Top 100 Airlines  

Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 392 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a rather disappointing experience"

(Hong Kong)

Travelled on a B777-300 operated by CX from TPE and the aircraft parked at an open spot. It took more than 20 minutes for us to leave the aircraft after engine shut down, because there were not enough buses sent to the open spot. The delay might be a minor one in other airports but given HKG is very well known for its high efficiency, this was a rather disappointing experience. Otherwise immigration and security were all very efficient. Terminal mostly tidy but not spotlessly clean all the time. Airport staff not always welcoming.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"always prefer Hong Kong"

(Malaysia)

Hong Kong is the best airport - despite a large number of people which can be a little bit bothersome. The transit experience was smooth and not stressful. There are a lot of things to do while transit from good food outlets and shopping. The Cathey lounge is large and comfortable. I always prefer Hong Kong for transit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very disappointed"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Very disappointed and unsatisfying experience at Hong Kong. Long wait for baggage delivery and made worse being after 10pm. I came back to Hong Kong from Osaka. My flight was supposed to be land at 22:40, but there was a 30-minute delay because of the busy traffic on the ground. Then I waited for my baggage until 00:35, and the last departure of airport bus and MTR had left already. Really unacceptable - although the airport is neat and tidy, I believe that satisfaction will keep decreasing if the above problem does not improve.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"signs were clear"

(Hong Kong)

I have found that this airport is improving, the queues in the departure hall were not that long, also I had used the New Midfield Concourse. The signs were clear, toilets were clean and the design of the gate concourse was modern and elegant.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"seemed to move quite promptly"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival: the border control was extremely busy but seemed to move quite promptly. The train to the city is excellent, I can recommend spending the $HK350 to get a three-day Oystercard for use on Hong Kong's MTR network, incl a return trip to the city (note that separate monies will have to be loaded on to use buses and the STAR ferry). Departure: excellent that you can check in at the downtown station for the airport express. Security and border control straightforward. That said, a long walk from the central concourse to the gates. Less claustrophobic than DXB, which we also went through on this trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no refreshments available"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Hong Kong International Airport from Auckland at just before midnight for transfer to Manchester UK, to find no availability of hot or cold drinks at an international airport. Dreadful! Will go via Singapore next time. We cannot believe that in 2016 at a supposedly new facility, there are no refreshments available.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
4/10

"distances are too great"

(Dominican Republic)

On my return trip with Cathay Pacific from Bangkok to JFK, my first flight arrived at an extreme end gate and I think it was Gate 50 and I had to go through the transit procedures and then use the elevator and then go to the next flght which was at the other extreme of tha airport which I think was gate 19. It was well over a kilometre and tha airport was packed, there were no electric cars in which to hitch a ride and the distance with a jacket and small case was simply too far. I quite enjoyed my flights with Cathay but regret that I will never use Hong Kong airport again nor BKK for the reasons that the distances are too great for any one with bad knees or legs and I am only 74. The lounges are very nice but the distance to walk too great. Sooner or later, I hope these gigantic airports cater for the elderly a little better.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
6/10

"long queues"

(Singapore)

HKIA definitely needs to improve its arrangement of the transit areas F and B at level 7. There's limited seating and the entire place feels like a huge market place with long queues especially during the peak hours. Otherwise, the airport provides a good selection of retail offerings and service was efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"easy to navigate"

(Italy)

Airport is well connected by bus, taxi and train. The Airport Express allows you to check in at the station downtown so on the train you can travel with hand luggage only. The airport is extremely easy to navigate thanks to the signage and design. A wide selection of dining options and excellent for all budgets. Huge amount of shops where you can buy virtually anything. Despite being crowded the airport is clean, the bathrooms are spotless and available everywhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport is full of shops"

(Italy)

One of the best airports I've been. Arrival: no busses, nice ground staff and luggage were already waiting us when we arrived at the conveyor belt. To reach HK island there's a very comfortable, cheap and fast train that allows you to be in the island in 25 minutes. Departure: I've discovered that in HK you can check-in and ship luggage from some metro stations directly in the island. One of the most comfortable things ever for a traveller. The airport is full of shops and the are a lot of food options. The only one criticizable thing were the slowly customs control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes