Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 374 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"dark ages have returned"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Utter shambles. Arrived on time, then left waiting on a flight of stairs for about 15 minutes, then another 40 in the Passport Control hall. There must have been about 1000 people in line, and only 4 desks opened on a Saturday afternoon. What kind of message does this send to people arriving here? There were 3 women in blue coats standing doing nothing at all. Get rid of them and get staff on the desks to clear the queues. Completely unacceptable. What happened to the e-Passport bit they used to have? Dark ages have returned.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"queue quickly became very long"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived on Jet2 flight from Venice. Walked into terminal building but then had to carry bags up 3 flights of stairs plus another 1 flight to new border control area. We managed although my husband had to carry my 11 year old nephew’s bag. But there were lots of families and elderly people struggling. Luckily we were at the the front of the queue and passed through passport control fairly quickly. But there were only 3 border control people on duty and the queue quickly became very long. E gates notably absent. My husband travels every week via this airport and is always delayed by the ground staff forgetting to turn up or not open doors. The airport’s expansion should be good for Edinburgh but not when the customer experience is not being considered. Comparing this airport to ones we have travelled through around the world, the set up is emarassing and does not cater for less mobile pasengers. The only positive is that the security hall is normally fairly efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I hate travelling from this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolutely disgusted once again with how poorly Edinburgh Airport handle the luggage. We arrived at 15.10 and the cases are only now being dispatched onto the belt at 16.05. Other flights did arrive close to us but their bags were given priority even though we landed 10 to 20 minutes before the. Edinburgh Airport has no consideration to their customers. Only how much money they make. It's always the same and I hate travelling from this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"whole experience left a bad taste"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at Edinburgh airport at 18:50 local time. Aircraft stopped with the captain saying that a stand was not available. 5 min later taxied to a stand at the edge of the apron only for the captain to announce that no ground crew were available at allow us to disembark. Another 10 min passed until two people appeared outside. Eventually get off aircraft to awaiting buses and taken to terminal. Despite there being 4 or 5 flights having arrived (going by the flight notices at the baggage conveyors), getting through passport control went without any dramas with the electronic self checking booths working well. The main reason for feeling compelled to right this review was that we waited nigh on an hour for our bags at the conveyor, I mean the whole flight. There was no-one available in the baggage hall to speak to about the waiting time. Eventually a person from the gound crew company came into the hall and was pounced on by very irate passengers. This person disappeared and to be fair the bags appeared on the conveyor within 10 mins. The question is why the airport at the capital city of Scotland had no ground crew waiting for the plane on its arrival and why they made such a mess of getting the bags to the passengers. The whole experience left a bad taste and an effort will be made in future to avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"more like a cattle stock area"

(United States)

Not Verified | First, all the negatives already said about this airport, dare I call it that, are true. It is more like a cattle stock area than a true airport. The ground support staff, we flew British Airways, appeared to go out of their way to be rude and unhelpful, and the TSA crew must have gone to the same school. We were flying from EDI to LHR (Heathrow) to connect with another British Airways flight, and they would not transfer the baggage! Some silly excuse that we should have bough the tickets all at the same time at EDI. Who ever heard of such nonsense. Then, after almost 2 hours of 'getting ready' with their long lines nonsense, we are stuffed into a already packed standing room only hot and not air conditioned bus to go out to the aircraft! The driver bumped another bus and then wouldn't open the doors for safety concerns even amid a frantic and near panic state of some passengers to be able to get fresh air. Then came the fresh air, when we were allowed to walk across ramp and climb up the stairs with our carry on (drag along) luggage to the plane. Whoa Edinburgh! This is 2018, not 1950. Where have you been! Cows going to slaughter have a better expression than the passengers at Edinburgh Airport. British Airways, you are paying dearly to loose customers. Get on it. Your flight crew is excellent but your ground crew is useless. Best to see this place in the rear view mirror.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"continues to be an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh Airport continues to be an embarrassment. It has plainly expanded well beyond its ability to provide anything approaching an acceptable level of service. Queues at passport control were, once again, remarkable - when it was suggested that the position was, as ever, a complete and utter shambles, one of the "we're here to help" employees said "how are we supposed to cope when 4 planes come in at one time". Really? Is that not what an airport is supposed to do? Maybe by a little planning and forward thinking? Maybe paying for/employing more staff and training them to cope? Perhaps getting the automated passport control machines out of their dust sheets and operating for a change? Surely it's not rocket science. And once you negotiate your way through passport control the signposting is lacking. Compared to other airports visited in the last year (Split, Geneva and Palma), Edinburgh is spectacularly off the pace. That's before you get on to the increased noise levels being caused to 'local' communities by changed/lower flight paths to accommodate airlines and their fuel consumption, early morning noise pollution, disruption of previously quiet, residential communities and opaque consultation processes. Good job Mr Dewar - as long as you're ok.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"designed to rip you off"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Everything about this airport is designed to rip you off. Drop Off and pick up is charged, car park is exorbitant (£15 for 0-3 hours in multistorey) Exit security you’re forced to walk through a maze of selling, instead of straight through the doors to the departure lounge. Gate announcements are last minute to keep you spending money in lounge. Queues are massive for check-in, and terminal is massively overcrowded. The owners appear to me to be after money regardless of the experience of and inconvenience to the traveler. Toilets everywhere have sticky floors and are dirty and stink. General cleanliness in the terminal is very poor. Not unusual to wait very long for your bags. Very few seats except in restaurants. WiFi only 2 hours then pricey. Sometimes hard to connect. They’ve ruined a good airport, and the sooner they sell up and leave the better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassment to Edinburgh"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh Airport is a shambles and an embarrassment to Edinburgh. The new 'self check-in' facility clearly does not work. The queue on our arrival was out of the airport towards the tram. Nobody was available to inform you what was happening or where to go, with appropriate signage completely lacking. I realise, with the holiday season, it is a busy time for the airport. However, an increase in volume can and should be planned for. When we you eventually (after over 90 mins) arrived at the self check-ins there were no staff helping you with the check-in, a good number of the check-ins were not working and there were bags and irate passengers everywhere. Once we finally tagged our bags, airport staff at the bag conveyor belts were unhelpful at best, and verging towards rude. When we were informed that one of our bags was not tagged correctly, there was a dismissive 'need to do it again' with no instruction as to what was wrong and no support to right the problem. After being in the airport 2 1/4 hours prior to our flight, we had to literally sprint through the airport to catch our flight. I have been fortunate enough through business and leisure to visit many airports across the world. In short, the Edinburgh airport departure set-up is the worst I have ever experienced. Then, on arrival back to our 'International' airport, we arrived in the middle of the day (along with 2 other flights) to find not one trolley available in the arrivals hall. I am big and ugly enough to be able to carry our two large family bags - but for those elderly passengers or passengers with small children, it was a disgrace. And to make matters worse, our plane waited over half an hour for our luggage at the designated carousel to find that they had changed the carousel for our flight and informed nobody. Not one person I have talked to over the last two weeks has anything positive to say about Edinburgh airport. It is an embarrassment to our city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Absolutely appalling"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | My 17 year old girlfriend flew from Edinburgh to Amsterdam today, she has a prosthetic and thus always informs the border patrol about the metal in her leg and that the sensor will go off. Needless to say it went off and the man rudely pulled her aside and started patting her down. All the while being very rude and taking away all toiletries that were allowed to be taken on the flight, and things she medically needed for her leg. Received a call afterwards from her in a haze of panic and shock of what just happened. Will never let her fly to or from Edinburgh again, would definitely not recommend! Absolutely appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff all very pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fast, easy access at busy travel times. The security looked daunting on approach but passed through quickly and staff all very pleasant. There is also just the right amount of facilities waiting on the other side.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes