Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 95 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Its a nightmare to be there"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Worst ever seen airport. Nothing changed after my first holiday 20 years ago. Its a nightmare to be there. Overcrowded, dirty, toilets old and dirty. In a third development country everything is better organised. A very good example for the growing tourist market is the airport of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Goverment of Creta build a new airport asap.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lack of facilities and organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is probably the worst airport I have ever been to. Complete lack of facilities and organisation. The worst and inexcusable thing was the filth and lack of cleaning. There is no excuse for not keeping the airport clean. Half finished food and empty drinks cartons everywhere. We had to move from the seats we found due to the smell from the toilets 10 metres away. Avoid this place at all costs. God only knows what it's like at the height of the holiday season. The food was vastly overpriced too 4 euros for a cup of tea. Europcar customer service was awful too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Poor cleanliness"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible! Poor! Shabby Priority lounge closed whilst staff sat doing nothing. Dirty grubby toilets. Grubby seating. Poor cleanliness. Awful food, Not good enough so get your act together because there is no need for passengers to have to endure such a poor airport at the end of their holiday!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"why do they torture us?"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Terrible. They depend on the tourists so why do they torture us? Lining up for the tickets, 1,5 hours. Lining up for scanning suitecase, 1 hour. Lining up for bodyscan, 20 minutes. Lining up for boaording control 10 minutes. Lining up (outside) for transport to airplain, 30 minutes. Dont go there!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowded waiting areas"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Horrible lines - absolutely no seating beyond customs. Overcrowded waiting areas - elderly and families with small children had to stand for hours. Luggage check in absolutely horrendous. Weigh your suitcase at desk 5 and get it tagged and your boarding pass then you get your luggage back with a request to leave it at desk 23 which is over 300 meters away through numerous lines in an overcrowded check in hall. Line for passport control another 150 meters. After that you arrive at the far too small waiting area with dirty old toilets - never ever been to such a bad airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"expect long queues getting through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival at the this airport, expect long queues getting through passport control. They only used two counters for three plane arrivals! Luckily a policeman was quickly checking passports and allowing people to go through the locals lane. Departures from this airport is the worst I have ever seen. We had to queue outside the airport with cockroaches crawling around everywhere. Once inside, bag drop was quick however then you hit passport check. One counter open with well over 1000 people waiting to be seen, absolute chaos. What's more frustrating is people pushing in constantly. There is no air conditioning so it's mega hot. Our flight was 23.10, we arrived at the airport at 9.00, and got through all security checks at 23.05, onto the plane which was waiting full of passengers. We didn't even get to use the toilets or get a drink. Top tips: pay the €40 for VIP and avoid all of this mess, take water and food with you you may be quite some time! This is the worst airport I've ever used.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Another hour queue for passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We spent 45 minutes queuing outside in the heat, then 30 minutes to weigh our suitcases, then joined another queue to scan our suitcases. Another hour queue for passport control. I was frisked, which was very uncomfortable, then very abruptly told to open my hand luggage. Eventually we literally had to run to our plane. The airport is hot, toilets are dirty. All in all I would not go to Crete again because of this horrendous airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues of 300 meters"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | This is by far the worst airport ever! No information service whatsoever, queues of 300 meters and more. We arrived 3 hours and 10 minutes before departure. Now we are too late for our flight, gates are closing. Hopefully the plane will wait for us. I cannot believe an airport like this exists.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Think twice before going here"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | As with all previous comments, this airport stinks. Could not believe how bad it is. From entering the terminal chaos ensued. No organisation, no evident management, such a bad experience. Think twice before going here. Such a shame as it was a brilliant holiday, fantastic people, but the whole island let down by its airport. Why are the airlines tolerating this? They must know how bad it is. Millions being spent on the new motorway (EU money?) nothing spent on this terminal since the 1960s. I would have to think very seriously before going back there. Is anybody listening to all these criticisms or we all wasting our breath? Dreadful customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like a cattle market with no seats"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This must be the worst airport experience we have ever had. The airport was like a cattle market with no seats, the exec lounge full and incomprehensible announcements. The only positive comment I could make is that the staff serving food were excellent despite having to cope with an incredible number of angry and frustrated people. This would certainly put us off ever going back to Crete.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 93 Reviews