Vote Now  

Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 60 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"very limited seats and restaurants"

(Germany)

Verified Review | On my recent trip I visited Faro using both arrivals and departures). In this moment, the whole airport is under construction and the experience isn't good. Arriving is almost ok, but departing is very bad. You have to check-in in a very windy hall. Staff not very friendly and after check in there was a very big queue for security control. The departing hall has very, very limited seats and restaurants.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"currently a building site and there are no short cuts"

(Portugal)

Faro airport is currently a building site and there are no short cuts, the queue to security is the worse. NB fast track security makes no difference (that only works after your boarding pass has been scanned) this is the queue to the scan point. Allow at least an hour longer for this for morning flights, it took me 90 minutes on Thursday, I suspect the couple who I let in the queue with two small children may have missed their plane. They had been at the airport over two hours queuing for Check in then queueing again for security. I use fast track security about 50% of the time (depends on who I'm flying with and the deal) it's saving at best 15-20 mins. So not worth it if you pay the €9 to the airport. At the moment (until at least Easter) avoid checked baggage as the desks aren't open early enough to get you through security without significant stress. Just fly from a Faro walk on walk off. It's only current redeeming feature - it's in the Algarve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"on our last visit things were improving"

(Portugal)

Faro is going through a huge development so there are problems with routes through the airport changing week by week but I must report that on our last visit things were improving - helped obviously by being less busy - and one can see the light at the end of the tunnel. People complain about unfriendly staff but the Portuguese are basically very friendly and respond well to "Bom Dia" or "Obrigado" rather than a surly "Can't you hurry up". They have a job to do and at peak times it can be pretty manic! I now require special assistance and cannot praise too highly the friendly and efficient way the staff help from the initial request to actually boarding the aircraft. One point of criticism is the high prices for refreshments and in 'duty free' - drinks and perfumes are cheaper in the local shopping centres.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"airport is currently a building site"

(Netherlands)

The airport is currently a building site, which requires a bit of a detour to get to the departures area. Security staff are surly and not very customer friendly, forcing us through a long "snake" when there are very few passengers. Behind security you will find a number of fast food outlets and overpriced shops. Currently not a place where you want to spend a lot of time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport is at the moment an absolute shambles "

(Portugal)

The airport is at the moment an absolute shambles with queues everywhere in October, although better in November, and the departure and arrival routes changing from week to week whilst development work continues and one can only hope that the bulk of the work is completed before next summer. Having said that the special assistance which I require is second to none in terms of promptness, helpfulness and friendliness. On one occasion they were too fast and whisked me through security before I had time to pick up the local paper. The only person around was an armed security policeman and when I rather cheekily asked if he could get me one from land-side there was no problem - at how many airports would this happen?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"this is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Faro Airport is a disgrace. People are queuing for over an hour just to get through security. It's hot and we are being treated like cattle. Staff at least are trying to stop queue jumping as people are getting angrier and scared that they will miss their flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"departure absolutely shocking"

(United Kingdom)

Have been using Faro airport for many years on our visits to the Algarve. However the past 2 years departure procedure has been absolutely shocking with the queues going through check-in and snaking all the way round the terminal. I had to laugh at a comment by the airport manager who stated that average waiting times were less than 2 minutes (what a joke). Try telling that to my daughters and grandchildren who were queuing for the best part of 2 hours. I really don't understand how or why this has come about but whoever is responsible for this nonsense better get it sorted sooner rather than later.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"departing was truly awful"

(United Kingdom)

Arriving into Faro airport wasn't bad in fairness but departing was truly awful. We had pre-printed our boarding passes and dropped our bags only to be confronted with a half hour journey through security. The staff were downright rude, the guy sheprding people through was abrupt and grumpy. Then we were fed into the maze of security channels and took pot luck on when and where you are screened by the rude and abrupt staff who simply point and grunt at you. All with no aircon in 30+ heat. When you finally emerge you are funnelled straight into the duty free area with till staff who could be outrun on speed by a glacier. Again, they just grunt and point at you. The toilets were filthy and reeked of urine. And having checked the prices in the overcrowded food outlets we just laughed and went to our gate. Then we we were boarded on the buses to go to the plane and left crammed in for 10 minutes. I love Portugal but Faro Airport is a sad excuse for a gateway to such a beautiful country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly appalling experience"

(United Kingdom)

Appalling. Faro airport is like a third rate tin shack. No air con, no seats, half the shops are in darkness due to a blackout, no free water. A truly appalling experience. Security was fairly swift but staff are rude and abrupt. People are sat on floors, stairs, anywhere they can. Avoid at all costs. Outside looks like a demolition site, inside is about 40c with no air and no electricity. The Portuguese government should hang their heads in shame. An utter disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very slow queues to pass through security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Encountered no problems whatsoever with this airport when we arrived here to start our holiday. The homeward journey experience however, was very different. Check in was quick and easy and then came the horrendous part, the enormous and very slow queues to pass through security. With little or no effective air conditioning, it was so uncomfortable. Passengers were herded by staff into several different queues and it was pure pot luck as to whether you got into one that moved continuously. Never have I spent this amount of time queuing in any other airport to go through security. Given the volume of passengers travelling, it seemed crazy that they do not have more security stations. The airport itself is nice enough with a variety of places to eat and drink. There is a variety of shops but it takes so long to get through security that you barely have time to browse. I would also have to agree with other reviewers about the lack of seating at the departure gates. Add to that the offensive drain smell at the departure gate to round off the overall negative experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews