top100_2016  

Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 69 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"clean and quite small"

(Switzerland)

Düsseldorf airport connecting to Milan Malpensa - I have to say the airport wasn't bad at all. Clean and quite small but very good.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable and spacious airport"

(Germany)

Very comfortable and spacious airport. Not much shopping available especially airside and there is often not enough seating available. With 3 separate piers in the Terminal (Germanwings/Star Alliance, Air Berlin/OneWorld, International) there is mostly enough time at the security check. The connection between the 3 piers makes it easy to switch security checks if your selected one is overcrowded. Good national and international connections available even though LH has cut down some connections. Free WiFi only available for 30 Minutes. Only 1 real Lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"connecting is a breeze"

(Germany)

Connecting through Düsseldorf is a breeze. I can only recommend it in the highest terms. In contrast to Frankfurt or Heathrow, you never have to clear security between flights even when changing between Schengen and non-Schengen. No long bus rides, clear signage, good shopping options, clean washrooms. The only downsides are the WiFi (only 30 minutes free of charge) and the lounges in Terminal C are too small, no showers, not enough newspapers - just not the standard I expect.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"swift and efficient"

(Australia)

Having left Germany for Australia via ICE fast train to Frankfurt, I had the opportunity via code share LH/SQ combination to fly out via Dusseldorf, which was more convenient. I was pleasantly surprised by how modern the airport has become. Easy access via car, friends dropped me off and there were loads of parking spots, a huge check-in terminal flooded with natural light and Lufthansa's fully automated machine check-in including the ability to change seats, which was great, and then baggage drop at the counter. Security check was swift and efficient and I appreciated the area to have a big glass wall towards the terminal so that after I got checked I could wave goodbye one more time to my friends, which is rare in an airport. Once in the Gate/Departure section, the shops on offer including duty free and a wonderful bakery with a huge range of freshly baked sweets, paninis and drinks, a newsagency and more. The airport including toilets were very clean and the gate very easy to find. Lufthansa guests even got to pick from not just a daily free newspaper prior to boarding, but an what seemed like an entire newsstand. I counted 8 magazines and 5 daily newspapers, which was more than I had ever seen, even in Frankfurt. Boarding and departure was on time and I can only recommend travelling through DUS. Now that EK, SQ (as of July appearantly) and CX service Dusseldorf directly, I may look at flying in direct next time round.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"food is insufficient"

(United Arab Emirates)

I have flown to / from Dusseldorf more than 30 times in past 5 years. Overall a good airport. Professionally run, good orientation, reasonable priced, well-connected to street and rail network. Food is insufficient and devalued by Asiagourmet which is poor. However, Moevenpick outlets near departure gates are good and reasonably priced. Cleanliness ranges from unacceptable to okay. Terminals generally okay, but toilet for the railway station are difficult to reach and not clean. Check-in is usually good and quite fast but some check-in queues are all the way through the check-in hall - staff friendly. Passport control is okay but staffing not very flexible – arriving in rush hour and/or with A380 causes long queues. I have stayed in the Maritim terminal hotel a few times - it is rather costly, but overall a good experience. Sufficient parking available, close to terminals, but high prices. Insufficient drop-off / pick-up zones - always time consuming.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"facilities and bathrooms are clean"

(Switzerland)

DUS International is the third biggest airport in Germany and overall a good one. I used the airport for commuting between DUS-ZRH-DUS every weekend for a whole year and I have to say that it is one of the most efficient airports I have traveled with. Facilities and bathrooms are clean, the Skytrain (brings you from the airport trainstation to terminal A/B and C) is just beautifully efficient and the distances in between terminals are short. I used to arrive 45min before my flight went off at Terminal A (Lufthansa and 4U exclusive) and I always had plenty of time to get trough security. At Terminal B and C however you need to calculate with more spare time, the security lanes are fewer and staff is reduced. WiFi is available via a known provider but is limited to only 30min of free time, after that you have to pay very high rates to stay connected.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"against expectations I caught my train"

(Netherlands)

Last night I flew from Nürnberg to Düsseldorf with Germanwings. According to schedule I had 50 mins to reach the train. However, the plane was 30 min late, so I entered the building with just 15 min left. The luggage came very fast, within a few minutes. Then I hurried to the airport shuttle, which brought me to the train station in 5 minutes, so against my expectations I caught my train. Compliments to Düsseldorf Airport for the efficiency and great service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"there was not enough staff working"

(Germany)

I frequently travel from DUS airport. Both on leisure and on business trips. In general traveling from DUS is rather pleasant. It is not as large as FRA, which usually allows you to quickly arrive at your gate. However, this time was different. The line to pass the security check was enormous. It seemed to me, that there was not enough staff working, because not all x-rays were operating although it was rush hour and holiday season. It took us almost half an hour to pass the security, even though we were already accessing the priority security check.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

(Ireland)

Airport is ok, good transport links to cities. Minus marks for the pre-flight 'security' screening Area C - the queues are poorly managed, large volume of passengers are funneled into an area not designed for the traffic, leave plenty of time to get through this ordeal. The hall is not air conditioned (25c+), the queues are not orderly adding to an already stressful situation. Düsseldorf Airport uses Naked Scanners. I found this demeaning, there were children, elderly and the rest of us all subject to this unnecessary procedure. While the staff were polite and generally efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

(Thailand)

As I have family in the region I have used the airport at least 30 times within the last 20 years. Comparing to Frankfurt this airport does not cut it for me. Coming in by train with heavy luggage many times the moving staircase at the station did not work which in course caused 50 or more people waiting to use the only elevator available to get to the sky train station finally bringing you to the actual airport. No baggage carts available at the station nor other than in Frankfurt check in facilities right at the station. 5 or 6 times the sky train did not work and substitute transport by bus was arranged. Again a real hassle if you travel with heavy luggage. First spot to find a luggage cart is only to be found after the moving staircase down at the actual airport and that only if you walk out of the airport and pay 2 euros. Hence while also in FRA you have to pay for luggage carts it does not reflect any international standard. One repeating deficiency is the security personnel (not Federal Police but private contractors) after immigration. While immigration is very professional fast and friendly the security staff are while obviously effective very unfriendly in their with no doubts not easy job. I do not expect any entertainment or similar while passing security but the words please and thank you are considered basic respect and education. I have to point out that I have never been directly offended or treated unfair by any means but it very much looks like the contracted security company does not even require a basic education for their staff and hires out of the long unemployment lines just about anyone with a clean police record regardless of ability to deal with the public and/or paying passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews