Top 100 Airlines  

Houston IAH

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 208 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very impressive"

(United Kingdom)

First time to the US with Global Entry clearance. Given reviews of Houston IAH, I was keen to see what difference this made as I had erred on the safe side and left 3 hours transit time. No queue at the Global Entry machines, hand baggage only so quickly through customs, and managed to switch to an earlier flight. Overall no more than 30 minutes from doors open to being ready for the domestic flight, which was very impressive.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
1/10

"long queues for machines"

(United States)

1 hour 23 minutes transfer time at Houston, plus 23 minutes as our flight from London Heathrow was early but never made the connection due to the long queues for machines, immigration, hand luggage check and body scan - even though this had all been checked in London. I spoke to 5 individuals and explained that we had a flight to catch and nobody cared and in fact blame was passed from immigration to the airline or airline to immigration depending on whose employee I was speaking to. Result, 18 hours overnight at Houston Airport waiting for the next flight out. Complaint to United Airlines resulted in a tough luck reply and a few airmiles points and complaint to airport got no response at all. I will not travel through this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"slowest airport witnessed"

(Germany)

Came from Panama to Houston to catch a plane to Germany. Had a 1h40min connection time and my first flight landed early. I'm used to long lines at immigration into the US but this was the worst I have ever seen. There are self service kiosks and I waited 60min to get there - it didn't work for 90% of the people so we had to stand in line (another 30min) to get through regular immigration. There were many officers and I called to attention that my flight was already boarding for 10min but they said that was no problem. Thanks to all the passengers who let me pass. After immigration I ran to get my suitcase and check it again. There was another line to go through customs which everyone had to go though (even with connecting flights). And then came TSA. Being used to mostly European but also US airports where there are different lines according to the proximity of your departure time, there was no such thing here. And even asking officials they said there was no fast lane. Again thanks to all the people who let me pass. Fortunately, after a sprint to the gate I made it to my plane and they closed the gate behind me. I will never ever go through IAH again - the slowest airport I have ever witnessed and no surprise that my suitcase went to Cleveland instead of Frankfurt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lovely facility, horribly run"

(United States)

Lovely facility, horribly run. We had a 1.5 hr connection on United coming in from Mexico. Had to move through customs, collect and recheck baggage, re enter security, and take a transit train to get to our gate. We saw lots of travelers stressed and running to catch their connections. In our experience, not a chance with many of the stops manned by a handful of people to process us and a customs department operating at half speed. Ended up missing the connection - having a 24hr layover in Houston before United could fly us within a 2hr. drive to our final destination. Either that or wait 48hrs in Houston before they could get us back on a flight. We opted to fly asap and rent our own car to drive home. None of this was within our control nor was compensated at any stage by either the airline or airport. Makes one frustrated at both parties.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had to run for the plane"

(United States)

Just connected through Houston on a flight from Cabo to Newark. Had 1 hour 45 mins for connection and had to run for the plane. The immigration process and personnel would embarrass a third world country and customs was worse. Four agents spent 20 minutes inspecting my wife's underwear and were either obtuse, rude or just moronic. Once you are done with that debacle you have to line up again to go through another security check. No TSA pre. No first class lines. Just another 30 minutes of incompetence. Embarrassing that this is what visitors see when coming to our country.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"stuck yet again"

(United Kingdom)

I'm stuck yet again in a long queue at passport control at Houston IAH Airport. I'm in transit, only 10 lanes of 40 open, along with being so slow. Each time I come through here I'm greeted with incompetence or rudeness. Will I make my connection, who knows.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassing welcome for visitors"

(United States)

Houston IAH is the worst airport to be traveling from. Checking in for our flight to DXB was an hour's wait, and immigration on the way back was another hour. There are no TSA Pre or sufficient number of security counters, which means lines for security can take up to 30 minutes. The immigration kiosks for US passports are a gigantic waste of time, it takes a family of 4 at least 5 minutes (if they're quick) to scan each passport and take pictures. They probably need to triple the number of kiosks if the lines are to get any shorter. Baggage handling was an absolute mess, passengers had to go hunt for bags, which sometimes came on a carousel different from the one indicated for our flight. After you collect your bags, customs is another 20 minute line. The entire ordeal from gate to exit took over 2 hours. All in all IAH is the most embarrassing welcome for visitors to our country, and the worst possible way for Americans to return home.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this airport is the worst"

(United States)

This place is a nightmare. I flew through here on United from Guatemala City to Chicago, as a US Passport holder, and it is a debacle. First, they now have a kiosk to enter your info, scan your Passport and give you a receipt. You then proceed to hand this to an Immigration Officer, and exit to recheck your Bags for your onward flight. The Kiosk throws everyone for a loop, and it was so crowded, the lines were all the way out of the hall, on Jan 4, a Monday. After that fiasco, you then encounter another 3 ring circus that makes most developing countries look like a Swiss Bank. The area to get thru security is too small, so you can not even go up the escalator, to the Security area, they had to stop the escalator, and wait for the security to clear out. Are you kidding me, a new airport, can't handle the passengers coming from Immigration? Then, after you finally get thru security, you need to take a train, as IAH is huge. I am ashamed to be an American, and see what we put foreigners thru, this airport is the worst, and I am on my 3rd Passport, so I get around.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security for connections is hideous"

(United States)

I have never been in such a terrible airport as this one. What a disgrace. My husband and I were coming back from Costa Rica to San Francisco through IAH. We had to line up in one line to use a kiosk to fill out the information we already had on our form, and have our pictures taken. Then another line to bring the forms and talk to a TSA agent. Why have the kiosk when I still have to line up and clear with a TSA agent. Both my husband and I had TSA PRE, and there was no option for TSA PRE. Then TSA held up my husband for a while with no explanation, and I had to wait outside the room for half an hour, even though he qualified for TSA PRE and is a US citizen. No one secures your luggage. The security for connections is hideous, inefficient, and no one cares if you are close to missing your flight. There is no TSA PRE in the security checkline after clearing customs. We had a two hour layover and just made it to the gate on time for boarding. I will never ever come through this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"should be avoided"

(Australia)

This airport is a disaster for international connections and should be avoided. I experienced the same problem as previous reviews. Waiting for 1 hour in immigration queues, confusion at baggage carousels, long lines at customs and then the nightmare TSA check. All in all it took over 2 hours to go gate to gate and of course I missed my connecting flight. Throughout the staff were rude and inconsiderate, but particular mention should be made of the obnoxious immigration staff who loudly questioned everyone in line about their intentions, and then openly discussed them with their peers in a manner so that others could hear quite personal information. This airport is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no