Vote Now  

Geneva Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 133 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Rude treatment of passengers"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Unbelievably chaotic checkin due to incompetent management. Rude treatment of passengers. Under-dimensioned facilities. Miserable traffic management. One of the most worthless airports in Europe. And obviously extremely overpriced. Avoid this horrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chairs are the rarest substance"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelling via Geneva Airport is like stepping into a distopian future where chairs are the rarest substance on earth and even the most basic of food items can only be afforded by those with 6 figure salaries. Airside, hordes of weary travellers are forced through impossibly narrow corridors that eventually emerge into bleak grey halls bordered with shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"prices absolutely exorbitant"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Everything in Switzerland is expensive. But Geneva airport takes it to a whole new level. They took the water I had from me away at security. With 4 hours before my departure the prices at the restaurant were absolutely exorbitant. CHF 40 for a meat and two veg meal. Water is CHF 5. Nowhere, not even in Heathrow airport are prices that high.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"most disorganised queuing system I've come across"

(United Kingdom)

Most disorganised queuing system I've come across. We arrived 3 hours before the flight and were in a constant queue until a late departure. The charter terminal was a shambles. The security wasn't up to the job either. Our tour operator told me the airport has refused to buy the retractable barriers that may have helped organise the queue. Then they had the cheek to imply we were holding them up. I can't comment about the rest of the airport as I didn't get the chance to see it. If you can avoid Geneva Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I dread each trip to this place"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Geneva is one of the worst airports I've experienced. High inefficiency and always delayed flights. Although it is my home airport, major improvements can be made to the check in experience. Baggage fees must be paid at a different kiosk than the one where you dropped of your bag and staff are generally unfriendly. Despite having been to this airport over 30 times, I dread each trip to this place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"completely understaffed and very inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

The water costs £5 for 500ml. Are they trying to take our human rights away or something. The queues took over 4 hours for baggage drop and security. We got to the airport 6 hours early and only just made it for the flight. The airport is completely understaffed and very inefficient, which doesn't seem right for a country like Switzerland who are meant to be super efficient. I have never had such an awful experience travelling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an obvious lack of customer service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | To check in at Geneva Airport is always an unpleasant experience. There is an obvious lack of customer service: no greetings, no support and a clear unwillingnes to serve the client, the impression to disturb. I fly twice a year for the past 10 years through Geneva and unfortunately I can't remember a pleasant experience at the Swiss check in desk.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there were no staff patrolling the queue "

(United Kingdom)

Horrible experience of Geneva Airport on way home from skiing. Check in at BA was fine, but we were then presented with an enormous security queue that took one hour 40 minutes to clear. There were no staff patrolling the queue which meant that people were trying to cut in - we saw a number of scuffles. That also meant that no one was able to help if your departure was getting close. Luckily our flight was delayed or we would have missed it. On the plane there were 14 rows of business class - we were told that was the only way to avoid the queues through security. What a shocker this airport is! We will avoid at all cost in future. We would have liked to have a drink and something to eat but had no time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"stress, frustration and incapability"

(Sweden)

Geneva is an appalling airport. Unfortunately I've had to arrive / depart here a number of times over the past few years. Just getting to the airport with the present road arrangement is a nightmare. There are always queues off the main roads and when you do finally get to the terminal there is no clear signposting, and people and cars stopping are unloading / loading everywhere. Once you are in the terminal, no matter what the day or departure time, the halls are hugely overcrowded, security is far too small and the overall ambiance is one of stress, arrogance, frustration and incapability. If you try to escape to somewhere to rest, good luck. The prices for food and drink are truly, exorbitant and the options are severely limited. Coming the other way, arrivals takes you into a tunnel to customs where there are just 2 windows to deal with passengers every incoming flight. It's so bad you think you must have gone the wrong way. This can easily add an hour before you leave the airport. The arrivals area where you meet your pick up is then tiny and crowded and all you think about is getting out. Overall, there seems to be no organisation for such a major airport. The last time we travelled through, we got through the awful bag drop and security procedures and were then informed that we needed to be in the F side of the terminal (ie. French, instead of Swiss). We (along with everyone else) had to then effectively leave the building, go through another, terribly inadequate and shoddy security, again, before arriving in a tiny waiting area by the gate with no cafes / shops available at all. Geez we were happy to get home. Needless to say the whole experience of this airport is terrible. This isn't a one-off review. In the past 3 years I've flown over 200 times around Europe, N America and Asia. How absurd that Switzerland is the worst. Do yourself a huge favour and don't start / end your journey like this. To get to the Alps consider Turin, Lyon or Milan. Avoid Geneva airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"departure is a queuing exercise"

(Ireland)

Geneva airport is horrible - the worst customer service. Departure is a queuing exercise and prices for refreshments are totally unacceptable. Arrivals are another queuing experience with no toilets before customs in some instances - this airport is way too small for the number of passenger it has.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no