Top 100 Airlines  

Geneva Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 119 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"incredibly long walk"

(United Kingdom)

We were directed to terminal 2 miles from T1, then an incredibly long security check queue of thirty minutes, a bus journey back to T1. An incredibly long walk up and down several stairs and corridors to get to the departure gate. Now I'm on another bus, I don't know where it's taking me, back to T2 probably. I know it's Easter, but this is my worst experience in an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very long queues"

(United Kingdom)

I arrived at the airport having been stuck in traffic for a while - the Geneva Car Show was on and there were big queues for the car park. Going into the check-in area there were really long queues at all of the desk and it was almost impossible to move through the crowds to the BA check-in desks. I went out of the building and back in via the closest door. The queue was almost out to the door. After a while I got to the BA Club check-in desk but could not check in immediately because the baggage system was down. But after a few minutes bags moved and I could check-in. I then went to the oversize belt to check in my ski bag - there was a long queue there and no checking of the baggage tags. Off to security - more very long queues but as I was in Club I got through the priority after a while. No time for shopping or food or the BA lounge as I was now late for my flight so straight to passport control - the queue there was 40 minutes - totally unacceptable. Looking at the departure board most planes were delayed. My plane was held back because so many people were so late. Some bags arrived shortly before the plane took off so we were further delayed. My ski bag did not make it to the plane and I was told that no bags had gone on the previous plane. It says on their website that Geneva is a top rated airport - they must be joking.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"nothing like clockwork"

(United Kingdom)

As an international diplomatic city focused on luxury and specializing in watchmaking, my experience at Geneva Intl. ran nothing like clockwork. The actual design of the airport was dismal. The pre-security departures section was packed with people all looking for their check-in desks (despite it being 6am in the morning), the white hospital-like walls made for a generic almost depressing atmosphere. Not too much to say about security, once there, despite the bins being too small and having to use 4 just for myself (I wasn't even carrying a laptop), the fast track features were efficient. Where the airport really disappointing, was after security. Low ceilings, narrow and dismal halls, confusing signage made for a genuinely unpleasant experience. Access to the lounges was also complicated and these were all poorly located. Once finally at the gate, agents called on Oneworld Emerald members to board first on their own, before Sapphire members (despite them normally clearly having the same boarding times and privileges). A bad experience right till boarding. Beautiful city, but an airport that far from lives up to the prestige.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not travel through Geneva again"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible queues, luggage belts out of order, fifty minutes to get through passport control. We arrived at 1pm for a 3.50 flight and the plane was delayed by 30 minutes as a result of the slow processes. No information given and no apologies. Will not travel through Geneva again. Shocking for what is supposed to be an affluent and efficient country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"understaffed and poorly maintained"

(United Kingdom)

Awful. Predictably a day of high passenger numbers but understaffed and poorly maintained. Took 2.5 hours of queuing to get through and CHF40 for 2 sandwiches. The Swiss should be embarrased of this painful reminder of how grim air travel used to be before airports realised passengers have a choice. We will use Zurich or Basel in the future. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"horrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

This is without doubt the worst airport I have been to in my 62 years. For departure we queued to check in at the charter terminal, queued to go thru security, queued for a bus that takes us to the main terminal, walk miles to get to the departure gate and queued at the gate. We queued to get on a bus that keeps us waiting for 20 minutes with doors closed and most people standing before going no more than 300 yards to the plane. We waited for ages for the doors to open, queued to get on the plane to be told we are delayed. This is my one and only visit to this horrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"does need a general refurbishment"

(United Kingdom)

Geneva Airport on a Saturday in the ski season can be dodgy, with long waits for baggage and general overcrowding. This time it was fine, with no more than a 30 minute wait for skis. Coming back on a Thursday it was smooth with quick BA check in and 5 minutes through security. However, the whole place does need a general refurbishment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"one of the most expensive airports"

(Poland)

I was flying with Air Canada to Toronto. Geneva is one of the most expensive airports I've ever been to. I paid something like 7chf for croissaint and sprite (at least for Polish conditions it's a lot of money, might not be so much for locals or US travelers). Airport is not so big, but it's very clean. Free wifi doesn't last very long and problems started when gate was announced. After crossing boarder tere wasn't many shops and very little space for passengers of 2 (or maybe 3) transatlantic fligts. When I stood up and left my seat for a while, there was no chance to find another one later. I hand to stand for antoher 30 minutes and it was far from comfortable and acceptable. Not many places to eat are provided, I think there were just two and both were overcrowded. Don't go there unless your ticket price is very attractive. You will survive, but there are better airports for transit in Europe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"infrastructure is old and poor"

(Switzerland)

This airport is nothing to do with the usual Swiss standards, infrastructure is old and poor, and the access to taxis has been under construction for 2 years now. I had to queue more than 20 mins recently with kids and luggage to take an elevator to the parking, plus 30 mins waiting for the pushchair on the carousel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an airport to avoid"

(Switzerland)

Be aware that if you arrive by car it is a complete mess. For long term parking there was a long queue. For fast drops there is something called "kiss and fly". It is a 300/500 m single lane of cars. The first car that stops stops all traffic and propagates an incredible mess. An airport to avoid, once after security it is OK.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no