Airline of the Year  

Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is really a disappointment"

(Sweden)

Dusseldorf airport is really a disappointment. The design is the most boring I have seen, constantly making you think you are in a warehouse or something. Transferred here, coming from Abu Dhabi and going to Stockholm. Strangely enough you have to go down to the baggage belts to transfer. The way is a winding path of stairs and corridors. For some reason, they have blue/white signs rather than the standard black/yellow ones (why?). Very unfriendly personnel at security desks and surprisingly inefficient. Food places etc might be nice but the unfriendly feeling just makes you want to leave asap. Overall, an unpleasant place, better avoid it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"security checks met with long queues"

(Germany)

Verified Review | From all the airports I have been to, Dusseldorf is one of the worst regarding dealing with a lot of passengers at one time. From the train station there is a Sky-Train which takes passengers to the main terminals, via the parking-lots. This Sky-Train was always so full from the train station that people in the parking lots had to wait for 7 or 8 trains in order to get into one them. This is way not efficient and something has to be done. Then, the security checks were met with long queues and even though there was a priority line, it was just marked on the floor, anybody could get into it, so there was no priority queue. Then the passport control was the same. Even though there are electronic gates for EU citizens the queues were enormous. Overall it took us more than 45 minutes from bag drop to the lounge and yes, Wifi free for only 30 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very few queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is my first time of using the airport, and having read reviews, I was not sure of what to expect. Arrival - The arrival was mid afternoon on a Flybe flight from London City Airport. The bus transfer from the aircraft was good and there was no wait. The door was opened and there was very little in the way of signage and the only sign lead to a locked door. After a few minutes people decided to walk upstairs which is what we should of done. Then it was a route march to the passport control with 5 e-passport controls which only 2 were working and 3 manned gates. However there was not much of a queue at the manned gates. Baggage reclaim was quick. Signage at the Airport arrivals seems to be poor and misleading. I was able to get a Sbahn ticket at the station but the machines do not anything over a 10 euro note or card payment. Departure - This was a different story there are plenty of signs and they are clear. The Bag drop was open and painless. The security control was quick and easy and very few queues, the only was wait was at Passport Control, which was via a manned control point. The Officers on duty did apologies for the e-gates not been in use. But most people understood the reason given the events of the previous night in Dortmund. Once though you had a few steps to the climb and the now normal walk though the Duty Free Shop but it was nice not be hassled into making a purchase as you are in the UK. There was a pleasant selection of shops and cafes airside. All departure gates were clearly marked, and again boarding was quick and involved a bus ride to the waiting aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no staff available to help"

(India)

Verified Review | No information to transfer from one flight to another. No staff available to help. Rude unhelpful staff. No correct signage, so to find gate C we walked around and around in a circle. Ground staff unhelpful would not give any information. Disgusting attitude from passport control staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"appalling luggage waiting times"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Appalling luggage waiting times. Sadly, we now live in Dusseldorf and have no alternative, but the way this airport handles luggage is simply unacceptable. Average waiting time to get your luggage is 1.5 hours, and, worst of all, they always unload baby items (cars seats, buggies etc e.g. the ones marked 'deliver to the aircraft door' in most other airports) last. Those with children can imagine what it feels like waiting for the car seat for hours with an exhausted baby. Staff are fairly dismissive in response to questions on whereabouts of the luggage or its ETA. On the positive - you can get decent food both in the arrivals hall and inside the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there was no information"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I have to say Düsseldorf airport is the worst airport I have visited. We came through with a connecting flight, there was no information to advise that we needed to change terminals, we only realised when the sales staff in duty free mentioned it. We then proceeded to the correct terminal and it was clearly understaffed. There was the usual EU and Non-EU lines, however the line for Non-EU passengers was so long we couldn't work out where to go. We tried to ask one of the ground staff who just ignored us. Luckily another passenger was able to point us in the right direction. Passport control was also understaffed without 4 officers for more of an hour and mismanaged. We were lucky that we had a three hour wait, however many other passengers were worried they were going to miss their flights and no one seemed to care. When we finally got to passport control, the border police officer asked us where our entry stamp was, we explained that this was a connecting flight so we hadn't actually entered Germany. This concept seemed to baffle him. I will never be travelling through this airport again, I am totally perplexed as to why anyone would give this place a positive review.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"signage is complicated"

(Germany)

Verified Review | While Terminal A (Lufthansa and Eurowings) is an efficient operation for a regional airport like Dusseldorf, the situation for the B gates (Air Berlin) is disappointing. The signage is complicated, gates are on two levels and hidden away to make space for shops and restaurants. Information sometimes get withheld - like today, 1 September, when the airport does not manage to inform its customers about a 50 mins delay for AB8476. The staff at the gate (unfriendly to the point of being impolite) makes an announcement 15 mins prior to departure time. Surely, they must have known for much longer. Same for a Eurowings flight to Dresden - that is obviously delayed but still no information of any delay 15 mins after the departure time. With this maze of boarding gates, the airport should really make sure that it delivers accurate information on time to work with its guests and not against them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"pretty much at its limit"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I travelled with a group of students of mine to Newark via Dusseldorf, this was a bit less expensive than flying direct from Frankfurt. Because our connection was rather short, there was no seating left for us at gate area. So we had a coffee at one of those nice little Mövenpick Coffee Places. Our flight was with an A340-600 and the place seemd to be pretty much at its limit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"clean and quite small"

(Switzerland)

Düsseldorf airport connecting to Milan Malpensa - I have to say the airport wasn't bad at all. Clean and quite small but very good.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable and spacious airport"

(Germany)

Very comfortable and spacious airport. Not much shopping available especially airside and there is often not enough seating available. With 3 separate piers in the Terminal (Germanwings/Star Alliance, Air Berlin/OneWorld, International) there is mostly enough time at the security check. The connection between the 3 piers makes it easy to switch security checks if your selected one is overcrowded. Good national and international connections available even though LH has cut down some connections. Free WiFi only available for 30 Minutes. Only 1 real Lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews