Vote Now  

Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 484 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"rude, unhelpful employees"

(United States)

Verified Review | Rude, unhelpful employees, long lines and slow, inconsistent security make it difficult to even make it to your plane on time. Every encounter I had with an employee here can be summed up as brusque, demeaning, and downright arrogant. They clearly do not consider flyers as "customers," rather they act as though you are a supreme nuisance to their day. In addition, when my husband went to the desk to see whether he had to check a bag after they announced a weight limit for carry-ons, he could not understand her. She became quickly agitated and wouldn't even tell him where to pick up the bag after the flight: she waved her arms in the air and said "I don't know." I walked over and tried to understand, saying: "Can you try to tell me?" She said, in the rudest voice: "No. I already tried to explain it to him!" She walked away and proceeded to ignore us, without checking the bag or answering the question! I was stunned. I have not seen this kind of behavior in a US airport, ever. We finally got another employee, and it turned out we didn't even need to check the bag, because it was under the weight limit, which she didn't even check. The security was also rude, barking orders at people, with no respect or manners. The employee in the duty free shop was rude as well, and would not give us a bag after we purchased something, unless we paid for it. Thumbs down. Not coming through here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"downside of Frankfurt is its size"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | The airport is huge and modern. The toilets are way too small for the amount of passengers. The real downside of Frankfurt is its size: it took me exactly one hour from leaving the incoming aircraft to the departure gate! Lufthansa sold me a ticket with a transit time of one hour and ten minutes. If I did not run the whole way, I would have missed my connecting flight (keep in mind that you have to go though passport control and a very picky German security). Give yourself at least 2 hours between flights or travel through a different airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"officers were courteous"

(United States)

Verified Review | Transited FRA on Lufthansa en route from LAX to DEL. The security lines were very short, the officers were courteous, and I was at my boarding gate in no time! There was ample space to sit down, relax, and enjoy view of aircraft outside. There was a coffee shop in the boarding area as well. Based on where my boarding gate was, I didn't get a chance to do shopping or explore other dining options. Thanks to the efficiency of transfer process at Frankfurt, I would certainly consider flying through this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"challenging to catch connecting flights"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Business travellers should avoid Frankfurt airport. I have been flying through it for years and it is becoming increasingly challenging to catch connecting flights. Understaffed immigration booths, unhelpful staff and long security lines are the norm, even on a business class ticket.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unhelpful staff"

(Switzerland)

Worst airport in terms of transfer time, security / staff helpfulness. Going through it twice per month on average. Always parking far away with buses, wasting 20 minutes at least every single time. Then rushing through security with unhelpful staff (even when traveling with a broken arm).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"finding a toilet proved to be a challenge"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The airport itself is rather old, feels cramped in some parts. During my arrival it was hard to find arrivals, and finding a toilet proved to be a challenge. Security is pretty tight right now, so expect a lot of checks. After snaking my way around the airport arriving off a Qatar Airways flight with very pleasant crew, I met another pleasant staff member at immigration. There is no free wifi at the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"everything there was easy and went very quick"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Knowing that it is a big airport, I had tried to be there in time. But then everything there was easy and went very quickly. The airport is well connected to the city and to all of Germany as the trains stop directly at the airport. The way to the check in was easy to find and after few minutes I had checked in. Finding the way to the gate was very easy, too. Just follow the signs to the Terminal 1-A,B,C,Z or 2-D,E and then to the number of your gate. I don't know, how someone can have problems with that. I had so much time left that I decided to explore the airport a bit more and I went to visit other terminals even from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 and back, never had problems finding the way. I'm looking forward to fly via FRA again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"good luck finding a bathroom here"

(United States)

Verified Review | Good luck finding a bathroom here and even better luck finding one you don't have to wait in line for. There are about 3 (2 person) restrooms for 20 gates - what a joke. The smoking lounge however is bigger than all of the bathrooms combined! Way to go Germany!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"decided to avoid Frankfurt"

(India)

At gate C14-C16 Frankfurt airport there was no water on tap. Security wants you to dump the bottle which you are carrying. In such cases, airport should provide water on tap. I had to purchase a half litre bottle, for $5 USD, which translates to INR 700 for one litre of water. The shops was happily collecting $5 USD against an item of Euro 3.67. - There was no other option except this single café/bar. We also found that temperature was low in the waiting halls outside the gates. Some more heating (for sub-zero temperature outside), would have helped. We have decided to avoid Frankfurt Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"I really like it"

(Italy)

Verified Review | I often transit through Frankfurt Main airport and I really like it. Even though it is very big, terminal signs and directions are extremely clear and the terminals are really clean. Moreover, there are many nice shops and restaurants where passengers can easily spend their layover.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes