top100_2016  

Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 251 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"will not be using Edinburgh airport again"

(United Kingdom)

I have to start by saying that there were no issues when departing from Edinburgh airport (to Mallorca). Fairly efficient given the holiday season. Our problems arise on arrival. It was terible. We arrived an hour late. We had to sit on a bus and wait for a huge queue for passport control to reduce (with 2 young children). We could see alot of passengers waiting in a tunnel to get through. It seems that they had to stand in this tunnel as the doors were closed on them and they couldn't get through. Once off the bus we had to slowly make our way through passport control - I have got no idea why the airport didn't think to put on more staff. They must have known the number of flights / passengers that were due. Very badly managed indeed. It took us the same amount of time to travel from Mallorca to Edinburgh as it did to get off the plane and get our bags (our bags were actually waiting for us, it took that long to get though). We travelled from the Aberdeen area to Edinburgh but we will not be using Edinburgh airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"genuinely terrible passenger service"

(United Kingdom)

Farce piled on farce, I'm afraid. It's apparent that Edinburgh's ratio of flights to support and ground staff has been skewed for the worse. I have been through regularly and it is okay getting out - it's getting back in that's a problem. I was hit by a two hour delay because of a lack of ground staff while my wife and two young kids sat in the plane waiting for a bus, then on the bus waiting for the passport queue to clear. It took the same amount of time to get them out from Air side as their flight from Hamburg, which is simply ridiculous. It's not like the summer rush should be a surprise to them - it tends to happen at the same point every year (apologies for the sarcasm). Priorities all over the place I'm afraid to say - genuinely terrible passenger service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"claustrophobic feel"

(United Kingdom)

Edinburgh Aiport is heaving with lots of people in a space way to small for all of them. Check in area was beyond a joke. With a really low ceiling and to the claustrophobic feel of the place. And you know it's bad when the check in staff are complaining about there not being enough space. Security relatively quick but again all feels tight and I had to plead (even although I had paid for it) to get in via the Fast Track. However, they were feeding the regular queue in to the 'Fast Track' line. So all slowed down. Now at the gate where they have emphasised retail at the expense of everything else. Should EDI management be reading this (big if, too busy thinking about other ways to make money from you without costing them anything) they will point to record pax numbers (maybe their bonus is tied to that KPI?) with the belief that they are doing a great job. If you have a choice fly to another airport. Scotland is a great place but this airport is not a reflection of it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"place is an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Took 50 minutes to come to Edinburgh airport from London on a late BA flight. Took longer to get off plane and pick up luggage due to staff shortages. No one in the airport gives a damn. It's now 11pm. People with kids still waiting. This place is an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid using this airport"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived at Edinburgh airport in plenty of time. However, it all went down hill when we got to security . There where many different lines and everyone was confused on where to go. We were shouted at, told to change lines and move into a new one. When we got to the scanner we where shouted to empty our pockets etc - the way in which the staff were shouting made them seem angry and is not the best impression an airport should want to give to their customers. After getting through the scanners one of our bags had been rejected and had to get checked over. I much appreciate the fact that security is nessesary but when 25 people are all waiting on one guy to take one bag at a time and check them individualy not many people weere happy. To make matters worse we where now running out of time before our flight would begin boarding and we where still at security. Again the staff reminding us by shouting that the rejected bags could of been avoided if we had simply followed their instructions. Finally after a long time we got to our gate tired, angry and fed up. If you are choosing between Glasgow airport and Edinburgh, choose Glasgow until Edinburgh get their act together with more staff, better signage and better customer care. I will from now on always avoid using this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"clearly severely understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

I'm a disabled passenger, arrived from Alicante yesterday (11 July) with Jet2. Had to wait just under an hour to disembark. What an experience. Jet2 staff desperately phoning around for an Ambulift to get several disabled passengers off and turn the plane around. Ground crew clearly severely understaffed. This was one of the best airports for service anywhere and now its the worst. Management needs to get a grip.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"ground staff were seriously understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

Its a lovely airport with good facilities (although new duty free forced guided tour is a new negative) however and its a deal breaker. Immigration is a joke (and this is following enlargement), it took me 64 mins to get through it and there wasn't even any Etihad or Qatar wide bodies arriving either. Queued outside in busses 6 deep as the immigration hall was full is incredible and duty of care comes to mind. Departure, a better experience than the above but the ground staff were seriously understaffed and as a result we waiting for an hour for bags to come off the previous flight and ours to be loaded on. Also why is it £1.50 to get the tram to the park and ride 200m from the terminal but £5.50 to go those extra 200m?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"too many flights, no leadership"

(United Kingdom)

At Edinburgh airport passengers go down an elevator and queue at the base to get through to immigration hall. EU and non-EU passport holders in same queue and absolutely no one there to assist. Worst organisation I have seen at any airport anywhere - granted there were a large amount of people but there has to be some kind of organisation as it was a complete shambles and as for baggage control complete free for all with supervisor who had absolutely no idea what was going on - too many flights at the same time and no leadership.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an hour of shuffling through border control"

(United Kingdom)

Today I returned from Milan to Edinburgh - the flight time was less than the time to get from the aircraft to the tram stop. Passengers were stuck on buses in sweltering heat without any explanation. Then they were subjected to an hour of shuffling through the cattle pens of border control where the majority of the gates were out of order. It made me feel ashamed to see foreign visitors being greeted by this shambles.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"two hours is the minimum time"

(United Kingdom)

I flew out of Edinburgh on 4th July and came back to it on 7th. I have used dozens of airports and I do not think Edinburgh compares so unfavourably as some of the reviews here indicate. In my experience, nowadays, two hours is the minimum time I allow to get through any airport and on to a plane. For parking I allow an hour and a half after the flight is due to arrive. 45 minutes for security and 45 minutes wait for baggage are fairly typical in many airports as are long treks from car parks. On my current trip I booked valet parking and fast track through security. Both worked well. The one thing that should be improved is signposting and maps both in and outside of the airport building. Even cheap leaflets, paid for by advertising, would be a great help. The airport experience is much improved if we simply know where everything is and have an idea of how long it takes to walk to a particular point. Learn from Amsterdam.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes