and repair"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This airport is in bad need of a renovation and repair. More people should be employed to keep the area clean. The toilets were so filthy I decided to wait and use the toilet on my flight. The amount of passengers sitting on the ground was not acceptable, especially when they are children. Make sure you get there early as customs lines are always very long. All Turkish airports are extremely expensive and everything is in Euros so eat and drink beforehand if possible. At the gate waiting areas had carpets that were badly stained and seats were old and ripped. Some eating areas have been improved however more is needed. Security is good once you enter the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Airport is well designed with clear signalling"

(Bahrain)

Verified Review | Istanbul Airport attracts thousands of passengers everyday around the clock. For passengers transiting between flights, the transit zone is clearly lacking seating and amusement for kids. In such cases, the lounge access is the only solution. With all the capabilities of the Turkish Airport Company, experienced by smooth check-in procedures and excellent crisis management, it is recommended to provide more seating in transit area. It is so unfortunate to see tired passengers laying on the ground in such a well reputed Terminal and regional hub. In most cases, such lack of seating made people occupy coffee shop seating area and food-court while hungry travelers can't get a seat. Cleanness and service is very good in this airport, and the duty free shopping area is diversified. The Airport is well designed with clear signalling, and taking into consideration the travelers with special needs, which is something that has been neglected in other airports that I visited in other countries. Enjoy the charming Istanbul, and keep the great service. I hope that these small notes will be taken in to account by the Airport management.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"could do with more signage "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport could do with more signage when you get out of the gate area as you arrive into the airport for transit. There are no signs I could see, you finally get to the transit section and someone pops up. Then as you past the stairwell (escalator section) you come to gates and no signage to say turn around and go up the escalator! Please have signs to indicate where the central area of the airport is and the direction of the lounge, bars, restaurants and shops. You have it for those already coming in, but no one has thought about the transit passengers. Plenty of food options and shops to keep you busy. But this airport is really busy, so be prepared! Just needs more signage
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"Seats are limited in all areas"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | The whole airport is hot and overcrowded. Limited trolleys and WiFi doesn't seem to work for me. Staff are rude so they couldn't care to help at all, some couldn't speak simple English. Information counter is as useless as putting a wall there and reject everyone who needs help. Seats are limited in all areas. Basically makes you hate traveling.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"many shopping, food and lounge options"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is huge and very busy at almost all times of the day. I greatly appreciate that there are comfortable benches to sleep on while on a long layover. There are restroom facilities everywhere as well as many shopping, food and lounge options. With the recent UK/US travel ban for electronics, there was an added security check at the gate. This was chaotic and poorly organized. The security officer took my boarding pass and created a lot of the confusion with the gate agent when I boarded the plane. There is free 2-hour wifi access. Unfortunately to get on it you'll need mobile access as they send a text message with the access code. They need to fix this as many travelers don't have access to a mobile number when traveling abroad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"not too bad overall"

(Papua New Guinea)

Verified Review | On arrival at Istanbul Ataturk, there was a long walk to immigration, then long queues but they moved quickly and the staff were friendly and painless. If you have an e-visa, get in the normal foreigners line but, when you get to the end, make sure to go to the booths at the far left. There are ATMs near immigration, then a duty free shop next to the baggage counters. All bags are x-rayed at customs but it's quick. Emirates left my luggage in Dubai but the local staff were very nice about it. The train station is a bit of a walk but is convenient if you can handle the crowds with luggage. Basically, arrival was pretty painless. So was departure. A security check at the entrance but at least you go inside first. This is a full check, including taking out laptops, so there seems no point in the second check after passport control (which was fairly quick). The airside area is a bit crowded (although less so than Dubai when I arrived there) and it is remarkably dirty. However, there are plenty of conveniences and a few bars with runway views. Prices are on a par with other airports, which means 2-3 times the prices in central Istanbul. It's not too bad overall but definitely can't compare to good western airports or the major Gulf airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"infrastructure seems to be very, very poor"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | For a transit hub of that importance, transiting millions, the infrastructure at Istanbul Ataturk Airport seems to be very very poor, inadaptated, and not welcoming. The wifi service proposed for free in Ataturk airport is really inapropriated for such an airport. Only 2 free hours, and yet, you have to reconnect everytime you move from one place to another. The airport also clearly lacks seats and lounge for passengers in transit. It's a permanent competition to get a place to sit and relax, and I'm not talking about the very few plugs to charge telephones and laptops. And then, too many flights are boarded and unboarded by bus, on aprons sometimes located very far away from the terminal (once, 20 minutes by bus to get to the aircraft). This doesn't only includes smaller aircraft, but even flights operated on wide-bodied aircrafts, making the transit very unconfortable. However, the airport is very clean, the variety of shops and restaurants is wide, and the staff is always ready to help. I'm even impressed by the efficiency the airports manages to transit as many passengers with such small infrastructures.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"this airport lets its main tenant down"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Turkish Airlines may be one of the best carriers in the world but this airport lets its main tenant down. To me, Istanbul Ataturk is London-Luton and Old Doha Airport rolled into one - the worst of both words coming together. Duty free shops litter the entire terminal, there is nearly nothing to do here, the signs are confusing, and there is a severe lack of seating (especially in the bus gate areas). It's tolerable if the bus gates are used to handle flights with less than 200 passengers but not when the gates handle 300 plus passengers for each long-haul flight. On top of that, their free WiFi never worked for me. I gave up after trying multiple times to log-on using a Singapore and Portuguese number as I never received the pin verification SMS. I guess the only saving grace for this airport is that Turkish Airlines provides free newspapers to transit passengers. Without these, you'd probably die of boredom. I really hope the new Istanbul airport is way better than this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"huge, overcrowded and not very clean"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The airport is huge, overcrowded and not very clean. The navigation is confusing and the airport staff only adds to this. No comfortable waiting areas, and airport cafes look strange and not welcoming (and I could not find a single one with electricity sockets to recharge my laptop). No free internet; paid options are available, in theory, but very challenging to configure, at last I gave up, as they also needed an sms confirmation, and my Dutch Vodafone did not work in Turkey. Boarding was fast and efficient, and so was the passport control. Summing up: better avoided if transit is too short (2.5 hours), please also be sure that if something goes wrong with your flight, then you are really in trouble, judging from the overall attitude of the Turkish transfer staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a very crowded airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Istanbul Airport is a very crowded airport. Not very modern. After a long, intercontinental flight you may find yourself exiting via stairs, exposed to weather, and then taking a bus to the terminal. Not convenient or a nice way to end a long journey. Transiting is not bad, but I cannot recommend when other airports such as Dubai are so much nicer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no