Top 100 Airlines  

Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 462 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"rather embarrassed what Frankfurt has to offer"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I had the chance to experience Frankfurt Airport with my family to depart for Bangkok from Terminal 1. We had to drop our hire car off at T2 first which isn't convenient but quite common at airports and the drop off itself was fine in an underground carpark. However what followed then was just poor all the way through to departure. First you get charged 1€ for a bag trolley, which you do not get back by the way. Considering airport fees and taxes being high anyway and built into ticket prices I consider it basic to provide foc trolleys amd therefore non refundable fees a rip off. We had to get to Level 4 to catch the skytrain connecting the terminals and one would expect that this is an easy task, well its not in Frannkfurt let me tell you. We had to change elevators twice to get there as we couldn't use the escalators having 5 suitcases with family and kids. Some elevators would connect only two levels with each other? But this wasn't the only problem the lift entrance was so small you could only drive into them with a trolley if your luggage was lenghtwise on it which wasn't possible, to make matters worse we had to unload and upload everything several times just to get into the lift and because they were so small we needed several rides to get the family up to the next level. Finally arriving at the skytrain guess what? You were not allowed to take a trolley onto it. So off we go again unloading bags and family into the train and obviously vice versa on the other end including the lift scenario so it took us a good 30 mins with lots of stress and anger just to get between the 2 terminals. Having travelled through lots of international and domestic terminals before I have to say this is by far the worst I have seen. Next thing you notice is that someone very clever had the idea to name check in halls and gates the same way, with letters A B C but the signage inside the terminal does not refer to hall or gate just to A B C. Result is that people circum navigating the whole terminal until the finally get to the right spot, not many staff on the floor to ask nor on the info desks or floorside. Finally we got through security and passport control to have a bite to eat just to be welcomed by a smell of urine across the restaurant floor. So did we like Frankfurt? I guess not and being German myself rather embarrassed what Frankfurt has to offer/or not.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience ever"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Worst experience ever. Gate far to far out, security check queue just in front of the gate, no shops around gate (Terminal 2 D 52). No smoking area (even though there was a sign). Bad organisation, have been to airports all over the world, wouldn't have expected that in Germany. Even Frankfurt Hahn or the smaller airports in Asia were better than this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff are very helpful"

(Canada)

Love Frankfurt airport. I travel 3-6 times a year and I always try to make my transits through here. The staff are very helpful, the airport has maps and signs for everything. Their shower rooms are greatly priced and can make your long trips very enjoyable. The shopping is unbelievably vast. Food courts are grand and you can find everything. Overall, the best experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"lots of information available"

(Portugal)

Airport was clean and with lots of information available. It is always a bit busy but that is expected and there are lots of shops and food stands to satisfy your needs. Restrooms are very clean. I find it a nice touch all the candy they have laying around for people to pick freely, it is a nice gesture and haven't seen it anywhere else. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of seats to wait for your flight and free wifi to get you connected.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"chaos with passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Frankfurt is positively the worst airport I have to use for my travels. Arrived in terminal A and had to walk miles to reach the B gates. Chaos with passport control after all that. Nothing efficient about it whatsoever not the attitude of the people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very mismanaged airport"

(Canada)

Verified Review | A very mismanaged airport (Terminal 1), air-conditioning is not cooling enough in the summer, big passenger jam at various areas of airport where people need to pass through. Toilets not working in places, not enough seating arrangements near departure gates. Never go there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"it is easy to understand"

(Germany)

Verified Review | On a trip to NYC we chose Frankfurt Airport as the starting point, but we flew via DUS. I was expecting the parents, families of 5 students between the age of 15-18 who needed somewhere to say their goodbyes. I need a wheelchair because I can not walk those distances. They have in Terminal a check in area, for people in need of assistance. There is huge waiting room with complimentary coffee and beverages, and all the newspapers you can read. They sat us on one of those golfcarts and off we went. It took us 20 minutes to get 6 people through seccurity, how is that for speed. Coming back from JFK we landed, it took us maybe 35 minutes from the arrival gate B48, through immigration, luggage claim and customs. Some of the parents weren't even there yet. I dont know why everybody is complaining about Frankfurt airport. Once you understand the concept of signage it is easy to understand.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"getting more and more frustrated"

(Germany)

Travelling through Frankfurt almost every week to and from Milan, I am getting more and more frustrated with the airport experience. Flights to Milan are almost always tarmac positions, whether departing or arriving. In Frankfurt, this means that time between landing and going through security can be easily 40 mins. The airport is not adding to a better experience. The buses used are often not special airport buses but second-hand regional public transport buses with more seats than standing positions, thus cramped and uncomfortable. The arrival experience at the terminal feels a bit like a "third wold" experience. No monitors to inform of ongoing connections but two swamped employees with a notepad. Leaving from Frankfurt is equally frustrating. The new Lufthansa lounges are always cramped with a disappointing offer of food (compared, for instance to the Senator Lounge at Heathrow's T2). Sometimes, the airport allocates bus gates in the furthest corners of the airport, rather from a central place. The worst are the bus gates from the Schengen B-Gates. No lounge, overcrowded, chaotic and again a far walk from check-in. How Frankfurt airport thinks it could get a 5-star rating, is beyond me. Just hoping for Lufthansa to offer more flights via Munich.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"extremely well organized"

(Poland)

The airport is enormous, but extremely well organized. Taxi time, despite the size, was only 5 min. The facilities are welcoming. It is clean, modern and well signposted everywhere. Waiting for luggage takes about 10 minutes, and entrance to the town is easy. The entrance hall is large, and I never had problems to find my meet and greet. The terminal has many restaurants and coffee shops. Departure was easy and from entrance to gate took only 5 minutes. The departure area and security areas have been modernized and look very good. Security check was without problems and sitting in the waiting areas with the new chairs (you can lie on) is comfy. Overall a very positive experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there isn't a seamless connection"

(Germany)

Most functions in the airport were pretty smooth. Decent variety of different types of food (including vegetarian or vegan options). The funniest thing about Frankfurt airport is the fact that you don't really have the facility to use a trolley all the way from the railway station to the flight terminal, and the with a heavy bag all the way there isn't the most pleasant experience. On the way back, I did manage to get a trolley (at a non-refundable cost of 1 EUR, which you may not be carrying if you're entering Europe for the first time) but again there isn't a seamless connection between the airport terminal and DB bahn station and so you have to end up carrying your luggage for certain legs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes