Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 494 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a massive long queue at immigration"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I fly here every month. Inevitably departures are delayed, which caused my return arrival to be 3 hours late, landing at 1.00am. Then to find a massive long queue at immigration. I estimated the 8 lines were each 100 meters long. With 6 officers processing. It took 1 hour of zombie shuffling to reach the desk and get out only to find at 2.15 am all the hotel shuttles buses gone. How in hell's name can a major international airport like HK simply not provide sufficient resources to process the incoming flights? These long delays are a feat of endurance and bladder control. It turns you off from thinking about another overnight stay - and there is no transit hotel. So you have to either sleep in the airport of suffer the weary depressing burden of HK immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a great airport for a frequent flyer"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Absolutely without comparison one of the best airport in terms of speed and convenience. It would, however, be nice to see a few more food options. Especially sad that the Hereford steakhouse which was there in the departure hall is gone. Overall it is a great airport for a frequent flyer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"wonderful Hong Kong airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately I fell ill on a transit flight to Sydney. There was a chance I would not have been fit to fly for the next flight from Hong Kong to Sydney which was quite upsetting as I was on way to see a friend for a short stay. I was escorted directly off the flight by helpful, friendly and wonderful Hong Kong airport staff who assisted me all the way and did what they could to help me to see the doctor and get onto the connecting flight. I was also escorted to the Plaza Lounge so I could get a massage and shower, if I hadn’t been escorted I would have missed out despite pre-booking!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Quick service and quite good lighting"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Quick service and quite good lighting. Only sad thing was that the baggage wasn't too quick to arrive to the scene (maybe the immigration guys were too fast) but acceptable when it is quite late at night. Good food also found and lots and lots of seats and windows to sit down and look at random planes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"huge selection of shops"

(Germany)

Not Verified | One of the safest airports I have ever been to. Even if you leave your mobile phone at the charging station for a few hours, it will not be stolen. There are plenty of seats and shopping is provided, there is a huge selection of shops. | Einer der Sichersten Airports auf denen ich je war. selbst wenn man einmal sein handy an der Ladestation für ein paar stunden lässt wird es nicht gestohlen. Es gibt sehr viele Sitzplätze und auch für das Shopping is gesorgt, es gibt eine rießige Auswahl an Shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"hardly any international brand food chains"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I had a transit of 6 hours here in Hong Kong. The airport is huge, clean and nice. But only problem I had was to find vegeterian/vegan food out let in the airport. Most of the food outlets are chinese and non veg. There are hardly any international brand food chains. Even coffee shops are local, menu is very different and very expensive. Being a vegeterian I struggled here to find some food and ended up buying a pack of almonds and a water bottle.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"security checks are efficient as usual"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Lighting is good. Signs are good. Seating may not be sufficient in some areas, but generally not a big issue. The security checks are efficient as usual, almost no queueing. Everything is in good order. Toilets are reasonably clean. There are sufficient trolleys throughout the terminal. There are plenty of duty free shops for doing shopping.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"an excellent experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Having flew into this airport multiple times this year, I had high expectations for this airport as it was constantly rated one of the world's best and this experience did not prove me wrong- Hong Kong Airport really is a juggernaut in the airport industry. Signs were large and easy to read, they were also clear in pointing out directions to go. Immigration was fast, efficient, my friend and I spent less than half an hour from gate to landside. In addition, after exiting the baggage reclaim area, transportation was also easy to find and plentiful-we took the Airport Express, a premium service provided by MTR to link the airport to the city area. This method was the fastest, taking less than half an hour to travel to the city area, and yet it had very good value for money as well. Once again, no problems finding ground transportation. On our departure leg, the experience was roughly the same - we took the Airport Express from the city centre straight into the Airport and immigration was smooth, no problems. The airport itself was also really clean, and we had no problems getting from one place to another within this airport. Overall, an excellent experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"the main problem is the price point"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | As an international airport it has got what it should have but the main problem is the price point. The price point of the food is much higher than the city, like 25% higher. However most of the discounts are unavailable in the airport neither non restricted area or restricted area. Another problem is that power plug is not enough in the seating area. If you want to charge your laptop or phone, you might want to bring your own power bank. The other facilities are well performed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"Chronic delays on landing and take off"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Congested air traffic! Chronic delays on landing and take off. Staff in the airport very impolite and they don’t smile. Such a “warm” welcome to the city. At least WiFi is great, airport is clean and there is airport express to the city center. Shopping experience is horrible!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes