Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 178 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The queue for security started in a corralled area on the ground floor. You could not use the escalator. The queue wound it way up the stairs then wound up and down till eventually reaching the boarding pass scanner machines. The Security person there was insistent that people used the left hand queue. What a nightmare that was. The queue went down the length of the security room. Then back up the way we had come. Then back down again. We were in this queue 50 minutes. When we got to the trays we did not follow along side them but were headed off sideways to the body scanners thus losing sight of our belongings and partners. Locating both again took a while. The people who were not corralled left but went straight on seemed to reach the trays a lot quicker. I noticed that some tray areas stopped working in spite of the enormous queue we were in. We just made our flight making a nonsense of the Speedy Boarding I had purchased from Easy Jet. It was the worst security check experience I have ever endured. Also Edinburgh Airport car park is a nightmare with low concrete barriers separating very narrow exits that are side by side. While manoeuvring my newish Honda into one of these exits I have made a large dent in the front bumper which will cost a lot to fix. It is a terrible airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (Japan)

A sad gateway to the capital city of my country. Arrival from Doha and off a swish B787 to wander down steps and along corridors to an arrivals hall seemingly held together with duct tape and high hopes, the exit sign was stretched across 4 sheets of A4 and coloured in with a felt pen. OK, it's a work in progress. Passport control was efficient enough and once through you get a sense of where the airport managers priorities lie with a nice selection of shops. Something confirmed going the other way, it's all rather grubby at the check-in and the security is a mess but once past all that and in to the duty free it's all very classy though the psychology of being put through all this isn't exactly conducive to splashing the cash. Their security system is the worst I've ever experienced. Giving them their due there is a decent logic to it and the middle manager who devised it, and no doubt put on a killer power-point presentation, probably feels he earned his bonus however it struggles with pesky variables like human beings not being robots. It's a shame because some parts are nice but those parts are the ones where they can squeeze external revenues anywhere else suffers for lack of investment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (Luxembourg)

Granted the airport is fielding many additional visitors attending the Festival, however, in the security hall the tone is officious, but not necessarily efficient. What happened to being drenched in charm, even with a difficult job to do? Following hard on the heels of a trip in June, I was singled out again for the body scanner as was the traveller directly in front of me. When I expressed that I preferred a body search, they faffed around but were not kindly, compassionate nor pleasant (I am 64 and have recently had many quite invasive medical tests). Plus, they did not seem to be listening to my concerns, but rather rolling out trite mantra about body scanner safety. A robot might have exuded more reassuring emoticons or emojis. After my very obvious and visible upset the suits surveying at the back of the room rather obsequiously wished me a pleasant journey as I exited the experience. I have prior given feedback, but seeing an improvement in staff soft skills seems not to be happening, and, de facto, seems to be worsening. (This will not be everyone's experience, I am sure. I relate only what I am encountering.) It may help if whoever staffs and trains travelled to other airports, not just in the UK, but in Europe and wider, and sees how other airport security halls manage to do a difficult job proficiently and with care and a smile. My journey was tainted by the bad taste in the mouth after the security experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The first and last time I ever use this airport. The definition of chaos at security - for all flights outgoing there was 1 conveyer belt which had totally insufficient capacity. Staff did not try to guide you through this shambolic process. Not a lot of happy people, this is the airport for the capital of Scotland and is a total disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
9/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (Ireland)

Used this airport 14th and 16th August. Both arrivals and departures were painless. Arrivals was quick and departure procedure took just minutes. Staff were courteous and friendly. Tram connection to city centre is excellent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Absolute chaos going through security. Easily the worst experience I have had, my child on crutches was made to wait for a long time while they did all the extra x-rays, scanning and body checks on myself and my wife. People need to load their own trays and then see them emerge at the other end. At Edinburgh your stuff gets whizzed away on rollers away from you and at the other end of the x-rays it's total mayhem. Clearly the security shows itself up as being a provincial airport as it cannot cope with the festival rush.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Time required to get through bag check / security is now totally unpredictable. Straight through when quiet but 40 minute wait when busy, and even fast track gets backlogged. Means that you have to arrive an hour earlier than necessary which is not acceptable for business travel. Hopeless layout and design of the check area, and no attempt to do anything special at busy times to ease the queues. Access to departures is now through a new retail area which is a pointless deviation (unless you urgently need to buy perfume) and just makes you walk a long way round and then pretty much back again to where you started. Once inside the terminal it is fine, if unremarkable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Third time in the past 5 months that my wife and I have used this our local airport and what a disaster and embarrassment the security system has become. In April my wife was unfortunate enough to set off the metal detector and she was taken aside to be body searched by a member of staff. I had been ordered to another area and was unaware this had happened and also that in a few minutes she would be separated from our luggage, her passport, our electrical items and all our money and credit cards. This is unacceptable. The second time was totally uneventful. Last week we were in the "security shed" and we were told by a male member of staff that the delays that we were all experiencing was due to passengers failing to place their 100ml liquids in the correct clear bags and this meant that many cases were needing to be searched. Incorrect. We had ours in the approved bags out with our carry on luggage in a separate tray to that luggage and yet our case was surveyed at the other end and the explanation given was "it's just routine" so the passenger failure we had been told a few minutes before was actually a lie. Not only are the delays quite unacceptable, inconvenient and by separating the passenger from their belonging causing anxiety but if the staff are so obviously Ill tempered doing this job then they really should consider something else. Many passengers passed comment on the system and staff. This is a totally unnecessary hassle to the start of a trip and really should be fixed soon. Terminal seating is uncomfortable, grubby and the passenger area could be done with more cleaning. Airport wifi service is pathetic. Having returned from Southampton airport I received 4 hours free and fast wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I always use Emirates from Glasgow, decided to give Etihad a try. Big mistake. Security queue was awful, long and slow. Rude security personnel. After that, time to run to the plane only to get lost inside an unnecessary shopping area that is huge. On the way back an immigration hall that does not have a proper floor, just plain concrete. No ceiling, it was raining and we could not hear each other because of the metal roof. Immigration officers had to shout. We were told by the border force that the airport is no going to finish the awful immigration hall. I live in Edinburgh butIi will keep using the friendly and organised Glasgow airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Easily the most disorganised airport for going through security. 30 minutes wait with under 50 in the queue. Shockingly bad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes