Airline of the Year  

Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 450 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"food and beverages aren't the cheapest"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Departure to Auckland, early evening having spent the day in the city. Good points - many charging stations for your devices, plus Macs for accessing the internet (free), security screening. I had some metal items in my baggage of a personal nature (my grandfather's war medals), the staff in Hong Kong were the only ones to question these, however, they did this in a most sensitive manner. Food and beverages aren't the cheapest and are the usual main street options (McD's, Starbucks, etc) - how about an authentic hawker style food outlet? Had to have a shower - not cheap, HKG200 in a lounge. Also left baggage were inflexible, I had two smallish bags and these had to be checked in as two items, hence double the cost.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"still one of the best in the world"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | As a Hong Kong citizen, HKG is no strange to me. It is clean, tidy, spacious. The signs are all clear and easy to understand. The lighting is definitely one of the best in the world, no sign of tiredness or aging. Every place, corner is as bright as it should be. The e-channel service works perfectly. This is no surprise, all within expectation for a multiple best airport awards winner. However, the time for luggage pick up seemed to be longer and longer these few years. In the past, the luggage arrived as soon as you reached the place for pick up. For this time, I have waited for more than 10 minutes. Of course I know 10 minutes wait is already considered as really good even in other large cities airport such as London Heathrow, Taipei Taoyuen airport and Manchester airport, but I do expect Hong Kong airport to do better as they used to be. At least, the performance should not have declined. Overall, this is still one of the best airports in the world.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"delays are routine now in Hong Kong"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Flight again delayed - already sitting in the aircraft and now further delayed by 40 min so total 90 minutes. Flight delays are routine now in Hong Kong. Reason given is airport congestion. It seems impossible to have a flight on time at Hong Kong airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"consistently slow baggage delivery"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Consistently slow baggage delivery independent of airline used. Immigration and especially security checks are good. Toilets are clean. Train connection and bus connections are poor if you arrive late at night. No contingency procedures in place in case of many delayed flights due poor weather at night.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"we moved swiftly through the airport"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Hats off to Hong Kong airport and all who work there. We were just connecting from LAX-HKG-KUL and had a 50 minute connection scheduled (sold to us as a legitimate connection). On the day, this ended up being a just over 20 minute connection. We moved swiftly through the airport, through security and boarded the KUL flight directly. On arrival in KUL we waited at the luggage belt, frankly without much hope, but were absolutely amazed to see our bags come out, as priority bags (we were in business). Obviously we saw little or nothing of the airport this time, but I've always been impressed with it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"all seamless and with the usual efficiency"

(United States)

Verified Review | 4 visits to this airport in Feb for a mix of arrival, departure and transit. All seamless and with the usual efficiency HKG is known for. Only complaint is the toilets which have never been that great, even shortly after opening, and this includes the CX lounge which other than that aspect, are always a great place to be before a flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a very efficient airport"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Hong Kong is a very efficient airport which can handle the volume going through this extremely busy hub. Arrivals are painless and although immigration queues are intimidating at first sight, the officers went through passengers very quickly. Baggage quick out on the belt and the airport is well connected via taxi, train, limo and bus. Departing, one can find check in counters aplenty and security queues are fast moving. Immigration outbound was slower than usual but still went airside pretty quickly. While there are numerous shopping and dining options in HKG, one thing severely lacking is the presence of an adequate number of lounging areas. It seems to be too commercial that every square foot of space has to generate revenue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"not acceptable for an international airport"

(Hong Kong)

Traveling to Hong Kong Airport every week and every time I have to wait for more than 30 minutes to get my luggage and it is getting worse year after year. Most of the time the luggage arival is delayed without any reason and no one explains what is going on. This is not acceptable for an international airport. Very annoying for regular travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"baggage service is just chaotic and very slow"

(Hong Kong)

It took me 1.5 hrs to collect my luggage from the belt, and I wasn't alone, most of the passengers on the Lufthansa flight from Frankfurt experienced the same stupid baggage delay. It's not the first time I've experienced this at HKG airport, the baggage service is just chaotic and very slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"manned by typical expressionless robots"

(Saudi Arabia)

Early morning arrival which meant a quick transit through security which was manned by typical expressionless robots who seemed not efficient this time as pace was slow going through here. Once through everything was abreeze with good direction signs easy to read departure flight information boards and good air conditioning.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes