Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"horrible end to a lovely holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Faro airport on a Thomson coach at 7.30. For the Cardiff flight at 9.35. We were ushered into a zig zag line which moved fairly quickly and in all took 15 mins to check in. From there we joined the next horrendously long zig zag line of which there were three that terminated at the same entry point for boarding passes. Then we joined the next zig zag line to go through surcutiy. By now it was 8.30am. One security gate was closed of course this was the zig zag line we choose. So all our line filtered through the process next zig zag lines gate. Onward we stepped until we got to another large queue. All waiting to go down a narrow steps. Eventually at the bottom turned into another zig zag line to passport check. Only three kiosks open although there were several more that could have been open to ease the congestion! We arrived at the departure lounge (if you can call it that) our flight was already boarding. This was a horrible end to what was a lovely holiday. We were on the plane at 9.15. No time in the airport to unwind or use the toilet. A very stressful two hours of our lives. As it was we were late taking off as we were waiting for passengers stuck in the queues. The travel firms need to be aware of the time it takes passengers to make their way through the airport and allow extra time at their pick up points. There seemed to be plenty of staff at the airport who are not being utilised in the right places.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very limited seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolute dump. Very limited seating available so many people sitting everywhere on the ground. Chaos at security. Limited food and shopping and very expensive. Granted, it's being renovated but that's no excuse for not providing more seating/some level of comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disaster waiting to happen"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My family and I arrived at Faro airport and checked in very smoothly, but once through to passport control there was a horrendous queue for UK and Irish passengers leading down a flight of stairs and there was an extremely dangerous bottle neck and in my view was very scary and unsafe and very stressful as felt trapped and if there was a need to exit the building quickly this would of not been possible. This is a disaster waiting to happen and felt there was no one managing the crowd or movement. We enjoyed Portugal very much but will not return until I no the airport situation has been resolved.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Pleasantly surprised by Faro Airport after reading some reviews. Small queues for everything but we got through in about 45 mins in all. Staff were friendly and cheerful and loads of them around organising the fastest lanes. Very expensive Costa food though so bring something with you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"very chaotic - not enough signs"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Faro airport is still going through refurbishment but it is very chaotic with not enough signs and information. Had to arrive a few hours before our flight, wanted to leave luggage and travel into Faro. The left luggage is broken and abandoned, no information or help at the information desk. The toilets are a joke, male and female toilets are far apart and the signs are not clear at all. We were having a coffee just opposite the ladies toilets and watched several men walk in then come out bewildered. Through to the gates is just as bad with terrible directions, we sat in the wrong area until we did more investigation. When we found the correct area there wasn't enough seating and the choice of eating and drinking facilities is minimal and more expensive than other airports we have visited. They really need to look closely at their facilities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nowhere near enough seats"

(Ireland)

Unverified | Disgusting, not even a little bit clean, nowhere near enough seats, everyone is sitting on floors and because of this there is not enough room to be able to walk around. Terminal nowhere near big enough for the amount of traffic it receives. Air conditioning would have been nice too, as would friendlier staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the queues for security were endless"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dismal place. As many of the reviews have noted there are extensive refurbishment works going on which does contribute to some of the chaos. On the positive side, upon arrival immigration was extremely quick and our bags arrived within minutes. When we departed Faro there was no queue at bag-drop (easyJet). However the queues for security were endless and the departure area is a mess, far too crowded for the amount of people and uncomfortably hot. Not enough seats so people sitting on floors, stairs etc. There are very few eating options so had to queue over 30mins to get a depressing sandwich from Costa. Hopefully this will be sorted out once the work is finished.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"security and check in were fine"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Not a single bad as all the doommongers said. Flew out of Faro expecting the carnage after reading the reviews. On a Saturday late July the security queues and check in were fine (BA), security was 10 minutes wait. Some progress in last week, new passport checking area separate from duty free - still no air con once past new passport area which is a bit unpleasant, but not the war zone described previously
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Cannot believe how extortionate the prices are"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Cannot believe how extortionate the prices are in this airport! €3.65 for a bottle of coke over €3 for a can of sprite or water and €7 for a rubbish sandwich! I am travelling with my partner, my 11 yr old son and my 14month old baby and just spent over €40 on drinks and rubbish sandwiches. I am shocked, wish I had checked the reviews on this site before departure. I would have brought snacks for me and my family. Won't forget this experience for a long time!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"old and deteriorated terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | First of all we arrived at the airport and instantly were horrified by the old and deteriorated terminal. The terminal looks like it's owned by Ryanair being painted yellow and blue. The passport control was quick but bags were very slow. Then when we come here to depart check in with easyJet was very quick at 1 min and 30 seconds. This part of the terminal is very nice and smart then the hell starts. Security has very long queues but once through it gets worse as you enter the old terminal. No seating, 2 duty free shops and 3 restaurants all very crowded! It's under construction but it's seems to always be under construction. However our gate was called quick and we couldn't wait to get out of the place!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews