Hanoi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (Russian Federation) 8th April 2015

Airport is new and clean. There is a free wi-fi in duty free zone without registration which is very good. But there are very few duty free shops and it's overpriced. Not recommend this airport for long stopover.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

Hanoi now has an International Terminal and a Domestic Terminal which are separate but near each other. Arrived on a domestic flight at the International Terminal and was bussed to Domestic Arrivals Hall. Relatively quick arrival of cases and limited checking before getting to large Arrivals Hall. A good array of facilities including shops/café etc along with Taxi and Bus ranks. The International Terminal was completed at the beginning of 2015 and still has some final "polishing" to be completed and some shop/café units to open. The building is a Glass Shed design with Check-in on the 1st Floor and Arrivals on the Ground Floor. There are a number of Islands of Check-in Desks for each airline grouping and 2 entries to Passport Control and then Security Scanning. Note there is no facility to change Vietnamese Dong once airside and ALL prices are quoted in USD. You must do down to Arrivals Level to use one of the banks to convert any unwanted Dong before doing passport/Security. Departure Lounge is one long strip with the gates overlooking the runway. Duty Free is limited to small range of alcohol and tobacco products and a shop selling Vietnamese things. There is no shop offering electronic goods/cameras. Each gate area had seating around the desk and a TV showing local programmes or films. As it was all new it is difficult to be fully objective on the state of the facilities offered but it looks OK so far.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 4th December 2014

Not too bad - arrival was smooth and immigration formalities were completed quickly. Bags were delivered within 20-25 minutes of landing. Outside you will find the arrivals hall where you can hire a car/taxi to the city for a fixed price. Departed a couple of days later - Vietnam Airlines check-in area was a little chaotic - it took about 20-25 minutes to get our boarding passes. Arrive as early as you can for check-in. The 1st floor of the International Departures area is pretty much a hall with plenty of small duty free shops a dated restaurant limited seating as well as long queues for boarding (especially for long-haul flights). The 2nd floor is much quieter with plenty of seats a Burger King a Vietnamese food chain more shops selling souvenirs and the two business class lounges (one for Vietnam Airlines and the other for everyone else). There is nothing much to do here and it got quite crowded as many flights were departing in the morning. The good news is that the new international terminal will be opened in 2015 and that will be able to accommodate more passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd June 2014

Some updates since last visit. 7 years ago was our last trip and it was sparse crowded hot and a mess. Just left Hanoi for a visit and markedly different. Arrival went smooth. Had visa on arrival took all of 5 minutes. Immigration bags and custom just as fast. All in all off plane got visa on arrival through immigration bags and customs in less than 30 minutes. Return arrived about 3.5 hours before flight. Drop off lobby incredibly hot and crowded but just sat and chilled until ticketing opened. Queue was fine got tickets and through all security procedures in less than 10 minutes. Airside some improvements made. Much more offerings. Not pressure to buy anything at all. Prices while a tad higher than in the city were not ridiculous at all. They now have a burger king at the airport as well. other food options. boarding was fast and efficient. Really seems like a step forward. Just remember it is a developing country so go with the flow you will be fine.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
6/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 21st April 2014

To be fair this wasn't as bad an experience as I expected having read many of the previous reviews. Arrival was a little chaotic. VOA desk is not well sign-posted between the application and collection counters which caused much confusion for many people standing in the wrong place. Once handed in the VOA took only ten mins to process although that was because we were off the plane first and at the front of the queue. Immigration and baggage collection were smooth and we were through the airport in about 45 minutes at the most. Departure was very smooth. Hardly any queue and through immigration and security in minutes. Yes the airport is showing its age with not too much in the way of facilities after immigration. Although there are a few gift shops duty free and snack outlets. As many have said not enough seating so I guess a problem at peak times? We used the lounge which was comfortable and had a decent choice of food and drink. Overall an acceptable experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 28th January 2014

Was very hot and stuffy inside even though it was a cool day and the staff weren't particularly helpful. I had to put up with looks of disdain from some of the shop assistants when I went to interrupt their lazing to ask about products. There's nowhere to change money once you're through customs none of the VAT reimbursement points seemed to be manned and there was a smell of urine where my gate was. Most infuriatingly I was assured that I could take my duty free Chivas Regal through an international transfer and then had it confiscated by a man at Singapore airport who implied I should know better. Not a place I'd recommend at all.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (Vietnam) 13th January 2014

Most basic facilities are available but without free Wi-Fi waiting area for international departure lacks chairs so when it comes to busy hours many people might have to stand or just sit on floors. Despite of these I found that this airport is a good airport in general with friendly and helpful staffs. Terminal 2 is in progress and hopefully this will bring improvements for their service soon. The security is very funny I checked in 2 water guns in plastic for our kids and they ask me to take it out even that they are clearly make of plastic and are checked in ridiculous.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
3/10

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th January 2014

Why passengers have to line up to pass their hand luggage through x-ray machines again after they've landed and passed through immigration prior to being able to pick up the rest of their baggage on the carousels escapes me and is something I'd never seen before. The terminal itself looks dated and on departure the staff aren't the most professional or polite in the world. Once you pass through security your options are very limited so bring a good book and don't expect wifi. My flight's gate number changed as well without announcement which caught a few people off guard.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th December 2013

This is the worst airport I have ever seen. Staff treat customers with no respect. Staff have no knowledge and no idea about professionalism. I don't understand why after several complaints the management have never done anything to improve. The Airport creates the first impression of the country.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Hanoi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 12th December 2013

This place is old dirty and horribly disorganized. Those are its best features. Employees are universally surly incompetent and disinterested. The queues turn into messy scrums with attendants opening random areas for entrance with utter disregard to who managed to get in line first. The first class line is not much better. Customer service is a foreign concept and the "help desk" when manned is no help at all with personnel keen on ignoring you. Immigration is unreasonably and unnecessarily slow. Bag claim has no signage to direct you to the proper belt to retrieve your luggage. Cabbies at the airport are like hyenas and charge 2x more than the going rate. Unfortunately I live here part of the year and have no choice but to use this airport. I fear the new facilities being built will be no better since they will be staffed with the same clueless employees as Noi Bai. Given the facilities in Singapore Bangkok KL etc. this place should be an embarrassment to those in charge. But it isn't. They've got you and they know it.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews