Islamabad Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 24 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
na

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th November 2014

Without doubt ISB is the world's worst airport and recently had this status officially recognised. Use this airport every couple of months at the moment and always dread the experience. The rules and procedures fro negotiating the airport are all made up on the fly by individual members of staff. For some reason they are obsessed with stamping and checking a tag on your hand luggage. Seems to get checked at least 5 times. Staff are miserable and surly and there are always huge crowds of people at the airport regardless of the time of day and most of them are not passengers. Facilities are laughable. ISB sets itself very low standards and consistently fails to achieve them! Enjoy!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 15th August 2014

Truly awful airport. Aside from the actual facilities (not) on offer it is the people who work here that make this airport perhaps the worst that I have experienced. The biggest offenders are probably the Security people at the various checkpoints inside and at the entrance to the airport. They seem to make up the rules based on their fancy at that moment. Inconsistent security screening I expect leads to higher security risk (not surprised that the European airlines no longer fly here). Do they not realise the first and last impression they are giving about Pakistan? Really is a disgrace at present.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (Pakistan) 9th July 2013

I visited the airport last year when I was leaving for Jeddah to perform Umra. We had to change our clothes and had to wear The Ahram. We were travelling in a B747 and the flight had 400+ passengers. For 400 passengers there were only ten changing rooms and all were dirty. It was very difficult for us to change. But the V.I.P lounge of the airport is good but still needs improvement. Overall the airport is too bad. Hope the new airport under construction turns out to be a good and well maintained airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 20th February 2013

Benazir Bhutto International Airport (previously Islamabad International Airport) has clearly outlived its usefulness and one could have said the same thing 10 years ago. The airport is clearly obsolete with an undersized terminal building undersized parking and an undersized baggage collection area. It really can not receive more than one international flight at the same time. The only thing on the bright side is that new airport is under construction and should be opening next year.
Queuing Times N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 20th November 2012

My first time travelling to Islamabad. Upon arrival we had to use the buses to transport us from the plane to the airport building. Upon exiting the buses and entering the building one is greeted with long lines and chaos. Airport does have sections labelled (Pakistani citizens Foreigners and unaccompanied women) but everyone fails to adhere to these rules. There are two carousels but there efficiency is ridiculous. When exiting the airport they have random checks forcing people to place their luggage in scanners afterwards they require you to hand over the baggage claim receipts. When departing from Islamabad airport the process is even more tedious and annoying. You have to present your ticket or a print out to enter the airport. Then you head straight towards narcotics check instead of having scanners they make you open your luggage and create an appalling mess. Then its a series of scanners and checking after which you finally reach check-in desks immigration desks further checking random checking stamping of carry-on luggage and finally transit lounge on the second floor. The duty free shops offer restricted merchandise bathrooms are horrible (a daunting task to use them). Overall a horrible unorganized chaotic below international standards airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th May 2011

I travel to Islamabad every after 4-5 months times and have noticed that its getting worse. As soon as you reach airport - the pain begins. Its such a horrible place to be. Custom officers greet you with such rudeness that puts you off and treat passengers as bad as possible. They open bags for checking and mess up every thing - leaving passengers to close bags in a messy situation - giving a very bad impression of Pakistan. There are no managers or any responsible personal.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd April 2011

Islamabad was my last stop on a long journey through the Middle East and Pakistan and this was by far the worst airport I've been in. I arrived from KHI which wasn't that bad the buses were waiting and took us to the arrivals hall for baggage collection. Departure from ISB was the worst as we had a flight at 3:25am to DXB and just to get into the airport there is a heavy queue to go through security (that people just cut anyhow) then once you're inside you have to go through Narcotics Control - fortunately they didn't feel a need to bother me so I didn't have to wait for them to check my bags then they scan your bags and you go through a metal detector again then after you can finally go to the check-in desks.. the check-in area is just terrible dirty and extremely disorganized bag scales broke midway to checking in for the flight so then everyone was shouting and making a scene (mind you this is 2:00am) finally after 30 minutes they fixed it and checked all the bags in after that you go through passport control then security again. The best is when you go to the "gate" which is just a door leading outside with multiple flight queues at the door. No PA system was used some guy was just screaming flight numbers and we went out to the buses then when we get to the aircraft it's not ready so we had to wait on the bus for about 30 minutes a little kid passed out as it was so hot on the bus and the driver refused to open the door - all I can say is never again!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by 26th January 2009

I have been traveling through ISB for three years now and I continue to marvel at the pain travelers have to endure to get on an airplane. It is not uncommon to find three or four B777’s of varying carriers arriving and leaving at the same time meaning that every relative of each Pakistani passenger will be at the airport greeting or seeing off their loved ones. That is a big sea of humanity to wade through. There are several lines: first to get into terminal and that can take up to an hour depending on how many people cut in front; then there is a narcotics task-force check which is a guy who may or may not look at your passport and wave you to a bag check line; then there are 2 X-ray machines for all those people and all that luggage and no matter what there will be porters who push you out of the way just when you get to the X-ray machine belt to put tons of luggage that jams the screening machines; then you check in at your airline; then you get in one of the immigration lines which are clearly laid out for foreign native and women/family travelers but who reads signs? Then there is another passport check and handbag screening which gives arrogant travelers from around the world an opportunity to show how obnoxious they can be; then there is another check of the handbag to stamp it and the boarding pass and you’re in the departure lounge. If you are in a hurry pay a porter to push you through divert your eyes and swallow your shame. Otherwise cultivate patience.
no
4/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by 16th July 2007

In the recent past Islamabad airport has improved in cleaning quality standards and a bit of attention. The toilets although at times are crowded but an attendent is there to clean it up. Announcements have improved from the past. Electronic check in has been introduced which avoids standing in queues and saves time. The cooling needs to be improved and space should be added to the existing loounges and car parking. Although the security was performing their job but that needs more effort to avoid bottle neck at the check in points. The floor of International Departure lounge at places was under rehabilitation which gives a smooth clean look. However furniture needs refurbishment.
no
1/10

Islamabad Airport customer review

Review by 3rd July 2007

The Ladies' Toilet facilities were appalling and insufficient for the number of people. There was deafening noise from builders cutting and grinding inside the terminal so that announcements could not be heard. The escalator made to carry passengers up one floor during check-in was not working. And there were other steps to be climbed as well. No good for passengers with difficulty in walking or with children and pushchairs. BA have recently introduced "Electronic Check In" in which you check-in on-line 24 hours before the flight select your choice of seats and print your own "Electronic Boarding Passes". These were happily accepted at the BA check-in desk. However none of the many Airport Security staff conducting the various security checks had been briefed about this innovation. Our party was therefore subjected to much delay and inappropriate humiliation while passing through the checks -- even at the foot of the aircraft steps. There was much confusion in the departure lounge when the decision was made to allow two different Jumbo Jets to board simultaneously through one single gate. Surely this could have been done better. The transfer buses on the tarmac had dangerously steep steps: most unsuitable for the purpose. Indeed why were they ever allowed into service when new? During arrival the Immigration checks took much longer to pass through than the baggage took to arrive from the plane so there was a strong risk of unwatched luggage being stolen from the carousel.
no
1 to 10 of 24 Reviews