Airline of the Year  

Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 317 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Edinburgh Airport is an absolute nightmare. Ryanair flight due to arrive from Palma at 2.20pm. Touched down 2.30pm. No stand for the aircraft to taxi to. 30 minute wait on the plane. Ferried onto buses, 15 minute bus journey and wait to get off 15 mins. Queue to get into passport control 45 minutes. Queue to get through passport control 45 minutes. Treated like cattle. No organisation whatsoever. Everyone of the unmanned epassport booths was out of service. What on earth is that all about? This was a completely de-humanising experience and I am certain you will already be losing thousands of Edinburgh customers like myself. Does anybody out there give a hoot.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Pleasantly surprised! Its about 10 years since I used Edinburgh, and I fond it on a par with Gatwick and much improved. The notice boards showed the gates at the time they said they would. The whole place was very clean, including the loos. Seating was adequate and comfortable. There were plenty of places to eat airside. I was really impressed with security. My last memory of Edinburgh was fraught, with long lines waiting to get through. Not so here. The whole experience took only about 15 minutes. Our boarding experience with American Airlines was efficient and stress free
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"What an abysmal airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | What an abysmal airport. Overcapacitized and underresourced. If you use it expect to queue endlessly. Staff are unsmiling (no wonder) and unhelpful. To call it an international airport is a joke. Even the buses taking passengers to and from aircraft stances have to queue. Our bus (full) was 6th. That was after the taxiing aircraft we arrived on had to queue for a stance. I'll be avoiding this in future
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"shocking advert for overseas visitors"

(United Kingdom)

We were flying to Shetland from Edinburgh with Flybe BE 6993 on Saturday 10th June. We arrived at the airport one hour and half before the flight and were met with huge queues as soon as we got through the main entrance. We joined the correct check in queue for our flight and stood for at least 20 minutes with no movement from the front of the queue at all. Eventually one of the passengers beside us - who had paid for speedy boarding - went to the desk to enquire about the lack of progress for checking in. She was told that all the luggage belts had ceased to function. Until this point we had been given no information what so ever as to the problem. We were directed to the outsize baggage area along with what appeared to be the rest of the passengers in the airport. It was a complete shambles and a miracle our bags were actually loaded onto our flight. The flight was delayed by an hour until all the passengers and their luggage managed to make it to the plane. This is not the first time we have experienced problems at Edinburgh airport. If they want to be called an International airport they need to be their act together. Shocking advert for overseas visitors arriving in the capital for a holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely shocking"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolutely shocking from the delays getting into the airport - tailbacks of taxis at 6am to entering the airport and the longest security check ever! It didn't use to be like this in Edinburgh airport - complete shambles with staff insisting that liquids have to be put in their sized clear bag rather than what was fine 2 days ago in Heathrow - this ultra deep checking that takes place in Edinburgh is way more thorough than any other UK airport and unnecessarily causes huge delays - time to review your processes as this will be a big deterrent to business and holiday travellers alike!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"new passport control like a warehouse"

(United Kingdom)

No problem with security on departure at Edinburgh Airport. Shortage of seating at east wing of departure lounge. Awful return if you are travelling back on international flight. New passport control area is like a warehouse with huge snaking queue. E passport equipment barriered off as not in use. Staff actually friendly but totally understaffed leading to slow progress. But never mind you still get through before your luggage. Yet again a damaged suitcase. Must have been about an hour from landing to getting a taxi. Latest route to getting a taxi is mad having to walk through drop off area. There must be a more direct route than having to walk through the passengers being dropped off, or this this the way to slow down drop off vehicles so that they have to pay surcharge for over 5 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a complete disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

You can always rely on Edinburgh Airport to spoil your holiday experience. As has been well documented by previous posters the security area is a complete shambles with queues often stretching back to the entrance turnstiles. There are 6 lanes but it is very rare to witness more than 3 open which accounts for the queues. It is a complete disgrace that Scotland's capital city airport should be as bad as this. Things do not improve on returning from your trip. The airport does not have enough airbridges so usually you are reliant on stairs being brought to the aircraft and buses the take you to the terminal. All this adds to the time taken to get out of the airport. The time taken for luggage to arrive in the belts is woeful (usually about 30 minutes). Border Force do not have enough staff on duty and it is very common to see queues stretching out of the passport area onto the apron if more than one flight arrives at the same time. A 20-30 minute wait is not unusual at busy times. I can think of few positives to say about this sad excuse for an airport. The more you travel and experience some truly superb airports in other countries the more you realise just how poor Edinburgh is. Don't bother complaining you will get a bland pre-prepared reply.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"border control queue all the way back to the apron"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Landed on time at Edinburgh Airport but was kept waiting 30 minutes for buses to come and transport us to international arrivals. Border control queue tailed all the way back to the apron. The excuse for the buses not being available was they had transported a domestic flight to international arrivals by mistake and the passengers did not have the correct documentation to enter - unbelievable. I don't normally complain but the last time we arrived at Edinburgh from abroad the staff could not get the entrance door to Border Control open. They refused to let us in by another door and kept us waiting until an engineer came. He couldn't open the door so they eventually let us in through the very door they said we could not go through. I picked up my case it had been badly damaged. I know I should have complained but at 1:00 am. and with all the waiting I was past caring.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"huge shopping mall with inadequate signage"

(United Kingdom)

Dreadful airport. I normally use Glasgow out of Scotland and it is miles better. Edinburgh Airport serving the Capital city is a disgrace. A huge shopping mall with inadequate signage and only a tiny part of the airport devoted to Security. Utterly shambolic security procedures with trays flying around, too few staff and long queues. On arrival Border Agency not much better, 3 E gates working with everyone herded to them and then 4 other gates for non chip passports, fewer people than those with chipped passports but staff didn't seem to have the gumption to let travellers use the best available gates. Then the farce of getting a taxi, 28 minutes in a queue when we were told to go across to the pre booked desk only to be told by a surly youth to get to the back of the line. So back across to the black cabs queu and finally secured a lift to city centre. Farcical when compared to almost any other airport in the world. Does nobody on the City Council ever travel?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Totally amazed at the absolute shambles last night arriving into Edinburgh from Malaga. Ryanair flight on time and bussed to terminal, only to find that we could not get in to the building because the UK border force area was full of passengers from other flights. Not sure how many there were but at least 3 maybe be even 4. There were 4 staff on the desks and 4 staff managing the queue. One at the entrance encouraging people to use the epassport service. It was difficult to know if this was any quicker. We were travelling with a 17 year old and the sign at the entrance said that anyone over 12 travelling with an adult could use the epassport however the border force staff member advised us that he had to be over 18 so we had to join the main queue. People arriving from other countries had 2 staff dealing with them despite their number being less than about 10. There were only two other staff manning the desks and they also had to deal with people who had failed to get through the epassport scanners. Total shambles the only good thing was that parents travelling with young children who were crying and fractious were allowed to 'skip' the queue. This is supposed to be the busiest airport in Scotland so come on this is not good enough. Flights are scheduled so it's not as if we just all turned up at once. On exit I noticed that there were still other flights to land and I noticed, an unheard of phenonimum, where the carousels had suitcases going round and no one was there to pick up the luggage. This is totally unacceptable and we were nearly three quarters of an hour getting through the queue. Border agency are letting the airport down. Check your smiley face machine I am sure you had lots of negative comments on there around this time. The airport is currently looking to expand their take off and landing slots to allow more flights - not much point in that when they can't cope with what is coming through at the moment. I use Edinburgh airport frequently but this is the longest I have had to wait to get my passport checked,
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no