Goa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"actually quite a smooth experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having read some horrendous reviews about Goa Dabolim airport I was really not looking forward to it at all, but it was actually quite a smooth experience: The official at the door to the terminal building checked our tickets (electronic on my mobile, no problem at all) and passports and even wished us a happy new year! Next we joined the queue to put the hold luggage through the x-ray machine, it was tagged to confirm this. Note: hand luggage does not go through, nor is it tagged any longer (at least with Thomas Cook flights). Then we went to the actual check-in desk, the hold luggage was weighed and tagged and sent off, and we got our boarding passes. We had checked in online earlier but it didn't change anything. Passing through security was quick, they don't require you to remove any liquid bags, just mobile phones and tablets etc. Admittedly there are more checks on your paperwork than the average airport but I didn't feel harassed. The departure waiting area is big and feels fairly empty with just a couple of shops and food outlets (we didn't buy anything), there are toilets and the ones I used at least were perfectly acceptable. There's also a drinking water fountain so you can fill your bottle for the flight, which I think is excellent! Enough chairs to sit on. Free WiFi for a limited time. No sign of mosquitoes as mentioned in some reviews. Flight information screens not huge but sufficient. The only strange bit was that boarding the plane was started quite early, and we ended up standing in the corridor going down to the tarmac for a very long time. Why they don't use the shutes I don't know. But we got on the bus eventually, and the flight left just half an hour late. All in all a good experience, and not the nightmare I was dreading.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Lack of restaurant and food facilities"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Lack of restaurant and food facilities. Just been through Goa airport for a domestic flight to Mumbai. What amazes me is the lack of food take-away shops or restaurants. There is a small take-away in the main departure hall with another branch with the same name in the adjacent departure hall + another small take-away next to it with similar prices. There is a lack of variety of food items on the menu and they are super expensive. I realize food is always more expensive at airports but we have for example paid 10 rupees for a veg samosa at a number of shops in Candolim whereas the airport shop charges 130 rupees. Looks like a monopoly to me as the same take-away shop has a 3rd outlet downstairs if one enters the airport. Furthermore, there is a lack of seating and also many mosquitoes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Totally chaotic signage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Be aware not to enter the departure hall too early before your flight: nonsensical security means no leaving the airport hall after dropping bags etc unlike anywhere else in the world. The staffing of the airport seems to be monumental: everyone is on their smartphones lounging or doing nothing (not even politely pretending). Departure boards are the size of a small TV home screen and fill up quickly with various notifications without actually all the flights scheduled. 2 entrance gates to the departure hall have been closed and could see a massive queue around 9pm. The toilet floor is sticky and all fittings grubby and filthy. Most of the toilets been closed for an unknown reason. The whole airport is ridden by mosquitoes so use repellent before going inside. Very few charging points are available and most of them are broken. Free WiFi provided by TATA is available only for 30 minutes. Totally chaotic signage with incompetent staff giving direction in a poor English adds to the confusion.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The security at this airport is a joke. After the unnecessary screening by up to 5 policemen at every stage of the departure procedure plus checks by airline staff, they still managed to allow Russian holiday passengers incorrectly to board our plane to UK and load their baggage. Which just goes to show how inept the airport staff are, consequently the flight was delayed due to the unloading of these passengers and their baggage. The TUI airline staff at the check in again we’re totally useless unable to operate the baggage label computer correctly, and then when we are sent to Gate B on the departure screen the TUI staff start arguing with each other at the gate and sent us to Gate A. This must be the worst airport I have ever travelled through. Will never come back to Goa again, the airport is a nightmare, the staff need to be retrained completely.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"departure was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival was fine, immigration was quite slow but kept moving and our bags were waiting for us. However departure was a nightmare. Check-in was good but security and passport control took an hour to get through. Not many food or drink options in the departure area, toilets were OK. Boarding was absolute chaos. They decided to board 2 flights (our flight to Gatwick and a flight to Moscow) simultaneously though the same gate. This meant that passengers for both flights had to queue along a narrow, downward sloping corridor to exit via a small door onto buses. Except there were no buses for the Moscow flight so the Gatwick passengers had to literally push their way through the crowds. It was dangerously crowded and must have been very difficult for anybody elderly or with mobility difficulties. Also a ridiculously inefficient way to board, especially when there were around 8 air bridges we could see that were not in use. We were in Premium class but obviously this was made no difference in the boarding process, we were just thankful we managed to board at all!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"announcements are the worst of their kind"

