Top 100 Airports  

Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 460 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff are very helpful"

(Canada)

Love Frankfurt airport. I travel 3-6 times a year and I always try to make my transits through here. The staff are very helpful, the airport has maps and signs for everything. Their shower rooms are greatly priced and can make your long trips very enjoyable. The shopping is unbelievably vast. Food courts are grand and you can find everything. Overall, the best experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"lots of information available"

(Portugal)

Airport was clean and with lots of information available. It is always a bit busy but that is expected and there are lots of shops and food stands to satisfy your needs. Restrooms are very clean. I find it a nice touch all the candy they have laying around for people to pick freely, it is a nice gesture and haven't seen it anywhere else. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of seats to wait for your flight and free wifi to get you connected.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"chaos with passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Frankfurt is positively the worst airport I have to use for my travels. Arrived in terminal A and had to walk miles to reach the B gates. Chaos with passport control after all that. Nothing efficient about it whatsoever not the attitude of the people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very mismanaged airport"

(Canada)

Verified Review | A very mismanaged airport (Terminal 1), air-conditioning is not cooling enough in the summer, big passenger jam at various areas of airport where people need to pass through. Toilets not working in places, not enough seating arrangements near departure gates. Never go there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"it is easy to understand"

(Germany)

Verified Review | On a trip to NYC we chose Frankfurt Airport as the starting point, but we flew via DUS. I was expecting the parents, families of 5 students between the age of 15-18 who needed somewhere to say their goodbyes. I need a wheelchair because I can not walk those distances. They have in Terminal a check in area, for people in need of assistance. There is huge waiting room with complimentary coffee and beverages, and all the newspapers you can read. They sat us on one of those golfcarts and off we went. It took us 20 minutes to get 6 people through seccurity, how is that for speed. Coming back from JFK we landed, it took us maybe 35 minutes from the arrival gate B48, through immigration, luggage claim and customs. Some of the parents weren't even there yet. I dont know why everybody is complaining about Frankfurt airport. Once you understand the concept of signage it is easy to understand.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"getting more and more frustrated"

(Germany)

Travelling through Frankfurt almost every week to and from Milan, I am getting more and more frustrated with the airport experience. Flights to Milan are almost always tarmac positions, whether departing or arriving. In Frankfurt, this means that time between landing and going through security can be easily 40 mins. The airport is not adding to a better experience. The buses used are often not special airport buses but second-hand regional public transport buses with more seats than standing positions, thus cramped and uncomfortable. The arrival experience at the terminal feels a bit like a "third wold" experience. No monitors to inform of ongoing connections but two swamped employees with a notepad. Leaving from Frankfurt is equally frustrating. The new Lufthansa lounges are always cramped with a disappointing offer of food (compared, for instance to the Senator Lounge at Heathrow's T2). Sometimes, the airport allocates bus gates in the furthest corners of the airport, rather from a central place. The worst are the bus gates from the Schengen B-Gates. No lounge, overcrowded, chaotic and again a far walk from check-in. How Frankfurt airport thinks it could get a 5-star rating, is beyond me. Just hoping for Lufthansa to offer more flights via Munich.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"extremely well organized"

(Poland)

The airport is enormous, but extremely well organized. Taxi time, despite the size, was only 5 min. The facilities are welcoming. It is clean, modern and well signposted everywhere. Waiting for luggage takes about 10 minutes, and entrance to the town is easy. The entrance hall is large, and I never had problems to find my meet and greet. The terminal has many restaurants and coffee shops. Departure was easy and from entrance to gate took only 5 minutes. The departure area and security areas have been modernized and look very good. Security check was without problems and sitting in the waiting areas with the new chairs (you can lie on) is comfy. Overall a very positive experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"there isn't a seamless connection"

(Germany)

Most functions in the airport were pretty smooth. Decent variety of different types of food (including vegetarian or vegan options). The funniest thing about Frankfurt airport is the fact that you don't really have the facility to use a trolley all the way from the railway station to the flight terminal, and the with a heavy bag all the way there isn't the most pleasant experience. On the way back, I did manage to get a trolley (at a non-refundable cost of 1 EUR, which you may not be carrying if you're entering Europe for the first time) but again there isn't a seamless connection between the airport terminal and DB bahn station and so you have to end up carrying your luggage for certain legs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

"terminals are vast, spacious and well maintained"

(India)

Good but not amazing. The terminals are quite vast, spacious and well maintained and clean. But it fails to be a amazing airport on various terms. After our arrival I had to take a staircase in a narrow corridor - being a young guy I had no issues but did not seem good for senior citizens and families with young children. There was only one lift and it was quite small. It took me quite sometime to reach the shuttle train to terminal B after a long walk following all signs and directions. The view from the train was amazing though. Prior to security check there were many good shops on the way but past security check I could not find good restaurants and forget about shopping.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"trying to buy a train ticket took over 60 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Poor signage and directions at Frankfurt airport. After a route march I found passport control after being in the terminal for 15 minutes. Passport control and baggage reclaim was fairly simple and quick. Trying to buy a train ticket took over 60 minutes to complete. This was due to the lack of serviceable ticket machines in the concourse - of the 6 I tried, none were working. I then joined the queue which snaked around the concourse only to find out of the 6 sales points 3 were open. There were no signs anywhere to tell you that on the upper level there were another 3 sets of tickets offices all of which had to be passed to get to the trains. For departure the signage seems to be a problem which caused queues at passport control has there was only one sign for three sets of passport controls which all were open and manned fully. A good mix of shops and places to eat, however the tables did need to be cleared in McDonalds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes