Airline of the Year  

East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 148 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"dingy and overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | If Fawlty Towers was an airport, this would be it. Last week the queue to join the security queue was the entire length of the check in sheds. Today's extra security rule was only one bag of liquids no larger than the prescribed size - not a problem for me as I didn't have any but it slowed things down a lot as people had to decant what they had into the official bags. I placed all my stuff in the appointed places on the conveyor and was heading to the metal detector when the security man barked at me asking if I had anything in my pockets. I didn't, but a little politeness wouldn't kill him. The perfume shop is massive and lavish (although the roof leaks). Everywhere else is dingy and overcrowded. The gate your flight is assigned is kept top secret as long as possible to make sure there are always crowds of people rushing in opposite directions to gates. Sometimes a kindly wheelchair assistant will tell you the gate number for your flight. Since they know, would it kill the airport to put it on the screen. The ANPR system regularly fails to recognise my perfectly standard number plate - mostly on the way out so I'm trapped until someone answers the phone (not usually very soon). This evening we waited ages to be allowed off the flight only to be kept waiting in the rain for ages before we were allowed into the building. This is a shoddy, grabby, badly organised airport run by management who clearly could not care less about passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Firstly the drop off price is a rip off - £2. Compared with Birmingham - £1. Money grabbing and outrageous and one of the exit barriers wasn't working hence chaos and long queues to exit. Then the long wait going through security. Supposed to be 9 gates, this is rare usually only 3 or 4, but then the public can wait! Also the long walk to gate 23 without moving walkways. A struggle for the elderly. A further long walk to the aircraft - not a good experience on a wet and windy day. A mention about returning to East Midlands, usually met by a bus but dropped off as far away as possible at the end of the walkway mingling with other inbound passengers trying to get to passport control. It's time management took a hard look at themselves and tried to improve the traveling experience from East Midlands Airport. I am a regular flyer and fail to notice any improvements here over the last few years. A comment from management would be welcome.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an inadequate amount of staff"

(Ireland)

We arrived at the airport 2 hours before our flight and, because their was an inadequate amount of staff for the volume of people, it took so long to get through security we missed our flight. The attitude of the security manager we spoke to was, nothing we can do. Said in a very long winded way. I would not recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"badly organised overall"

(United Kingdom)

Delays both ways. Flights 8th May out - 12th May return. Only 3 security stations (out of 9) open on the way out - over 40 mins to get through. Delays on the way back at border control because of those ridiculous self serve stations which mostly fail to scan the photo part of your passport. Badly organised overall and seem only interested in taking your money at the Duty Free.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"it hasn't improved over the years"

(United Kingdom)

Our local airport, it hasn't improved over the years, shocking queues. Expanded too fast, dirty and untidy, rip off car park prices. Won't be going back until it improves, a real let down for the East Midlands. Derby, Leicester and Nottingham deserve a much better facility.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"EMA has morphed into an unpleasant airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have always favoured EMA above the others. I own a property in Spain, and have travelled to Málaga five or six times a year for the last 14 years. I started with Go, then easyJet, BMI baby and now travel with Ryanair. It has always been a friendly local airport half an hour from home, but over the last two or three years, it has developed a nasty, sleazy money-grabbing side. Not too long ago, you could be dropped off by friends free of charge, provided you were in and out in 10 minutes. This was good; welcome to EMA! Then, no more free drop off. A charge of £1 for 10 minutes was introduced. People started to drop their friends off on airport roads or at the petrol station from where they could walk to the terminal. MAG obviously saw this as a major problem. The £1 charge was doubled "to improve the airport facilities" and new signs appeared threatening dire consequences and fines if any car was seen dropping anybody off other than by paying the £2 charge. The latest "improvements" I saw today? 1) The buses collecting passengers from the aircraft now drop off at the far end of the outside shelter, increasing the distance needing to be walked into immigration. The drivers and herding staff appear to have been instructed to force all passengers to enter through the furthest entrance to the shelter from the hall. 2) The reaction to larger immigration queues appears not to be to to improve the service with more staff or reading machines, they have added to the queueing area to allow longer and slower queues! Today I waited for 45 minutes just to get to a machine. 3) Passengers with electronically readable passports are forced to queue to use the machines, where the Border staff at the normal desks stare into space with little or nothing to do! Today only 3 of the 5 machines were working! EMA has morphed into an unpleasant airport with little to commend it, except its location. What a pity!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a money grabbing crowded little dump"

(United Kingdom)

I have used and reviewed this airport a number of times in the last few years and this is the last review I will write. This formally nice little local airport has slowly changed into a money grabbing crowded little dump. Travelled to Dublin on St Patrick's Day and back two days later. Even at 4.45am super crowded and security barely able to cope. Once through a time consuming security herded through the horrible Duty Free area into crowded seating areas - certainly not enough seats at the departure gate to hold all the passengers. Expensive eateries (but to be fair it's the same at most airports). At least I only live 10 minutes away, and as we were returning from Dublin with hand baggage only got straight through on our return. Awful. And I'm using it again in June to fly to Murcia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security is understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Security is understaffed and the people running it are rude and inconsistent. I travel every week via this airport. Last week I was told for the first and so far only time, to remove my shoes - "because of the new body scanner" - the same body scanner I've been through wearing the same shoes every week so far this year (and most of last). This week I went through the body scanner again, wearing the same shoes - how can that make any sense? Then in spite of the wonderful scanner I was subjected to a thorough and highly intrusive search. OK, you might say, they are being thorough - but in that case I'd love to know why I don't get the same at any of the many other airports I visit. I'd also love to know why EMA thinks it's OK to make us wait so long at security when other airports can do the process quickly and cheerfully. On a "good" day the wait for security is a little shorter than the time I'm in the air - on bad days (summer time) I actually spend longer in the EMA security queue than in the air. Lots of reviews on here and elsewhere mention how bad security is so management know full well - they clearly don't care.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"journey was made so much better by these cheerful people"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I would like to thank all of the special assistance staff at East Midlands airport. Our journey was made so much better by these cheerful people. I cannot thank them enough for the way we were treated, with care and respect. They could not do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. Far cry from our past journeys where it had seemed that people with disabilities were an inconvenience and second class citizens. We have always preferred travelling from East Midlands airport but this just proves we were correct in our choice. Travelled to Fuertaventura 5-2-2017 and returned 12-2-2017.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"airport has got no better then before in many ways"

(United Kingdom)

My wife and I travel frequently from the UK to European Destinations and stopped using East Midlands regularly when the airport was found to have different sized baggage checking frames at check in and at the gate (the latter were smaller). This being a few years ago we decided because of flight timings to try again. The airport has got no better then before in many ways. The luggage trolley had a mind of its own, as did the second one we tried so did not bother any more. Ryanair Check in was fine - staff were ok and bags were taken but no option to check in cabin baggage offered (last week at Stansted and two weeks ago at Gatwick Easyjet and BA were happy to oblige and take the pressure off the cabin load). The worst bit was the security 35 minutes on a Tuesday in what is clearly an off peak travelling time - Only two screening devices working out of 9 - after 20 minutes they did put a 3rd on. Staff spent more time bawling at passengers to stop using mobile phones than thinking of opening more machines. Then once you find a toilet there are few cubicles for an airport that size so you wait. And of course a lack of areas to sit and wait for your plane which for us over 60's is not good. I have been in other basic airports where it has taken less time to be checked. If you can avoid East Midlands I would urge you to do so. As a positive the Coffee was very good at the Sausage Shop but of course that was not managed by the Airport directly and I am sure had we time to try it, which we hoped to do, the Castle Rock Bar would have been excellent but I am not going to woll down a beer in 15 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews