East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd July 2015

Drop off area: Can't believe they charge £1 to enter the drop off zone. That's worse than charging £1 for a small plastic bag to go thru customs or £2 for a bottle of water when in the departure lounge. How desperate are these airports to extract cash from hard working people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit22-01-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th June 2015

Completely rammed and manic at 6.30am on a Monday morning - took about 3/4 hour to get through security. Grubby little duty free zone which everyone is then forced through before reaching inadequate seating areas. At least the café section upstairs is now finished. When returning on Monday afternoon forced onto two busses even though we were 20 yards from the Terminal, and took nearly 1 hour to get through passport control, and baggage claim. It is a good job that this formerly lovely little local airport is just 8 minutes from our home or I would not use it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit29-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th June 2015

We arrived on 22 June at 23.40. We had to wait on the plane for 35 minutes as there were no steps available to let us off the plane and no buses to take us to the terminal. They are getting too big and cannot cope with the passenger numbers. It had been a long day, we just wanted home, not stuck on a runway. Will try Doncaster airport next time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit24-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th June 2015

Never had any problems with this airport. Even first thing in the morning at its busiest, check-in was quick and was straight through security. We went from the car park to the departure lounge in barely more than 10 minutes! Although the duty free, shopping and restaurant/bar areas have improved, there's not a huge choice yet still adequate for an airport of this size. The departure lounge itself is fairly basic but serves its purpose. Passport Control as usual only took a few minutes and prompt baggage reclaim on arrival. In terms of getting to/from the airport, excellent links by road but the nearest rail station is a bit of a distance. The key thing for any regional airport is to be quick and convenient and East Midlands does that to perfection.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit15-07-2014
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th April 2015

On returning from France on Easter Monday there was only one Long stay car park bus operating. It was overcrowded to the point of being illegal according to the allowed numbers printed inside the bus itself. It had to leave many people behind at the terminal and then drop off at all the long stay car parks making for a lengthy wait. On arrival at long stay 4 already delayed no cars were being allowed out of the exit without a telephone call to control and having to state your registration number a complete shambles. The bus and car park delay saw me exit the airport over an hour and 30 mins after the plane had landed and only with cabin baggage. Not a great experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

Our outbound experience was quite good. Check in took 5 minutes and security was cleared in a similar time. Our return experience was very different. It was pouring with rain when we landed. We had to leave the plane on steps and get on a waiting bus. We were then dropped some distance from the terminal building and left to walk in the rain. The queue for the electronic passport clearance stretched across the entry door making it difficult for people to get in. By the time we did we were soaked along with a couple of hundred other people. I considered asking my wife to wait with the luggage while I ran to the car in long stay 2 but I could not see any obvious place for her to wait so already being very wet we just walked. There is no transport to this car park. When we were ready to leave the car park it took a while to find my way out. There are no "exit" arrows and the only "exit" sign is actually right next to the exit. It is not high enough to be seen by someone sitting in a car. This happened in daylight. In the dark a person would be left completely at a loss. I will avoid East Midlands from now on.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
no
3/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 4th March 2015

I have used EMA once before arriving by car when the airport was satisfactory. However this time I travelled to/from the airport using public transport - train to Long Eaton and bus a route that is suggested by the airport itself as follows "The Skylink bus connects this station with the airport up to every 20 minutes seven days a week with a journey time of 20 minutes". This is incorrect and if your flights depart or arrive in the rush hour or out of normal hours I strongly suggest not using this routing. The timing is very erratic and the bus from Long Eaton A) does not stop at Long Eaton station itself instead at bus stops several hundred yards up or down the high street and B) seems to also stop at all normal bus stops between the station and the airport. This means that the "20 minute" journey time is unreliable - also the busses do not go "up to every 20 minutes". I travelled with just hand luggage and on the way home landed at EMA 85 minutes before my train was due to depart from Long Eaton - plenty of time. Immigration was quick enough but then I waited much more than 20 minutes for a bus and the "20 minute" journey to Long Eaton took about 40 mins. Result: missed train. Long Eaton was also unmanned (despite it being peak hours) and with a dead mobile phone it was tricky to work out alternative travel arrangements. I therefore strongly suggest using Derby or Nottingham instead of Long Eaton and also leaving much more time than you expect for the journey on the Skylink bus - especially if near peak rush hour times.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th February 2015

Overall EMA is an OK provincial airport with good parking and average shops and F&B facilities. It is spoilt by the horrendous experience of queuing to get through outbound security and inbound immigration. You are treated like cattle in both areas being made to wait and wait and wait by staff who don' t care less.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th January 2015

I travel quite frequently for holidays and have always championed East mids they were one of the first to re- introduce a smoking area airside well done! Then with the improvements that's where the pleasure flying from here ends! Queuing horrendous in security only to then have a long walk through duty free like a maze to get to the smaller shops to buy water queuing again for ages and trying to find somewhere to sit downstairs is a nightmare then off to have a cigarette which in fairness the smoking area is still there! But to get to it you have to fight your way through hoards of people queuing at the gates tripping over people's hand luggage trolleys they have replaced the big pub area at the back with a brand new executive lounge which takes up most of the downstairs area for which you have to pay to use fair enough! But then you want the toilet again fight your way back to get to these seems to me East mids is a victim of their own success. With the vast improvements being made the airport as got to busy and spoilt flying from this airport it's such a shame.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

East Midlands Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th October 2014

I live 10 minutes from EMA and would only use it for that reason. Today we were made to walk from the aircraft to the immigration in the pouring rain no buses (they seem to have done away with them) and not even a covered walkway. The poor folks at the back of the (long) immigration queue were stood outside! We were soaked but at least inside. None of the passport scanners were working why bother with them? It seems the building work is going on forever. It should be demolished and rebuilt to make it a decent facility because as it stands it is not fit for purpose. The charge for "drop off" just smacks of desperation the drop is so rammed with cars and people it doesn't work anyway. Unfortunately I doubt if any of the rebuilding will make any difference. We shall see.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews