Ho Chi Minh City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"it’s obvious that they are at capacity"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | On arrival I was surprised at how small the airport is. We didn’t have to walk far to get to immigration and the line up was only about five deep. Going downstairs collecting our bags was made easier by a large screen showing where our bags would be and they were offloaded efficiently, past customs (green or red) you are met with absolute chaos. What feels like thousands of faces and hundreds of signs to negotiate your way through. Departure we had more time to see the airport, it’s fairly modern in some ways with large glass windows. The washrooms were ok, not bad. There are plenty of food places. Immigration and customs were fine, we had to remove our shoes for this. There wasn’t much of a line up for either. Of course airside has its share of duty free stores plus a very odd long row of mini stores - really just counters with people behind which had a cheap feel. The prices were not bad. There was a food area also of course, a little pricey as you’d expect. The airport uses buses for many flights. All in all certainly the airport works although it’s obvious that they are at capacity,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst service ever"

(Vietnam)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport in the world. I usually pass the customs in 5 minutes upon arrival and then always wait 1-1.5 hours for the luggage! It is a shame and a disgrace. They should do a better, faster job instead of doing nothing. Worst service ever. Doesn’t surprise me in this country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrendously poor service"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Horrendously poor service and hostile, unfriendly immigration officers. Joined the ABTC/APEC card queue with my wife, and I was cleared. He then didn't allow her through and asked her to join the regular queue, so I waited for her for half an hour. When I tried speaking nicely to him to query, he held his hand up to me and looked away saying 'no'. Observed immigration's treatment of passengers during my half hour wait, and saw at least 12 other passengers treated with contempt and rudeness during that time when they asked questions. Immigration needs retraining and better signs to clarify queue conditions are needed. Very poor airport and I will avoid flying to HCM from now on. Other APEC airports have never shown such contempt to us including the US and all ASEAN countries.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a disorganized chaos"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Ho Chi Minh City airport is a disorganized chaos. Especially the security check where staff are more busy checking their phones than servicing customers. If anyone actually does their job it is slow and with a very bad and negative attitude. Get the security check under control and this airport would be decent.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Scrap all 10000 tourist shops and how about getting at least one normal shop where one can get toiletries and essentials. Not one store sold any of this - I walked the entire thing 2 times and asked staff. No store sells toiletries! Luckily my husband suggested I check first aid where I could find some. Also no chill place to hang out while you wait for boarding. Only crowded seats or a food court. Horrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a long time waiting"

(Japan)

Verified Review | I went to Domestic Terminal of Ho Chi Minh Airport for a flight to Phu Quoc island. In this terminal, there are three areas for the three biggest domestic airlines. Thus, the area for Vietnam Airlines is smaller than four years ago. There is only one queue for all economy customers using Vietnam Airlines without online check-in which takes a long time waiting (around 40 minutes for me). In case you bought business ticket or checked-in online, there are other queues which are usually much shorter (maybe less than 10 minutes). Next, you have to queue for security check, which would take around 30-40 minutes. Then, I came to the boarding gate only 10-15 minutes before the flight. I recommend to check-in online or come to the terminal at least 90 minutes before your flight if you don't want to be late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"staff in this airport did not help customers well"

(Japan)

Verified Review | My flight departed this airport at nearly midnight. Since it is an international flight, it took a lot of time waiting at the immigration gate and checking baggage. There were not many food and beverages malls/restaurants in this airport. Moreover, the staff in this airport did not help customers well. Even though some staff cleaned the floor, the toilet was not clean in my opinion.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"an average airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tan Son Nhat International Airport (also known as HCM City Airport) is an average airport. The road to the airport was easy to get there, but you can be easily stuck in traffic jams (this is now reduced by a new bridge). There were lines at check-in, but not too long like many other airports. Foods and souvenirs were expensive, for example a Burger King in the airport is much more expensive than Burger King in the city centre. Duty-free shops were adequate, but not too much if you compare to other airports such as Kuala Lumpur or Singapore Changi. Because TSN was not a very big airport it was easy for me to have a walk at the airport before my flight. For people who love Wifi, the wifi connection of this airport is dreadful! If you're an airplane lover, you will love this airport because you can see planes easily from terminals.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"friendly and efficient ground staff"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Friendly and efficient ground staff at Ho Chi Minh City Airport. Acceptable speed free wifi network provided by airport, not much time spent on waiting and queuing at immigration control area, traffic outside on the way to airport is no good and needs more improvement, especially improve public transportation connection to the airport by metro. Clear signs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there has been significant upgrade"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I hadn't been back to Ho Chi Minh city airport for a while and there has been significant upgrade. The airport nowadays has a sleeping zone that can be used for delays, also I can see that they have children's playground. The airport has been improved to become better and better. However the price for food and beverages are still quite high compared to outside, the cause of this reason might be the rental price.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 80 Reviews