Top 100 Airlines  

East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"queues were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Totally shambolic from start to finish. Arrived in plenty of time for our flight but ended up only just catching it due to too few check in staff and security check personnel. The queues were horrendous and on our return it took an hour from landing to reaching passport control. We were left sitting on board the plane for 20 minutes before a coach turned up to transport us about 200 yards. Then we had to join an extremely long queue outside before entering the cattle shed that is passport control. Staff in there were dour, disinterested and chatting amongst themselves instead of helping. It's no good improving the duty free and food areas if the check in and security are not also improved. On the way out we didn't have time to browse around or buy any food. Come on East Midlands, get your act together, Birmingham and Manchester airports are far superior in every way. Any future holidays we take will not be booked to fly from this joke of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff were ridiculously slow"

(United Kingdom)

Me and my partner flew out for a four day trip last week and arrived at 3pm. Our flight was not until 5pm so gave ourselves 2 hours to get through security. We only had hand luggage so thought it would be no problem. It took us 50 minutes to get through. There were only 3 staff checking people at security. While we appreciate the tight security measures now the staff were ridiculously slow and looked like they couldn't be bothered to be doing their jobs. They are unfriendly and there is no leadership. We are going back next week with our children and I am dreading it. Never had a problem before at East Midlands. My advise is give yourself an extra half an hour or so at least.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"gets more and more disappointing"

(Ireland)

You pay for everything at EMA. Drop off/pick up parking, £2 for the first 10 mins and then £1 for every minute after. Is is just me that thinks that is crazy? Unless you have 2 hours to queue at security for your flight you'll pay another £3 for the express lane. When I arrived on Monday the queue for security was well into the check in area (people were reporting 75 minutes when they got through to the other side). Not having enough staff or enough lanes open in the holiday season is just another way for them to take advantage of people and make money through the express lane. Worried, I decide to go for the Express lane. I went to buy a ticket. Both machines credit card function were out of order and I only had £2.45. EMA just gets more and more disappointing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff are friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Check-in is quite easy at EMA, as the check-in hall is quite big, meaning there's quite a lot of space (expect for peak times). Security can be a bit of a wait, but is okay. There aren't heaps of facilities airside, but there are several places to eat and drink. The duty free is average, and is decently sized. The departure area looks onto the apron, with a great view of the aircraft. However, as most of the facilities are close to the gates, it can get congested at times. There are screens with departure details around the area, which also tell you how long is left until your flight boards. I recommend getting there at least 5-10 minutes before it opens if you want to be the first to get on, otherwise just go whenever. Arriving at the airport, you'll walk or be taken by bus to the passport control hall, which gets very busy, meaning you sometimes have to queue outside, which isnt good if the weather is bad. Baggage claim can also take a lot of time. There are a few facilities after arrivals too. Generally, the airport is nice, the staff are friendly and the facilities are good. Departing is definitely better than arriving!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute daylight robbery"

(United Kingdom)

I wasn't an actual passenger, I was dropping a relation off at 6 am in the morning. I was just wanting to write about the rapid drop off lanes at the airport. The fees for dropping off a passenger was £2 for 10 mins and then a pound for every minute after. This is controlled by vehicle number plate registration. The rapid drop off lanes were very busy and even though I had dropped my relation off I still had to queue to get out. When I eventually arrived at the gate to get out I had the lovely surprise of the total to pay for using the rapid lanes. This was £18 for 26 mins in the rapid lanes. This is absolute daylight robbery. Do not use the rapid lanes at busy times and you have no option to pay the astronomical rates to leave.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"very tatty and tired"

(United Kingdom)

I have travelled through East Midlands airport on a number of occasions and the facilitie are looking very tatty and tired. The toilets are like a portaloo with little Room. The outside areas are dirty and full of cigarette butts and litter. 40 minutes to get through security as only 2 lanes are open (this is the same each time). The security staff did apologise on one occasion and said that they were short staffed. The airport is far too small for the amount of passengers and feels very claustrophobic - not a nice experience at all. This is the major airport for the East Midlands and the First and last place seen by visitors and leaves a poor lasting memory.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"poor access to public transport"

(United Kingdom)

The airport itself, though small, is pleasant. As an outbound airport, the process of getting through was quick, though it was a Sunday morning. Inbound though, the whole passport screening process was slow and inadequate. My low scoring is mainly a result of the airports poor access to public transport. Skylink is inadequate. The airport should provide a shuttle service to East Midlands parkway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"no common area for sitting"

(United Kingdom)

Departures - the only available seating was at one of the concession restaurants or in the flight departure area. If you haven't got a departure gate you can only sit in a concession (even if you don't want food) and be forced to spend money or if you can find one in an unoccupied departure area, which are utilitarian and uncomfortable. There is no common area for sitting quietly and comfortably. There was a lot of litter and the loos were poorly signed and dirty. Arrivals was even worse - forced to queue in the cold and rain on the tarmac to get into a kind of bus shelter to queue for the queue, for passport control which is in a cold shed. The express queue for electronic passport machines was even slower than the main queue, partly because the machines are so poorly set out most people couldn't operate them until a staff member (who were not concentrating) noticed and helped them (tutting rudely).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"in dire need of improvement"

(United Kingdom)

This recently refurbished airport is still in dire need of improvement. The arrivals was filthy and the external area was cluttered with rubbish, but the immigration hall is under improvement. Our departure was chaotic due to a change of gate, caused by the uncooperative and unprofessional staff on the tarmac - we could hear them moaning (via the radio) to the despatch staff at the gate. (There are no piers at East Midlands). WiFi access is not acceptable. The airport car parks are nothing but a chaotic mess and require drastic improvement. Bays are not clear and the spaces between them require widening. Signage is also inadequate and there are no turning areas, so once you reach the end of the row and all spaces are taken, it's difficult to exit. The absence of car park staff is also notable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue was for two hours leaving"

(United Kingdom)

The only time I have experienced worse queuing at an airport was at Chicago on the busiest day of their year when I queued for 3 hours. The Ryanair queue was for two hours leaving and one hour returning, my kids were desperate for the toilet and were in a lot of discomfort by the time they got there. We arrived 2.5 hours before the flight and as the Ryanair gate was located at the other end of the airport they closed the gate just after we went through. We will never use East Midlands airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews