Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Work in progress one feels"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Peak season in the Algarve and departures are getting better at Faro airport, slowly, but surely. The security is still a little ponderous, but thorough, and they have improved the departures area with new bars and shops. A new shared airline lounge is also now open which is much better, light and airy, although a little soulless. Good for a quick snack and drink, but choices are limited. The main issue is that they need more staff on security to cope with the flow of passengers at peak demand. Arrivals is still very slow and despite numerous electronic passport gates being installed, none of them seem to function properly. Work in progress one feels.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"assistance provided promptly and happily"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having read some of the reviews, we were not looking forward to using this airport, how wrong we were. Asked for and received 'Level 1' support, on arrival the provider 'My Way' was waiting at the gate, prompt progress through border control (did not appear to any delays) and baggage collection. On return, the terminal (afternoon on a Tuesday) did not appear to be very busy, plenty of seats etc. Again assistance provided promptly and happily - only small problem was the were taken via the lift to the top floor and then discovered there was an escalator down the departure gate, seemed very odd but handled well by the staff. Overall a great experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Bags were delivered quickly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arriving on the 27th of June and Departing on the 5th July, Faro Airport has now entered into its new incarnation as an airport for the 21st Century. After over two years of rebuilding, the building has been extended and extensively remodelled inside. Arriving passengers will see a much bigger Immigration Hall to handle all the Uk and Ireland flights, though Baggage Reclaim was not enlarged. On my arrival there were no queues, just due to the number of arriving flights. Bags were delivered quickly. There were however queues for the Ladies toilets in the Arrival Hall, this facility has not been made bigger. Short walk to car hire and then onto the dual carriageway/Motorway. Departing on the 5th July, the new Security area was open and functioning well. Little to no queues. Once past this area, passengers are separated into Schengen Area and UK/Ireland for the purpose of Passport Control. This again was working well, with a large hall for passengers. Onward into the ANA Lounge which has recently opened. Again functioning well. There are now are sensible number of toilets distributed around the terminal! Having known this airport since 1980 and having used it extensively over the last 18yrs, I was impressed with the thought and work that has been carried out. There will of course be busy times, especially over the July/August months, but it appears in my experience to be functioning well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
7/10

"queues at security were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival was fairly quick through passport control although we were quite lucky as we were on the first bus, there were about 4 buses after us. I did use the toilets but there was a disgusting smell so couldn’t really get out of there quick enough.Departures it took exactly 1 hour from queuing at check in through to passport control (we sailed through pc) queues at security were horrendous, thought we would be there forever but the security guys were directing people into various lanes, they had everything under control and were organised enough and we were in the departure lounge in an hour. The toilets in the departure lounge are much cleaner than when you arrive at the airport. There was plenty of seats so no problem there, 2 euros for a bottle of water and 7-50 euros for a sandwich. Staff were constantly cleaning up after people, had a look round duty free and didn’t queue at tills for long either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"the queues were horrible"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrible experience navigating the departures section of this airport. We arrived 2.5 hours before our scheduled departure, it took almost 1 hour to reach the first security gate. Bearing in mind this was at 08:00 on a Thursday morning the queues were horrible, god only knows what happens during the peak holiday season. The departures hall was rubbish, absolutely nothing to do for children and lack of seating for most people. I also found the food options very expensive and limited. One of the worst airports that I have experienced in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very limited staff on duty"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport has been extended and renovated, but is a disaster. Arrival, takes ages to get through passport check, not many booths open, digital passport check does not work. There are no car rental offices within the Airport Terminal, all counters are shut. You have to locate your car rental company in the car park, not signposted. Finally you find a small kiosk in car park4, this kiosk serves about a dozen car rental companies, long queues, arrogant staff. Departure, again arrogant rude staff, same story, slow at passport control and security checks, very limited staff on duty. Hardly any place to sit, very expensive food. A Subway 6 inch sandwich for Euros10! No bridges, boarding by coaches. This is the worst Airport I have ever traveled through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage for gate numbers is very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible - queued for 25 minutes to get through hand baggage screening then it took 1 hour and 45 minutes to get through passport control as there was only one person in the booths. They had 5 'e passport' machines but none of them were working. The staff were nowhere to be seen until a couple of policemen turned up who just stood there until people shouted at them to stop queue jumpers which they did in a very halfhearted way. All of the planes due to take off had to delay their takeoff so fortunately not many missed their flights. It was very hot in the waiting area. When we did finally get through passport control the signage for gate numbers is very poor. Will think long and hard before returning to Faro.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an unmitigated disaster"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The absolute pits. What a disaster! Faro airport used to work, but not anymore. ok, it was a little run down but it fulfilled its function perfectly well, i.e. getting people on and off planes with as little trouble as possible. Oh no, not now! After spending millions on a strange refurbishment and inconveniencing passengers for the last couple of years, the new and improved Faro airport is an unmitigated disaster. It is questionable that a single passenger was ever approached or consulted with regard to the refurbishmnet/upgrade. It is a nightmare. Up and down, round and round, total chaos, very few staff ever in evidence and the piece de resistance, no on-line check in! Come on, should that not have been the number one priority. Very, very poor. Shame on you Faro airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is very modern and very clean"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Very clean and good looking airport. After arrival I could leave the aircraft fast, first stop was the baggage claim. Waiting time was rather long and the signs and directions have been a bit confusing. On the other hand the airport is very modern and very clean. Overall a good airport with some downsides.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"unorganised, chaotic"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Unbelievably bad, unorganised, chaotic. We arrived at 7pm to check in for a flight at 9.10pm we got through passport control at 8.55 pm - a fiasco. We were left queuing down a flight of stairs, then eventually getting into an even longer queue. Only 2 people on passport control, no help from staff, no explanation, no air conditioning, no water. Everyone was getting very agitated as our boarding time approached and then went, some staff from the boarding gates had to come through to look for passengers so that the flights could leave. Police had to intervene as there were queue skippers and a lot of anxious travelers. It has actually made me reconsider travelling through Faro. On arrival it took 30 minutes to get through passport control also, then we were told our luggage hadn't arrived, but no-one could tell us where it was. We were told to go to lost and found. It was eventually delivered to us 10 minutes later, after we had been told we wouldn't get it. Considering the huge overhaul the airport has had in recent years it is quite unbelievable that the service is this bad. Faro airport, you need to get it sorted and before the summer holidays begin. The service you provide at your airport - not acceptable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no