Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 154 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th July 2015

I can only say that going through security is shambolic, short staffing does not help. Not happy at being put through this stress whilst at the start of a holiday. Thank goodness for the Aspire Lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit05-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st July 2015

The incompetence of the security system and rude staff are well-documented. The upshot of this shambles is that no passengers have any time to relax with a drink or time to do shopping before going to their gate: they are all too late by then. Hence, the outlets and cafes in the departure section will be losing money because of the ineptitude of the airport to whom they are paying fees. Arrival was equally bad: the plane sat for 10 minutes awaiting clearance to move to the arrival ramp, then a further 10 minutes for steps to arrive. We stepped out to be met by two buses, both of which then waited another 10 minutes for all passengers to exit the aircraft and embark. Expansion of the number of the flights to and from the airport in order to increase profits has been undertaken with insufficient expenditure or planning within the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit30-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th June 2015

The security queues in particular were shambolic, staff rude and uncaring. The dining facilities at this airport leave a lot to be desired. Be prepared passengers, this will be a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 25th June 2015

I got a shock in February when I used the new security system for the first time. Even though queues weren't worse than the previous system I was bewildered by how different the staff were. They didn't seem to know what was going on, either complaining to each other or rude towards passengers. I have used the airport twice since then and been very lucky as there has not been a queue. The system that pulls luggage out for double check seems rather sensitive, I have never had a bag double checked before and it has happened two out of the 3 times I've used new security. Last time there was a backlog of 6-8 trays to be double checked and one member of staff. For me this is what causes a lot of the confusion - it is not clear what you are to do once you go there. The first time I moved from it to put my stuff on the belt and was told to wait, second time I waited and was told to go ahead. The third time I went ahead but couldn't get my trays fitted in together. Which as previous reviews have stated means your stuff is often at the other end before you are, unattended. It is worth remembering that it wasn't exactly a breeze at the old security, it could take at least half an hour at busy times. I have still given a 6/10 review as despite finding staff quite rude and the system shambolic I have obviously been lucky with queues. I will continue to use the airport for convenience but almost feel embarrassed for Edinburgh that people have such bad experiences.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit25-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 25th June 2015

Terribly slow again through security. An Edinburgh Airport spokesman declared that the problem arises when a lot of passengers arrive at the same time. With such logic and grasp of the situation is it any wonder that the security system is inefficient and that nothing appears to be in hand to correct matters.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit25-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd June 2015

I regularly travelled through Edinburgh until recently. I found an alternative routing for work so I use other airports now, due to the absolutely shambolic security. I used to check in as soon as I arrived at the airport, or online when I could, and join the queue. I knew that 2 hrs is potentially not enough time at Turnhouse. The system is a massive upgrade from the old one, but the experience of this upgrade is far worse than the previous system which was also poor. The staff were unfriendly and rude, and the queueing time was obscene. It does not paint a pretty picture for Scotland's premier airport. Glasgow had a similar upgrade, but, from my experience, has managed to make their security better than Edinburgh's. I'd avoid this place until there is an overhaul of security.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit23-04-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd June 2015

Having read of delays at this departure we gave ourselves plenty of time for an early morning Saturday flight. It is chaotic. Fortunately we were hand baggage only. First choke point is the escalator to 1st floor security level followed by a walk through a restaurant before reaching security. Staff direct you to stand on numbered spots on floor. There is no signage to instruct what clothing is to be scanned - belts - shoes - watches? One of my trays was diverted for checking - because there was no image. My wife was told to take her tray over to an 'unpacking' however she was still waiting for second tray with her handbag to come through. What we seem to have is a perfect storm for delays. Rising passenger numbers, badly designed layout (forever turning corners), more passengers going 'hand baggage only' so more holdalls, cases etc to be scanned, and poor signage. We've travelled through here regularly for over 30 yrs and airport managers need to get a grip and quickly. Managers visible on the floor while this chaos continues would be a start!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit23-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd June 2015

I travel to China on a regular basis on business and try to promote Scotland and encourage Chinese visitors. I am however ashamed to think that their experience on arrival and departure will be tainted by what is in my opinion is the total shambles at Edinburgh airport. Amateurish is being kind - incompetence is nearer the truth.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit22-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th June 2015

Edinburgh airport has clearly invested heavily in upgrading the airport to cater for increased volumes. This has included a completely new and larger security search area. Rather than going to school on recent airport security design disasters, they have decided to maintain the trend in non user friendly local infrastructure projects and have delivered a complete abomination of a passenger security facility. The poor staff are trying their hardest to make the best of this shambles but it is a complete mess. Don't expect a modern airport experience at Edinburgh, rather ensure you give yourself plenty of time and expect to be fleeced when you use any services. Better still, use another airport or means of transport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit15-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Edinburgh Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th June 2015

New security is a total shambles and chaos from start to finish with bored, nasty and obstructive staff. I travel through Edinburgh very frequently and recommend opening up the old security area again. I travelled through the new security area the day it opened and it looked like progress. Now having gone through this area many times since it is a totally dreadful experience. Worse than an US or European major airport. Serious need to question the competence of the senior managers who allow queues of 40-50 minutes to occur. Sends a truly dreadful image of Edinburgh. Glasgow airport here I come.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit14-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no