Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 348 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"only took about 3 minutes to get through"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport seems to have finally got the security check in sorted now. Although the airport was busy it only took about 3 minutes to get through. It was the first time we have used the self service luggage check in and that was a simple process. On arrival our bus took us from the plane to the airport promptly, I wish I could say the same about our luggage. This seemed to take and age to arrive and the information in the luggage reclaim hall was not very clear, this need to be sorted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"never a great experience from start to finish"

(Ireland)

Unverified | We travel in and out of this airport several times a year. The self service check in is always mobbed with groups with no lines or visible queuing system in place. The self check in machines are cramped together with queues for bag drop running through it. They have recently changed the security area and it is chaos! The staff are often rude and unfriendly. We queue in the family lane with our baby and we go through to end up joining in with another queue of people so the family lane is completely pointless in my opinion. Once through security you walk through the middle of the duty free shop so you have to negotiate a winding path through browsing customers and shop counters. We are often at gate 1F or 1H which are in a small room in far corner of the airport. This room gets so full and really warm while you wait for the gate to open. All in all, never a great experience from start to finish!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a massive queue at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Landed slightly ahead of time but were held just off runway for around 10 minutes. Then our aircraft was moved to just off parking stand, where the pilot informed us we would have to wait for someone to parks us? After another 15 minutes we were parked, waited a further 5 minutes then flight crew informed us there was no transport to take us to the terminal building. Then after 10 minutes the flight crew apolgised and told us that Edinburgh airport had only sent 1 bus and the front part was to disembark first, whilst we at the rear would have to wait. While waiting I noticed the luggage being taken off with no transport so the staff were throwing the baggage onto the ground! After another 15 minutes we were allowed to disembark and were taken to the terminal building. Now the real wait, a massive queue at passport control where there were only 2 terminals open out of 11. The e passport was also bad with massive queues. In principal a good idea but many people had to go through twice and some taken out to go through normal channels. All in all, a terrible experience from Scotland’s capital airport. Not a great welcome for tourists arriving here. From looking at the other reports, it’s pretty obvious what’s going on here. I would complain to Edinburgh airport but what’s the point. When we eventually found our pre booked taxi, the driver also mentioned how they had to pay much more to collect passengers now. I have no complaints about our airline Jet2, who kept us aware of the situation and it was clear who they blamed. I just hope that the airlines get Edinburgh airport management to sort this out, as the airlines will have more power than us.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"seems to exist not as an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Edinburgh airport seems to exist not as an airport but as a means to get money out of passengers while making life as uncomfortable as possible for them. The duty free encorages airside shopping to a ridiculous extent. On our flight a passenger had not only cabin baggage but a duty free package that was too big for the lockers. But the worst was to come on our return. Ok, Jet2 does not pay for hook ups but did we really need to paddle along a flooded alleyway? There were no trolleys in the baggage hall. Surely the money spent in dutyfree could be used to buy more trolleys and get them in the right place. There were no taxis. Apparently the concession has been given to one taxi company only and they do not have enough cabs to service the airport. Others have to go away empty.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No help from staff and bad attitudes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A nightmare airport to fly out from and return to! As we arrived early to check in (as recommended for security checks) we decided to have something to eat and a glass of wine. We approached the bar/restaurant where there were people having a drink, to be told it was about to close, strange as it was early evening, staff were surly and very unhelpful. We were told we would have to wait until we were in the departure lounge before we would be able to have a bite to eat with a drink, this of course was impossible as were early and hadn't got our boarding passes to go through security. No help from staff and bad attitudes do not make it a pleasant experience, I will be complaining directly with the management but thought I should share this review with other potential flyers!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"had absolutely no trouble"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | While Edinburgh isn't the greatest airport in the world it certainly isn't the worst. We flew out to Munich on 25 August and back from London City on 7 September and had absolutely no trouble on either occasion. I am aware that baggage can be an issue but it's unfair to blame the airport for incompetence by the handling companies contracted by the airlines. When we arrived from London our bags were on the belt within 15 minutes which was the best performance of the four airports we visited during our trip. On the other hand when we got on to the aircraft to fly to Munich we were sitting directly above the forward hold door and we could clearly see that the baggage handlers only took the offloaded bags away after they had loaded all our bags and the aircraft was on the point of pushback, some 45 minutes after it landed. If anybody was on flight EW1712 from Munich to Edinburgh on 25 August and wondered why the bags took so long, that is the reason and it's not the fault of the airport management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"should expect a lengthy delay"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I frequently fly to and from Edinburgh airport. Leaving from the airport is good. Decent shops and eating places. Coming into Edinburgh is terrible. If you get put on a bus you can get held there for a while. Once you get to passport control you should expect a lengthy delay. The electronic system simply does not work. You have to wait in the queue for an overworked attendant to tell you which gate to go. The attendant busy trying to direct people while gates go unused. You then get redirected to a passport control officer who gets you through in a few seconds
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"should be more immigration officers"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Landed at Edinburgh airport at 07.10 (40mins early) on a UA flight from Newark. 20 mins later we docked. As an EU resident I was through immigration very quickly but non EU residents had a 1hr+ wait. Two flights from Newark and Chicago shared one baggage reclaim line so EU passengers had to wait up to 1.5 hrs to reclaim baggage. The belt was so full of luggage of passengers still going through immigration that loaders could not put on more bags. The same bags came round for more than an hour and I had to wait for 1hr 10 mins for my bag. I was not nearly last. Why can Edinburgh airport not recognise that when 2 international flights arrived at the same time there should be more immigration officers on duty, those flights should not share one baggage reclaim. I often pick up passengers off this flight and have had to wait more than 2 hrs at times after the flight touches down.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst has got to be the baggage claim"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We have travelled extensively and this has got to be the worst airport in the world. Departure: absolute chaos checking your own bag in, dreadful service. Arrival: the slowest in the world, getting off the plane was normal but the bus journey from the plane to the terminal took ages could have walked quicker. The security was tedious and took forever. The worst has got to be the baggage claim, it took an eternity. Our plane landed at 2.30pm, we were still in the airport at 4pm. Had parked in the nearest car park but the queue to get out the car park was horrendous and as a result we had to pay extra at the barrier to get out of the airport through no fault of our own. And to add insult to injury they managed to loose the baby stroller. I will never travel through Edinburgh airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no communication from them"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My flight from Edinburgh was late. The staff at the gate didn't bother tell us it was late. They kept chatting and laughing with each other and there was no communication from them. One of the staff just sat on a seat and almost fell asleep. The other bad thing about this airport is how expensive everything is. Almost 5 pounds for a coffee and a muffin!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no