Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 96 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a most unsatisfactory experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The facilities at this airport are poor during a period of extensive alterations, although on this occasion the security checking was very efficient, with a minimum period of queuing. The signage is very bad and, following security checks, you are directed to Border Control and the Gates with no indication that the airport lounge becomes inaccessible, if you proceed as directed, which is extremely unsatisfactory. The facilities outside this lounge are most unsatisfactory, with inadequate seating and long queues for pricy and only average refreshments etc being the order of the day. In all, a most unsatisfactory experience, apart from the efficiency of the security teams, which should be applauded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Not enough seats and very small"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Awful! Not enough seats and very small. Queue for food was shameful and staff lacking in customer service skills. I was pregnant and was lucky someone gave me a seat as saw how much I was struggling. Was roasting as well! Awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff friendly and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I had heard about problems with queues and delays and read reviews on this site. Not had problems ourselves at Faro during 12 visits in the last 3 years but thought we should play it safe due to complaints I'd read. So we arrived at 9.30am for a 12.00 departure only to find our flight was delayed and so rescheduled for 14.00. Flybe check in went ahead normally and took 10 minutes. Sent upstairs to security and went straight through entry and then down stairs to X-ray security, again went straight through without delay. All the Portuguese staff were very friendly and efficient. The airport is still undergoing extensive works but I would say it is better than before and they are managing the temporary parts well. The food area was very crowded at first and there was very limited seating, but you can see this is due to the ongoing works. Once they'd named our departure gate we went through to departures. There was plenty of seating and it was well air conditioned. Admittedly, this was a Thursday, so I assume it will be more pressured at the weekend, but the 5 hours I spent there today was not unbearable. When the works are finished I think the place will be good, but I think this will require patience and understanding. Probably best to steer clear of the food outlets after security for the moment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very surprised and pleased"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Still being refurbished but I have never gone through this airport faster in the eight years I have been traveling. Check in was a few minutes. Security maximum 10 minutes. Passport check 2 minutes. Ok not enough seats once through but hopefully by the time I go again next summer this won't be an issue. After other reviews I was dreading it but very surprised and pleased.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Avoid this airport if you can"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Dangerously crowded, endless queues, endless waiting, especially even after you pass security (after a not too bad wait). Not enough personnel to lead the queues or give information. Nevertheless, good exceptions, two friendly Portugese ladies doing their best to cope with the difficult situation. What a disaster, this French-owned company. They just don't care. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very few seats"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | The departure area at Faro Airport is absolutely disgusting. Very few seats, people sat around on the floor tables not cleared in Costa, filthy and unhygenic. Long queues to buy water in the kiosk. The building work goes on and on with very little regard for travellers. On the positive note security and passport control went smoothly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible end to a lovely holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Faro airport on a Thomson coach at 7.30. For the Cardiff flight at 9.35. We were ushered into a zig zag line which moved fairly quickly and in all took 15 mins to check in. From there we joined the next horrendously long zig zag line of which there were three that terminated at the same entry point for boarding passes. Then we joined the next zig zag line to go through surcutiy. By now it was 8.30am. One security gate was closed of course this was the zig zag line we choose. So all our line filtered through the process next zig zag lines gate. Onward we stepped until we got to another large queue. All waiting to go down a narrow steps. Eventually at the bottom turned into another zig zag line to passport check. Only three kiosks open although there were several more that could have been open to ease the congestion! We arrived at the departure lounge (if you can call it that) our flight was already boarding. This was a horrible end to what was a lovely holiday. We were on the plane at 9.15. No time in the airport to unwind or use the toilet. A very stressful two hours of our lives. As it was we were late taking off as we were waiting for passengers stuck in the queues. The travel firms need to be aware of the time it takes passengers to make their way through the airport and allow extra time at their pick up points. There seemed to be plenty of staff at the airport who are not being utilised in the right places.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very limited seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolute dump. Very limited seating available so many people sitting everywhere on the ground. Chaos at security. Limited food and shopping and very expensive. Granted, it's being renovated but that's no excuse for not providing more seating/some level of comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disaster waiting to happen"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My family and I arrived at Faro airport and checked in very smoothly, but once through to passport control there was a horrendous queue for UK and Irish passengers leading down a flight of stairs and there was an extremely dangerous bottle neck and in my view was very scary and unsafe and very stressful as felt trapped and if there was a need to exit the building quickly this would of not been possible. This is a disaster waiting to happen and felt there was no one managing the crowd or movement. We enjoyed Portugal very much but will not return until I no the airport situation has been resolved.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Pleasantly surprised by Faro Airport after reading some reviews. Small queues for everything but we got through in about 45 mins in all. Staff were friendly and cheerful and loads of them around organising the fastest lanes. Very expensive Costa food though so bring something with you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 96 Reviews