Top 100 Airlines  

Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 447 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"staff were very friendly and efficient"

(Portugal)

Airport was very clean and it was very easy to move around from one gate to another. There was enough shopping areas to keep you entertained and enough restaurants to satisfy your needs. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. There was enough room to get a seat and wait for the plane. Information at the aiport was very good, staff were waiting for us at the airplane to inform all passengers of gate changes and to make sure everybody was informed. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Boarding was simple and fast. The airport is big, that is no news to anyone and you do need to walk quite a bit from gate to gate, also there are a lot of passengers and people moving from place to place, so it is not the quietest of aiports but it is very good.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"disgusting state of the toilets"

(Canada)

Calgary to Lisbon transit between Air Canada and Lufthansa, outbound and inbound was a bit harrowing because of the size of Frankfurt airport and its various security protocols, but there are plenty of airport staff to assist with directions so that things went smoothly and well within the two hours I had available for both transits. However, the reason I am writing this review is to complain about the disgusting state of the toilets at the airport. The toilets at the gate to Lisbon were blocked and overflowing and the urinals smelt. The toilets at the gate on the return to Calgary were filthy. For an international airport of its stature these conditions are deplorable.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this mess"

(Germany)

Changing planes at Frankfurt Airport is a terrible experience. Arriving from Terminal 1B Non-Schengen in transit to 1B Schengen, same terminal, requires going through security with long waiting lines. In the Schengen area of Terminal 1B there is no lounge. The nearest lounge is in 1A. To get there, you have to stand in lines to take an elevator to the basement then walk 1km past the dreaded tunnel, then stand in lines to take the elevator up again. In 1B, there was only one restroom for 10 adjacent gates. People standing in lines waiting for the restroom. In area 1A, more restrooms are available but all filthy with puddles on the floor. Even in the Lufthansa lounge people stand in front of the restroom, waiting in lines. Boarding is often via bus, so priority boarding gives you the privilege of spending more time on the bus waiting for departure. If at all possible, go via Munich or Dusseldorf and avoid this mess.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"easy and efficient transfer"

(United Kingdom)

Transferring on a flight between UK and Switzerland between Terminal A and Terminal B. Easy and efficient transfer through a busy airport. Signage can be a little confusing and walking distances can be quite long so do need a reasonable transfer time between flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"service should be the same"

(United Kingdom)

Well, a mixed review. Arrival and onward flight with Lufthansa was great, until I got to the departure gate and was greeted with staff who did not care about the passengers, but seemed more interested in talking to each other and discussing what they done at the weekend. The flight was delayed but the staff could not be bothered to make any tannoys or announcements. The delay was about 30 minutes but talking to other passengers the flight to Berlin has a habit of been delayed or cancelled, however, gate staff gave the impression of been there to chat amongst themselves. The return flight however was completely different, the gate staff were friendly and happy to help. Ok I did travel from Terminal B but the standard of service should be the same.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"long and tricky transit"

(Italy)

Long and tricky transit from Lufthansa to Lufthansa. Following the sign to my departure gate I was directed to an internal train over the roof. This took 5 min to reach the platform and 5 minutes after leaving the train to get down, only 2 minutes later. For this reason very few passenger were following this route and preferred to walk. When leaving the train after maybe 400 meters, I had to walk 1 Km to reach my gate. I thought that connecting with the same airlines would have been quicker and easier.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"security control fast"

(Germany)

Arrived from the city to Terminal 1C, where our check in was. Check in was ok (quite efficient) and the staff were friendly. Our departure gate was on 1B, so we had to walk for quite a long time. The security control was fast and used bodyscanners, which was new at this time. The duty free was big and the prices are ok. The gate (B60) was on ground level so we had to drive by bus to the aircraft. The gate was a bit crowded but I have experiened worse - the gate and the bus were both clean but the gate area was quite dark as there were no proper windows.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"reasonably well signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Allow at least 2 hours connection time if you have to use this airport. High chance of remote stand and then bus to terminal, plus security screening again despite coming from a connecting flight. On the plus side, it is reasonably well signposted, it is spotlessly clean and there is plenty of seating with power points. Wifi pretty good as well.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no gate number information"

(United States)

Frankfurt airport is the worst airport I had to travel through. From airplane to arrival gate took 10 mins by bus, then long long walk to find the flight information. But this flight information does not show exact gate number. They only shows which terminal and gate A~Z. I was supposed to go to gate B but there are no gate numbers information anywhere! My ticket also did not show which gate neither. So I asked airport employee and she said my gate is B, but B gate has 1~60!! So you have to ask someone again otherwise you will miss the flight like I did. Then you have to go to security check and immigration.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"bizarre security requirement"

(Ireland)

Bizarre requirement by the airport for passengers connecting from Ireland to Hungary to go through baggage security, when transiting between terminals B and A. There was no such requirement travelling from Hungary to Ireland, transiting from terminals A to B. On this occasion, the security lines were empty, so it only added 15 minutes to the transit time. However if the lines had been longer, then I could have missed my flight. On a previous occasion the security staff refused to open any security lines except for fast track (first and business class), which caused a near riot with armed airport police arriving. Difficult to understand the requirement to go through an additional baggage check when transit passengers never leave airside.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no