Honolulu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 82 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"indoor signage is poor"

(United States)

Unverified | This airport was the worst part of our trip to Hawaii. It is older and dreary, surprising seeing that it is a tourist destination. As others have noted, indoor signage is poor. Amenities such as shopping, are limited. I had to look to find a shop to buy even a bottle of water, and then endured a long line as only on cashier was on duty. The Delta gate we were at was large with adequate seating, but while air-conditioned was still warm. And no working wifi. I don't know if it was just down when we were there or if it is truly non-existent. I dreaded every minute at this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there were no signs whatsoever"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The worst airport I’ve ever been to, out of over 20. Arriving there, there were no signs whatsoever indicating where the exit was, or where to find public transport. When coming back to depart, the departures location turned out to be the car rental, and there was only 1 sign indicating roughly what way to go towards departures. Arriving there, the airport officer told us there was no flight leaving to Seattle that night. Turned out there was, just from a different gate that was difficult to find as well. Once inside, there were barely any charging stations, and the 3 they have do not even have seating. Even the coffee shop only has 2, meaning only 2 people can charge their phone at a time. I’m sitting on the ground as we speak. There is no wifi either, so forget about getting any work out of the way while waiting for your delayed flight - of which they forgot to inform you. Worst airport experience of my life, would avoid this airport at any cost. Would have given it a 0/10 if it were possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most disorganized chaos I have ever witnessed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honolulu Airport almost ruined our honeymoon! We arrived two hours early for a weekday afternoon, inter-island flight to Maui. The scene at the ticketing and bag check was the most disorganized chaos I have ever witnessed. It was completely unclear which mess of a line to get into for bag checking, and the staff was rude and unhelpful. After asking 3 staff members for assistance and receiving only grunts in response, I finally found the correct bag check area. It was a complicated self check process that took even tech savvy people upwards of 20 minutes to properly navigate. Then we were ushered back outside into a pre-security line that didn't move for 30 minutes because they didn't have enough staff available! By this point our flight was about to board! Staff were sarcastic and unsympathetic, remarking that we'd "better hurry and run." I've been to third world countries that have easier and more effiecient airports than Honolulu.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"transfer just a nightmare"

(Australia)

Unverified | Total Chaos. Arrived into Honolulu on a morning flight from SYD and had to transfer to SFO, both on Hawaiian Airlines. Was told in Sydney to go to area "O" to drop bags after going through immigration and customs, but when we went there was told no, this is not Hawaiian bag drop. We had to go outside the terminal to be confronted with no signage and lot of lines seemingly going nowhere. Immigration and customs had already taken an hour, we had only a 2 hour gap between flights. Eventually nearly in tears we found a lovely lady from HA who took our bags from us and told us to run to the security line which we did, then another sprint to the gate. Made it on to the flight but when we arrived that night in SFO our bags didn't make it - we were without luggage for a day and a half. In my experience with HNL airport (probably been there over 10 times) it's fine if you're coming in and staying but when you try to transfer to a different flight it's just a nightmare. Seriously, add some signage! English is my first language and I couldn't find my way around - imagine if you were coming from a non English speaking country - no chance!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"complete lack of organization"

(United States)

Verified Review | Departing out of Honolulu is similar to using a 3rd world country airport as far as their security is concerned. My flight was to depart at 715 AM, and I arrived at the airport at 515 AM. I used the luggage valet, which meant that they took care of the agriculture screen and checking the bags. (Well worth the tip as a side note, no time spent with checking the bags). I have TSA pre-check and flew first class for this flight. I waited in a security line labelled TSA pre-check, which was approx. 20 yards long. After 10 minute wait, a staff member came to us and told us to move to another area to wait, and assured me that there also was a TSA pre-check. Once I walked 40 yards to get to the new area, one had to enter through a door, and encountered another member of staff. She rudely said "no separate for pre-check". The line was long and winding, and since 20-30 showed up more after us, there was now going back to the original line. We did not want this somewhat inefficient experience to ruin our Hawaii vacation, so we patiently waited. After 20 minutes of wait, a group of 20-30 travellers showed up. Since there were so many of them, the security staff decided to open up a new line and let these folks essentially go to the front of the line! The staff said this was being done to move the lines along. What about those of us with Pre-check, who showed up 2 hours earlier, patiently waiting in line? What is maddening the most, is the complete lack of organization. No preferential treatment for people who were waiting in line, no preferential treatment for TSA pre-check, etc. The line is being managed by someone who could care less about customer service or fairness. Really leaves a bad taste upon leaving after a Hawaii vacation. Honolulu Airport authority needs to seriously look at how they run their services at peak times.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"they have no wifi"

(Japan)

Verified Review | It's 2017 and they have no wifi. Upon my arrival, I inquired at an info desk and was told they are currently installing wifi. Upon my departure, I experienced rude and unprofessional "welcomes" at four restaurants, including: PGA Tour Grill, California Pizza Kitchen, Gordon Biersch, and The Local at HNL. I walked away from all of them, finding a very professional young man working at Burger King. I arrived at 6 pm and 80% of the stores were closed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most unorganized airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honolulu has been one of the worst airport experiences of my life. I flew in on an international flight and was told I had to get my bag, recheck it, and then go through security again. There were signs to mainland USA, but when I got to the sign where it said to take the elevator, there was no floor number to go to. So I just had to pick a floor. When I finally found Hawaiian check-in there was just one huge queue. No one knew what they were doing, half of the check in computers were not working, and then I couldn't even get a seat number when I dropped my bag off. Then security took 45 minutes, and the line was not that long. Finally got through security and had to walk a mile to find my gate. These sound like little things, but this was the most unorganized airport I've ever been to. I will try at all costs to never fly through here or use Hawaiian Airlines again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"had no problems at all"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We had read some bad reviews about the airport at Honolulu but had no problems at all. We applied for a ESTA Visa which gave us reassurance about entering USA. The customs officer on arrival was very welcoming and when we departed we were met by a gentleman at the Air NZ area and what a huge difference he made, just couldn't believe how the stresses of travelling could be completely alleviated by such a helpful and cheerful fellow who made us feel like royalty. Once again, clearing customs was smooth, first time we've had to take off shoes etc but that's America. The arrivals area was in need of brightening but the departures area had good facilities and seemed pleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"entire Airport needs a face lift"

(United States)

Verified Review | This entire Airport needs a face lift, bathrooms are in very poor conditions, majority of electrical outlets do not function, some are held together with tie wrap. For the amount of visitors that travel through this airport, this airport should be Primo.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaos the only descriptor that fits"

(United States)

Honolulu is possibly the worst major United States airport. Because it is a major entry point for foreigners visiting the USA, it is an embarrassment, not only to Hawaii but to the country. The airport is massive and sprawling, yet poorly signed. Connecting from inter-island to a mainland flight requires walking down many confusing aisles and escalators and then waiting for a shuttle. We left from Gate 8. The sevices consisted of a shop selling heated-up frozen pizzas and an overwhelmed Quiznos. This, in an airport where every flight is hours long. The bathrooms were so filthy as to be septic - and in poor repair. The public areas are dimly lit and the check-in (united) was a joke. The lines to board crossed the lines of those seeking assistance. Chaos is the only descriptor that fits.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews