Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"extremely long waiting times"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Security check in with extremely long waiting times. 4 out of 7 security lanes / gates were not staffed. The few staff that did work were slow on purpose in protest of not being fully staffed. I recommend to be at the airport at least 1.5 hours before the gate closes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful waiting times and disorganized"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Awful waiting times and disorganized. The waiting times are so long that if you have to check-in luggage you may miss your flight even if you are one of the first people checking luggage! They do not accept luggage earlier! Plus the staff are giving wrong advice and do not care at all. I took me 2.5hrs to go through security and I missed my flight as a result. There are lots of temporary signs/lines and directions which are even more confusing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it now has lost a lot of its appeal"

(Germany)

Verified Review | While DUS used to be one of the better regional airports in Germany, it now has lost a lot of its appeal since Lufthansa has shifted flights to their low-cost subsidiary Eurowings/Germanwings and also added new destinations. Terminal A is just not laid out to deal with the number of flights now operating from there and feels totally cramped, with no quiet corner to be found. The same is true for the Senator (Star Alliance Gold) lounge that is always super busy. Adding to this, the airport is struggling this summer with long waiting times for security control - up to one hour is not unheard of now. Apparently, the contractor, Koester, can not provide enough personnel. This led to the airport also closing the fast-lane. The airport and airlines provide very little information. So beware! And such a shame.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This was our first (and will be our only) visit to Dusseldorf airport. It was a nightmare. There were extremely long queues at security and, as a result, we would have missed our connecting flight if the plane's departure had not been severely delayed. To make matters worse, all but two of the several airport staff we spoke to (requesting directions or advice) were dismissive of our problem, and unhelpful. One person overseeing a queue told me that the cause of the chaos was a lack of staff and, yes, that we would miss our connection. He appeared to be unconcerned that passengers using the airport should miss their connecting flights due to inadequate staffing. We will not be using this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nothing major to report for this airport"

(France)

Verified Review | September, 11th. The queuing time for the security control was crazy. After 1 hour in the queue I arrived at the gate when the plane was supposed to take off. Someone scanned my boarding pass an hour before but nothing was done to delay the flight for even 10 minutes. Therefore I missed my flight and at least 2 other people too. I received no information from my flight company that it was such a mess. Otherwise, nothing major to report for this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it was a rude and uncomfortable experience"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Long and slow security check lines, no priority line for business class passengers available. Poor English language skills on security staff, felt it was a rude and uncomfortable experience. Also finding a toilet is challenging with poor signage. Bag delivery from my inbound flight was also slow, waiting over 15 min after arriving at the bag collection belt.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"security was no problem"

(Germany)

Unverified | Check in done at home, bags dropped off a day earlier. Contrary to most reviews here security was no problem, enough lanes opened, not too many passengers, staffing OK. Boarding OK as well. On arrival bags delivered after long waiting time (ground handler for AB is Acciona). Some backpacks arrived on the delivery belt, some others at the bulky luggage counter, with no conceivable system visable. Overall maybe not a top end Airport, but certainly not as bad as the image it has.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"we won't be going back any time soon"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival was fairly painless although luggage was slow and the reclaim area is a dump with uncollected cases lying around the belts. Departure was another matter altogether. We were aware of Düsseldorf's reputation from this and other sites and left ourselves plenty of time which was just as well. After checking in we saw a sign warning passengers that the Terminal B security was very busy and advising the use of Terminal C instead, which we did. It took 65 minutes (yes, an hour and five minutes) from the time we joined the queue at Terminal C until we cleared security and started our way back to Terminal B. The only explanation a surly member of staff offered was "Personalmangel" and given that only half the channels seemed to be in use staffing was clearly the reason. Absolutely and utterly unacceptable. Düsseldorf is supposed to be Germany's third airport for heaven's sake. Three days earlier we cleared security at a busy time in Munich Terminal 2 in under 5 minutes which is how it can and should be done. We were lucky, we'd done our homework (thank you Skytrax contributors) and had an idea of what to expect although the reality was considerably worse. The number of announcements requesting missing passengers to report "urgently" to their departure gates was noticeable and no doubt related to the utter shambles of Düsseldorf's security. In other ways Düsseldorf has a fair bit going for it - signposting is clear, most areas are adequately clean, there is a pleasantly airy feeling about the public areas and public transport connections are good but we won't be going back any time soon.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"one of the best Airports in NRW"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Still one of the best Airports in NRW, when it comes to departure. Check in at the Eurowings desk was reasonable (15 min), so was the security check in, because all lanes were opened. There are plenty of shops before the Check in and even more Duty Free Shops. Good prices and a wide selection of products. The staff are very friendly and professional. The terminal is very clean and looks modern.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"pleasant, efficient and very clean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Düsseldorf is pleasant, efficient and very clean. The ground transport connection by DB rail was excellent, quick and value for money. The airport had a short queue for security and nice shops and restaurants. I would definitely use Düsseldorf again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 70 Reviews