Guangzhou Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 131 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 13th July 2015

Not the most user friendly airport ever. Big, modern and open but signage is minimal. For example we had no idea what our gate number was going back home internationally. Not on our boarding pass, we just knew it was "A" - so after going through all the shops, so many shops, eventually we came to the gates. It was there we found a small screen that scrolled and we found our gate. Same with going to domestic, again very hard to find our gate number and to know whether we were even walking the miles in the right direction. What do they have against people knowing where they need to be? We made sure we purchased nothing in this airport due to the price. You know all they need is a little attention to detail (like displaying gate/flights in an obvious way), to make this airport so much better. Instead there is a lot of guesswork by the weary traveller. Hong Kong airport does it so much better in so many ways. This is definitely not an airport I would want to go through again unless I had to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit12-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 13th July 2015

Hot. No place for a massage. No place to buy English-language reading materials. Lackluster shopping. Boring food. On the bright side, it's clean.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit13-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 25th June 2015

Transiting Guangzhou (Baiyun) Airport from Sydney through to Paris and return in June 2015. On both occasions the plane pulled up to a terminal and airbridge, only to find we had to walk down stairs and were then bussed to an international arrival area. For a seemingly modern airport I can't fathom how someone organised this. It seems someone in the right position (think racketeering) has a monopoly on food and shopping in at least the International terminal. There was little choice for coffee and food and the costs ended up being about USD$12 (or AUD$16) for a simple takeaway cappuccino and USD$6 for a small bottle of local water. This went beyond price gouging into the realm of extortion. Toilets were dirty and of the Chinese squat style. The "Free Wifi" was not accessible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit25-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 7th June 2015

Avoid this airport. There is a new security system that you must go through when transferring to a domestic flight from International. Frustrating how everyone waits yet security staff let people jump the queue who say they have a short connection. One other passenger who did this took strong exception to my wife asking the staff why they had let them fast track the queue. Then the passenger in question turned to me and gave me nothing but abuse. To top it all off when we got to our gate (after 40 minutes queuing) this passenger was seen waiting for their flight that they had earlier said was leaving in 10 minutes! Staff at this airport are very officious and very unfriendly!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 18th May 2015

Our plane was delayed many hours with China Southern. We were business class so we're fortunate to be allowed into the airline lounge. However the public relations was non existent. No one kept us informed and no senior management explained what was going on. This was an absolute disgrace and I would avoid the airport and the airline in the future.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (Israel) 1st May 2015

Use this airport often. Very large one with good services. Good transportation to Guangzhou by metro which is faster the bus or taxi just to know where to get off. services like keeping luggage or restaurant are expensive but services are good.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (South Korea) 19th April 2015

Too bad China spent a fortune to build such a modern airport and not spend much money on training their staff. They have a long way to go. Avoid if possible and don't eat or drink in their cafes or restaurants.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th April 2015

This was the worst airport I have been to the workers were rude no one could speak English coffee £7 a cup. I went to the disabled toilet and the cleaner unlocked the door with her key and was coming in as I was in there. Horrible place. The flight was fine going out to Australia just one stop but coming back 12 hours in this terrible airport then a stop for 12 hours in Paris. Utter unbelievable.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 10th April 2015

If you're stopping over on the way to somewhere else the international part is the worst. Be warned you'll pay $10AUD for a coffee at the first coffee place you see as you walk out of the transfer gates. Airport wifi requires a local SIM but aforementioned cafe has (terribly slow) wifi for customers. Toilets are awful. The rest of my experience with China Southern airlines was great but the stopover at the Guangzhou is a deal breaker. Take a laptop with movies on it find a comfy spot and stay there. Nothing else to see here.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Guangzhou Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 10th April 2015

Beautiful modern looking airport but that's about it. For our transit visa we were directed to the wrong area. Bathroom reeked. Shops and restaurants are extremely expensive saw a bar of kit-kat for about $5 USD. Wanted to try the pizza place but saw a customer walking out saying to herself "just had the world's worst pizza."
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no