Airline of the Year  

Guangzhou Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 185 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a huge white elephant"

(New Zealand)

Very slow for the special lane clearance for China Southern's much vaunted 72 hour transit stopover at Guangzhou Airport. Signage confusing beyond my comprehension and I seldom get lost in an airport. The use of the word "Gate" for entrances and exits adds to the confusion. And to have 4 of the 6 arrivals or departures using Gates A1 to A5 requiring a bus trip half way around the world and using what in other airports would be emergency exits is just inexcusable. All in all a huge white elephant with cluttered immigration and customs areas.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"almost nobody spoke English"

(Australia)

Despite the signs at Guangzhou Airport being in English, almost nobody spoke English or decided to make the effort to make international travellers feel welcome. An absolute far cry when compared to say Singapore airport, let alone some of the poorer airports in the world. Not very friendly either. Wanted to buy some presents - guess I'll spend my money in a country that wants it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a great airport for transfer"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Guangzhou airport is huge, separated by domestic departure and international. However, this is not a great airport for transfer compared to others such as Singapore Changi, Incheon, Hong Kong, Doha etc. Very seating and hard to find a rest area. Very little food or restaurant options in the airport. If you transfer or plan to spend more than 3 hours in this airport, I would advise to think twice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(New Zealand)

I transited through Guangzhou airport twice in the last three weeks and was pleasantly surprised after some of the reviews I'd read. All signs are in English as well as Chinese, so no problem at all finding my way around. The airport is light, clean and modern, queuing times for documentation were fast and efficient. Nice shops selling beautiful Chinese clothing, and hand crafts of all kinds at resonable prices. I travel a lot through many international airports and found Guangzhou just fine. One thing I will say was it was a little cold, so if you have a jacket take it in your carry on luggage so you can be comfortable.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"security slow yet methodical"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Security check at Guangzhou airport was slow yet methodical. Immigration was quite smooth although slow. The airport was kept in a clean manner. The toilets were clean. There didn't seem to be any showers or long term rest areas for travellers in transit from long trips say to Europe or the USA. There was ample small trolleys to place your computer and carry on luggage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"the wing we were in was clean and modern"

(New Zealand)

We had an international layover through CAN both going to Bangkok and coming home again to New Zealand with China Southern in Dec 2016/Jan 2017. Our first layover was 7 hours, turned into 8 as our first flight was early. This was a pretty horrible experience but not the fault of the airport exactly, although the lack of food options probably contributed to the experience. I ended up with a migraine and tried my best to sleep curled up mostly under a seat while my husband stayed awake watching our bags. The driver of the bus we were put on from the plane to the transfer wing drove in circles and made me car sick, and the smog in China itself may have added to the nausea as it was actually really bad. We brought snacks as I'd read online the food was really expensive, but still ended up buying a very overpriced bottle of water and a very gross tasting tea. The 'free water' is only really free if you already have a bottle, the cups they provide are like paper shot glasses and are completely unusable. The shopping is practically non-existent unless you want to buy cartons of cigarettes or very overpriced Chinese bowls. The WIFI only works with a Chinese SIM, and even then I overhead someone saying Google and most of the contents of the internet are banned, so that renders it pretty non functional anyway. Overall the wing we were in was clean and modern, well lit and well air conditioned. Our second layover coming home was only 2 hours and went by quickly, it was a nice lounge to spend a couple of hours in but I wouldn't do 8 again if I had the choice. I have no idea if our queuing time was normal since it was Christmas day and night time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"there are crew yelling about connections"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Please bear in mind this review is purely based on the transit experience only! China Southern Airlines I have discovered have very tight transit times between connecting flights. Our inbound was from Sydney and our connection was to DEL, transit time 60 mins, seems a lot? Right as you step out of the plane, there are crew yelling about connections, ok it is good you have had a long flight and need to be woken up but sadly it continues. The airlines know their schedules yet they do not cater for the fact that queues will form not due to a fault of passengers but perhaps for a lack of counters and the yelling continues. Though in fairness english is not their first language and signage is sufficient.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"if you can, avoid the airport"

(Spain)

Unverified | I had two layovers here. Transit to the international gates was fine and relatively speedy. The queue wasn't very long though. Also be aware that you'll have a long bus ride from the plane to the actual building, they park incredibly far away. Both times probably 15 minutes ride plus waiting time for passengers to leave plane. First layover was in the evening and the building was warm and humid. Shops were open but there is not much to chose from. McDonald's didn't take card! In one wing is a Starbucks which was pricy but at least staff spoke English and they took card. Second layover was at 6am and the temperature in the building was the same as outside. No heating, So we sat in about 10C - everyone who just came from a hot country and was in their summerclothes was shivering and miserable. Wouldn't be surprised if many of them are sick now. Horrible. Wifi connection is good but you won't get without giving away personal detail. Also once in wifi nothing obviously works. There are 'recharging' areas where you lay down. Free hot/cold water available - bring a bottle! If you can handle no heating/AC then it's ok for a layover but if you can avoid the airport I would do so!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"good transportation service"

(New Zealand)

Guangzhou is a clean airport, possibly a bit Spartan so far as facilities go compared to such places like Changi or Bangkok. The visa waiver system is not so clear and takes an unneccassry amount of time to process, but we did get through. Departure is much more streamlined and uncomplicated. Good transportation service to the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"staff were friendly and helpful"

(Australia)

When doing any trip, you research. I read the reviews of the prices for food and beverage at this airport, so that was no surprise. But I found it to be clean, bathrooms, seating areas etc. It was winter almost and it was heated. Staff were generous with directions. I had a 6 hour in transit wait. Was comfortable even though it was near 12.10am, staff were friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes