Airline of the Year  

Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 308 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Totally amazed at the absolute shambles last night arriving into Edinburgh from Malaga. Ryanair flight on time and bussed to terminal, only to find that we could not get in to the building because the UK border force area was full of passengers from other flights. Not sure how many there were but at least 3 maybe be even 4. There were 4 staff on the desks and 4 staff managing the queue. One at the entrance encouraging people to use the epassport service. It was difficult to know if this was any quicker. We were travelling with a 17 year old and the sign at the entrance said that anyone over 12 travelling with an adult could use the epassport however the border force staff member advised us that he had to be over 18 so we had to join the main queue. People arriving from other countries had 2 staff dealing with them despite their number being less than about 10. There were only two other staff manning the desks and they also had to deal with people who had failed to get through the epassport scanners. Total shambles the only good thing was that parents travelling with young children who were crying and fractious were allowed to 'skip' the queue. This is supposed to be the busiest airport in Scotland so come on this is not good enough. Flights are scheduled so it's not as if we just all turned up at once. On exit I noticed that there were still other flights to land and I noticed, an unheard of phenonimum, where the carousels had suitcases going round and no one was there to pick up the luggage. This is totally unacceptable and we were nearly three quarters of an hour getting through the queue. Border agency are letting the airport down. Check your smiley face machine I am sure you had lots of negative comments on there around this time. The airport is currently looking to expand their take off and landing slots to allow more flights - not much point in that when they can't cope with what is coming through at the moment. I use Edinburgh airport frequently but this is the longest I have had to wait to get my passport checked,
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"whole situation was totally avoidable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived Friday 12th May to catch easyJet flight to Copenhagen. Being hand luggage only, I was to proceed straight to security and then to gate. This was at 5.30 am and as soon as I entered the main terminal building, the place was black with people. Thinking this was a security issue, I asked another lady what was wrong to be told that "the escalator was broken" and these hundreds of passengers were to form an orderly queue and go to the first floor via the lifts. The debacle then continued when we exited the lift to form another massive queue to wait in line for entry into the security area, what a shambles. There was no offer of actually walking up a stairwell as this was seen to be a health and safety issue, what if there had been a fire or an actual security evacuation? The situation got worse on entry to the security section and what should take about fifteen minutes took forty minutes to walk through security procedure. There seemed to be no one actually taking control of the situation except one young lady who seemed to be left to get the people due for boarding through first, this itself was not appreciated by many. This whole situation was totally avoidable if people had been allowed to walk up the stairs. As a result, many people were then running to their gate having arrived in pleanty time to catch their flights. Again I would reiterate, what if there had been an emergency on Friday morning? How were the staff going to handle it? I use Edinburgh quite often for this early morning flight but this was a total shambles.i would be interested to hear other psssengers take on this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no information was being given"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible service at Edinburgh Airport. We arrived two hours before flight to discover queue and passengers being allowed up in batches up stairs to security checks. The escalators were off. No information was being given. After managing to get upstairs there was a sign saying 12 min wait for security. We continued to queue for 1.5 hours. When explained to security that our gate was closing they said sorry nothing they could do. We eventually got through and ran to gate and arrived with 20mins before flight took off. Terrible service and will try to avoid Edinburgh Airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"yet another appalling experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Yet another appalling experience of incompentency and total inability to manage customers in a humane manner. Returning from Madrid on 14 May on Easyjet, pilot advised after circling Edinburgh several times due to apparently glass on the runway, he decided to fly to Glasgow as only had 20 minutes of fuel left. Sat on Glasgow runway for a further hour, then refuelled and returned to Edinburgh, where we were held again on the plane as there were no steps available, and there could be a crossover with an outgoing flight to Amsterdam! Finally allowed off and then held/caged a further hour in a closed corrider, with no explanation or toilets. Airport security staff were young and totally unable to explain why we were being treated like cattle at the abbatoir. Half the 200 passengers were Spanish and very frustrated at lack of information. I was forced to hammer on the glass to get a policeman's attention, who came to confront me, and on hearing our plight, explained there had been a security incident but as usual no airport security management were available to manage the incident. He then explained this to the other passengers and finally got us moving into Passport Control, which was the usual time wasting chaos, with junior staff first refusing access to the machine control, and then changing their mind. Utter chaos and a terrible embarrasment to Scotland. A three hour delay with no clear explanation as to why. Edinburgh is now worse than Heathrow. APT needs to be doubled not halfed and extra resources utilised on decent security management, not inadequate wains!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it's much better than before"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport seems to have got over it's problems with security check in. We were there at a busy time and it only took us about 3 minutes to get through security. The Aspire airport lounge that we used was very friendly and even has gluten free bread. The airport has changed a lot recently, but in my opinion it's much better than before.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"like a building site not an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Edinburgh must be the worst airport in the world. I fly twice a week and avoid it where possible. Totally overcrowded, overbooked dirty parking, flights have no airbridges available. Customs is inadequate, baggage delivery is pathetic. Access is poor and on going works make the place look like a building site not an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Total embarrassment to Scotland"

(United Kingdom)

Absolutely terrible airport. Calls itself international when it can't even let passengers off a plane from a 6.45am international flight from Abu Dhabi. No buses, not ready for us. Disgraceful. Total embarrassment to Scotland. Took 40 mins to let us off.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"going through security is a disaster"

(United Kingdom)

Going through security is a disaster! E tickets wouldn't scan to allow passengers into the security area which resulted in queues building up. Once you're into the security area several queues join into one so everyone pushes in front of you. There was one member of staff as far as I could see who was dealing with the situation. There was a girl in front of me who had a ticket that wouldn't scan and the member of staff asked her if she had scanned her e ticket already, she said she had and another passenger had pushed in front of her and gone into the security area. I found that slightly alarming. The stupid system of large trays that the x-ray machine can't cope with quickly enough causes more backlog. It's shambolic. All in all by the time we got to the departure gate with 5 mins to spare I was hot, sweaty, stressed and wished I had just got in the car and driven to East Midlands instead of flying.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"It was very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived into Edinburgh and herded onto a bus which took us to the terminal. We arrived and we're left on the bus unable to exit as we watched a member of ground staff prepare the way ahead for us to enter the building. We were left for over 5 minutes. It was very poor. Felt like a cow at Market. No information from the bus driver etc. Surely this preparation could be done ahead as you know when the flight arrives!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"shocked by this experience"

(United Kingdom)

Security is like a cattle market! So disorganised and staff rude. Twice while going through the security we were spoken to in an unprofessional manner and twice sworn at, albeit not directly at us but we clearly heard what was said on the 2 occasions as we were not sure of what we could/couldn't get through as we had a baby. Myself and my daughter were shocked by this experience. Staff certainly need some training in customer relations.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no