Dublin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 199 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this is an absolute joke"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | I am sitting on a plane to go to Bourgas scheduled at 17.10 and watching five men looking at a wheelchair wondering how they can lift it onto plane and secure it! This delay has now left the pilot saying we have missed our slot and must wait for another one! Really Dublin airport or your handling people this is an absolute joke! It's hard enough almost flying four hours without useless people drifting about acting silly. Loads of good people out there more than willing to work, get rid of these clowns.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a most unpleasant experience at Dublin Airport"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | I am a wheelchair user and disabled driver. I arrived at the Terminal 1 carpark yesterday and went as always to the disabled driver area. I found that every disabled driver space was taken, many by cars with no blue badge. DAA have allocated a large number of what used to be disabled driver spaces to chauffeur-driven vehicles. For me, it is absolutely essential that I have a wide space beside my door to assemble my wheelchair and I could not find a single space to park in the allocated area. Eventually I parked my car in one of the empty chauffeur spaces as I had to drop a visitor and pick another up. Parking was also expensive. I then went to Terminal 1 to drop my companion's baggage at the Air France desk having already checked her in online. We found a single very very long queue for all check ins and baggage drop completely contrary to all current airport best practice. This took about 50 minutes to navigate and put us under pressure to get to security/departures. A DAA official blamed the queue on Air France (and KLM) refusing to accept DAA (Dublin Airport Authority) recommendations to have multiple queues) I tried to find somewhere to complain and followed the signs for airport information which direct the visitor to Area 14 which (of course) is completely closed off. After a lot of searching I eventually found a desk on the arrivals floor. In terms of our customer experience, both I, a weekly user of the airport, and my students, have had a most unpleasant experience at Dublin Airport. The place is badly run from the car park right through to the terminal itself. The facility is expensive, slow, most unsympathetic to the customer, and a pretty unpleasant place to have to endure - and that was even without flying and as a wheelchair user being put through the awful security and ridiculous manipulations to get on board poorly designed and pretty inaccessible aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor representation for Ireland"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Arrived at Dublin Airport with 4 hours to spare for a flight to the US. Only 4 members of staff on the desks and the queue took around a hour and half just to check in. They are more worried about trying to get people to use the self check in machines to save on staff. Poor representation for Ireland.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"should be some sort of warning"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | I am uttterly shocked that our national airport does not have a single shop or restaurant open after 9pm, or even a vending machine selling anything other than chocolate or crisps. What are people who don't live near the airport supposed to do for dinner? There should be some sort of warning about this on the airport app or website. Has started off our trip on a very hangry note.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"good range of shops / restaurants"

(United Kingdom)

Travel to / from Dublin airport Terminal 1 quick and easy via the Airlink bus. No bags to drop and checked-in online so straight to security with virtually no queue whatsoever. Departure lounge in general was a decent size with enough seating and a good range of shops / restaurants though didn't make any purchases. Quite a walk to / from the Ryanair gates from the main terminal area on both arrival and departure though that's to be expected at a bigger airport like Dublin. Some areas of the airport looking bit worse for wear, especially in the landside / public areas though once again another good experience flying in and out of Dublin.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a pleasure to travel through"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | Flying out of and into Dublin for a one day trip to Brussels. I was departing from Terminal 2 and at 04.30 there were plenty of check-in machines free and staff available to assist. Passing through security was a breeze. No queues whatsoever and security staff were very friendly. Shopping in Terminal 2 was relatively limited, so I ran across to Terminal 1 as it has a much better selection. This terminal was far busier however, with much larger crowds both before and after security making it more difficult to walk around. There was a decent number of restaurants available, although Terminal 2 was again quieter. At the gate there was more than ample seating available for passengers waiting to board. There was no signage guiding passengers back towards the duty free though, so be aware if you have a layover. Wi-Fi was free to use and required no sign up. Arriving back at the airport at 20.05 the same evening, the directions to border control were crystal clear, and there were no queues at security. In the baggage hall there were three separate customs lanes, with very poor signage distinguishing them. By and large the airport was a pleasure to travel through and one I'd definitely choose again (not that I have much choice in Ireland though!).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"very fast security service"

(Belgium)

Because of traffic we arrived at airport very late. Just 20 mins before the gate closing time. Still we made to the flight because of the very fast security service, it was very efficient. Its just because of the fast service we made the flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"will not be flying through Dublin again in the future"

(United Kingdom)

Stopped at Dublin on my way to Boston from Heathrow, very disappointed with the USA customs section, firstly the machines were confusing, as putting you finger prints onto the screen, not mentioning left or right or thumbs! I got an X on my slip along with 90% of the other people. The USA citizens queued to the left side, the persons with no X on slip queued to the right side, and both these sections had two custom officers at the desk. The 90% of us had the middle section and only two custom officers at their desk, and as time went on, down to one officer, three flights of people where waiting to go through and ended up having to get people to jump the queue for their flights. Mine was the third one, and ended up waiting in that queue for 80 minutes, when we finally got to our gate, it was signed closed, yet we were able to get on. And to finish off this trip, coming back from Boston, our luggage got lost, and after 3 days at home, I ended up having to go to the courier depot to pick it up. This is my 7th trip in 9 years, to Boston and never had any problems like this, I will not be flying through Dublin again in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Terminal 1 has gone from bad to worse"

(Ireland)

Although some improvements in the food hall, Terminal 1 has really gone from bad to worse since Terminal 2 came into operation at Dublin Airport. The staff at the fast track security were dreadful in manners, demeanour and overall presentation. Think of the worst parts of bad European airport attitudes in the 70s and 80s and you might get the picture. The DAA operates the business class lounge on behalf of airlines using this terminal. It is shocking beyond belief. It was filthy. The staff had neither training or interest and it is a dreadful representation of Irish standards regarding quality and courtesy. The DAA obviously has no interest in customers using this facility. Their boast of over 27 million passengers using its airport in the last year is little comfort to those of us who have to pass through terminal 1 on a frequent basis. Shameful
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"unintelligible announcements in both terminals"

(Ireland)

Terminal 1 is outdated and in need of major investment, but could be easily improved by some attention to cleanliness and some decent maintenance. Terminal 2 is good, but in both terminals the PA system is a disaster. It is obvious that both the system and the announcers are not up to the job. Proper training, well-modulated voices speaking without being shrill would improve matters hugely. But the usual results are unintelligible announcements in both terminals. DAA could learn a lot from Schipol and Zurich in regard to both cleanliness and the PA system. They could also do a lot to improve the DAA appearance of professionalism by supplying staff with attractive uniforms that are of good quality and that actually fit. But in my very many times travelling through both terminals, over many years, the staff are invariable friendly and helpful. Security is fast compared with most airports, but inbound immigration is not properly organised.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes