Vote Airport  

East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"no common area for sitting"

(United Kingdom)

Departures - the only available seating was at one of the concession restaurants or in the flight departure area. If you haven't got a departure gate you can only sit in a concession (even if you don't want food) and be forced to spend money or if you can find one in an unoccupied departure area, which are utilitarian and uncomfortable. There is no common area for sitting quietly and comfortably. There was a lot of litter and the loos were poorly signed and dirty. Arrivals was even worse - forced to queue in the cold and rain on the tarmac to get into a kind of bus shelter to queue for the queue, for passport control which is in a cold shed. The express queue for electronic passport machines was even slower than the main queue, partly because the machines are so poorly set out most people couldn't operate them until a staff member (who were not concentrating) noticed and helped them (tutting rudely).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"in dire need of improvement"

(United Kingdom)

This recently refurbished airport is still in dire need of improvement. The arrivals was filthy and the external area was cluttered with rubbish, but the immigration hall is under improvement. Our departure was chaotic due to a change of gate, caused by the uncooperative and unprofessional staff on the tarmac - we could hear them moaning (via the radio) to the despatch staff at the gate. (There are no piers at East Midlands). WiFi access is not acceptable. The airport car parks are nothing but a chaotic mess and require drastic improvement. Bays are not clear and the spaces between them require widening. Signage is also inadequate and there are no turning areas, so once you reach the end of the row and all spaces are taken, it's difficult to exit. The absence of car park staff is also notable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue was for two hours leaving"

(United Kingdom)

The only time I have experienced worse queuing at an airport was at Chicago on the busiest day of their year when I queued for 3 hours. The Ryanair queue was for two hours leaving and one hour returning, my kids were desperate for the toilet and were in a lot of discomfort by the time they got there. We arrived 2.5 hours before the flight and as the Ryanair gate was located at the other end of the airport they closed the gate just after we went through. We will never use East Midlands airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queue of at least 500 people"

(United Kingdom)

Shocking delays in trying to check-in at the Ryanair desks. Arrived 2 hours before departure to find only 4 desks open out of 10 or 11, and a queue of at least 500 people trying to check in. After over 1.5 hours queuing, and only 20 mins before the flight was due to leave, we were still not at front of queue. Eventually passengers on our flight were called to the front, but as there were 50 or so, we still didnt manage to check in for another 20 minutes. We were then advised to "hurry" through to security, where there was another 10 minute delay despite being prioritised, and ended up having to run to get to the departure gate. My 71 year old mother who has recently had her hip replaced was very upset by the whole experience, especially as we had arrived over 2 hours before departure. Dreadful customer experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"we got soaked"

(United Kingdom)

Flew in from Majorca to east mids airport. On arrival it was teaming with rain, we departed the aeroplane and were told we had to walk to the arrivals. We got soaked as we had to wait out in the rain as there was another flight that had arrived just before us. When we eventually got undercover there was a massive queue waiting to present your passport. We got told if you have a chipped passport to go in another queue. This was a smaller queue so we thought we would get through faster. How wrong we were. By the time I had got through nearly all the others were stood with their luggage. I had also booked express parking. We eventually got to our car sodden. No exit signs so not sure where to go. Eventually got to the exit but couldn't get the barrier to go up. Had to call for assistance as did the gentleman in the next lane. Very, very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"awful staff, old fashioned"

(United Kingdom)

Pay, pay, pay, everything is premium. I missed my flight due to over 1 hour going through security at 5 am this morning, 28th September. I did not even see the express option, and no one pointed it out to me - though even if they had, you have to pay over the internet and if you have used yr free hour of internet, you have to pay for that. I've just found all this out by complaining and only a premium rate line you can call on. Awful staff, old fashioned and no organisation whatsoever. God help anyone with kids, it must be a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"force people to pay for fast track"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived 2.25 hours before departure time at East Midlands Airport. Checked in straight away as priority, although no queue. Then came security. We did not see fast track option and finally got through with only 20 minutes to boarding. No time for a meal. Absolutely disgraceful! They are trying to force people to pay for fast track. Three or four lanes for fast track and two for everyone else. The pilot told us 75 people had missed flights that day (I hope I misheard him, but he suggested we noted it on our questionnaires) and it was only 2pm! Two unfortunates missed our flight and two more made it by the skin of their teeth. 1 star for check in, minus 5 for security although the staff who were there worked hard.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"checking in and negotiating security was quick"

(United Kingdom)

This is the first time I have used East Midlands Airport. Checking in and negotiating security was quick. The choice of food was limited and certainly poor value for money. There was plenty of seating available. My issue with this airport was when we returned. We had left our car in the Jet2 car park. After leaving customs we followed the signs to the bus bays and waited by the appropriate sign. About 30 people joined us and we waited for 30 minutes without a sign of a bus until a bus driver on another route told us that our bus no longer stopped there and he informed us where we could find it. When we found our bus we mentioned our problem to the driver. He said that "management" knew about this problem but had not removed the signs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

"all staff were polite and professional"

(United Kingdom)

East Midlands is a great airport. The whole experience was completely hassle-free. All staff were polite and professional. Baggage reclaim was very fast. Overall a very good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Improvements are definitely needed"

(United Kingdom)

Paid for airport parking on Long Stay 4. Upon arrival we found it difficult to find a parking space, When we did we made a note of where we had parked ( bus stop and row) and made our way to the nearest bus stop. However upon arrival back there were no signs indicating where we had to go to get the bus back to the car park. Upon making enquiries at the Car Parking office we were pointed to a queue outside. No shelter and it was pouring with rain. We waited 20 minutes for a bus and when we got to the car park the lighting was completely inadequate and we had to walk around in the pouring rain to actually see the signs to find our car. Improvements are definitely needed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews