Top 100 Airports  

Houston IAH

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 218 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Please allow at least 3 hours transit time, the immigration queue is terrible, there are machines for reading passports for holders of ESTA, however please note that they reject far more people than they clear. If you are rejected you must go to the back of the main queue to see an agent, even if you only have a short transit time, they will not let you go to the front of the line, you must wait your turn. They say if you miss your flight simply contact your airline. Terrible customer service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"transferring is only getting worse"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Horrible long immigration pass at Houston IAH. Despite having ESTA kiosks you still have to line up in ordinary lines. Transferred through Chicago 5-6 years ago and zero waiting. The most backward process I ever experienced. Same with customs. This airport is operated as it was a 2 gate domestic airport. Of course lost my connection flight. I have been transferring through IAH at least 50 times and it is only getting worse.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"security was packed"

(United States)

Although my final destination was DIA we were expected to eat dinner there before our flight but when we arrived from Costa Rica we ended up going through customs twice due to computer malfunctions and security was packed. We probably waited in line for at least an hour because we did not have time to eat witch we had a 3 hour layover and we had to run to our gate. I've been through customs many times and I have never had to deal with this ever before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"found this airport ridiculous"

(Canada)

So. Like everyone else here, I found this airport ridiculous. The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. I had just about a 2 hour window for my lay over and ended up in a line at those terrible machines for over an hour. The lady standing there, doing nothing productive, just kept telling us it would "take 20 minutes". That wouldn't have been a problem if it were even remotely true. After struggling with this god awful machines we finally went to get our luggage. Which never turned up because it had been marked for transfer. So we ran through to customs. And we told the lady again that we had 20 minutes now until boarding time. She didn't help us. Thank you to the passengers who let us through. After that it was a sprint to those buses to get to another terminal. Then a super sprint to find our gate. We just made it in time before the flight was scheduled for take off. I will never use this airport again. And if you can avoid it - avoid it. Oh. And our luggage never arrived.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a good airport"

(United States)

Houston IAH is a good airport. It is quite far away from the city. However I don't see why the average rating is only 2 out of 10. The security is only full at certain times in certain terminals. This is a hub airport for United and it is extremely cheap to travel to / from here. The main terminal offers a lot of space, but the bathrooms aren't that clean. It has nice view, and you can see airplanes coming and going. This airport has good and bad points.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
7/10

"this was something unique"

(United States)

I transited from Houston during my round-trip to Shreveport, Louisiana. I took the train to change terminals in Houston. For my flight to Shreveport, there was a general "waiting area" for regional flights. You proceed towards your gate from "waiting area" only when boarding starts. I thought this was something unique. Overall, I had a positive experience and wouldn't mind transiting through Houston again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"customs and immigration line over 2 hours"

(United States)

Customs and immigration for US citizens at Houston IAH is a ridiculous mess. Glad this is our final stop. So many people missing their connecting flights. After waiting in the self automated line over 2 hours, they started allowing the back of the line to skip to the counters which means everyone behind you is now in front for phase 2. We don't even have our luggage yet.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2.5 hours connecting, I barely made it"

(Austria)

Same experience as other travelers at Houston IAH. Immigration service is slow and staff just do not care if you miss your flight and are extremly unfriendly. I had 2.5 hours connecting time I barely made it - I had to ask others to let me pass by. I would love to transit over Dallas unfortunately Lufthansa does not offer this airport for a connection from Europe to Guadalajara, Mexico. Connecting in Dallas I had great experience, everbody tries to help if you are tight on changing plane, well organized.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible walking distances"

(United States)

Landed ayt Houston IAH on a redeye flight from Seattle into Terminal E. Horrible walking distance to anywhere else - at least a half mile walk to the Skyway to go to other terminals. Why the half mile walk? Because Terminal E is setup as the International Terminal so if you transfer domestic to domestic you walk to Terminal D with no help from moving walkways. We flagged down a electric cart as the walking distance is absurd but it explains the exhausted people we saw entering the Terminal E domestic gate area.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst passport control"

(Mexico)

Houston IAH has the worst passport control service I have experienced in any developed country - only 2 out of 40 lanes open, several immigration agents at counters not working. Waiting time of more than 1.5 hours on a regular Monday evening. Visited Houston last November and have seen no progress, if anything the situation is even worse now. Feel bad for all the people losing their connections, who is paying for this bad service, the airlines?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no