Guangzhou Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 181 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Needs air-conditioning"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Connected twice in March for international connections. Pros - Big, spacious airport with plenty of retail and restaurants. Cons - Very hot and humid. Even at 8am. Needs air-conditioning. Slow customs, many shops (McDonalds) don't take cards or android/apple pay. Expensive - Paid over $10 for coffee and $8 for a croissant, no "To-Go" food options in terminal A. Could not find any readymade items. I did order a sandwich but after 20 min gave up because it was the final boarding call. Bathroom was being used as a smoking area. It was hard to use with all the cigarette smoke in the bathroom. Internet Kiosk that allows you a code after a passport scan had a broken printer. (Both times coming and going). China Southern flights and service were great, but airport was not as easy to navigate as ICN, HKG or SIN.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at any cost"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport was a stop over for me and my partner when we traveled to Thailand. It is by far one of the worst airports I have ever visited in my life. I’ll start with immigration, they are abrupt and pushy, highly unpleasant and do not even entertain or acknowledge you other than to point at you or shout loudly if you haven’t got something quite right. Once through the cattle herd of immigration your through to departures. It’s here where this wonderful airport really comes to life. The staff who work there are just rude and expect you to move for them like they are some sort of godly beings. They only have one volume level which is loud, really really loud. It’s as if they are constantly shouting or arguing with one another. God forbid you need any essentials whilst your there as you cannot purchase anything as the shops are just full of random bits and bobs and panda jumpers. The McDonald’s doesn’t sell burgers which is just bizarre so we went for a coffee in Coffee Benz I believe it was called where we were looked at like we had three heads. No please or thankyous. Nothing. If you aren’t Chinese they are just down right rude to you. But if you are Chinese you can basically behave however you please. The seating areas are out dated and extremely uncomfortable to the point it was comfier to sit on the carpeted floor, which by the way are filthy. It’s just not the place to get you in the holiday vibe. Avoid at any cost where possible. I will not return to this airport and I’ll ensure that anyone I know avoids it too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"4 hours waiting for our visa"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We arrived at Guangzhou to spend over 4 hours waiting for our visa. Really bad conditions with one man dealing with so many. I blame the government immigration Dept. Each person we asked what was happening spoke very little English if any, we spent over 40 mins travelling by bus to the gate at the terminal to have this long wait. When we finally got our visa we went to the transit desk for our hotel booking there again no one spoke English. When we asked where the hotels were in the city no one could tell us, there were no maps to have to look at, just no help whatsoever it's almost that the Chinese don't want visitors in their country. Leaving LA on return the same again only this time we were late leaving waiting for cargo to be loaded long enough to watch a complete movie, arriving once again the long long wait sitting on the floor in the cold. Arriving in Cairns one bag missing for 4 days. Never again will I travel or recommend China Southern.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"queuing time was extremely short"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou Baiyun airport is pretty nice. There were special decorations inside the airport, which were beautiful. There was also a culture corridor that has records of historical events, significant individuals and landmarks. The signs in the terminal give clear instruction in both Chinese and English as to where you need to go for what. The queuing time was extremely short, which was a surprise. The terminal, including the bathroom was extremely clean. The seating at the terminal was a little bit limited. The food and beverage provided at the airport were fantastic, though very expensive. There was limited shops in the terminal. The staff that I have encountered were all friendly, though some does not speak English at all. The airport's Wifi is very fast, though it does need verification before you can connect to it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Airport signage is poorly put together"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This was the first time we have flown with China Southern. The selling point was the cheaper airfare featuring free airport hotel for passengers with an 8 hour transit and above. We thought that would be a great rest after such a long flight from Amsterdam. Upon arrival, there were barely any detailed signs to explain the process that we had to endure. There was only 1 customer service member on behalf of China Southern who explained in bits and pieces, that we fill a temporary visa application form followed by "take a number" sticker. He was only able to take 10-15 passports at a time which lasts up to 2 hours per call. The Custom Officers took their time to process our passports. Even after a few of us who had our passports back to go, we were stopped and had to wait again because our visas were not signed off properly. Thereafter, we rushed around looking for the hotel accommodation counter in the airport, which sends us up and down escalators as the Airport signage is poorly put together. We then had to wait around for a bus to take us to a hotel of our choice. We arrived at Guangzhou airport at 7am and did not get into a hotel until 12.30pm.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"less than expectation"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Less than expectation for a Tier 1 Chinese City International Airport. Still long way to go for an International Airport Standard. Totally not recommended for transit or international arrival of departures. Would still be pretty average for a domestic Chinese Airport, Shanghai Hongqiao is a far better Chinese domestic airport with better terminal, shopping and dining options.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"still lacks some fundamental facilities"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The Airport at Guangzhou though modernised still lacks some fundamental facilities for passengers. There is a long wait for security clearance, and the ground staff are not adequately trained to advise passengers of the various clearance procedures. The Airport signage is complex and needs to be reviewed. Ground staff performance very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely no facilities whatsoever"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The most terrible airport with the worst staff and absolutely no facilities whatsoever. I made the terrible mistake of travelling through China Southern Airlines and had a transit at Guangzhou Airport for 13 hours. Under usual circumstances, a passenger with stay of >8 hours is given a hotel as per the airline policy however it is not true. Airport staff declined and did not issue transit visas. I had to spend 13 hours at the airport with limited wifi, no recliners or proper chairs. More so, the money exchange does not even accept any currency other that USD and none of the lounges accept card payment. Food is overpriced and even their McDonalds is strange with only 4 combos on the menu to choose from, nothing else at all. Worst experience. Never going back.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"few employees speak English"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very few employees can speak English. I realize not everyone does, but there are so many tourist and if they want visitors, they need to speak some. The employees are rude! Told me there was no where to eat. I had a long layover. I was able to find a restaurant that charged me $30 USD for 2 small bowls of noodles. The gift shop wanted $16 USD for a bag of M&M’s. Unfortunately I didn’t get a visa to go in to the City. I hope I never have a layover here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dirty, old and so hot"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Arriving mid-morning from Amsterdam we found ourselves waiting for over 2 hours to get through customs for our “Visa Free” 2-night stay. There were just 2 customs officials on for hordes of arriving passengers with maybe 10 others just standing around behind these 2. When we were but 2 away from the counters they put another one official. The female official my partner approached for all to hear yelled “give me your passport hurry!” The “where is you visa, why are you here, quickly!!” At this time, I was up with an official next who was laughing at the treatment my partner was receiving from this screaming female. My officer asked to see our departing ticket and I advised that my partner had my ticket out of the country currently showing the other official. He proceeded to ask for this from his colleague who screamed “they should have two copies” and to my partner “give this to him now!” We were both appalled by the treatment we received for no other reason than we had to wait over 2 hours to get through customs. What a way to start our shopping trip in Guangzhou. Had we a choice we would have jumped on the next plane home rather than stay. Perhaps this swayed our opinion otherwise but the airport was dirty, mostly very old and so hot! Our flight home was delayed 3 hours due to apparent “weather conditions” which was interesting as after doing an internet search I found no untoward weather conditions anywhere on route. The airport incredibly hot once again. I hope never to have to return!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no