Top 100 Airlines  

Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"signage is complicated"

(Germany)

Verified Review | While Terminal A (Lufthansa and Eurowings) is an efficient operation for a regional airport like Dusseldorf, the situation for the B gates (Air Berlin) is disappointing. The signage is complicated, gates are on two levels and hidden away to make space for shops and restaurants. Information sometimes get withheld - like today, 1 September, when the airport does not manage to inform its customers about a 50 mins delay for AB8476. The staff at the gate (unfriendly to the point of being impolite) makes an announcement 15 mins prior to departure time. Surely, they must have known for much longer. Same for a Eurowings flight to Dresden - that is obviously delayed but still no information of any delay 15 mins after the departure time. With this maze of boarding gates, the airport should really make sure that it delivers accurate information on time to work with its guests and not against them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"pretty much at its limit"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I travelled with a group of students of mine to Newark via Dusseldorf, this was a bit less expensive than flying direct from Frankfurt. Because our connection was rather short, there was no seating left for us at gate area. So we had a coffee at one of those nice little Mövenpick Coffee Places. Our flight was with an A340-600 and the place seemd to be pretty much at its limit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"clean and quite small"

(Switzerland)

Düsseldorf airport connecting to Milan Malpensa - I have to say the airport wasn't bad at all. Clean and quite small but very good.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable and spacious airport"

(Germany)

Very comfortable and spacious airport. Not much shopping available especially airside and there is often not enough seating available. With 3 separate piers in the Terminal (Germanwings/Star Alliance, Air Berlin/OneWorld, International) there is mostly enough time at the security check. The connection between the 3 piers makes it easy to switch security checks if your selected one is overcrowded. Good national and international connections available even though LH has cut down some connections. Free WiFi only available for 30 Minutes. Only 1 real Lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"connecting is a breeze"

(Germany)

Connecting through Düsseldorf is a breeze. I can only recommend it in the highest terms. In contrast to Frankfurt or Heathrow, you never have to clear security between flights even when changing between Schengen and non-Schengen. No long bus rides, clear signage, good shopping options, clean washrooms. The only downsides are the WiFi (only 30 minutes free of charge) and the lounges in Terminal C are too small, no showers, not enough newspapers - just not the standard I expect.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"swift and efficient"

(Australia)

Having left Germany for Australia via ICE fast train to Frankfurt, I had the opportunity via code share LH/SQ combination to fly out via Dusseldorf, which was more convenient. I was pleasantly surprised by how modern the airport has become. Easy access via car, friends dropped me off and there were loads of parking spots, a huge check-in terminal flooded with natural light and Lufthansa's fully automated machine check-in including the ability to change seats, which was great, and then baggage drop at the counter. Security check was swift and efficient and I appreciated the area to have a big glass wall towards the terminal so that after I got checked I could wave goodbye one more time to my friends, which is rare in an airport. Once in the Gate/Departure section, the shops on offer including duty free and a wonderful bakery with a huge range of freshly baked sweets, paninis and drinks, a newsagency and more. The airport including toilets were very clean and the gate very easy to find. Lufthansa guests even got to pick from not just a daily free newspaper prior to boarding, but an what seemed like an entire newsstand. I counted 8 magazines and 5 daily newspapers, which was more than I had ever seen, even in Frankfurt. Boarding and departure was on time and I can only recommend travelling through DUS. Now that EK, SQ (as of July appearantly) and CX service Dusseldorf directly, I may look at flying in direct next time round.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"food is insufficient"

(United Arab Emirates)

I have flown to / from Dusseldorf more than 30 times in past 5 years. Overall a good airport. Professionally run, good orientation, reasonable priced, well-connected to street and rail network. Food is insufficient and devalued by Asiagourmet which is poor. However, Moevenpick outlets near departure gates are good and reasonably priced. Cleanliness ranges from unacceptable to okay. Terminals generally okay, but toilet for the railway station are difficult to reach and not clean. Check-in is usually good and quite fast but some check-in queues are all the way through the check-in hall - staff friendly. Passport control is okay but staffing not very flexible – arriving in rush hour and/or with A380 causes long queues. I have stayed in the Maritim terminal hotel a few times - it is rather costly, but overall a good experience. Sufficient parking available, close to terminals, but high prices. Insufficient drop-off / pick-up zones - always time consuming.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"facilities and bathrooms are clean"

(Switzerland)

DUS International is the third biggest airport in Germany and overall a good one. I used the airport for commuting between DUS-ZRH-DUS every weekend for a whole year and I have to say that it is one of the most efficient airports I have traveled with. Facilities and bathrooms are clean, the Skytrain (brings you from the airport trainstation to terminal A/B and C) is just beautifully efficient and the distances in between terminals are short. I used to arrive 45min before my flight went off at Terminal A (Lufthansa and 4U exclusive) and I always had plenty of time to get trough security. At Terminal B and C however you need to calculate with more spare time, the security lanes are fewer and staff is reduced. WiFi is available via a known provider but is limited to only 30min of free time, after that you have to pay very high rates to stay connected.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"against expectations I caught my train"

(Netherlands)

Last night I flew from Nürnberg to Düsseldorf with Germanwings. According to schedule I had 50 mins to reach the train. However, the plane was 30 min late, so I entered the building with just 15 min left. The luggage came very fast, within a few minutes. Then I hurried to the airport shuttle, which brought me to the train station in 5 minutes, so against my expectations I caught my train. Compliments to Düsseldorf Airport for the efficiency and great service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"there was not enough staff working"

(Germany)

I frequently travel from DUS airport. Both on leisure and on business trips. In general traveling from DUS is rather pleasant. It is not as large as FRA, which usually allows you to quickly arrive at your gate. However, this time was different. The line to pass the security check was enormous. It seemed to me, that there was not enough staff working, because not all x-rays were operating although it was rush hour and holiday season. It took us almost half an hour to pass the security, even though we were already accessing the priority security check.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews