Top 100 Airports  

Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"no organisation with queues everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have had the misfortune of using this airport for arrival once and departure twice. Arrival is fine because it's just a case of going through the motions to get out of it. Collecting your luggage etc however on departure it is a different story. There is no organisation with queues everywhere that can be so long you have to go outside and use a different entrance to get around them and nobody seems to be in charge of looking after the chaos. You have to queue to check in your luggage then join another queue for it to be taken off you. Then you have to navigate through the masses of confused people through security to the departure lounge where you hope for some reprieve and relaxation however expect little to no air conditioning, very little choice in the way of food and drink options and extremely little seats for the amount of passengers going through the airport. Finally expect that the departure gate displayed on one of the very few boards will be wrong. This airport serves its purpose of getting passengers from A to B however for the amount of traffic going through this airport for about 6 months of the year there is no excuse how this airport remains so underdeveloped and at times it would surely make people vow never to return to Crete.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unbelievably dirty restrooms"

(France)

Heraklion is the worst airport I have been to in a long time. Just observe how this airport presents Greece and this island to the world travel population. Was on business transfer. Unbelievably dirty restrooms with no soap dispensers working. No transfer gate. One working departure screen in the airside area. Staff that do not understand English. It took 3 times to ask the way to the departure area when arriving at the terminal by bus and this staff member was only able to give directions and say no more than yes and no. The terminal is too small to hold all the passengers. It was just one big queue and took being pushed and squeezed to move forward to my gate. The crowd was so loud that announcements could not be understood. First due to the overall noise level, secondly because the announcements were done in an extremely fast way using a very harsh and difficult to understand English pronunciation. The air conditioning does not work properly inside the terminal. Outside was 29 deg C. Imagine what it will be in temperatures approaching 40 degrees. No bridges to board the aircraft. Transfer by bus. Air conditioning in the bus did not work on both occasions. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this was pure chaos"

(Belgium)

I'm pretty sure I just went through the 7 circles of hell of Dante's inferno here at Heraklion airport. I've been into a lot of airports, from big ones such as Munich and Singapore, to smaller ones in Laos and Thailand and this was pure chaos. There was no such thing as a queue. People were simply fighting for a place in something which not even with a lot of imagination could resemble a queue. Check-in was a pure disaster. There was no separation between people who had already checked in or not. We had to queue for check-in and then queue again to drop off our luggage. In terms of service - I'm not 100% sure if they were simply making fun of me, or if some of the people working there were simply rude. For security - I can't describe it. Some people were doing their job, but most of them were not. In terms of cleanliness - I find it hard to even use that word when describing this airport. I've traveled around the world, which means that I've seen several types and interpretations of what clean means. But this airport, oh my, this was different. I felt like burning my clothes after being there. The toilets - I know this is part of the cleanliness but they deserve a special section here - they were simply disgusting. For boarding, they made us enter a sweaty, warm, excruciating bus which drove 20 meters to the airplane. I loved Crete, but to be honest I really do hope I will never have to enter that airport again. It was quite traumatising.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"what an absolute farce"

(United Kingdom)

Checked in online, then queued for bag drop twice. One huge queue to have labels put on hold luggage, no conveyor belt at the back. Had to then join another huge queue to get hold luggage put through x-ray. Do yourselves a favour, Heraklion Airport, pay for a conveyor belt at the bag drop which goes through x-ray. What an absolute farce.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is very behind the times"

(Ireland)

I first came to this airport in 1979 and unfortunately it hasn't changed much. It's the same old building, still no air conditioning and not enough seating. It is very behind the times and very hot if you have a long wait. The car park is chaotic when the flights which all seem scheduled to arrive late at night at the same time. With all the traffic through this airport it badly needs modernising.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experience at Heraklion says 1960's"

(United Kingdom)

My mobile shows 2016, but our experience at Heraklion airport says 1960's. On arrival, bussed from the plane to the building and the luggage arrived in dribs and drabs as it was shuttled in batches. Directed to a bus in a car park full of buses at night. The number was given, but it was down to us to weave in and out with luggage to find the bus..On departure (hot early evening), we queued with luggage outside, then this queue entered a non-airconned building. Having queued once to have your luggage weighed, then you have to take your luggage back again and join another queue for x-ray. No signs at all. Then another queue for passport, and then the insane departure lounge - nowhere enough seats. Once gate announced, queue again, then down stairs to bus-across tarmac. Know how those baked beans feel in the microwave. Only technology that seems to have reached here are the electric handdryers in the loos. With all the money coming thru Crete this is a joke and reviews from 2005 all say the same. Loved the holiday - hated the 'welcome' and 'goodbye' - they will last as long as the good bits.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Heraklion airport is amongst the worst I have been too - could not sit down, get a drink or anything to eat. Duty free was absolutely packed, it was so hot the sweat was dripping off everyone. Given the wrong boarding gate information at check in. It was just overall a very unpleasant experience. Crete was fantastic, but will never go again because of this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"everything unprofessional and untidy"

(United Kingdom)

I was not impressed with this airport and wouldn't want to come back to it anytime soon. My flight from Athens to London Gatwick had a 1hr 15 min change over here. Despite it being such a small airport I found it harder to get to my second flight than if I were at Gatwick or Athens as the signage wasn't very clear/well positioned. In the end I had to ask a member of staff how to get to my next flight. He implied that I have to go all the way out and then through departures again - there's no "transfer corridor". I didn't have a problem with a lack of transfer flight corridor as I had a feeling that this airport is not really a transfer kind of place but even putting aside my difficulty getting to my next flight, my general feeling of the airport was that everything was very unprofessional and untidy. The airport seems to be haphazardly run and it's not so much a want of money but rather the management in my opinion, that creates this sloppy impression. Crete looked like a beautiful island from the plane, but the airport was a let down.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Heraklion Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

This airport is just about as bad as it gets. Love Crete, but arrival, and especially departure, is chaotic. Add the fact that my wife is disabled and needs wheelchair assistance - which is virtually non-existent here - you get an impossible situation. Queue ages for check in, then queue again with your cases for security scanning. Then a long walk to departure queue at the opposite end of the airport. When disabled passengers board, they are left until last, holding everyone up. The place needs a rebuild, a clean up, and selling to an operator who knows how to handle plane loads of passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Heraklion Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Absolutely dire and disgusting. Unfriendly check in staff. Poor air con very warm throughout. Not enough seating for all the flights departing. Filthy toilets. Only two outlets for food which didnt serve anything they had on the menu, only hot dogs, chips and warmed up burgers. Very poor service, would like to have seen some fresh food. No airport staff around cleaning up the filthy tables strewn with rubbish. No one on hand to speak to or complain too. Flight didnt leave on time and staff didn't seem to care or know what they were doing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews