Top 100 Airports  

Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 264 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"a poor experience for all customers"

(United Kingdom)

I frequently fly in and out of Edinburgh airport, departures are fine but the wait for baggage on arrival is unacceptable, regularly over 30 minutes. This issue should be addressed as it is a poor experience for all customers and especially for first time visitors to Edinburgh. From a concerned Edinburgh resident.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"15 minutes for buses to arrive"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival into Edinburgh from LCY, 2100, on 2 August. There were several spare gates at the time we landed, but the aircraft was parked at a remote stand, which meant about 15 minutes having to wait for the buses to arrive; and then, we were driven over to the opposite end of the terminal to disembark. This is the sort of thing which adds mightily to passenger frustration, and makes taking the train a quite-attractive option in future.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"a shambles from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

It's a shambles from start to finish. Security is awful, rude staff and long queues. Terminal can't cope with passenger numbers now. Taxi rank signage is awful and then being forced into a car instead of a taxi is not very professional either. Sort it out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nothing short of embarrassing"

(United Kingdom)

I arrived at Edinburgh Airport on 11th July 2016 on flight EZY6984 from Copenhagen. The arrival experience into Edinburgh Airport was nothing short of embarrassing for me, as a resident of Scotland, and made our capital city international airport the subject of ridicule from foreign passengers. If you are continually putting significant effort into increasing passenger numbers, you must match this with improvement in areas such as Arrivals and access roads. 1) The aeroplane was held back for 5 minutes waiting for a stand. Why was no stand available at the time of landing? 2) On arrival at the stand there were no stairs to allow disembarkation and even the captain sounded frustrated in his apologetic announcements. Why were no stairs available? 3) It was 10 minutes before one set of stairs arrived and all passengers had to disembark from the front of the aircraft. Why did only one set of stairs arrive to disembark passengers? 4) We were then required to squeeze into two buses, which were totally inadequate for the number of passengers on the flight. Why were the buses supplied inadequate for providing a comfortable transfer? 5) After all passengers had disembarked, both buses were then held for over a further five minutes before leaving on a journey round the entire airport to what I presume is the only passport control area. Why were both buses held? 6) Thankfully passport control was very efficient, is this facility run by Edinburgh Airport? 7) In the corridor between passport control and the baggage reclaim area there was a group of five or so well-dressed people filling in forms. I asked one what they were doing and was told they were surveying of one in ten international arrival passengers. It appeared to me as if they were completing the forms themselves, but he explained they were completing them with information from earlier interviews. In the time I was in the baggage reclaim area the interviewers were still there, passengers continued to file through and no one was stopped. The interviewer did say, however, that the general feedback he was receiving indicated that the airport was “not quite fit for purpose”, an understatement in my opinion. What is being done to learn lessons and improve from that feedback and my experience? 8) Then in baggage reclaim, there was a further delay of at least 40 minutes, with no luggage from any flight being delivered, whilst passengers from other flights continued to crowd into the area. Why was no baggage delivered to the baggage reclaim area during that period and why was there no proper explanation and apology? 9) Finally, when baggage did start to be delivered at Belt 1, there was no indicator on screen showing which flight it related to. By this time people were standing three or four deep round Belt 1 and straining to catch a glimpse of each bag to see if it was there’s. Why was there no announcement, or indication on screen, of the flight to which the baggage applied? I wrote a complaint letter to Gordon Dewar. Mr Dewar replied blaming most of the problems on EasyJet and Menzies their baggage handlers. I believe the airport management should take responsibility for all that goes wrong at their airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid Edinburgh airport in future"

(United Kingdom)

I went through Edinburgh Airport recently and was faced with a bizarre setup; they'd replaced the budget check-in desks with self-service units and a single manned desk. Nobody could use the self-service so there was a massive, badly formed, entrance-blocking que or the one member of staff. It didn't save on staff either as they were busy redirecting people from self service to the poor soul on the desk. It made what should have be a quiet time very very hectic. I'd go out of my way to avoid Edinburgh airport in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"1.5 hours to get my bag"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid this airport like the plague. Where to start? Earlier this month I came in from the USA and it took 1.5 hours to get my bag. The staff response? 'not my fault'. Used it again this week to fly to Copenhagen. Going the plane was delayed because they didn't have the staff to get luggage off the previous flight. Returning the plane was delayed getting in to Copenhagen because the plane was delayed leaving Edinburgh. Staff response 'not my problem'. Due to the delay in getting back I missed the last bus to Glasgow and had to pay £105 for a taxi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"40 minutes for our bags"

(United Kingdom)

Fantastic flight into Edinburgh on American Airlines. All went through immigration quickly. Then we had to wait 40 minutes for our bags. When I was asked I was told that they are understaffed. Disappointing. It's a while since I had a good experience at Edinburgh Airport. Flying out is a nightmare. Too busy and not equipped to deal with so many flights.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"over 1hr wait for baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Edinburgh to Salzburg, 30th July to 6th August. Stood in queue for 1hr 45 mins to check in. One incompetent operative and a defective baggage label machine, apparently 4 operatives failed to report for duty. Returned on 6th, over 1hr wait for baggage, two flights behind received baggage before ours. Massive queues at both ladies and gents toilets, apart from being inadequate were found to be a disgusting condition. Must agree with other reviewers re. general congestion and confusion. Welcome to Scotland and the Edinburgh festival.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bulldoze the place and start again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport staff and management here are operating a Circus. I am ashamed for Scotland claiming this as its gateway to the world. I am a frequent flyer, have platinum, over 1m miles. This airport is worse than many and 3rd world airports. This goes to security at departure. Loud, brash, unhelpful, intimidating security staff. Bulldoze the place and start again, don't keep adding bits on and hope or expect it to improve. Further annoyance is the double length walking route, funnelling through duty free shopping, when many have zero interest in being pestered by sales staff. It is getting as bad as being pursued at foreign airports for unofficial rip-off taxis.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"nearly 1.5 hours to collect our bags"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived into Edinburgh from Mallorca and then had to wait for nearly 1.5 hours as there were no drivers to collect our bags from the plane. On departure, our Etihad flight was cancelled due to technical difficulties. Etihad were great and very informative. We were all put up in hotels for the 14 hour delay. Now we are sitting in am empty airport and we still cannot leave on time. 2320 departure (now) and we are all still sitting at the gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no