Vote Now  

Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 362 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"this airport lets its main tenant down"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Turkish Airlines may be one of the best carriers in the world but this airport lets its main tenant down. To me, Istanbul Ataturk is London-Luton and Old Doha Airport rolled into one - the worst of both words coming together. Duty free shops litter the entire terminal, there is nearly nothing to do here, the signs are confusing, and there is a severe lack of seating (especially in the bus gate areas). It's tolerable if the bus gates are used to handle flights with less than 200 passengers but not when the gates handle 300 plus passengers for each long-haul flight. On top of that, their free WiFi never worked for me. I gave up after trying multiple times to log-on using a Singapore and Portuguese number as I never received the pin verification SMS. I guess the only saving grace for this airport is that Turkish Airlines provides free newspapers to transit passengers. Without these, you'd probably die of boredom. I really hope the new Istanbul airport is way better than this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"huge, overcrowded and not very clean"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The airport is huge, overcrowded and not very clean. The navigation is confusing and the airport staff only adds to this. No comfortable waiting areas, and airport cafes look strange and not welcoming (and I could not find a single one with electricity sockets to recharge my laptop). No free internet; paid options are available, in theory, but very challenging to configure, at last I gave up, as they also needed an sms confirmation, and my Dutch Vodafone did not work in Turkey. Boarding was fast and efficient, and so was the passport control. Summing up: better avoided if transit is too short (2.5 hours), please also be sure that if something goes wrong with your flight, then you are really in trouble, judging from the overall attitude of the Turkish transfer staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a very crowded airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Istanbul Airport is a very crowded airport. Not very modern. After a long, intercontinental flight you may find yourself exiting via stairs, exposed to weather, and then taking a bus to the terminal. Not convenient or a nice way to end a long journey. Transiting is not bad, but I cannot recommend when other airports such as Dubai are so much nicer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"transit was great"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I transited in Istanbul Ataturk Airport while flying from UK to Nepal and vice-versa. While flying to Nepal transit was great. I had 2 hours to roam around. I must say this airport is small and compact. There were a lot of people in a small area and it was crowded. WiFi was just okay, not brilliant. There were a lot of place to eat but because it was already midnight not many were open. While returning my plane was 2 hours delayed from Nepal. I was really worried as my transit time was 2 hours that means I would have to run, but guess what there was 3 hour delay.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not a particularly welcoming airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Transit in Istanbul Ataturk from London to SE Asia. The airport is huge and can be confusing. On the outward leg of the journey the plane had developed a fault. On landing it parked in a remote part of the airport and it took a long time for bus transfer to the airport. We were off-loaded at a door and left to find our way into the lounge. There were no signs and no indication of how to find our way to any gate. Eventually after a long tedious walk we found the main lounge area, more by luck than anything else. On the return, however, we were taken to an arrivals door. Once inside all passengers were subjected to yet another security search, not experienced on the outward leg. Once through this, however, it was a short hop into the lounge area. Distance from lounge to gate can be long: a 15 minute yomp to departure gate. Pleany of shops but not a particularly welcoming airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"very busy and disorganised"

(United States)

Verified Review | We had to use this airport 4 times within just 2 weeks, both arrival and departure. For arrival, if you use Turkish Airlines Business Class, you have a special line for immigration (special advantage for the hometown airlines), saving you a lot time when airport is busy and queue for immigration is long. It is the same for departure, special line for immigration if you are Turkish Airlines Business Class passengers. Also the special line takes you directly into its VIP lounge, bypassing all the walk and crowd. As for the airport, it seems like a jungle, very busy and disorganised. Shopping options and dining options also are not optimal, rather limited, especially considering an airport of this scale. I will only recommend this airport if you are Turkish Airlines Business Class passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff are rude and not helpful"

(United States)

Customer service at Istanbul Ataturkis horrible. E-Visa machine is a pain to operate and there is no assistance for using it. Staff are rude and not helpful at all. Would never recommend using this airport voluntarily.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is not passenger friendly"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Istanbul Ataturk Airport was very dirty, noisy, busy and chaotic. For connection flights, it was very tiring to go between domestic and intenational terminals. Also, foods and other things in the airport were much more expensive than town shops. This airport is not passenger friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor and unpleasant facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Horrible airport. Extremely rude staff, poor and unpleasant facilities, difficult wi-fi. To make matters worse, an extra security check despite only being in transit and having been checked in Tokyo. This meant our water bottles had to be emptied (our only drinks - we were out of money) and the security staff handled our hand luggage very roughly. Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrible airport"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Horrible airport. We landed and there was a queue of around 2000 people to a couple of open immigration stands. It would take about 1-1.5 hrs to wait, luckily we were in Business Class, so you have a Fast Track thanks to Turkish Airlines. The toilets are dirty, smelly, flies around urinals. Signage is not very clear. Rude staff - one person made a female passenger cry. On the return there was another 1000 pax queue to intl transfer security check. If you are not on TK flight in Business Class, just do not use this horrific airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no