Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 109 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disgusting airport"

(Ireland)

Unverified | I only wish there was an alternative airport to use when visiting the Algarve. I'm a 33yr old mother I and was called a 'naughty girl' by a condescending security guard who was very obviously on a power trip. I had my 11mth old son with me and had to swap aisles going through security as I had baby formula with me that needed to be checked and this gave said security guard reason enough to go off on one? Also several flights of stairs to our departure gate 54. Lift wasn't working, escalator wasn't working so my son, his buggy, his change bag, my hand luggage and hand bag had to be carried up and down 4 flights of stairs. No staff would help as they were on a 'go slow' within an industrial dispute. No seats to sit at when I finally made the gate. It was horrendous. I've back problems from a RTA when I was pregnant and sailed through the whole holiday without any discomfort until this. Regardless of whatever industrial action is taking place a woman with a small baby who needs help should never be neglected. Absolutely disgusting airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not so organised"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Overall I found Faro Airport not so organised. They send you around the snake type lanes even though not so many people. This morning around 8.45 the security person directing passengers was extremely rude. I even saw her shout after some passengers and was very abrupt with them. Maybe she doesn't realise that without passengers she might not have a job. Shame as at the security belts the staff were very nice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"it's a bit of a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival. Ryanair flight. Passport control took best part of 45 minutes. Electronic system not operational and only two desks open. Down escalator not working, so a struggle to get downstairs with carry-on luggage, even worse for people with mobility difficulty. Departure. Ryanair flight. The airport undergoing extensive alterations. Directional signage very poor and ill thought out. Almost got lost, as did many other passengers. Only one of the many escalators were working. The route to our gate involved going up and down various stairways, following temporary signs. Good thing that we arrived early. Late arrivals unfamiliar with the current temporary layout are in danger of missing their flights. In summary, the airport looks impressive from the outside, but once through the check-in area, it's a bit of a shambles. Very few staff around and no apparent urgency to fix stationary escalators or lifts. A bit of a stressful end to our last day in Portugal. I dread using Faro airport again until all the work has been completed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"got through with minimum of fuss"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrival was fine, no issues at all. Yes passport control was busy but we got through with minimum of fuss, didn't wait long for luggage. On our return to the airport on Saturday 14 I was dreading it after reading other reviews, but didn't find it anywhere near as bad. As some people say from getting off the coach to departure lounge took exactly 50 mins, long queue at check in and also at security and passport control but it was all very organised. We managed to find seats although the departure lounge was busy, there were people sitting on the floor but these were mainly older kids and they were not in the way at all. Toilets were fairly clean, didn't have toilet tissue so glad I had tissues in my bag. The bins were over flowing but still not as bad as I was excepting. We travelled from Newcastle airport and it took a good 30 mins to get into the departure lounge and on our return we waited 40 mins for our luggage so not really too different to the waiting time we experienced at Faro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1/10

"dirty and inefficient"

(Ireland)

Unverified | Had the most dreadful experience trying to depart for the airport. Security was extremely congested and took almost 1 hour to get to the conveyor Once through another queue through passport control which took a further 20 minutes Thankfully we left 2.5 hours before flight which meant we were able to get on board even though we had no bags to check-in. Once through the maze of duty-free that we are forced to walk through, we were unable to find seating and further long queues for coffee was one more queue we were not prepared to do. Place was dirty and inefficient and needs a serious review should they wish to continue to attract tourists
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport was very stressful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My husband is disabled which mean he is unable to walk very far and not able to climb stairs, he also has dementia. We had booked assistance which on the way in was passable. Our return journey within the airport was very stressful. The phones were not working inside the airport to summon assistance. On arriving no wheelchair was available so we waited outside for half an hour until our friends managed to find one of the helpers who was very kind and helpful. The process through the airport was fine although very busy. It was from then it was not cacceptable. There was a lady who had a very bad broken leg who like my husband had to climb into a bus up two steps and walk to a chair. This lady was not supposed to weight bear. Then drove to the plane where eventually the special vehicle to transfer to the front of the plane arrived. There were 4 wheelchairs there being used as seats that were bolted to the floor so could not be used to transfer to the aircraft! Once again had to walk to the seat. The staff were very sorry about this and could see how stressful this all was but it was out of their hands! The bar across the lift was wobbly and this was what my husband was holding on to. When we got to Stanstead things couldn't have been more different. A narrow chair was brought into the aircraft, then transferred onto a seat in the lifting vehicle. All of this would never get past here in England, thank goodness. I will never again take anyone in a wheelchair to be subjected to this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"absolutely horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travel regularly to and from Faro throughout the year and normally quite a quick airport to get through when departing. What have they done to it? Absolutely horrendous queues for security, nearly missed my flight despite arriving at the airport 2 hours early and with only hand luggage! Shocking and stressful experience, not what you want after a relaxing few weeks away. Who wants to come home from holiday in that state? Improvements to the airport? Definitely not an improvement in customer experience / satisfaction.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Shockingly bad, overcrowded, dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Shockingly bad, overcrowded, dirty with nowhere to sit. I have been in many airports all over the world and this was disgusting. Staff looked overworked and miserable. Started at the check in when three of the staff were having an argument for about ten minutes. Ignoring people waiting to check in and finished in costa filthy dirty with rubbish everywhere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"6 security scanners serving 100's of people"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Awful. 6 security scanners serving 100's of people in queues! Member of airport staff shouting in faces "Don't stop!" even children. Totally unnecessary. Duty free - 3 tills open! More queues of roughly 20 mins. Not enough chairs in departure lounge people sitting on floors. Very unclean smell in toilets, lack of toilet paper.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience we have encountered"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | After a wonderful holiday in Alvor and was seriously considering rebooking for next year until we encountered the hell hole called Faro airport departures. It took us nearly 2 hours to get through check in, passport control and security check only to be met by an absolutely crammed packed departure lounge. There was not a seat to be had anywhere plus a good part of this lounge was locked off and so unavailable to use. It was nearly impossible to get a drink because of the long queues. In over 40 plus years going abroad twice and occasionally 3 times a years this is without doubt the worst experience we have encountered. Plus we were late taking off due to the captain telling us there was a shortage of buses to take us to the plane. We will not now be going back to this airport again because in the back of our minds will be our trip home and we don't want that stress.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no