Hamburg Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"clear, clean and friendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Lovely midsize European airport: clear, clean and friendly. One can get quickly outside and inside the airport. There are two quite similar terminals. This year I witnessed one of the longest queues I've ever seen in an airport: it went from terminal 2 to terminal 1 drawing many bows. The airport crew did however manage to keep the queue flowing. Very good job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Will not be back that's for sure"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew to and from Hamburg airport this weekend. I recognise that it is a small airport but there are some easy fixes that could be made to make this a more satisfying experience. My biggest gripe was with the manners of the restaurant staff. I was early to my flight and wanted to get some dinner. I went to the San Pino restaurant to order a pizza. The man on the till could not have been ruder! He was so rude towards the couple before me, was just uninterested in me and barked at the staff behind me. Will not be back that's for sure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"modern and spacious"

(Germany)

Very modern and spacious airport with a wide variety of shops. Good check-in options, but often very long security check queues even in the Fast Track since the airport has centralized the security check. Good Connection to the main German cities (why not Berlin?) and European capitals, but less intercontinental connections which makes is necessary to fly via certain Airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"I was disappointed"

(Germany)

Check in with a massive queue for a flight with max. 100 passengers. Was told to bring my backpack to a special "bulky baggage desk", because it has be handled manually. Boarding with busses on a very remote parking position. Arrival back in Hamburg: deboarding with busses. My bag, which had to be handled manually on departure, returned on an automated baggage belt. I really don't understand what the "bulky baggage desk" was there for in the first place? Usually I like HAM, this time, I was disappointed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
9/10

"very easy and functional"

(Portugal)

Very easy and functional airport to arrive at. We only had hand luggage and it was very easy to find the way out. Being an EU passenger with nothing to declare it was even easier. The metro is just beneath the terminal and there are plenty of taxis and a huge car park close to it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

"awful security checking"

(Russian Federation)

Awful security checking (huge queue and lack of space for take off/dress clothes etc). The same bad situation with passport control on arrival/departure. Lack of cafe after passport control for flights to out of EURO.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"long lines at security check"

(Thailand)

Everything was really good except for the long lines at security check, should have organized that better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

Hamburg Airport customer review

(Netherlands)

The fast lane is an embarassment - usually max 2 security lanes open. I fly to Hamburg regularly and the fast lane queue takes at least 30 mins. This is ridiculous. What happened to the smoking cabins?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Hamburg Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

What happened to this once great airport? It's still clean and sparkling but what really matters is time. Inbound - it took the airport 45 minutes to deliver the checked luggage to the belt. Excuse was insufficient number of luggage handlers. Outbound - only one person at immigration and plane was delayed because (again) luggage wasn't loaded due to handler shortage. What a shame once upon a time this was a superb super efficient and very fast airport. This is has clearly gone.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Hamburg Airport customer review

(United States)

Excellent in all respects. Efficiently laid out clean courteous personnel good selection of shops and restaurants comfortable and plentiful seating. Most wondrous and remarkable to this United States visitor public transportation that runs regularly and on schedule between the airport basement and the city.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews