Holguin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 7 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 8th December 2012

This airport is getting busier and busier as more international flights come and go daily-but the facilities are not enough to handle the high volume of passengers. As a result one has to stay in the queue for a long period of time for everything-immigration check-in security check up luggage pick-up.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 16th April 2011

On arrival at the airport three hours in advance of the flight time I went inside and immediately noticed two things. Incredibly long lines for check in and an unbearable smell. I waited in line for one hour and twelve minutes to check in and headed for the washrooms. Every flush in the terminal was full to overflowing and there was no water with to flush or even wash ones hands. Disgusting! On arrival at the booth to pay my departure taxall I had were a 20 peso note and a 10 peso note. I gave these to the man at the desk and he took themput them somewhere under the counter and folded his arms and refused to look at me again.I got no change. I went to the cadeca to change my remaining 30 pesos to Canadian and I received $22cdn. On questioning the lady she screeched "no changeno coin"! I am totally disgusted with this airport. I loved my stay in Cubabut my experience at Holguin will in all probability keep me from returning.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by 3rd March 2009

The national terminal used this time for a flight to Havana (unexpectedly via Cayo Coco) with Aerocaribbean. Everything as before but two tips for travellers. I had purchased my ticket in Havana earlier in the week; it was en e-ticket and so I was surprised at the delay 25 minutes at check in whilst the official went to a back office and wrote out a paper ticket! I queried this. and was told that the worldwide disappearance of paper tickets had not yet taken effect in Holguin! In the departure lounge was a small counter selling drinks and basic refreshments; it accepts only CUP Cuban pesos the national currency as opposed to the CUC convertible peso. Therefore foreign travellers returning to Havana on an internal flight requiring refreshments need to obtain some CUP in advance of their flight. I would not recommend unofficial currency exchange with fellow Cuban passengers within the departure lounge.
no
4/10

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by 8th April 2008

Frank Pais International Airport at Hologuin has two terminals; one (modern) deals with international charter and scheduled services and the other (older) deals with flights to and from Havana. My comments relate to the older national terminal. The tone is set when passengers see the huge portrait of former President Fidel Castro on the airport terminal plus the slogan on the perimeter wall "Socialism or Death". This sets the tone for what is usually a pleasant visit to the city of Holguin. Incoming passengers walk to the terminal where an excellently designed baggage conveyor promptly brings the luggage to be reclaimed. The design of this conveyor requiring passengers simply to reach their suitcases off the belt is in contrast to those at much newer larger UK airports. On arrival for your return flight check in is swift and simple and the waiting lounge has somewhat noisy Cuban TV playing loud music all the time.
no
3/10

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by 6th November 2007

If in a group have someone get off the plane asap get right through and head for the Cambio (Exchange counter). Otherwise you may be queued up for a while. The rates are fair. There is a small drinks stand down an "alleyway" between Arrivals & Departures. Assuming you were smart enough to bring back some CUC or got a small amount in the airport the beers & pop are cold & cheap. Still only .80 for a Crystal or Buccanero but oddly enough it's 1 Peso for a Tucola. Cheaper than on the bus if offered. Back in March 2007 there was extensive work being done to bring more A/C to the upper level and close in the open outside balcony on the upper level. I guess the crowding factor made them notice. The duty free is the best deal in town. Not being computerized for check-in does have it's drawbacks when it comes to seat selection etc. Especially when HOG is a stop on the way and others have already boarded. Found no difference between Cubana & SkyService it's the airport running the show. The Customs / Immigration staff always seem to be polite but not too friendly after all they do have a job to do protecting Cuba. Once we left and nobody wanted my cigar documents another time they were all over the boxes. A few pleasantries en Espanol goes a long way. Be a gracious tourist and learn some of the lingo. Note that liquids in carry-ons is not the concern as in most other countries. Full bottles of rum? No problem. Bottles of lotion? No problem. And this is for goods packed before Security screening not after like with duty free stuff.
no
na

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by 23rd July 2006

Do Book the First Class lounge as soon as you arrive ready for your return. I didn't and sat jealously sweltering and being zapped by mozzies as I waited for my inevitably late flight. Otherwise if there is only one flight due there seems to be enough room and seats probably get too crowded if more than one flight waiting to depart. Arrival and getting through customs is a fuss and very slow although the security people are friendly I got my passport stamped as well as the visa when I asked (nice free souvenir). Toilets were a bit smelly and not totally functioning but did have toilet paper (Gents). Stuff is sold in both duty free shop and kiosks around the departure lounge. Note as expected the duty free shop is much cheaper. You can only pay in CUC's - or at an exorbitant markup by credit card. Good views of the apron from the lounge and the only downside is if you are a fervent anti-smoker. This is cuba they sell cigars you can work it out! Tip a few people had stuff confiscated from their hand luggage tobacco and spirits - I think it was all stuff that the proper export tax hadn't been paid on. Keep a few CUC's to slip the staff at the airport and they also really apreciated a drink or two. As everywhere the porters are quite bullish. Don't get upset at being asked for a tip just for loading the suitcase into the coach Look how much you earn and then realise how much £1 is worth to them.
no
na

Holguin Airport customer review

Review by 1st September 2005

Holguin is a small airport not used to more than 5 movements a day so when things go wrong they simply don't have the staff to sort out the problems. I experienced delays in both my inbound and outbound flights so I got to see a lot of the airport. Immigration is a major hold up since they are very thorough at checking and have few staff. I went through the gates 6 times and each time spent over an hour in the queue. The departure lounge is small. but with plenty of seating and an excellent view of the apron and runways from the observation balcony upstairs. There are a few shops and a money exchange kiosk that changes money at the exact rate ie. it doesn't charge commission. There are two bars serving food and drink but this being Cuba the food selection is limited. I was there for 3 days and all they had was cheese and ham rolls for the entire time. Overall it's a pleasant enough place for normal transfers but you wouldn't want to spend a lot of time there. Expect to get wet if it's raining as the covered airstairs the busses and the terminal building all leak during heavy downpours.
no