Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 70 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"traumatic to say the least"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Heraklion is absolutely the worst airport we have travelled to. After a manic search for the correct carousel to collect our luggage, we encountered a crowd of passengers about 6 deep around the belt. There were 4 different flights of luggage coming through at the same time-it was chaos! After about an hour of waiting and being jostled and pushed our flight details were no longer showing on the screen. There were still many people from our flight who had not retrieved their bags, including us so obviously panic was starting to set in. There was no-one to answer any questions or give any guidance. Eventually the belt started again and our cases turned up. We made our way to the exit looking for a rep from our travel company but again there was no-one there to help. We travelled with our 3 year old granddaughter and our daughter who is 6 months pregnant and the whole experience was traumatic to say the least. We booked the vip lounge for our return journey to avoid the hassle, but it's a shame that you have to pay extra just to receive a reasonable travel experience. This has definitely put us off visiting Crete again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"could not go through that again"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This was our third visit to Crete but will be our last only because of Heraklion airport. The last two times were bad but this trip was a nightmare. It is a disgrace that visitors are subjected to this when visiting this Greece. Rude staff - no one to help, utter chaos and no manners. Toilets filthy and a lack of information. A disaster waiting to happen. The queues were horrendous. You would think in this climate they would be encouraging visitors to come and see their country - a definite no. Could not go through that again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Heraklion Airport is a disaster"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After having enjoyed a fabulous one weeks holiday in Chania, my wife and i had a terrible experience departing from Heraklion airport. Utter chaos from start to finish. First of all Jet2.com had our flight to Glasgow displayed as leaving from gate 8 but only gates 1 to 7 were displayed as checking peoples baggage in, for Stansted and Gatwick flights. After walking to gate 8 check in we discovered that we were in the wrong place and had to be checked in at gates 1/7 after all. Worse was still to come. Two staff members only, working at passport control. Queue a mile long. Once through there, we were greeted by the most aggressive security man I have ever come across. Shouting at passengers. Extremely intimidating and in the most awful bad mood. Unfortunately we were called to his station. My wife's bag was setting the alarm off so he pulled her bag back out and threw it down into the tray to have it go through again, we realised right away that he had broken one of our gifts. The experience was alarming, embarrassing, and extremely upsetting. As for the airport. Had to sit on floor whilst waiting on flight, lady feeding her baby standing up as she could not get a seat. Huge shortage of seats. No proper air conditioning, absolutely roasting hot. Not enough toilets, huge queues. More than one flight leaving from same gate at roughly same time so resulting in one queue with passengers for different flights in it. Worst airport we have ever been in. Would love to go back to Crete but Heraklion Airport is a disaster.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a filthy mess"

(Ireland)

Unverified | This airport is a filthy mess. Words fail me. The charter section is unsafe, unhygienic and in the current heightened security environment a disaster waiting to happen. Airside is not much better - overcrowded, overpriced food (dough with some tomato sauxe masquerading as a pizza). If you can get in and out of Crete via another airport then do so - Chania was much better for our arrival.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a filthy mess"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | This airport is a filthy mess. Words fail me. The charter section is unhygienic and in the current heightened security environment a disaster waiting to happen. Airside is not much better - overcrowded, overpriced food (dough with some tomato sauce masquerading as a pizza). If you can get in and out of Crete via another airport then do so - Chania was much better for our arrival.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst Airport in Europe"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Worst Airport in Europe. Dirty toilets long queues, unfriendly staff, bad working air-conditioning, wifi was available but I guess due to the amount of travellers it was not working. Airport is just too small for the amount of passengers. Boarding queue at gate 1 next to passenger control, really messy. When my tickets were screened we had to go downstairs, waiting outside for the bus transport to the aircraft. Waiting took aprox 30 minutes in the boiling sun, with a temperature around 35 degrees celcius it was truly extreme. When all pax got aboard the aircraft we were delayed, ATC gave us a new slot time which was almost an hour later! Incredible. I will never fly to Heraklion again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is utterly grim"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Aside from no updates on our delayed flight, this airport is utterly grim. Toilets are filthy, no toilet paper and flooding in some, missing seats or doors that do not close in others. No air conditioning to speak of and insufficient seating. Vile. Dirty. Hot. Stuffy. Unhygienic. No communication. Poor facilities. The shop appears to have taken all the investment. No thought given to travellers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just not worth the hassle"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Heraklion is the worst airport, staff and facilities ever experienced. Rude staff, no facilities beyond filthy toilets. Combined with total disorganisation of BA, you will be guaranteed a disastrous passage through. There is no viable alternative as Chania is as bad. This is a major barrier to developing quality tourism in Crete which is a great shame. As beautiful as the island and the people are, it is just not worth the hassle of their airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"plenty of seats available"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival was fine. Bus quickly transferred passengers to terminal building. Then a long wait for luggage to arrive. Quickly found rep and was directed to transfer coach. Return: Sunday 14th May. Airport very busy. People queuing outside. Rep directed us to correct desk and made a new queue. Checked in within 15 minutes. Why then do you queue again to get bags x-rayed. No clear directions as to where to go for security checks. Departure lounge was clean and tidy. Plenty of seats available and bottles of water available for 50 cents. Screens were informative and updated regularly. Not a bad experience but this was May. Expect it's horrendous in July and August. Would not put me off visiting again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a smooth experience"

(Austria)

Verified Review | The arrival in Heraklion N. Kazantzakis airport was a smooth experience: Disembarking of the Business Class worked remarably well and fast by providing a dedicated bus shuttle service and took less than five minutes to board a taxi. By contrast, the departure procedure was not so pleasant, there was no priority lane for premium cabin passengers and/or frequent flyers and the security screening made an unorganised, overstrained impression. Due to decades of use the terminal looked neglected, worn-out and is definitely no place where passengers want to spend a lot of time. However, due to its proximity to the city of Heraklion I would recommend it though.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews