Airline of the Year  

Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 67 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this is a complete building site"

(United Kingdom)

This is a complete building site. We travelled with Jet2, which are usually so organised. This time it was completely chaotic trying to find your transfers. Also, with Jet2 you need your hiking shoes to get to the check-in desks. They have put them as far away from the entrance as possible, really difficult for people with mobility (don't think this is Jet2's fault, down to the airport - brexit maybe). The toilet facilities cannot cope with the number of passengers, and I dread to think what it will be like in the height of summer. It took us 1 hour to get through passport control on arrival, and there were other flights queuing after us, all the way back up the stairs. Felt really sorry for people with children. We would not go to the Algarve again until they complete all the building work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | No air conditioning at Faro Airport - 1 hour long queues to pass through security - 30 minutes to be served at Burger King (which wasn't even busy). Easily the worst airport experience I've ever had. It's bad enough to make you choose an alternative travel destination in order to avoid the airport's poor service, sweltering heat and excessive queues.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has put me off visiting again"

(United Kingdom)

Traveled as a group and 3 of us needed assistance. It was awful. On arrival we were taken from the aircraft and literally left at an entrance where a few wheelchairs were sitting, who was going to push us? We had to get other passengers to do this, no one there to tell us were to go or help us in anyway, a total disgrace. On departure we were left sitting for 20 minutes waiting on assistance only to be taken 1 at a time, the others had to sit until he got us through security and go back for another person resulting in us not getting any duty free. This guy was lovely and friendly though were told they were extremley busy. The flight had been booked for 6 months so it should be well covered. More staff needed, has put me off visiting again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they needed more staff"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | On arrivals it took about an hour to get through passport control, understandable with what's been happening in Europe recently but they needed more staff. People were backed all the way up the stairs. On departure there was no room to sit down and have a quick bite to eat, people had to sit on the floor. Also on departure there was no easy access to women's hygiene products in the toilet or in the shop! This airport does nothing but stress you out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we had 3 different gate changes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I appreciate the airport is having major improvements and this will cause disruption. But today I had a flight back to Prestwick airport and we had 3 different gate changes whilst at airport, 3 times had to produce passports and staff at airport where also under pressure and very poor and not helpful at all. The flight was also delayed due to one of the buses from gate to plane being held up for some reason, flight FR652 cabin crew did a fantastic job in dealing with delay and some pain in the backside passengers tho so well done to them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dreadful airport to depart from"

(United Kingdom)

Faro is a dreadful airport to depart from. The whole place is a building site and the facilities are disgraceful. The toilets have sanitary bins that are overflowing, baby change has no bin at all, the toilets themselves don't flush and despite them being new they are falling to pieces. Someone was 'cleaning' the toilets while we were there but it's not clear what she was being paid for. No running water from the taps either. There's very little seating and the 'restaurants' are far too small for the amount of people in the airport. I'm not sure how the airport staff can walk around with their heads up. I've travelled from airports in much less developed countries with much more pride in their facilities. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"so many people waiting"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We had to queue for over 2 hours as there was only two passport Control staff on duty and the electronic passport machines were all out of action. There were so many people waiting in the arrival hallway they spread outside so our bus circled again and dropped us off. Now we were queuing on the stairs trying to get into the arrivals hall. It was chaos, why were there no staff. So much work going on to improve the facilities but no staff - ridiculous
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"very limited seats and restaurants"

(Germany)

Verified Review | On my recent trip I visited Faro using both arrivals and departures). In this moment, the whole airport is under construction and the experience isn't good. Arriving is almost ok, but departing is very bad. You have to check-in in a very windy hall. Staff not very friendly and after check in there was a very big queue for security control. The departing hall has very, very limited seats and restaurants.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"currently a building site and there are no short cuts"

(Portugal)

Faro airport is currently a building site and there are no short cuts, the queue to security is the worse. NB fast track security makes no difference (that only works after your boarding pass has been scanned) this is the queue to the scan point. Allow at least an hour longer for this for morning flights, it took me 90 minutes on Thursday, I suspect the couple who I let in the queue with two small children may have missed their plane. They had been at the airport over two hours queuing for Check in then queueing again for security. I use fast track security about 50% of the time (depends on who I'm flying with and the deal) it's saving at best 15-20 mins. So not worth it if you pay the €9 to the airport. At the moment (until at least Easter) avoid checked baggage as the desks aren't open early enough to get you through security without significant stress. Just fly from a Faro walk on walk off. It's only current redeeming feature - it's in the Algarve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"on our last visit things were improving"

(Portugal)

Faro is going through a huge development so there are problems with routes through the airport changing week by week but I must report that on our last visit things were improving - helped obviously by being less busy - and one can see the light at the end of the tunnel. People complain about unfriendly staff but the Portuguese are basically very friendly and respond well to "Bom Dia" or "Obrigado" rather than a surly "Can't you hurry up". They have a job to do and at peak times it can be pretty manic! I now require special assistance and cannot praise too highly the friendly and efficient way the staff help from the initial request to actually boarding the aircraft. One point of criticism is the high prices for refreshments and in 'duty free' - drinks and perfumes are cheaper in the local shopping centres.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 67 Reviews