Airline of the Year  

Geneva Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 147 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"a completely avoidable shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelled from Geneva to Heathrow yesterday. We left the BA lounge at 1425 (when told to to go to the gate) for our 1505 flight and spent 30 minutes in a queue for passport control with people from a number of other flights. This was a completely avoidable shambles as only 4 passport windows were open while another 4 were closed. In the end, we got to the gate at 1500, after a BA staff member came and asked the passport staff to speed things up, while some ladies in front of us in the queue allowed us to move in front of them. I see from other posts here that this seems to be a common problem and the BA staff made similar comments. They seemed quite fatalistic about it, even though other people straggled onto the plane for the next 15 minutes, causing it to leave 20 minutes late. My view of Swiss efficiency has had a radical overhaul!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

"had a wonderful experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had a wonderful experience while going through security. I was impressed by the staff's patient with me, because I forgot to take two gifts out of my carry-on that were suppose to be checked. The two women who assisted me helped me figure out what I needed to do in order to keep these gifts and make my flight. In all my travels, I have never had security be so compassionate or treat me with such respect. I appreciated it more than I can say.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"nearly missed my flight"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | I nearly missed my flight twice in April due to the long queue at the security screening area. Before Easter, the waiting time was around 3 hours which is completely unacceptable given that the airport is aware that there will be more travellers during holidays. The queueing was poorly organised, controlled by the police. There was no airport staff checking on passangers that were about to board and were stuck in queues. Only if you were pushy enough you might have been lucky enough to have been taken in the priority boarding. It was complete chaos and the Airport did not manage to organise it. One of the worst Airport experiences ever.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"queues at security are horrendous"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Geneva Airport passenger volume has grown tremendously during the last 15 years, mainly because of Easyjet. Expansion and building work have been going on without interruption. The problem is that the airport has only one runway (no room for another one), and sits 10 meters from the French border, therefor the space for expansion is extremely limited. What is beyond comprehension, is why the old unused (except for offices) terminal from the 1940's has never been demolished to give space for a second terminal! The queues at security are horrendous, and the problem could easily be solved by closing a few very overpriced duty free boutiques to expend the security screening area (but my guess is that they make too much money with the rent). Talking about duty free, do not bother as prices (especially for chocolate) are way above the city prices. My last gripe is the car rental facility: why is it 500 meters from the main terminal, and you are forced to take a shuttle bus because walking is made almost impossible. As a Swiss citizen, I am very embarrassed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"would have missed the flight"

(Italy)

Verified Review | It was my first time at Geneva and I would have missed my flight due to the extremely long security queue (about 50 mins on Friday at 6pm) + 15 mins walk from there to the westmost satellite building. If it were not for the delayed boarding, which has saved my day, I would have missed the flight and lost my (prepaid) vacation! Also, beware that the food & beverage prices are aligned with downtown prices, so you actually can save money by buying them from the food cart on the plane.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Best avoided"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is truly awful and comfortably the worst I have ever been to. The level of chaos can only be likened to the chimpanzee enclosure of a poorly run zoo. 2 hours stood waiting for bag drop off. 1 hour in the queue for security. Rude staff. Best avoided.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security - total anarchy"

(Norway)

Arrived at Geneva Airport 2 hours before my flight, used 45 minutes through check-in and 2 hours through security. Total anarchy while standing in line waiting, people sneaking past to catch their flights, staff unorganized and seemingly without control. I lost my flight and had to detour through Frankfurt to get home. Worst airport I've been too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No apology or explanation was given"

(United Kingdom)

My wife and I had the misfortune to fly from Geneva to Edinburgh on an easyJet flight scheduled to fly at 1555 on 11th March. We had been warned by text from easyJet that the airport would be very busy due to passenger numbers and a nearby motor show. We arrived 3 hours before our departure time. The queues at easyJet bag drop are always bad and we have come to expect that there will be several hundred people ahead of us. Yesterday was worse than ever. The queue extended well down the terminal. It was unstructured. Numerous people jumped the queue. Others had to be called out of the queue for fear they would miss their flight. We were herded in a most unsavoury manner. This part took over an hour. We then joined a second queue at security. Again people jumped the queue. We witnessed an incident where an entire family, agitated that they would miss their flight, forced their way to the head of the queue in a most chaotic manner. The staff struggled to deal with them and with the sheer volume of people. I cannot imagine that the security process was conducted thoroughly. This part took approximately another 45-60 minutes. At first we were informed that we would not know our departure gate until 16.15. Then suddenly the message changed to "Go to gate". Gate D81. We quickly bought 2 soft drinks and a packet of crisps for 14SF. Overpriced! We then walked for several hundred metres, mostly underground, to the far end of the terminal, I assume, only to be confronted by another enormous queue. There were several easyJet flights all leaving from D gates around the same time and we all had to go through passport control which seemed to be manned by only 2 staff. 2 flight announcements were made which only caused confusion and almost resulted in a dangerous crush as passengers pressed forward. On the whole, passengers were very patient but a few were angry. This could well have caused trouble. The situation was relieved when we were allowed through passport control without the usual scrutiny of individual passports. We the joined a further queue, staff checked passports and boarding cards and we boarded a bus which took us to our plane. We took off 30-40 minutes late. I have visited Switzerland many times. I know Geneva airport will be busy that day, but this was so bad that I feel the need to complain. At no stage were we given any helpful information. Most passengers were afraid they would miss their flight. No apology or explanation was given. The easyJet pilot, to his credit, apologised to passengers when we got on board. Finally, and in summary, passengers were very badly treated, passenger safety was put at risk and security measures jeopardised.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"far too many cars, people and their luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Departed from here today. Car hire drop off a free for all, far too many cars, people and their luggage in a small space make it dangerous. We get to the terminal building 3 hrs before our flight and just make it thanks to it being delayed. What on earth is going on there? Who manages it? Brewery and party come to mind. Will not be rushing back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"What happened to you Geneva?"

(United Kingdom)

Abandon hope all ye who enter here. I'm pretty sure this airport used to at least be functional, but it seems to have been gradually redesigned to become more maddening over the years than any other airport. Prices are ridiculous - 5CHF for water - and after security your choices are wander aimlessly past overpriced and lacklustre shops, or sit on the cold floor (against a pillar if you're lucky) because there sure ain't no seats. Oh, unless you want to sit in the surprisingly lavish looking smoking lounge. What happened to you Geneva?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no