Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Never again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Chaos on arrival. Chaos on departure. Never again. Love Crete and love our choice of hotel however our experience on arrival mirrored that of 2 years ago. Luggage took forever to arrive at the carousel and then the "fun" really began. Two flights had arrived close together and everyone was pouring out onto the front of the airport where hidden somewhere in the melee were the Tour Operators Reps. The "system" still appears to be that one man tries to marshall people to huts where they are processed for private transfers/coaches. Having found the football sized crowd waiting for the real Rep. We had the forethought (from last time's experience) to ignore this and muscle our way straight through to the Reps. saying "private transfer" and we were soon on our way. Departure time was never to be forgotten - French Air Traffic Control Strike + the number of evening flights to UK + less well trained Reps than is normal + just one food/drink outlet airside = chaos beyond belief. Got through all the formalities better than expected but then so did all those travelling - little did we know what awaited us on the"other side" or as it soon became called "the dark side". Almost all flights had delays of 2/3 hours (giving us a departure time of 1am!) and we were certainly not the last flight, lovely island and people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"lots of room for improvement"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It's Better! But only just a bit! There are still lots of room for improvement to make this a positive experience. It starts airside at the entrance to passport control as when we arrived only one entrance door was open so it looked like Devil take the hindmost as the people just off the bus charged to the front, regardless of the line of the bod's already there. The luggage collection has drastically improved, except identification of the delivery rotund as a lot from my flight clustered around another island. Departure was still an improvement over the experience of two years ago but I think that the summer crowds will not enjoy a good time, as at the moment Heraklon is still only patchily complete, the small bar/cafe is working well, but the male toilets have only one out of 5 of the urinals working, non of the soap dispensers in either the male or female toilets are complete. The two monitors showing Europe and International departures have to be shared by the passengers, gate attendants, and the passport control security staff! Also there seemed to be very few of the gate terminals complete, and that explains why the gate staff write on there hands what gate the next plane is going from! But not the limited space available in departures it’s slef.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The lines are endless"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | The worst airport in the world. The lines are endless, the workers don’t mind how long will it take and how hot it is, you just wait. When you depart from there, you check in and then you carry your luggags to another counter to scan them. The worst is when you arrive to Heraklion : you have to wait at least 30 minutes for the first luggage of the flight to arrive (even in the winter when they have one flight per hour!). I really hate traveling from and to there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a culture of contempt for customers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What an awful experience at the end of a great holiday. There seems to be a culture of contempt for customers projected by most staff. It can't just be low wages that make staff appear dejected and behave rudely. The departure lounge is being refitted so temporarily we are huddled into a makeshift area with one small kiosk selling sandwiches. No apologies for inconvenience, no one to forewarn the food pre-security is far better but instead a large shop to maximise profit. Really disappointing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Its a nightmare to be there"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Worst ever seen airport. Nothing changed after my first holiday 20 years ago. Its a nightmare to be there. Overcrowded, dirty, toilets old and dirty. In a third development country everything is better organised. A very good example for the growing tourist market is the airport of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Goverment of Creta build a new airport asap.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of facilities and organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is probably the worst airport I have ever been to. Complete lack of facilities and organisation. The worst and inexcusable thing was the filth and lack of cleaning. There is no excuse for not keeping the airport clean. Half finished food and empty drinks cartons everywhere. We had to move from the seats we found due to the smell from the toilets 10 metres away. Avoid this place at all costs. God only knows what it's like at the height of the holiday season. The food was vastly overpriced too 4 euros for a cup of tea. Europcar customer service was awful too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Poor cleanliness"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible! Poor! Shabby Priority lounge closed whilst staff sat doing nothing. Dirty grubby toilets. Grubby seating. Poor cleanliness. Awful food, Not good enough so get your act together because there is no need for passengers to have to endure such a poor airport at the end of their holiday!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"why do they torture us?"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Terrible. They depend on the tourists so why do they torture us? Lining up for the tickets, 1,5 hours. Lining up for scanning suitecase, 1 hour. Lining up for bodyscan, 20 minutes. Lining up for boaording control 10 minutes. Lining up (outside) for transport to airplain, 30 minutes. Dont go there!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowded waiting areas"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Horrible lines - absolutely no seating beyond customs. Overcrowded waiting areas - elderly and families with small children had to stand for hours. Luggage check in absolutely horrendous. Weigh your suitcase at desk 5 and get it tagged and your boarding pass then you get your luggage back with a request to leave it at desk 23 which is over 300 meters away through numerous lines in an overcrowded check in hall. Line for passport control another 150 meters. After that you arrive at the far too small waiting area with dirty old toilets - never ever been to such a bad airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"expect long queues getting through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival at the this airport, expect long queues getting through passport control. They only used two counters for three plane arrivals! Luckily a policeman was quickly checking passports and allowing people to go through the locals lane. Departures from this airport is the worst I have ever seen. We had to queue outside the airport with cockroaches crawling around everywhere. Once inside, bag drop was quick however then you hit passport check. One counter open with well over 1000 people waiting to be seen, absolute chaos. What's more frustrating is people pushing in constantly. There is no air conditioning so it's mega hot. Our flight was 23.10, we arrived at the airport at 9.00, and got through all security checks at 23.05, onto the plane which was waiting full of passengers. We didn't even get to use the toilets or get a drink. Top tips: pay the €40 for VIP and avoid all of this mess, take water and food with you you may be quite some time! This is the worst airport I've ever used.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews