Top 100 Airports  

Glasgow Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"seem to cope well with the numbers"

(United Kingdom)

There has been a slow constant amount of upgrading going on at the airport over the last few years, and its needed it, feeling old and tired. That all said, even when busy they seem to cope well with the numbers. At a lot of UK airports a big queue at security means a long long wait, but the set up at GLA seems to manage well with it. Its also helped by the friendliest security staff I have met in the UK (the ones in Reykjavik were nicer - but there was no queue there at all). Being forced to walk through the duty free area is a trick being used at a lot of airports, I don't mind it, but it means that when I am killing time I am not going to walk back to it which is probably a lost sale. There isn't a lot going on for such a big airport in terms of places to eat and drink, but it seems adequate. The one paid for airline lounge is at the far end of the international flights area (before the gates), it would be much better located centrally. For arrivals, i have found the security queues to be pretty quick and the staff friendly. Bag pickup is also usually ok.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a complete inconvenience"

(United Kingdom)

Been using Glasgow Airport sine 1986 for mainly business travel and on the whole the major work to update the airport over the year has been a great improvement. However the latest improvement with the relocation of the domestic departure gateway is an own goal and now a complete inconvenience for the domestic business traveller 0/10 for this improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"forced into additional retail areas"

(United Kingdom)

I am a frequent user of airports, particularly those around central Scotland, such as Glasgow and Edinburgh. Each week I commute bleary eyed on the red-eye flight to London, traipsing through security and duty free to grab a coffee and get to the gate. For years, I have preferred Glasgow. Security at Glasgow, typically the bane of all airport travellers, is surprisingly quick. It forsakes the slot based system now being rolled out throughout most airports and provides something typically fast, efficient and stress free. But I really must complain about the way they have restructured departures to force all passengers into additional retail areas. They call it 'enhancing the passenger journey'. I call it profiteering. Bad enough you have to get up early each week to get to the airport. Bad enough you have to struggle to get dropped off miles away from the terminal at the designated drop off area and walk a half marathon to get to departures. Now you have to get diverted through acres of retail space to double back on yourself to get to the departure gates. While I may be whining about an extra 5-10 minute walk to get to the gate, this adds to all the other inconveniences to make the whole experience just a little bit more frustrating. In contrast to other airports, Glasgow is getting worse. It is adopting the money-making opportunities from passengers by finding new ways to divert them past shops and retail outlets and artificially inflating airport dwell time. While this approach works really well for those who are occasional visitors to the airport and want to shop and dwell and eat and languish in the airport environment, a huge number of us passengers just want to get where we are going. This isn't a theme park, where riders are forced to exit via meandering pathways thirough the gift shop. This is an airport. So Glasgow Airport, our long term relationship is coming to an end. I'm a passenger, not a consumer opportunity. I use your airports to travel, not spend. Time for the train I think. No waiting, no security and definitely no exploitation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"good customer service not valued"

(United Kingdom)

Is the concept of good customer service and assistance with a smile not valued at Glasgow Airport? As a regular visitor for the purpose of welcoming or bidding a fond farewell to visitors to our beautiful country, I am ashamed of the treatment they receive. Surely as the first and last public face of Scotland, Glasgow Airport staff should be excellent ambassadors of our country? My apologies to those staff who take pride in their job and value the importance of what their role actually is - to represent our 'friendly city'. Please, someone take responsibility and ensure all staff, no matter what airline they represent at check-in, are aware of the crucial importance of customer service so that visitors experience a positive first and last encounter in our country.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"very pleasant airport"

(United States)

Very pleasant airport, both easy to get into and out of. The airport bus from downtown is frequent and quick. Check in was slow due to Icelandair, but both passport control and security were quick and efficient. This is a great entry point to Scotland.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"baggage collection was reasonable"

(United Kingdom)

Outwards: everything worked fine, including a very quick security check (10.15 Sunday am). Reasonable food provision in the international wing. Inbound: still a fairly slow border check from a nearly full EK flight, as most of these are. Baggage collection was reasonable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"I waited over 20 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

All signs at security say that security have managed to keep queues to under 10 minutes 99.55% of the time. The people queuing on this day must be the unlucky .45% as I waited over 20 minutes with security not even looking at X-ray machine for bags etc. I don't mind the wait I mind the signs and the fact that the survey machine has been removed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"clean and functional"

(Japan)

The main international terminal building is small and compact but clean and functional. Staff were friendly and helpful and the duty free shopping had quite a wide variety of products at reasonable prices. Cleared both immigration and security quite quickly, with no issues and the staff were relaxed but professional even managing a smile as I passed through. The food options were slightly limited which was to be expected at a smaller airport but there was a lot of fast food or take away sandwich type shops and not so many healthier options available. Unfortunately outside of the airport was a little disappointing. No surprises that it would be raining when I arrived, however the walkway to the drop off and pick up points for passengers is only partially roofed so you have no choice but to get wet when walking to meet whoever is collecting you at the airport. Why have the large section between the terminal building and the pick up point unroofed? A good terminal building but a slightly odd arrangement outside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"service booked, was not offered"

(United Kingdom)

My partner who requires wheelchair assistance and other passengers requiring the same were left on the aircraft (after all other passengers had left the aircraft) awaiting special assistance to make their way through the airport to continue their homeward journey. Eventually one person arrived to assist both my partner and another four passengers. This was totally unacceptable, one person should not be expected to assist five wheelchair passengers solely on their own. As it happens, once he managed to wheel the disabled passengers one at a time to the lift, only to find it would not work. He then contacted a security member who arrived only to ask why there was no other staff members to help with assistance. He then escorted us all through but accompanying passengers were left to push their family members to Passport control and out to the Car park area. Again totally unacceptable as the service booked, was not offered. Glasgow is an International airport and as such, should not be treating their disabled passengers as second class citizens but valuable members of society. Other airport services put Glasgow to shame.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"baggage reclaim is a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Glad to see modernisation occurring at the airport - long overdue, however baggage reclaim is still a nightmare. Slow, delays, lack of information, confusion and lack of staff - this is even during the day. I have witnessed this on countless occasions. It's not the fault of the airlines, but more to do with the current contracted baggage handlers. Glasgow Airport, please sort this out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews