Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 59 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Thailand) 22nd April 2015

As I have family in the region I have used the airport at least 30 times within the last 20 years. Comparing to Frankfurt this airport does not cut it for me. Coming in by train with heavy luggage many times the moving staircase at the station did not work which in course caused 50 or more people waiting to use the only elevator available to get to the sky train station finally bringing you to the actual airport. No baggage carts available at the station nor other than in Frankfurt check in facilities right at the station. 5 or 6 times the sky train did not work and substitute transport by bus was arranged. Again a real hassle if you travel with heavy luggage. First spot to find a luggage cart is only to be found after the moving staircase down at the actual airport and that only if you walk out of the airport and pay 2 euros. Hence while also in FRA you have to pay for luggage carts it does not reflect any international standard. One repeating deficiency is the security personnel (not Federal Police but private contractors) after immigration. While immigration is very professional fast and friendly the security staff are while obviously effective very unfriendly in their with no doubts not easy job. I do not expect any entertainment or similar while passing security but the words please and thank you are considered basic respect and education. I have to point out that I have never been directly offended or treated unfair by any means but it very much looks like the contracted security company does not even require a basic education for their staff and hires out of the long unemployment lines just about anyone with a clean police record regardless of ability to deal with the public and/or paying passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 28th March 2015

Dusseldorf is a nice airport that is in a convenient location from where I was staying in Dusseldorf. I flew from New York to Dusseldorf and was greeted by a very cheery customs agent. I was one of the only people on my flight who was not a citizen of the European Union so the agent seemed happy to have someone to talk to. The terminal area was nice and spacious. They had duty free shops that sold everything and some small cafes. The gate areas were small though especially for the international flights. This airport had a lot of signs to direct everyone. Some of the staff got annoyed when they had to speak in English instead of German though.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Ireland) 17th March 2015

I recently flew from Dublin to Dusseldorf and was very upset with the rudeness of the security staff in the airport. The beeper went when I walked through so I needed to have my shoes (which I had been told not to remove) and feet checked etc. This was no problem whatsoever with me except that the security guard refused to speak one word of English so I had no idea what she meant. However the language barrier was not the problem. She was abrupt and rude throughout the whole procedure. When she had finished checking my shoes and feet she stood up folded her arms and stared away in the distance. Wary of leaving without "permission" I stood up and asked clearly "Is it ok to go?" (unfortunately I don't speak German but this has never been a problem before). In reply the security guard turned her head away and completely ignored me! I have taken approximately 10 flights a year for the past five years and I have never experienced such rudeness. I cannot find any facility for customer complaint on the Dusseldorf Airport website.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 12th February 2015

30 January. First time I've taken an outbound flight from D'dorf although I've arrived here in the past. Fortunately we arrived with over two hours to spare because it took forever to get through security. No good reason other than the staff were very slow and prioritised chatting with each other to processing passengers. We were there the day after they'd been on strike (pay dispute) and it certainly looked like they were still on go- slow. Apart from that you're forced to walk through shops to get to the gates but that's the case at many airports these days. It felt crowded with inadequate seating but we were there at peak time (Friday evening). What was worrying was that our plane was delayed because passengers (who had arrived at the airport in good time) were stuck in the security queue - there was no system for pulling people out and prioritising them if their flight was due to leave. D'Dorf seriously needs to sort this out. I probably will fly from this airport again because it's about the only German airport I can fly to Leeds Bradford from but I won't look forward to the experience and if there's an alternative I'll take it.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
7/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 26th January 2015

If you take the train it counts as a local ticket however to my understanding when you get to the "station' you have to buy a new ticket to take the sky train to the actual terminals. Know your terminal before you get on (just look at the departure boards in the skytrain area). Staff were the usual German indifferent place was clean and I didn't find it crowded. Took about 5 min to get through security and everything was on time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Luxembourg) 18th December 2014

Airport is ok security is a travesty terminal B lanes only 1 gate open at noon 120 min line up to get through. 35 minutes. If I had a shop behind security I would go crazy with the customers being put on hold before the gates outright stupid in every conceivable way.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 20th November 2014

The airport wasn't even busy and it seemed like the staff had their thoughts elsewhere. Staff can barely even exchange basic courtesies even in German.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
9/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 29th July 2014

My Homebase airport and of course I'd like to start and to arrive here. But I also want to criticize some points: no free Wlan! I think this is really utterly impossible in the modern world of today! Other thing is when I see the passport control for non-EU citizens its always crowded specially when the noon times airliners from UAE Russia and Turkey (with 777 and A330) arrive. Parking is too expensive! Bus connections could be better. Remaining points are ok. The airport is very clean they solved the problems with the signs and also the gastronomy is very good (but also very expensive!). Personnel are mostly very friendly and there are not many delays on a normal day.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 31st March 2014

Started and arrived from here a lot of times yet. Very good airport with good signage a lot of restaurants and shops and the ways to the gates are not long. You can easily access it by car public transport or taxi. A visitors terrace is available.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
3/10

Dusseldorf Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th December 2013

I used this airport as I had flight connection. I had to stay there for 3 hours. Airport looks very nice and have lots of shops to visit. Unfortunately there is no free wifi (not even in coffee shops or restaurants) There is an option to use service of one of well known mobile network provider but it's very expensive £4 for 30 mins. Direction signs are clear toilets everywhere. Very close to city centre. Seats in waiting areas are comfortable.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 38 Reviews