Top 100 Airports  

Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"lack of facilities"

(Ireland)

Came through Faro airport in July. Terrible - no air conditioning in some places, lack of facilities, long queues for toilets. Loads of construction work going on, expensive food, not enough seating - makes for very tense conditions before flying.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"simply isn't enough space"

(United Kingdom)

In the middle of a major re-development, but they could and need to do better. As long standing annual visitors to the Algarve through Faro we know what to expect in terms of facilities, layout etc. Arrival was fine and despite arriving with several other flights in a short time frame we got through Passport control in no time and with a smile and "enjoy your holiday" from the official. Baggage reclaim was very busy but we only waited 5-10 minutes. Through customs into the bomb site that is currently the transfer zone to our hire car. The return trip was much worse. Hire car dropped off, the first sign of trouble was the underpass out of use, so began a trek across the car park and through some temporary buildings/tunnels up to departures. Once there we were into the terminal building aka the sweatbox. With the big divider between arrivals/departures and only a few sets of doors, there is absolutely no air circulating and what air con there might be is massively insufficient. The queues for check in and security were by no means the worst I have ever experienced but beyond that it was a nightmare that ended only once we were on board the place home. There simply isn't enough space, seating or basic necessities like toilets (hence the redevelopment one presumes) airside and what there is wasted with duplicate retail experiences and catering outlets that are staffed by people who make it impossible to provide good customer service. Our flight was then originally called for board at a B gate on the upper level, and then changed to a D gate on the ground floor. Even then, boarding took far longer than it needed to as the transfer bus stood full for a good 15-20 mins before it was allowed to move and let us board. Don't open the gate if you aren't ready to board passengers. Having worked recently myself in a building that is undergoing major reconstruction, I can have some sympathy with the staff who have come in for criticism in other reviews. But with the resources and experience Vinci have from their various enterprises, they could if they wanted, make such a better job of continuing to look after their customers and staff during these difficult times, ensuring that those passengers do not abandon them in the future and use alternative airports in Spain. Given the extended (compared to a UK scheme) period in which the car park/access roads/hire car points were in hiatus, one would hope that lessons have been learnt and the redevelopment will be completed in the shortest possible time frame, with the least disruption to passengers possible. Sadly I am not holding my breath.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Faro Airport customer review

(Switzerland)

Avoid Faro airport, it's the complete chaos ruling there. The whole Algarve feeling was destroyed by inhospitable staff and ridiculous insufficient infrastructure e.g. seating, toilets - duty free shop seems to be the most important part of the airport. Astonishing, that FAO is allowed to operate by offering such a poor service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"we had no problems whatsoever"

(United Kingdom)

Having read other reviews regarding this airport I wasn't really looking forward to passing through it. However we had no problems whatsoever either on arrival or departure. The airport was very busy and there is a lot of building work going on so some signage is a little confusing. The only critism I have is that the toilets weren't terribly clean. Other than that I really could find anything to fault it. Our departure was delayed but this was purely down to the air traffic control strike in France, nothing to do with the airport or the airline. I would have no hesitation in using the airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"complete chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Horrendous airport. Complete chaos from start to finish. Not enough seating, upstairs cafe closed. No organised security queue system which ends up with people jumping the queue and tempers rising. Just an awful experience. Last year was bad, this year 100 times worth. With this on top of the horrendous car hire experience we won't be returning anytime soon that's for sure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"in its present state is best avoided"

(Ireland)

Faro Airport is currently a building site with totally inadequate signage for travellers arriving. Is never the most friendly but in its present state is best avoided. Staff there seem be be recruited for their rudeness and lack of courtesy they seem to forget that it is travellers who pay their their wages.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"like a football crowd"

(United Kingdom)

I have flown into this airport dozens of times but I have never experienced problems before. On arriving at passport control my fellow passengers and I were faced with a completely full hall. It was like a football crowd. We even had to queue to join the queue. It was dangerous and frightening and I dread to think what would have happened had there been an emergency. At one point people were chanting help, help. A wait of over 90 minutes is just not acceptable after a flight. Appalling.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"inhospitable staff"

(United Kingdom)

The worst experience at Faro airport and the list of problems is endless, from poor cleanliness to inhospitable staff attitudes which doesn't reflect The Algarve at all. Having had a wonderful week with genuinely lovely Portuguese people it was completely spoiled by airport staff. Not a smile or a hint of help obvious, by a country that loves to invite you in and then sends you off with a terrible reception. 20 minutes to check bags in, followed by 1.5 hours security queue. Another 1.5 hours endured in another queue for immigration. All very necessary I'm sure but surely pick up the professionalism and get some staff in to prevent this ridiculous situation. Charm school wouldn't hurt either. It's not as if the airport isn't geared up for it every weekend, they know the increased schedule. Will drive from Spain in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"woefully inadequate"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival was decent, fairly quick through passport control and speedy bag pick up. Transfer area a bit of a pain but not too bad. Departure was a different story. Check in and security had lengthy queues but moved fairly rapidly with polite staff. Retail areas decentish. Passport control diabolical. Seperate queues for electronic self service and manual checking. Went through electronic scanners - was only letting about 1:50 passengers through. No staff to assist. Last calls announced for flights and one exceptionally ignorant customs officer who eventually found her way through the 600+ passengers to try and sort out the mess. Woefully inadequate for a holiday airport, a real blight on a beautiful country with some of the most hospitable and welcoming people I've had the pleasure to meet! Next time will rent a car and self drive from Lisbon if that's any better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff friendly and helpful"

(Portugal)

This is our home airport and we find the staff friendly and helpful. Even at peak times we get through security in 10 minutes. On our last visit we got past emigration to find the coffee machine in the departure area café was broken, so apparently against regulations and after a chat with the senior officer, we were allowed to return to the main lounge for our pre-flight coffees. I cannot see that happening at many other airports. There is ample seating but the eating places are a bit limited and expensive and our only real gripe is that the prices in the 'Duty Free' shop are 15-30% more than in the local shops! The lounge is not worth bothering with - no views, poor selection of food and generally pretty dull. The arrival/departure drop-off has been under construction for years but is now coming to completion and is efficient and 10 minutes no charge - unlike the UK airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews