Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th July 2015

Had been expecting problems after reading the reviews about check-in, and security, but found the process to be very smooth and fast. Good choice of food inside and airport (including the toilets) was clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit26-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
10/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (France) 23rd July 2015

Very impressed with the 'low cost carrier' bag drop where you tag your own bag. Very fast throughput, with helpful staff both at the ticket machines and the counter drop area. Would be happy to see this being used elsewhere! The security system was faster and more efficient than I've seen elsewhere, at least four people could offload their hand baggage at once and then once through the security control, move it over to an area where they could 'reassemble' their bags/electrical items/belts/shoes/liquids etc without hindering others waiting for their baggage to clear the scan. A most positive experience. Waiting/shopping/eating area airside has plenty of natural air, space and seats. Far more pleasant than I had anticipated.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit23-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 21st July 2015

Standard slipped in the space of 3 months. Huge queues for security even using the fastTrack facility, lazy ground staff with no sense of urgency. Often waiting at a gate or stand for 10 minutes for the ground staff to arrive. Quote a pilot "Well we've found our correct stand but looks like no one else has". Finally the traffic system to allow private hire taxis into the airport is totally flawed. Regularly wait 10/15 minute to get access into the drop off area which the charge the taxi drivers a huge premium to use! Changes need to be made!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit21-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
9/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th July 2015

Edinburgh Airport is a good airport. The arrival process on a domestic flight is as simple as can be and you are out within 10 mins of arriving. However they require more taxis as we had to wait 30 mins for a Taxi when we arrived. Departing, we didn't have bags so went straight through but the airport security was really quick for the morning rush. Shops are great there and you can also have a good view of the aircraft and the runway. Boarding began 50 mins before for the flight to Stansted and started to board within 10 mins. This meant we were airborne early and could arrive 40 mins early into London. The airport is clean and I couldn't recommend this airport anymore.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit16-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th July 2015

What has happened to Edinburgh airport? We had a shambolic experience going through the security checks it is a nightmare which is stressful when going on holiday. On arriving back the delays getting you off the planes and buses due to the queuing at passport control, are out of order. This will cost the airport custom as we are regular users, we will be monitoring the situation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit15-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 15th July 2015

The parking drop off and pick up signs are incredibly confusing. It is almost impossible to work out which signs to follow for drop off and pick up. And why charge for it? Many airports give you 15 minutes free in short stay. The fee is very offputting for people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit15-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th July 2015

What has happened to Edinburgh Airport check in procedure? Not just one queue but 3 queues to check in? People in a bad mood before going on holiday. Horrible experience. Even the staff seemed confused at the level of pandemonium. Who's idea was this fiasco? I have always loved this airport as it has alwasy been a seemless process but will never fly from Edinburgh again. We never had time to try any of the facilities as it took us over an hour to get through passport control!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit08-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th July 2015

Experience of this airport was shambolic to say least, when entering the terminal you are met by queues with no apparent direction from the staff, at this point you think it will get better, but then when you get to security it gets even worse. Staff are unhelpful and abrupt, seeming to forget why they are there, the security scanning is chaotic, with security staff holding up bags asking who belongs to this bag, if the airport wants to expand it will have to get it's act together. On the return we landed slightly early but could not get slot to disembark so had to wait 20 minutes with another 4 planes behind us, when we got to baggage conveyor there was baggage from 2 flights on at same time. I have travelled from Edinburgh before but after this experience I doubt I would use it again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit08-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th July 2015

An entirely unpleasant experience all round arriving from London City. Our taxi time on landing took a very long time, which was then compounded by boarding a bus and make a long and crammed journey to the terminal. Had hoped to make up for lost time by grabbing a taxi, but the queue meant the bus was a better option. On departure, whilst the security was not exactly top class prior to the changes made over the past year, it has now become comfortably the worst I've experienced in the past ten years. Only two lanes were open despite a long queue. Those lanes which were open were a complete shambles - the system simply doesn't seem to work. To make a bad situation worse, as others have commented, the staff are extremely abrupt (possibly they are frustrated with the shortcomings of the system they work with, but who really cares?) to the point of being rude. They leave a sour taste and leave an awful final impression of the city/country. I had intended to make a purchase and perhaps buy a sandwich, but the time spent going through security put paid to that. The train or flying into Glasgow certainly seem more attractive options in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit07-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th July 2015

I can only say that going through security is shambolic, short staffing does not help. Not happy at being put through this stress whilst at the start of a holiday. Thank goodness for the Aspire Lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit05-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no