(India)

Unverified | The departure announcements at this airport are the worst of their kind. The announcements are not clear, sometimes two different announcemnts begin from different corners. To compare, I can say simply Indian railway announcements at noisy stations are more clear and audible than announcements at Goa airport. It's really sad to find this quality in an airport which handles a lot of tourist traffic in India.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is going from bad to worse"

(India)

Verified Review | Have been travelling every weeek over the past 3 years. This airport is going from bad to worse. The AC's don't function and it's a complete railway station experience with no seating available due to over crowding. The food available is over charged and have always had an upset stomach. Why are other vendors not allowed is it because authorities are getting a big fat cut from the vendor supplying food items. I'm sure the airport will earn better if other vendors are allowed and atleast people will have better options to choose from rather than only burgers, Sa switches and rolls which are not even fresh at most of the times. The restaurant is shut at 10.45 pm so if ur flight is delayed be prepared to stay hungry no ones bothered. I've experienced this since the last 4 years
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one experience we could have done without"

(United Kingdom)

This is by far the worst airport I have experienced. The arrival is a joke, I have never had my passport and visa checked so many times, is this really necessary? This took 90 minutes, the staff work so slowly with not one smile on their faces, definitely not a good start to the holiday. The departure was even worse, the queues are endless and the staff at security are rude and bad tempered and again, we had our passports and boarding cards checked so many times my head was in a spin and woe betide you do not get a pass on your hand luggage, they will send you right back downstairs to security to get it done and enjoy doing it. Once into the departure area there is only one cafe and this is very expensive, toilets are disgusting and there is never any toilet paper, staff too lazy to replace. This is one experience we could have done without and it was a shame because we had a great holiday but the Airport and its staff totally ruined it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no coffee or tea available"

(India)

Verified Review | No tea available since restaurant and lounge was closed for fumigation and in the coffee shop there was no coffee or tea available. Smoking room was filthy and the cigarette lighter was not working. The toilets smelt awful with no tissue paper in the toilet. No bars around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queues seem endless"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival we were advised that immigration takes a long time, but we had downloaded our eVisa, so we expected this to be quicker. How wrong. We got off the plane to one of 3 buses, each took us literally 15 metres to the terminal. This airport seemed to have 2 flights scheduled for arrival, ours and then an afternoon flight. We then spent 90 minutes in immigration, just to have our right hand scanned, then our left and then our thumbs, there were 6 desks dealing with the queue. Finally we had our stamp, only to move to another queue to show we had a stamp. Finally to the baggage hall, all the cases had been taken off the carrousel as it had been such a long time. We then had to wrestle our cases off the porters that were trying to put our cases on trolleys. Finally outside the building we are able to meet our rep, (they are not allowed into the building). On departure we are dropped at the door of the airport and again having to wrestle with the porters trying to grab our cases. Queue 1 is to show passports before even getting inside the airport. Inside we start our second queue to scan our bags, 1 scanner to deal with all the incoming passengers, each bag including hand luggage needs to be stamped. Then to the next queue to check in the bags - not too bad, 8 desks open to do this. The walk from check in to the security on the first level is quite a long one. The security area is quite big and feels more airy, but queues seem endless (queue number 4) this is to check and stamp passports. After this the next (queue 5) security scanners are to check carry on bags. The departure terminal filthy. Washrooms and overall seating / waiting area in the domestic departure terminal is worse than a railway station. The washrooms were vile, facilities are not adequate. There is one eating option and priced exorbitantly. Coffee and Tea is hit or miss, it runs out every 5 minutes and takes 15 further minutes before it is available again. Once boarding (queue 6) you need to show your passport, boarding pass, and that all bags have a stamp. If you are unfortunate to not have a stamp, you are sent back downstairs to security.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews