Top 100 Airlines  

Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 221 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"all was well with no hassle"

(United Kingdom)

Security was fairly quiet so all was well with no hassle, never asked for any form of ID other than boarding pass produced at home or at any time in the airport. Given my bag went through security without a nod as to the liquids etc inside it seems a bit odd really. The whole place is well past its best and does not meet the needs of those who are flying through the place. Its an airport but all those shops why when there is very few seats in the general waiting area and the hike from the rental car drop off area beggers belief. That large wall poster proclaiming EDI as the face of Scotland is about right - a not so friendly place with awful weather.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"chaos rules supreme"

(United Kingdom)

Chaos still rules supreme at security in Edinburgh Airport. The slightest build-up in passenter traffic and the whole system grinds to a crawl. It must be a system design flaw as there are so many staff being thrown at it that it would be quicker for them to individually search each customer. We travelled on Sunday morning and took nearly 30 minutes from entering to leaving security. We have flown through London City, Gatwick, Heathrow, St Lucia, Moscow and Karaganda this past year and Edinburgh is by far the worst experience. Not fit for purpose I am afraid. I pity foreign tourists. Arrivals are more pleasant so it shows it must be possible to get something right.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an overall inefficient process"

(Germany)

Chaotic Security is a known problem at the airport. However, the airport does not yet recognize the need for change, so negative reviews need to continue. Other airports handle one passenger at a time at every line at security. Edinburgh handles 6-12 passengers at the same time and that leads to confusion and an overall inefficient process. The staff are annoyed with their system and bark the orders at the irritated passengers. Whoever designed this needs to have a look around and apply best practices. On the plus side: when arriving in Edinburgh the border control is straight forward and no problem, the bags arrived quickly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Its like a game of twister, being told to stand on "yellow number 5", huge trays which are really heavy. Why did Edinburgh Airport try to be clever and change the security system? Goodness knows how much it cost to change the system but its embarrassing for passengers and airport staff alike. Also, why should passengers be forced to walk "snake like" through the massive duty free shop, I dont want to buy anything why am I subjected to this? I dont want to be asked to sample various malt whiskies at 6.30 in the morning? Its ludicrous and Edinburgh airport are guilty of putting profit before people. Someone somewhere should hold their hands up and accept responsibility for this mess and return things to the way they were before. Finally, why should I have to presnt my boarding pass at WHSmiths when I'm buying a bag of sweets and a newspaper - its crazy. Every time I visit the airport I feel like a sheep.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total confusion"

(United Kingdom)

I would never normally place a negative review about Airport Security. They keep us safe and the job they do is pressurised and thankless. However, the departure gate security at Edinburgh is a joke. Total confusion where to stand, not enough space to prepare. You get just 1 bin space and when you need more than 1 bin there is simply no space in the overcrowded area. Then when the scanning is over you are expected to lift your trays taking them to another overcrowded cramped space to sort things out again. Terrible Design.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Poor from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Poor from start to finish. Security the usual shambles. My bags were selected to be searched - fair enough. I knew there were no liquids or sharp objects, but didn't mind having them scnanned and searched again. What I do object to is being barked at by security staff and called 'darlin' and to be told that I have left liquids in my bag, when clearly I hadn't, which was confirmed after the search. This was such a slow, chaotic process, with not enough space for people to move about freely to collect their belongings once they had been through security. Also, had to stand out on the tarmac for 20 minutes at 6am in the freezing cold waiting to board the plane. At the destination airport, things couldn't have been smoother. Edinburgh Airport could do with taking a look at it's European counterparts to get some tips on how to run an airport efficiently.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"standards started to fall"

(United Kingdom)

First off they felt quite welcoming, however as my trip advanced through security, standards started to fall. I was treated with thorough disrespect and not treated the way I would have liked. Instead of friendliness when I made a call in the wrong area, I was treated with raised voices. I have never been treated so badly in an airport and was shocked. Not even a please or thank you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very well sign posted"

(United Kingdom)

I was on a domestic flight so cannot talk about the border control experience. We landed quickly - no holding pattern malarkey - taxiing and disembarkation were also quick. The airport is very well sign posted so it was easy for me to find the way out to the Tram stop. The tram stop is also very well sign posted and buying a ticket was easy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"doesn't feel particularly International"

(United Kingdom)

Edinburgh "International" Airport doesn't feel particularly International at the moment. In a state of flux which seems to have been never ending. The departure was ok but arrival was something else, Our Dreamliner was docked at a jetty but then we came downstairs into the rain and had to walk around a building site to enter a larger temporary building with tin roof which was International arrivals. One carousel and no customs to be seen. Toilets were single cubicles marked male and female and also felt temporary. If I had been an arriving tourist rather than a returning local I'm not sure what the impression would be of Scotland's welcome to international visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"passengers are unsure what to do"

(United Kingdom)

I am really unhappy about the system organised for going through Security at Edinburgh Airport. I have been travelling in and out of the airport for over 40 years. In the past, going through Security was always efficient but polite and in no way threatening. In July 2015 the system where hand luggage is scanned was new and expected hiccups but was dismayed that by January 2016 nothing had improved. The main problem is that passengers are unsure what to do - where to stand, when to move forward to load their hand luggage on to the conveyor belt, which lane to go in to collect hand luggage, where to return the trays. The atmosphere is unfriendly. Orders are 'barked' by some of those on duty. My experience was unpleasant. As a proud Scot I am horrified about how visitors to our country will perceive this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes