Vote Now  

Grenoble Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 31 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"it ticks all of the boxes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I don't recognise this airport from the other reviews. Yes, it clearly struggles to cope with capacity at weekends in the ski season but otherwise it ticks all of the boxes. Since last year they've extended the cover when queuing for passport control on arrivals so you're no longer waiting in the open air and our luggage appeared on the carousel promptly, despite several planes landing at once. Our departure today was excellent with lots of check-in desks available and even those on the desks advertising a Thomson flight were happy to check in BA passengers if they were available. Every single person we encountered was smiling, friendly and helpful - including the security staff who were also exceptionally thorough in their pat-down procedure. The toilets in Departures seemed new and were spotless and the food from the cafe was good quality. What a difference from UK airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"simply cannot handle the capacity"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Grenoble has to be the worst airport I have ever flown from. They simply cannot handle the capacity, expect a wait of 40mins to drop your baggage off on ski change over day at the weekends. There are very poor toilet facilities which will also involve a long wait. Security queue was stopped for over 30 mins without any explanation from the staff. Seems to be a problem with passport control post security which was holding it up. In total the whole security to passport took over an hour. Once through to departures expect another two toilets for the thousands of people. Currently sat on the tarmac as presumably most passages at still stuck at security. Most stressful flying experience, would rather have a longer drive and never set foot in this place again. Do not fly from here.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"little regard for the importance of proper operations"

(United Kingdom)

It's rather surprising that airlines/tour operators tolerate the shambolic state of the operational capacity at Grenoble every weekend during the snow season. These Saturday and Sunday morning flights almost universally depart behind schedule due to the failure of the airport to process check-in, security and passport control in sufficient time for scheduled departure. Watching the same chaos unfold on Sunday 5th March 2017 (today - after a departure transfer from a nearby ski resort) that occurred in 2016, 2015 and 2014 suggests that the airport - paid for by airport tax - has little regard for the importance of proper operations. Massive queues everywhere, terrible information, appalling public health facilities and mediocre catering are the norm. While other airports constantly upgrade check-in systems, passport clearance, catering and public health facilities, Grenoble persists with the same outdated infrastructure. I don't buy that this is a necessary evil of a 'cheap' ski holiday. One does not have the same experience at Innsbruck, Freidrichshafen, Salzburg or other such airports with seasonally fluctuating demand. The tour operators such as Silverski, Mark Warner, Alpine Elements and the other major players in the market cannot abdicate responsibility. They are using this abysmally operated public facility and adopt laissez faire approach to its colossal operational failings. Raising the issue direct with Grenoble airport seems an exercise in futility. We (the consumer) should not accept this blatant abuse of consumer rights by the airport, and apathy of the tour operators and airlines, and should refuse to purchase package holidays that transfer through Grenoble until such time improvements are made.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"luggage pickup was absolute chaos"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is the absolute pits. On arrival luggage pickup was absolute chaos. On departure there was no signage for flights and you had to just try guess what queue to stand in. Security was a complete joke. They decided randomly that every single cable had to be taken out of bags and scanned separately. They even took out my go pro plastic housings and scanned them separately. Compete inefficiency. If you have any other possible choice avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it's overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very poor experience. Grenoble Airport has a good location for going to ski, and other mountain activities. However, it's overcrowded. Bag drop took about 40 minutes even though the queues were quite small. The desk showing my flight suddenly changed to another flight of another airline after 15 min of queueing, we had to change the queue. Staff extremely slow. It took 5-7 min for me alone to register the ski and pass visa check. Same time to pass through security control, which suddenly decided to take apart my bag looking for carabiners. I had no problems flying from other airports like Tolouse, but here they are forbidden according to local security policy. No explanation why so was given, and I was forced to sign a paper, giving them away, otherwise they won't pass me through. Of course due to everything being slow there was no time left to put it into baggage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough seating and unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is, by far, the worst airport I have travelled to; and I travel a lot. The airport does not have the infrastructure to handle more than one, medium sized airplane at the time. I am now awaiting my plane and there are 8 scheduled departures within the next two hours, needless to say that it is chaos. Two toilets to serve an entire airport, not enough seating and unhelpful staff. This airport offers a truly unpleasant, stressful experience and I will not travel here again. On the 'toilet note', they must be aware of the shortage of toilets because they have removed the seating rings on both toilets available. I guess this speeds things up a bit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unfit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Unfit for purpose. Inadequate infrastructure for use as a charter terminal - ski changeover day is busy anywhere but this place has not improved since our last visit 2 years ago. Long and very slow queues to check in (broken baggage belt added to misery) further queue for security and then inadequate seats in departure room (refuse to call it a lounge) and more queues for coffee then loo. Boarded only 20 minutes late which was a miracle The worst was saved for last with a >60 minute hold on the runway waiting for de-icing (private jets given priority). They had 4 flights booked to leave at 10am and more soon after, but clearly cannot achieve this. Avoid at all cost.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"arrival was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Grenoble airport is horrendous. I haven't departed from it yet however arrival was terrible. You walk into this very dirty, tiny hangar not even with fences to organise the queues so everyone was pushing and shoving. As soon as we left the Passport area (after 1.5 hours) we got to baggage reclaim and they are very unreliable. Belt No.3 was broken, Belt No.2 was very noisy and Belt No.1 is ok but small. After 30 minutes of waiting for our bags, we finally got out. The place is also full of cobwebs and plastic bottles.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"spent our time queuing"

(United Kingdom)

This was quite simply the worst airport I have ever travelled through. We travelled back from a ski trip in the Alps on the 27th Feb and were dropped off 4 hours prior to our departure time by our tour operator because they were obviously expecting the utter chaos which was to ensue. It's like it's ran and organised by a bunch of 10 year olds and is quite simply not fit to cater for the volume of travellers. Despite our early arrival we literally spent our entire time there queuing, had no opportunity to look in the very limited stores and were still late getting on the plane! I'm going to avoid like the plague in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

The worst travel experience of my life, literally. We were dropped off at the airport 4.5hours early after a week skiing, we now know why. The airport is utter chaos, no seats and standing room only across the entire departure area. All fights were delayed simply as a result of not havi the infrastructure to cope with the volume of travellers. After checking opened it took 4 hours to check in, clear security and get to the departure gate. Terrible experience, I'd go as far as to say it was dangerous travelling through Grneoble with very young children (we have an 18 month old and a 4.5yr old). At one stage we were exploring hiring a car do drive back to the UK because this was so terrible. Maybe it's different outside of the holidays, but our experience could not have been any worse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 31 Reviews