Honolulu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Honolulu Airport customer review

(United States)

Not Verified | Crazy security lines. I live here, travel several times per month inter island. I have TSA Pre and Platinum status but even those lines are out the door onto the sidewalk, standing in the rain sometimes. This has been the case all summer. Big change from earlier in the year. No explanation from security or airline personnel who range in demeanour from indifferent to hostile.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"found all staff to be incredibly helpful"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We arrived at Honolulu airport from Aus and departed a few days later for NYC. OK so the airport is crowded but we found all staff to be incredibly helpful and efficient. At no time were we in any doubt as to what to do or where to go. At every turn we were directed by staff to the next stop. On arrival, we went through customs as quickly as we have experienced at any international airport. On leaving the airport our pre arranged shuttle was exactly where we were told it would be and we were on our way in no time. On departure to NYC we once again got through the airport quickly and easily. We had to be bused to our terminal because the airport is undergoing a large upgrade at the moment. If you do all the usual airport things like allow plenty of time, check in online beforehand, declare any food items, etc. you will find your experience at Honolulu airport as pleasant as ours was.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Security was so rude"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Our departure was the worst experience of our time traveling. Security was so rude. We were yelled at and treated like we did something wrong. My grandkids have better manners then they did. I would not go back again. You need to give some of the workers a lesson on how to treat people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"A totally unpleasant experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | A totally unpleasant experience, hard to tell which is worse, departure or arrival. On departure, long and slow security lines, confusing with three feeding into two so that some people who arrived later got through earlier- unfair. Check-in at Interisland terminal, also used by Hawaiian Air for mainland and international flights, total chaos at midday. On international arrival, herded into "wiki wiki" shuttle bus for short trip to immigration. People with carry-ons and small children forced to stand, Immigration hall too small to handle many overnight flights from Asia which arrive close to each other, causing incredibly long lines. Unlike most airports were luggage goes around carousel making it easy to spot, airport workers remove luggage from carousel making it difficult to find. After finally navigating this travesty, faced with traffic jam of cars, taxis and shuttles trying to pick up passengers. That such a shambolic airport be named after a distinguished gentleman, Senator Daniel Innouye is a crime.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Absolute chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Using Domestic Terminal to fly to New York from Oahu. Absolute chaos. The queues make no sense and merge into each other for boarding passes and bag drop off. There is a system and it could work well if there were instructions anywhere. You first need to weigh your check in bags and the screens are really self explanatory. You have good choices to use eticket scan, input flight confirmation no. Scan passport etc. The machine then walks you through weighing bags etc before printing off your boarding passes, bag tags and receipt for any costs. You then need to join the bag drop off queue once you work out where it ends as the queues for the bag weigh machines stem out around circular hubs and invariably merge with the single bag drop queue. Once you’ve dropped off your bag, you need to work out which security queue you need to be in. Security B is TSA and the others A, C and D are for all others. We were in C despite this being clearly labelled “international” when we were going to Mainland US. Once you get through security, options for food etc are ok. Toilets were dated but clean. There is free WiFi and sockets to charge phones etc free. Travel to the gates is far easier by foot than the further confusion of the wiki wiki bus. The airport is small enough to get to any of the gates within 10 mins Walking and they’re well signposted (although your bags are scanned again as you technically go outside albeit undercover). In summary, once you get through security it’s ok inside. Just try and do as much yourself as if you need to rely on staff, you’ll struggle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Never again to Hawaii"

(United States)

Not Verified | Massively overcrowded, "officials" gave wrong info, which made me drag suitcase here, then there, to wrong area, took hours to go through security, absolutely no signage, "drop off" areas never explained. Flight to Portland was then a dream. PDX was sane. Never again to Hawaii.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no proper signs or information"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | This airport is totaly inadequate to modern airtravel. Long queues everywhere, no proper signs or information. Every step requires several stops. Security control is a joke. People yelling at you contradictory orders. There are no plastic boxes at the scanning machines for your personal items but after control there are hundreds of them lying in a corner. The entire terminal is overcrowded and hasn't changed at all since the 90s, while air travel changed dramatically. It's a shame that the main airport of these beautiful islands is such a mess.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Airport is just plain dirty"

(United States)

Not Verified | Sitting at Gate 14 waiting for my departure flight. I've traveled a lot around world including several 3rd countries. Honolulu Airport is just plain dirty. I am embarrassed for people around world to see this. The airport maybe a bit dated but that is no excuse for the filth. The walls, ceiling, sinks, toilets, tiles, light fixtures are soiled, there are fingerprints, grease, dirt everywhere. The workers and Management, and local government has no pride in their State, work or themselves I guess.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worlds worst security staff"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The Hawaiian airports have the worlds worst security staff. You can hear them yelling long before you get to security. They just keep yelling and being ignorant to people. Also if you put your shoes in the tray they give you heck. I have been asked if I treat my owen house that way, when I put shoes in the tray. Do they not realize that in all the other airports in the world we have to put our shoes im the tray? We don't read minds.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the worst airport in the United States"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’m sad to report that this has to be the worst airport in the United States. The bathrooms are filthy, small, outdated, etc. This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was really surprised at the airport. I’m used to Portland, Oregon, which is the #1 airport in America, so I do have pretty high standards, but I know I’m not out of line here at all. I truly hope someone with some authority reads this and other reviews as this is an honest review. Embarrassing to our country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews