Airline of the Year  

Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 457 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"security is careful but fast"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong airport is more effective than the Incheon as the ground staff work faster than in ICN. The security is careful but fast. The seating is enough despite not being very comfortable. However, I must to mention that when I arrival to HKG, the baggage pick up is not quick enough due to 3 flights being at the same belt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"clean, spacious with enough lighting"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong airport is clean, spacious with enough lighting. Nowhere is dim or dark. There is plenty of restaurants and shops on both the airside and landside. The customs is as efficient as before, even at midnight. The duty free shops, luxury brands shops are still opening at 11pm, which is great if you are taking a late night flight. The toilets are generally large and clean, but sometimes a bit smelly. It is almost impossible to connect to the airport wifi, no improvements for years. As a Hong Kong citizens, this is not a problem. I can use my own network. But for anyone from the rest of the world, not good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"efficient and easily accessible"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong International Airport is still commonly known as one of the best airports and Hong Kong people should be proud of having such an amazing airport. It is efficient and easily accessible. Yet the state of this Airport has started to deteriorate over the years. Facilities start to turn old and terminals start to look slightly worn out. Terminals are mostly clean but not spotless. Some toilets are in terrible conditions and not well maintained. Food choices are great but shopping choices are limited to luxury goods that are not appealing at all to leisure travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"always seems so efficient"

(New Zealand)

My favourite airport for many years. Hong Kong always seems so efficient and I wasn't disappointed when I had 2 stops here in May 2017. Fantastic and quick immigration, excellent transport links over and above the airport rail link (I used the bus to Tung Chung and the metro from there to the city as I had time to kill). Plenty of decent shops both landside and airside, unlimited wifi and plenty of places to eat. My last flight left from Gate 501 which requires the bus but it ran every 3 or 4 minutes not packing everyone for 1 flight onto it. Could easily spend the whole day here and not get bored.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"food and beverages aren't the cheapest"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Departure to Auckland, early evening having spent the day in the city. Good points - many charging stations for your devices, plus Macs for accessing the internet (free), security screening. I had some metal items in my baggage of a personal nature (my grandfather's war medals), the staff in Hong Kong were the only ones to question these, however, they did this in a most sensitive manner. Food and beverages aren't the cheapest and are the usual main street options (McD's, Starbucks, etc) - how about an authentic hawker style food outlet? Had to have a shower - not cheap, HKG200 in a lounge. Also left baggage were inflexible, I had two smallish bags and these had to be checked in as two items, hence double the cost.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"still one of the best in the world"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | As a Hong Kong citizen, HKG is no strange to me. It is clean, tidy, spacious. The signs are all clear and easy to understand. The lighting is definitely one of the best in the world, no sign of tiredness or aging. Every place, corner is as bright as it should be. The e-channel service works perfectly. This is no surprise, all within expectation for a multiple best airport awards winner. However, the time for luggage pick up seemed to be longer and longer these few years. In the past, the luggage arrived as soon as you reached the place for pick up. For this time, I have waited for more than 10 minutes. Of course I know 10 minutes wait is already considered as really good even in other large cities airport such as London Heathrow, Taipei Taoyuen airport and Manchester airport, but I do expect Hong Kong airport to do better as they used to be. At least, the performance should not have declined. Overall, this is still one of the best airports in the world.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"delays are routine now in Hong Kong"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Flight again delayed - already sitting in the aircraft and now further delayed by 40 min so total 90 minutes. Flight delays are routine now in Hong Kong. Reason given is airport congestion. It seems impossible to have a flight on time at Hong Kong airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"consistently slow baggage delivery"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Consistently slow baggage delivery independent of airline used. Immigration and especially security checks are good. Toilets are clean. Train connection and bus connections are poor if you arrive late at night. No contingency procedures in place in case of many delayed flights due poor weather at night.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"we moved swiftly through the airport"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Hats off to Hong Kong airport and all who work there. We were just connecting from LAX-HKG-KUL and had a 50 minute connection scheduled (sold to us as a legitimate connection). On the day, this ended up being a just over 20 minute connection. We moved swiftly through the airport, through security and boarded the KUL flight directly. On arrival in KUL we waited at the luggage belt, frankly without much hope, but were absolutely amazed to see our bags come out, as priority bags (we were in business). Obviously we saw little or nothing of the airport this time, but I've always been impressed with it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"all seamless and with the usual efficiency"

(United States)

Verified Review | 4 visits to this airport in Feb for a mix of arrival, departure and transit. All seamless and with the usual efficiency HKG is known for. Only complaint is the toilets which have never been that great, even shortly after opening, and this includes the CX lounge which other than that aspect, are always a great place to be before a flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes