Vote Now  

Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 437 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"a very efficient airport"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Hong Kong is a very efficient airport which can handle the volume going through this extremely busy hub. Arrivals are painless and although immigration queues are intimidating at first sight, the officers went through passengers very quickly. Baggage quick out on the belt and the airport is well connected via taxi, train, limo and bus. Departing, one can find check in counters aplenty and security queues are fast moving. Immigration outbound was slower than usual but still went airside pretty quickly. While there are numerous shopping and dining options in HKG, one thing severely lacking is the presence of an adequate number of lounging areas. It seems to be too commercial that every square foot of space has to generate revenue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"not acceptable for an international airport"

(Hong Kong)

Traveling to Hong Kong Airport every week and every time I have to wait for more than 30 minutes to get my luggage and it is getting worse year after year. Most of the time the luggage arival is delayed without any reason and no one explains what is going on. This is not acceptable for an international airport. Very annoying for regular travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"baggage service is just chaotic and very slow"

(Hong Kong)

It took me 1.5 hrs to collect my luggage from the belt, and I wasn't alone, most of the passengers on the Lufthansa flight from Frankfurt experienced the same stupid baggage delay. It's not the first time I've experienced this at HKG airport, the baggage service is just chaotic and very slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"manned by typical expressionless robots"

(Saudi Arabia)

Early morning arrival which meant a quick transit through security which was manned by typical expressionless robots who seemed not efficient this time as pace was slow going through here. Once through everything was abreeze with good direction signs easy to read departure flight information boards and good air conditioning.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"always enjoy transit in Hong Kong"

(New Zealand)

Always enjoy transit in Hong Kong. its a picturesque airport to fly into and it is always kept clean. Lots of food and drink choices for all budgets and plenty of space to lounge around. Spacious and somewhat relaxing, would definitely transit through hong Kong again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"transit through Hong Kong is to be avoided"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The policy of this airport to perform an additional, manual search of carry-on baggage to confiscate bottled water, has become enough of an inconvenience for me to avoid it in future. If they deem such a search necessary, surely they can invest in mobile scanners, rather than unpack and disarrange each person's bag by hand. I have experienced several flight delays as a result. I have also have to wait for a prolonged period in the queue, plus stand and hastily repack my bag. Their arrogance has also been irritating. Yes, they use gloves, but that is for their own protection. It does nothing to the hygiene of passengers' personal effects. All hand baggage has already been scanned for liquids during the standard security check. Is there a valid reason for this second check? Transit through Hong Kong is to be avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"high quality restaurants, shops and cafes"

(China)

Verified Review | Very easy to transit at Hong Kong airport when you to take Cathay Pacific / Cathay Dragon flights. The walking distance is very short and security is really quick and easy. Plenty of high quality restaurants / shops / cafes. Clear signs and broadcasts. High technology information system make it very easy to get around and get information; an official app of HKG is also very useful. Good Internet connectivity and Internet speed. Plenty of charging facilities. Flights usually on time. However, no lying-down seats in Terminal 1, making long waiting times a bit tiring. Power outlets are all in Hong Kong / UK style, thus not very convenient to charge laptops (USB outlets are abundant). Toilet paper is not very good in quality. Since HKG is very busy, the gates of flights will be announced not earlier than 2 hours before taking off, which means earlier arrive people do not know where they should wait.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"absolutely disappointed"

(Ireland)

My family and I were absolutely disappointed with Hong Kong Airport. Most of the staff were extremely rude, impolite and without any doubt, untrained. What a shame! Asking for help was a big challenge. Since it was our first time being there, we got confused how to get to our gate. We asked a couple of staff, they just shrugged and just walked away from us. The tone of their voice was ridiculous. I hope this serious issue will get sorted out as soon as possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff was impolite and discourteous"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I was departing from Hong Kong Airport via terminal 2 on TR 2063 (Tigerair) scheduled flight at 10.55 am 13 October 2016 to Singapore. There were only two staff at the check in counter. One of the staff was extremely impolite, discourteous and unprofessional. I came with a group of 7 and 4 adults. She was not welcoming, cold and unfriendly. Towards the end, she raised her voice when I was inquiring about the weight of our total baggage. Only when confronted for being rude, she seems to tone down. HK Airport has probably one of the best infrastructures and facilities but is sad to be missing the human touch. Hope this incident will be looked into to ensure better service experience for future travelers. This is the worst experience ever encountered, hence reflected on the overall rating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"what a magnificent airport"

(France)

Verified Review | Hong Kong was my transit destination from Paris to Sydney. What a magnificent airport. Clean, spacious, peaceful, the way it is supposed to be. And you get to see the beautiful surrounding landscape. Unfortunately, my transit time was only 1h30 long, so I could not go to a restaurant or something like that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes