Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 359 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"everybody or nobody"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Standing in line and going through security in various airports for me is fine, it is a good thing for our safety. But the first elderly lady we met, telling us what to do was a disgrace. Very nasty and talked to us in a very aggressive manner. Everyone should be checked in the same matter. Random checks on shoes is pointless, everybody or nobody. Passengers should be treated and talked to nicely by the staff. Mostly the staff were nice, it has to be said.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"What a disaster Edinburgh is"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | As an Edinburgh resident and a regular traveller to other airports worldwide, I am utterly embarrassed by the dismal experience of travelling out of or into Edinburgh. Very busy and congested for departures, security often shambolic with queues down the stairs, often needing to take a bus to departing aircraft. Arrival today was even worse - long wait for crowded bus to go from aircraft to terminal, with several passengers struggling to stand for the length of time. International arrivals area was a dismal hall, worse than many 3rd world countries. Long queue for the toilets in the baggage hall, down a nasty corridor with duck tape holding the flooring in place. Only 3 ladies' cubicles, 1 of them blocked and out of service, and another wouldn't flush. Had to apologise to many other passengers that this is not typical of Scotland. Then the taxi area is a shambles, poorly signed and people walking in circles. I would rather take the train to travel from Glasgow in future. What a disaster Edinburgh is.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage is terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | What a terrible airport! Arrived to pick up my brother and dropped my mother off at the front of the terminal because she can't walk too far. Big mistake. £1 drop-off fee. Then found parking - miraculous I found it as signage is terrible. Big mistake. £9.30 for less than an hour. Horrible airport. Disorganised, poor directions, exorbitant charges. Poxy. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"amazed and shocked"

(Canada)

Unverified | I have written to Edinburgh Airport through their websites' comment section and received no response, I'll review it here. ("We want to hear from you") No you don't really; as you know what we all have to say about such a poorly run facility. I landed there Sept. 11th on an Air Canada rouge flight overnight from Toronto, at 06:40 am. We were then kept on the plane for a further 40 minutes, as "a bigger plane had taken our spot". (You hadn't expected two planes?) Then, we deplaned down steps onto the wet runway, just as it was just getting light; and it's cold in early morning in Scotland in September. We then were walked along the tarmac, waited at a red light in groups to cross a ring road to stand by a wall, still outdoors, under an inadequate glass roof with open walls. There were people in shirt sleeves, newborn babies, and elderly people. We then were made to wait there, outside, for a further 30 or so minutes. When the only person (me) to step out of line after 15 minutes to ask why we were outside; we were told it was because "There's no room inside the customs hall". Again: you weren't expecting two or more planes? We then were allowed into said customs hall, a sort of unfinished barrack like space; it took nearly another hour to get to an agent. I told him I had lost the will to live after all that, and he didn't even ask why. I said that it was a poor way to welcome people to such a lovely country, and he didn't look at me. My friend, who had checked the landing time, then driven over to collect me; had to pay 23.50 pounds for parking, as it took over two hours till we got processed and claimed our luggage. I lived in Scotland many years, and I know: Edinburgh: you could do better. I am still amazed and shocked at having to wait outdoors on a cold morning. Thank God it wasn't pouring rain or snowing. I will never fly through Edinburgh airport ever again, and would encourage others not to either.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hopeless experience time after time"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Utter passport shambles as so often the case in Edinburgh. Totally unable to respond to flights arriving close to each other. Only 3 out of 5 electronic gates working and only 3 out of 8 or so manned gates. Just a hopeless experience time after time. Continues the downhill slide.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Experience was unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived from Beziers. On disembarking held in outside corridor/pen for 20 minutes. Then chaos at passport control and switched to electronic passport queue. This failed and was returned to main queue. 45 minute wait. On leaving terminal tried to find signage for mid term car park. Difficult to find in the dark. Helped by Avis Car Hire Representative who tried to find route on computer. Eventually on retracing steps to terminal found small direction sign off the main walkway. Limited lighting then to carpark. Exit signs from car park onto main roads leaving airport very poor and lighting should be improved. Experience was unacceptable and a bad advert for foreign visitors. It looks like Edinburgh Airport is now stretched to capacity. Please let us have an improvement. Even if staff could explain why delays are occurring adopt a friendly and helpful attitude would improve experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"have noticed a rapid downturn in performance"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Baggage handling seems to be a problem here at the moment. Flew into Edinburgh on 6th Oct on time around midnight. Had to wait on plane for a short time (about 15 minutes) whilst buses were sent to collect us. Eventually arrived in terminal and hoping to see baggage on carousel. Here's when the fun began, we were treated to a 90+ minute delay! Two Swissport female staff in attendance giving no apologies or reasons for delay to waiting passengers. When pointed out by passengers that there were young children and disabled passengers waiting for over an hour, one of the staff pointed out that they too had been here over an hour. Pardon me, but is that not their job? Sorry to put you out dear, but already I could see she was in the wrong job! Eventually, 30 minutes or so later, the same female staff member told the enquiring passengers to 'shut up' and walked away. I was amazed at the patience of the passengers and the calmness in which they approached the staff. Eventually a 'supervisor' and what I can only describe as a 'burly minder' came out to listen to the passengers after the baggage was eventually loaded onto the carousel. These 2 didn't listen, but spoke over everyone. In fairness, the member of staff who had shouted at the passengers did own up and was told by the supervisor to leave the area and situation. I gave up almost immediately trying to have a conversation with either of the staff as it was quite obvious they had no intention of listening to anybody. The male 'minder' blamed the situation on the airline turning out all the lights on the plane. I wonder if the airline will concur? Was that the same situation the previous night that I have read about? I'm sure the airline will be interested in hearing Swissport's explanation if not true. We've used Edinburgh airport many times over the last few years but have noticed a rapid downturn in performance. If reading current feedback on performance, it appears many customers are of the same opinion. Our next plane journey will certainly not be automatically from Edinburgh I can 100% guarantee. Whilst I am aware Edinburgh Airport do not employ baggage handlers directly, this situation will be reflected on the airport as a whole.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"no official communication or apology"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Flight arrived on time at 12.55pm. Through passport control and in baggage area by 00.10. Baggage arrived about 50+ minutes later. Unacceptable - no official communication or apology of any sort. Some baggage staff appeared after about 30 mins but one said "nothing to do with us - don't ask". Obvious staff shortages. Pity those waiting to pick people up. Avoid Edinburgh airport!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is completely over stretched"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was travelling inbound YYZ/EDI on AC1904 arriving 30 Sep. The aircraft landed slightly ahead of schedule at 06:32 and disembarkation commenced shortly after that, so far so good! During the walk along the corridor from the aircraft at Gate 3A to Border Control, doors on the corridor were purposely closed and locked by a ground staff member to enable an outbound easyJet flight from EDI/BFS to board. Inbound passengers were held in this locked corridor which I can describe as a ‘pen’ for around 20 minutes. I noticed that the easyJet flight was scheduled to depart at 07:00. From monitoring what goes on, Gate 3A appears to be the routine gate for Air Canada rouge at EDI. If the easyJet flight at 07:00 to BFS routinely uses a nearby outbound gate, this conflict of outbound passengers against inbound passengers will be a regular occurrence rather than a one off. (I am aware that outbound domestic passengers cannot mix with inbound international passengers). Finally, around 06:55 the corridor doors were opened and passengers were able to proceed to Border Control. The ground staff member never offered any apology for the delay and inconvenience, mumbling that it was an airport authority matter, she was correct with this statement. This is a terrible experience for inbound visitors to Scotland’s capital airport, in fact an awful welcome! From looking at the other reports, it’s pretty obvious what’s not going on at EDI. The airport is completely over stretched. Like some other reporters here, I should complain to Edinburgh airport management but what’s the point, the airlines have more clout with the airport than the passengers. For me as an Edinburgh resident I might look at using GLA or even DND as alternatives until some of these systemic failures are sorted out!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This was not an enjoyable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have read many complaints about this airport and as far as I am concerned they are all justified. Outbound - 1) Baggage check-in is terrible. 2) Security is a pain. The attitude of the staff is rude and uncaring. Ok security is for our benefit but sometimes when you are trying to find the bin with your stuff exposed for all to see and possibly steal - wallet, passport, mobile, laptop etc. you realise that no one cares about the security of your property. Inbound - 3) A long walk in the rain from the plane then a long queue at passport control. 4) Baggage control – Belt 1 had got stuck with over 40 cases heaped up behind the barrier. A Swiss Air personnel arrived after a long wait and was very helpful but explained that EasyJet used Menzies personnel and only they had the codes to get the belt moving (after they had fixed the pile up of cases) and there was, apparently, only one Menzies personnel on duty and Swiss Air had sent out a search party to try and find him. Another long wait then the belt started moving - no Menzies personnel appeared! 5) Once through customs we used the airport phone to contact our car park and then proceeded to walk to our pick-up point. There was no access through the main downstairs concourse of the airport (it was all locked up) and we had to go outside in the pouring rain and walk the length of the airport towards the tram section and then on to our pickup point where we had to wait in the rain for our mini bus to collect us. This was not an enjoyable experience. We arrived at Edinburgh about 11.30pm, exhausted from our travels, and were left waiting for about an hour to get our bags. I totally blame the Airport Management for this situation as this is not the first time this has happened. I realise that the passenger numbers have increased significantly over the past couple of years but the management have a duty to its passengers to increase staff accordingly to cope – not to just bury their heads in the sand while waving two fingers at us.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no