Geneva Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 157 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"staff were efficient and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have to admit I was dreading using Geneva airport after reading the reviews. We flew with Easyjet from Manchester and our outward flight was delayed by nearly two hours. Our arrival into Geneva airport was problem free and we were soon out of the airport and on a train bound for Lucerne. Our return flight was at 21.50 so we got to the airport at 18.30 as I had told my husband that we could be queueing for hours. We weren't allowed to drop off the bags until 19.00 but had to wait about 5 minutes in a queue, we had paid for Speedy Boarding but even the normal queue was very small. So far so good! We went through security without having to wait and then found a quiet area near the executive lounges with plenty of seating and free wifi. We then went to our allotted gate, B34, and had a short wait at passport control. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Our flight left a few minutes early, the only problem being the crazy amount of carry-on luggage people had taken which couldn't all be accommodated in the overhead lockers. I can only think that the timing of our flight made all the difference as it turned out to be one of the easiest flight we have taken. There was plenty of available seating at airport, everywhere was very clean and staff were efficient and helpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Very little signposting"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived at Geneva airport and had to wait over an hour to get through immigration. Hired a car from there which to return was incredibly stressful. Very little signposting and surly staff. Going home again took for ever going through security and even by airport standards the cost of food was extortionate. Can't think of one positive thing to say about it. It was such a relief to get back to Heathrow where everything was so much better and modern.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no employees directing traffic"

(United States)

Verified Review | Unbelievably bad. Worst airport I've ever been to. On Sunday July 30 my husband and I arrived two hours early to catch a 12.55 flight to Munich. The departure terminal was absolutely packed with people queuing for flights. The line for Star Alliance flights (including Lufthansa) stretched across the building before feeding into a massive serpentine. There were no employees directing traffic. There was no information. There were just hordes of increasingly stressed people, including many families, all wondering what they would have to do to catch their flights. We stood in the queue for 40 minutes just to reach the beginning of the serpentine, where we realized that there was no prayer of even checking our bags before our flight's departure - to say nothing of security or passport control. So we gave up and walked across the way to the train station, where we spend $423 on train tickets to Salzburg, which we had to reach that night. We'd already used the first half of our Lufthansa tickets getting to Geneva (holiday in the Alps), so it wasn't a total loss, but still, what a stupid waste of time. Apparently the baggage system had broken, hence the disastrous check-in situation. Up toward the front of the queue there were just mounds of suitcases - I gave them terrible odds of reaching their destinations with their passengers. This is the very first time I've been literally unable to use an airline ticket that I'd purchased. Using my Lufthansa ticket would have required several hours standing in line, missing the flight, being rebooked, god only knows. I have never experienced such an awful airport. There was no way to know we were even standing in the correct queue. There were no employees offering assistance or even information. It was just an absolute disaster. To think, before this experience, if I'd had to guess which airport was the world's most efficient, I might well have suggested Geneva. No. Worst ever.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not the best airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Not a great airport experience. If you've hired a car to drive into France from a hire company in the French sector its a bit of a pain. The signposting to the drop off point was quite confusing and we had to relay on the satnav to get us there. Then getting from the French sector through to check-in in the Swiss sector was really annoying. Travelling as a family we had lots of luggage but we couldn't find a way through to the Swiss sector that would allow us to take an airport trolly, so we had to unload everything. Then there was no lift down to the next level so we had to carry everything down in four goes. Reaching check-in required going through baggage reclaim and out into arrivals. To get up to the check-in desks there was a massive queue for one of the very few lifts at the airport. The lift was small so could only fit one person and a trolly in so it took a long time for our turn to come round. After that check-in was actually very swift, especially for my flight with BA. Once through security theres not much going on and the food and drinks on offer were very expensive - but I put that down to Switzerland being pricy and airport mark-ups. Overall, not the best airport experience i've had! I'm sure its a different story if coming in straight from the Swiss sector.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security staff were rude and unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | The worst airport experience I have ever suffered, and that's saying something. We were naïve enough to be travelling Easyjet (last time for that, thanks). Out of 17 baggage check in desks at least 9 were closed. We queued for 2.5 hours, although in nearly every case passengers had to be taken out of the queue to a priority desk because they were too late for their flights. Just when we thought the torture was over (oh did I mention the airport was like a sauna due to inadequate air conditioning?), it was into the security queue, this took half an hour, and the security staff were rude and unhelpful. Surely it can't get worse I hear you ask. Passport control. This wasn't a queue, just a 45 min disorganised funnel of people to go through 2 staff who were checking passports, with no explanation of what the problem was and no reassurance about flights being missed. Our relief at finally getting on the plane was tempered by the puzle of trying to fit on the seat with the hand baggage and wondering how we would ever be able to grab the lifejacket if the plane ditched. Luckily, it didn't this time. Never again to Geneva or Easyjet.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"enormous queue in a sweltering hot cattle pen"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Dreadful. Especially security before departure: enormous queue in a sweltering hot cattle pen, not all scanners open despite the queue, and no fast track for families or those with restricted mobility. A big disappointment as we expected something slick and in line with the Swiss reputation for quality and efficiency. Seems to be run more like a small regional airport, no where near international standards. Also rude staff in security.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Geneva doesn't even try to change"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | As always delays upon arrival. Geneva doesn't even try to change. Arrivals and departures equally as dismal. Long wait to go through passport control. Staff gives no reasons and unfriendly when at desk. We pay airport fees which should ease these problems.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Absolutely awful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolutely awful airport. 30 mins to check in, 25 mins for security. The worst part was 45 minutes for passport control to get out of the country! This meant lots of flights were delayed and people missed their flights. In all my years of travelling by far the worst airport I've ever travelled from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"A complete shambles from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A complete shambles from start to finish. Poorly laid out with bad signage, long queues for security and severe congestion leading to a 2 hour delay for my departing flight. This has happened several times. Geneva airport deserves it's title as the world's worst.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"low budget service"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | I traveled the first time through Geneva airport. As most of the travellers would agree after an exhausting journey from South East Asia the only thing you want is to pass immigration and luggage pick up as fast as possible and head home. The immigration area in Geneva airport was totally crowded. Families with small kids and disabled passengers had to queue as anybody else. No proper ventilation. What a shambles. A young mother with two small and obviously tired kids was asking an airport personnel if she skip the queue and simply earned a blank look and no proper response. Switzerland cannot be proud of such low budget service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no