Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 328 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Airport quite simply is a shambles"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Edinburgh Airport quite simply is a shambles. It is far too small for the passenger load. Signage is poor. Staff are unhelpful and queuing is the norm, particularly for security. Seating is in short supply. Clearly the airport has sublet most of the available space to retail outlets at the expense of public seating, particularly in the departures area. WiFi is free for 2 hours than available at a completely outrageous hourly rate. So if your flight is delayed, and you really need wifi, you have to pay a fortune to get access. Remember, international travellers very likely do not have network connectivity at the airport. When we went to the departure gate, boarding was through one lane. A second lane was opened and we were invited to use both queues. As we moved forward we were aggressively rebuked for queue jumping. We thought we were following instructions. There is never an excuse for rude and unhelpful conduct in a public service area towards customers. Clearly the staff at Edinburgh airport never got that email. Just not good enough.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not improved one bit"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Edinburgh airport continually fails to provide pre-booked Special Assistance, thereby causing extreme distress to ill and disabled travellers. This has not improved one bit, despite them recently being graded as the worst airport in the UK for special assistance. The staff and management should hang their heads in shame as they are making air travel such a humiliating ordeal for people who certainly don't need to face this sort of hassle every time they fly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extended wait and lack of civility"

(Austria)

Unverified | I was shocked at the treatment of non EU citizens at the Border Control at Edinburgh Airport. While EU citizens were moving steadily toward the control area (since all but one passport control desk were checking their passports), we who were not EU citizens stood without moving at all for minutes at a time. After 45 minutes, one large group was even allowed to jump the queue for unknown reasons. Once all the EU citizens were through, a few other desks were open to deal with us and our line actually starting moving. As usual, I was treated like some kind of criminal with endless questions about my 5 day visit to Edinburgh to see my daughter. The border control policeman was totally unpleasant. The combination of the extended wait and lack of civility were completely inexcusable and unprofessional. Non EU citizens deserve the same treatment as EU citizens.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"And this is a customer service industry?"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Greeted at the check-in lanes by a mouthy old man who was being offensive and shouting at everyone. The reason? Because people like ourselves had used the check-in machines and then, as instructed and following the signs, dared to attempt to enter the "baggage drop off lane". He started yelling at my wife so I stepped in to say there must be done mistake, at which point he started yelling at me too. At this point he started the whole "who do you think your taking to, I'm security, do you think your flying today". We went about our business. And this is a customer service industry?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"chaotic due to the poor design"

(Sweden)

Unverified | My only problem with this airport is the security clearance upon departure. It is chaotic due to the poor design. Up to 5 passengers line up, side-by-side, to the same belt for sending your belongings thru the x-ray scanner. Once your stuff is loaded into a bin, it is a free-for-all to the body scanner, after which you return to the other end of the (crowded) belt to collect your belongings. Note that it is a long distance between where you left your stuff (i.e. laptop and tablet) and where you collect it. It was rather uncomfortable not knowing where my items were for such a long time. It was my first experience with a security area like this. All other airports I have visited involve going thru the body scanner at roughly the same time you send your property thru, and the belt is much shorter.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it's always a horrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Once again an appalling arrival into Edinburgh. We landed at midnight with Easyjet (an hour late, itself a regular occurrence with this particular flight) and the plane was dispatched to the furthest point in the airport where we were all put onto buses for a full 10 minute drive to the terminal. We then waited for our bags. And waited. And waited. I asked a member of EDI airport staff escorting a passenger needing assistance and he said it is nothing to do with him. I asked a member of Easyjet staff and she said it was to do with lack of staff and walked away. My bag was one of the first onto the carousel - a full hour after we landed. I follow EDI Airport on twitter - where they boast on an hourly basis how great the are at getting people through security (and where there are numerous managers standing around doing not very much) - but they give no thought to the experience at the other end. I travel in and out of Edinburgh regularly and it's always a horrible experience in international arrivals - and especially if you have luggage.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"better before these so called improvements"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Never ever again will I use Edinburgh airport. When we used it to depart we had to do self luggage weighing and tagging and then our flight was leaving from one of the furthest away gates so we had to battle our way through crowds of people. Seats are few and far between. On arriving back, it was a total shambles, Flybe flight was so far from the terminal we had to be bussed, then had to sit on the bus while a Ryanair flight passengers walked over to the terminal. We then got of the bus only to find we had arrived at gate 20 and had to walk the length of the airport once again battling people going towards the departure gates. Then we found they had moved the long stay car park bus stop from where we got off. Nothing to say this until a few people had asked where to get the bus. What a total shambles. The airport was much better before all these so called improvements where carried out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a shambolic disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I travelled from Copenhagen arriving on time at 22.50 with Ryanair FR2675. Due to shortage of space for cabin luggage many passengers had their cases stowed in the baggage compartment. The flight was most uncomfortable due to bad lumbar support in the seats. On arrival there was a very longwalk to the passport control and then a long delay due to number of passengers and few officials on duty. When eventually reaching the luggage carousel there were a few bags left and a sign stating unloading complete. The console soon stopped leaving several bewildered passengers. The enquiry office in the hall knew nothing and were unable to help except to say we had to go the departure area to find Swissport, if still open. It was and was told that someone had gone to find luggage for another passenger. He returned in 15 minutes with one bag. He would look again and come back again in 20 minutes "as it was a long way". This time he had all our bags. So where had they been, why was the unloading "complete" and console stopped? Total delay 90 minutes at midnight with huge distances to walk from the aircraft then to and fro from arrivals to departure and back again in search of "cabin luggage". In a phrase, a shambolic disgrace. This problem should be controlled from the baggage hall, not at the other end of the airport. ** ASKED TICKET
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Far too much queuing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | "Where Scotland Meets The World" is simply embarrassing. Departures is better than arrivals to be fair, however security is frequently overstretched and badly laid out. More capacity is badly needed and has been for some time. Please tell WH Smiths to stop asking for boarding passes at the checkouts. It is not necessary and only causes long queues and frustration. Far too much queuing, particularly with budget airlines with queues to get through the gate, then queueing on the stairs to get buses to the aircraft. More use of airbridges please. Arrivals - Frequent delays getting on stand and then no airbridge to the terminal. Dirty cramped and aging corridors to border security. Passport control with insufficient capacity, including not enough e-passport machines. These machines are also frequently out of order. Baggage handling are very dated and bags slow to arrive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It was total bedlam"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | This airport is so poorly designed. On arrival we were queued in snakes and ladders fashion like sardines. We had chip passports and we we got to the front they would not work. It was total bedlam with several flights arriving at a time. Departure was equally nuts. First we noticed the different airlines have to use their own straps and posts to create queue lines so they shift them all back and forth when another airline moves into a check in desk. The on-board baggage scan area was diabolic if not dangerous. Once your plastic tray of belongings have been scanned you have to pick it up, turn around walk five paces to a desk to unload it pick it up again and return back in the opposite direction to return the tray. I saw one guy get belted on the elbow by a person turning with a try, another with a near miss to the head, it was crazy! People have to travel back and forth into each other with their trays. Totally poorly designed. The waiting lounges were no better with queues boarding backing up across the lounge blocking thoroughfares for other passengers trying to get to other departure gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no