Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 366 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Absolutely appalling"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | My 17 year old girlfriend flew from Edinburgh to Amsterdam today, she has a prosthetic and thus always informs the border patrol about the metal in her leg and that the sensor will go off. Needless to say it went off and the man rudely pulled her aside and started patting her down. All the while being very rude and taking away all toiletries that were allowed to be taken on the flight, and things she medically needed for her leg. Received a call afterwards from her in a haze of panic and shock of what just happened. Will never let her fly to or from Edinburgh again, would definitely not recommend! Absolutely appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff all very pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fast, easy access at busy travel times. The security looked daunting on approach but passed through quickly and staff all very pleasant. There is also just the right amount of facilities waiting on the other side.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent ground staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Landed 00.10 got off plane due to some incompetent ground staff at 00.50, apparently bus had forgot to pick up ground staff and had to go back for it. Got through even worse security at 01.20, 1 hour 10 mins from plane landing. All auto passport scanners closed and only 3 border staff taking an age to check passports. Every time arrive at Edinburgh airport there are problems, which no other airport seems to have.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Edinburgh is barely coping"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh Airport is not currently fit to deal with the number of passengers and routes it serves. This is apparent from the crowded seating areas and cafes/restaurants where people are forced to go to simply to sit down. There is also a lack of toilet facilities and almost always a long queue to use them. One positive is that I have never been substantially held up by security here even when departing during the morning rush. We were however delayed both on departure to and arrival from Abu Dhabi. During departure the aircraft was boarded and ready for pushback when the captain announced that we would be delayed around 45 minutes due to ATC clearance, given that we were already about 15 mins late due to boarding this is not ideal and we were worried we would not make our connection in Abu Dhabi onwards to Sydney. On the return journey we landed at around 6.40am, much earlier than our scheduled 7.20am arrival, I'm sure all passengers were grateful for this, especially those who had been travelling for 24+ hours from Australia, clearly all passengers were preparing to disembark when the captain announced that unfortunately we would not be able to get off the plane yet as there was not a stand available for us and we would have to wait on the taxiway for 10 minutes. Then it was announced the wait would be 40 minutes. Everyone on the plane looked miserable at this, most people just want to get off after so long being stuck in planes but no. Eventually we got moving and parked at the stand, once again people were gathering their things and finally excited to be getting off the plane, prematurely, next thing the captain announces that we have to wait another 10 mins as there are no ground crew available to deal with the aircraft as Edinburgh is very busy. So we wait again until the next delay is announced, this time it's due to departing passengers in the holding area with whom we can't mix as arrivals. After an age stuck on the plane and now actually past our scheduled arrival time we were allowed to disembark and proceed to a busy and crowded passport control hall then to baggage reclaim which to its credit was reasonably quick but also very crowded and warm. It seems like any slight change to schedule sends this airport into chaos as there are not enough ground crew, tow trucks and stands available to deal with the number of passengers and aircraft arriving, Edinburgh is barely coping and is not equipped to deal with problems or changes which obviously may arise in any airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Chaotic arrivals experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaotic arrivals experience. 30 mins on plane waiting for bus. 15 mins on bus at arrivals waiting to be let out onto apron. Then queued outside and inside for 45 mins to 1 hr to get through passport control. Come on Edinburgh. You are having a laugh - all the way to the bank!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"poor management, struggling infrastructure"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Without repeating all the previous woes of this disgrace of an airport, we experienced another shining example of poor management and struggling infrastructure 2 weeks ago. Our Easyjet flight was delayed by several hours so we (among a couple of hundred other people) were scrabbling to re-book other flights to get us out. However, the wifi froze and refused to work. Easyjet staff trying to help us also had the same problem. At the one time you desperately need an internet connection and the airport's system can't cope! Eventually got out 5 hours late, then on return got stuck in traffic trying to leave the airport. Even without events like the Highland Show, the airport road layout is gridlocked more and more these days, and with 2 new hotels being built beside the terminal then this can only get worse, but airport management just blindly push for more flights and passengers when the existing infrastructure can't cope with what they've got. As a proud Scot, I'm ashamed to have this farce as our 'Gateway to Scotland'. Wake up.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"unashamed exploitation of customers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cons: 1) Only one currency exchange (International Currency Exchange) with usurious rates: a 39% difference between buying and selling on pounds to euros. I expect to pay a little extra at the airport for convenience, but this is unashamed exploitation of customers with few alternatives. 2) Interior of airport is plain 3) Signage for where to go for departures in main check in area could be more clear Pros: 1) Security check was rapid 2) Easy to get to airport via public transportation (tram or bus) 3) Broad selection of shops.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1/10

"Shamefully inept boarding"

(France)

Not Verified | Shamefully inept boarding on Transavia at Edinburgh airport today. We arrived (with a child) two and a half hours ahead of time, stood in a queue for one hour and a half while two service staff, one of whose computers was not working properly, attempted to take the luggage of the entire plane. No excuses, no explanations given, and some consternation when I complained. Then woefully slow at security with the result that my wife and child (I was not travelling) had to run to make it to boarding on time - and of course the take-off was late. In 50 years of air travel I have rarely seen an airport make such a hash of a simple procedure. As a native of Edinburgh I am ashamed of the city's dismal showing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never have hold luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | On arriving from Gatwick it took 10 mins to get to the baggage reclaim. This took you upstairs through the departure lounge and then back down to the reclaim area. This in itself could be avoided with better passenger routing. I imagine it would be very difficult for infirm people or those with small children. Once in baggage reclaim we had to wait another 40 minutes for our bags to appear. The flight following us had their bags discharged first. No explanation from Menzies as to why and to be honest, you could tell that they just did not care about the customer. Having seen the cases being offloaded before we disembarked the aircraft, this is in my, and other irate travellers opinion, completely unacceptable. The whole set up needs a serious review and not just in terms of making it easy for the staff but to also recognise that they are there to service a customer. I would complain to Menzies but feel I would be wasting my time. My tip is if you can get away with it, never have hold luggage when travelling to Edinburgh unless you are prepared for a long, long wait to retrieve it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Invasive body searches"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Invasive body searches! I stayed a few nights in Edinburgh to conclude my Land's End to John O'Groats tour. Edinburgh is a simply fantastic city but the easily caught tram to the airport lulled me into a false sense of security! Got checked-in OK and dropped off my baggage. Soon after went upstairs to the departure's area. Some epically long queues to get through security. Stepped through the metal-scanner and a 'beep' was registered. Was told rather rather impolitely to go and stand in some other area subject to some further examinations. Various other would-be passengers were called forward and walked through some more advanced looking biometric scanner and told to hold their arms akimbo. All the while, other passengers' scans were visible on some monitor. What privacy! I failed this particular scan was subject to a rather invasive 'pat down' from a male member of staff. In any event, nothing whatsoever was found! Other airports in mainland Europe are not so heavy-handed and disrespectful. Will never fly through Edinburgh again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no