Helsinki Vantaa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 172 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"this is a mess"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | For a hub airport this is a mess. Things start well with an easy and frequent train from the city centre to the airport, but soon after you arrive, you hit the mess that is check in. Overcrowded, messy and repetitious. The snaking queues as people wait for their self bag tagging and then the intertwined queues to take said bags to self-check bag drops, before you finally queue for security, which is clearly handling a too large a volume of passengers for it's facilities. Airport food and beverages are expensive and narrow corridors create crowded and slow passenger movement. Seats are hard to find and usually places in a far off corner or next to a gate or cafe, increasing the overcrowding as passengers queue to board or queue for food. The only saving grace is the staff, who are helpful and friendly and the cleanliness of the airport. While not a hub, Tallinn airport 70km across the Baltic to the south is a much more pleasant experience. If you can fly through Tallinn, do it, you'll not regret it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is full of contradictions"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This airport is full of contradictions. Nice surroundings, poor signage, interminable distances from check-in to international gates. On arrival, the passport control process is interminable for what is a relatively low number of passengers. It quite takes the edge of what is a sensible gateway to and from Europe from Asia and North America. Come on Finns, you can do better than this!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"ridiculously overpriced"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Airport restaurants offering has somewhat improved but prices are ridiculously overpriced for rather low/average quality. Simple sandwich can cost 8-12€ (city prices 3-4€), seating is very limited and mostly located in the F&B units so to sit you are forced to consume at these ridiculous prices. As a customer you feel taken hostage. Funny thing is that there are lots of charging locations, sponsored by local power co Fortum.. Problem is about 1/3 don't work. Must be very bad advertising for that power co? Otherwise clean and all, but main passageways are a bit too small.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"security check pretty lacking"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | While the airport its self is clean and clam but the security check at the x-ray machines was pretty lacking. They were two guys talking to each other than paying attention and when they made requests of you it was done in a really rude and cold manner. I felt super uncomfortable. I'm an experienced flyer and have been to a many different airports around the world. Now while some of them are lacking in hygiene and are stressful to be at, at least their customer service was friendly. This is only about the security staff, the staff manning cafes and stores were all lovely.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"found the airport to be very calm"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | This is my fourth time transiting at this airport with my family. We found the airport to be very calm and not too crowded, which is what we love when we travel with small kids and elderly. Less people, less queues at the immigration. It is not so big which is great because you don't have to walk very far from one gate to another, and the transit times that we had chosen were just the perfect amount of time to spend at the airport. Because of the short transit time, we avoided the need to purchase beverages or food there. It is disappointingly pricey here, food and drinks. Cleanliness are amazing, lighting everywhere is perfect, signs and directions were clear. Many quiet areas to rest and play areas for the kids to run around and let off some steam before our next flight. The fact that Helsinki Vantaa airport provides free Wifi is so great. We will come back here in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"nice design and easy-going airport"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Very nice design and easy-going airport. During peak times traffic gets very busy and it is frustrating. Security was very fast. Crew in the airport were lovely. Before my arrival there was a big snowstorm but everything was just normal. Excellent winter airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"we had very little time to transfer"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Our flight from London Heathrow was delayed and we had very little time to transfer to our flight to Kokkola-Pietarsaari. We made since the captain and crew waited for us. We had to go from gate 54 to 21 A and we did so in about 10-15 minutes. We did run and had a 5 months old baby with us. Transfer transport would have been nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very nice and clean"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Helsinki-Vantaa Terminal 1 is very nice and clean. Check-In and security check are smooth procedures. There are also enough services. I found myself shopping with very helpful staff. Only negative thing is that unfortunately the price of a coffee cup price is too expensive these days.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"spacious, quiet, easy to access"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | I very much like Helsinki Vantaa Airport, it is spacious, quiet, easy to access and all information and guidance is clear. Distances are not too long and the building itself is very cosy and light. There are plenty of good shopping places. I think Helsinki Vantaa is the cleanest and best airport I’ve visited. Food and even soft drinks are extremely expensive, as a Finn I am a bit ashamed of that.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"3+ hours waiting for a de-icing slot"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | Clean and efficient airport, good airline lounge, everything went well - right up until the point where were sitting on the plane at the gate for 3+ hours waiting for a de-icing slot for our flight. We did not get an offical explanation from the airport except for "capacity issues", but apparently, only 3 de-icing machines were in use on a snowy evening, which according to the captain was less than half of what was usual (and what seemed to be needed). I wonder how it can come as a surprise to the airport that there was snow in January in Finland, and not have sufficient de-icing capacity in place, especially since the weather forecast had predicted that it would snow. This really gave me a disappointing overall experience with Helsinki Airport, which I have not experienced problems with before.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no