East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 151 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very poor on arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Landed at East Midland Airport to be shepherded into a long bus shelter where we queued for over an hour to have our passports checked. Bad enough for an adult but we had a 4 year old who was busting to go to the toilet, we had to zig zag up and down, half using the auotomated passport check and the other being checked by a person, kids crying and our grandson in such pain that he needed the toilet. Kids are not allowed to use the automated checker, understandable so why don't they aim grown ups to that queue and families to another to process youngsters quicker or just close it to passengers and stick to freight? This airport gets hammered on FB for being very poor on arrival, it needs to change now. Very Poor.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"too busy for its own good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The queue for security spanned the entire length of the departure hall and tailed back to the centre of the hall. It was absolutely chaotic, with some passengers pushing in at various points in the queue. There were no airport representatives present to organise or give any guidance. Towards the front of the queue there was further confusion due to the family queue signs saying under 5s, but staff there turning away families with children over 2, obviously adding to the time spent waiting in other queues. In the end, the whole security process took 90 minutes. After that, the walk to the gate itself was 20 minutes because you have to snake through the all duty free shops and then walk 1/2 a mile back again, pushing through all the other boarding queues. Used to be a lovely little airport but is now too busy for its own good. Do not take your family!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Outrageously rude young female"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolutely cannot fathom how the security staff have managed to get through the interview process. Outrageously rude young female barking at me disrespectfully in front of my three young children. She continued her barrage of abuse even once her very simple task (of moving trays from one place onto a conveyor belt - an even easier job than supermarket cashier) was complete. Once I was about to walk through the dated body scanner she made sure to shout "she's wearing a belt! Take your belt off!" To seemingly make a point of having the last word (the "belt" was a thin plaited leather waistband attached to my jeans). East Midlands - please try in future to employ decent human beings.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dingy and overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | If Fawlty Towers was an airport, this would be it. Last week the queue to join the security queue was the entire length of the check in sheds. Today's extra security rule was only one bag of liquids no larger than the prescribed size - not a problem for me as I didn't have any but it slowed things down a lot as people had to decant what they had into the official bags. I placed all my stuff in the appointed places on the conveyor and was heading to the metal detector when the security man barked at me asking if I had anything in my pockets. I didn't, but a little politeness wouldn't kill him. The perfume shop is massive and lavish (although the roof leaks). Everywhere else is dingy and overcrowded. The gate your flight is assigned is kept top secret as long as possible to make sure there are always crowds of people rushing in opposite directions to gates. Sometimes a kindly wheelchair assistant will tell you the gate number for your flight. Since they know, would it kill the airport to put it on the screen. The ANPR system regularly fails to recognise my perfectly standard number plate - mostly on the way out so I'm trapped until someone answers the phone (not usually very soon). This evening we waited ages to be allowed off the flight only to be kept waiting in the rain for ages before we were allowed into the building. This is a shoddy, grabby, badly organised airport run by management who clearly could not care less about passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Firstly the drop off price is a rip off - £2. Compared with Birmingham - £1. Money grabbing and outrageous and one of the exit barriers wasn't working hence chaos and long queues to exit. Then the long wait going through security. Supposed to be 9 gates, this is rare usually only 3 or 4, but then the public can wait! Also the long walk to gate 23 without moving walkways. A struggle for the elderly. A further long walk to the aircraft - not a good experience on a wet and windy day. A mention about returning to East Midlands, usually met by a bus but dropped off as far away as possible at the end of the walkway mingling with other inbound passengers trying to get to passport control. It's time management took a hard look at themselves and tried to improve the traveling experience from East Midlands Airport. I am a regular flyer and fail to notice any improvements here over the last few years. A comment from management would be welcome.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an inadequate amount of staff"

(Ireland)

We arrived at the airport 2 hours before our flight and, because their was an inadequate amount of staff for the volume of people, it took so long to get through security we missed our flight. The attitude of the security manager we spoke to was, nothing we can do. Said in a very long winded way. I would not recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"badly organised overall"

(United Kingdom)

Delays both ways. Flights 8th May out - 12th May return. Only 3 security stations (out of 9) open on the way out - over 40 mins to get through. Delays on the way back at border control because of those ridiculous self serve stations which mostly fail to scan the photo part of your passport. Badly organised overall and seem only interested in taking your money at the Duty Free.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"it hasn't improved over the years"

(United Kingdom)

Our local airport, it hasn't improved over the years, shocking queues. Expanded too fast, dirty and untidy, rip off car park prices. Won't be going back until it improves, a real let down for the East Midlands. Derby, Leicester and Nottingham deserve a much better facility.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"EMA has morphed into an unpleasant airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have always favoured EMA above the others. I own a property in Spain, and have travelled to Málaga five or six times a year for the last 14 years. I started with Go, then easyJet, BMI baby and now travel with Ryanair. It has always been a friendly local airport half an hour from home, but over the last two or three years, it has developed a nasty, sleazy money-grabbing side. Not too long ago, you could be dropped off by friends free of charge, provided you were in and out in 10 minutes. This was good; welcome to EMA! Then, no more free drop off. A charge of £1 for 10 minutes was introduced. People started to drop their friends off on airport roads or at the petrol station from where they could walk to the terminal. MAG obviously saw this as a major problem. The £1 charge was doubled "to improve the airport facilities" and new signs appeared threatening dire consequences and fines if any car was seen dropping anybody off other than by paying the £2 charge. The latest "improvements" I saw today? 1) The buses collecting passengers from the aircraft now drop off at the far end of the outside shelter, increasing the distance needing to be walked into immigration. The drivers and herding staff appear to have been instructed to force all passengers to enter through the furthest entrance to the shelter from the hall. 2) The reaction to larger immigration queues appears not to be to to improve the service with more staff or reading machines, they have added to the queueing area to allow longer and slower queues! Today I waited for 45 minutes just to get to a machine. 3) Passengers with electronically readable passports are forced to queue to use the machines, where the Border staff at the normal desks stare into space with little or nothing to do! Today only 3 of the 5 machines were working! EMA has morphed into an unpleasant airport with little to commend it, except its location. What a pity!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a money grabbing crowded little dump"

(United Kingdom)

I have used and reviewed this airport a number of times in the last few years and this is the last review I will write. This formally nice little local airport has slowly changed into a money grabbing crowded little dump. Travelled to Dublin on St Patrick's Day and back two days later. Even at 4.45am super crowded and security barely able to cope. Once through a time consuming security herded through the horrible Duty Free area into crowded seating areas - certainly not enough seats at the departure gate to hold all the passengers. Expensive eateries (but to be fair it's the same at most airports). At least I only live 10 minutes away, and as we were returning from Dublin with hand baggage only got straight through on our return. Awful. And I'm using it again in June to fly to Murcia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no