Dublin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 208 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"doesn’t reflect the charm of the city"

(United States)

Not Verified | Extremely long line through customs to get in and then customs official seemed to ask irrelevant questions. It seemed as though they were delaying on purpose. When leaving, found check in at Aer Lingus extremely confusing. They’re trying to do most of it by kiosk and only had 2 people walking around assisting and passengers all trying to get their attention. Kiosk didn’t work for me so had to find someone to help but waited a long time before finding someone who hadn’t already been flagged down by someone else. There was no line, just whoever caught their attention first when they finally finished with the previous person. Once I got to the right place the person answered my questions and was helpful. Found the way to gates to be like a maze with narrow and isolated hallways, whereas the main waiting area was crowded. People working there congregated in walk ways making it difficult to get to gate. Only 6 charging stations that I could find in this area. Seats were cracking and stuffing coming out of them. Dublin is such a charming city. Too bad the airport doesn’t reflect the charm of the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Service was absolutely terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Service was absolutely terrible. We weren’t told before arriving that you could only have a small ziplock bag full of liquids so we were forced to throw out most of the liquids that we originally arrived to Dublin from the US with. Security was completely rude and singled us out because they did not check for liquids in the bags of other customers which made us feel completely targeted. They also denied most cosmetic products and considered them “liquids” and I was almost forced to throw some of it away if it didn’t fit into the bag. Security was a complete waste of time and money from having to pick and choose what items to keep and throw away. If you can avoid this airport, do it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This place is literally a dump"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Airport is disgusting. Roof, floor both old and need replacing, no lighting, seats in food area all ripped, looks like something you find in a developing country. This place is literally a dump. Is there no pride in the appearance.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long walk to collect our bags"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Had a delayed Ryanair flight - again - for an hour leaving Bergamo Italy, finally left at 10:50pm approx. Got to Dublin did the stupidly long walk to collect our bags. When leaving there was a huge queue of people at the gates to get through and I waas wondering why? There were 3 gates going through the green channel but only 1 opened. That was the reason. Can these guys not operate a fairly simple process? Anyway when we get out of the airport and being one of the only airports not to have proper transport links into the city (even during daylight hours transport is a joke) with only taxis available at that time we decided the easiest thing we (Girlfriend, myself and 4yr old child) could do was to walk all the way from the airport to the main road to pick up a taxi to get home. Utter nonsense but you just have to accept it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible service from the staff"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Got to the airport earlier than normal as I had my young son with me, for a 6am (ish) flight. Seemed to be very busy getting through the first stage of security (baggage screening etc.) but when you eventually got around all the bends you could see that there was not enough staff to open more lanes, but ok still enough time to get a bite to eat and board, or so I thought. One of my 2 bags was selected for closer examination but I couldn't think why but alright I'll see what aroused their interest. Then I and the others were left waiting as a lot of bags were selected and there was only 1 guy doing the extra checks and then he just left without a word. I waited so long that instead of having a bite to eat I was biting my nails as boarding time had already been called. I collared a staff member and asked polietly what was going on only to be told that this was normal procedure. I explained that I had been waiting a long time and my flight was boarding only to be told that it wasn't just about me! I agreed with her and pointed to everyone else waiting and that didn't please her either. If I hadn't have left my passport in the bag (which won't happen again) I would have just left the bag as there wasn't much in it. Eventually I got 'served' and it was for a swab test, much like nearly all of the others, are they joking? But no they were not. Terrible service from the staff there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible. They want you there 3 hours early and they don’t even open the door for service, we stood in a line for an hour and people finally decided to roll around to work at 8.45. Only one person out of 9 check in booths were getting people through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Avoid if flying into or out of continental Europe! Being a dual US/Irish citizen, I've flown into Dublin on several occasions over the last 50 plus years. The vast majority of my past flights into Ireland terminated in Dublin and off I went. My most recent fly through was a connection to Spain and a connection from Madrid back to Chicago. Both times, even though I cleared through customs at my starting points (Chicago and Madrid respectively), I had to check out of the terminal in Dublin then go thru security 2 additional times (not inclusive of US pre-clearance). For my arrival into Dublin on March 1, 2018, there was a "snow storm". By Irish standards, the snow was severe. For most places that get snow it would be nothing because there was approximately 1-2 inches of snow on the ground. I realize it is cost prohibitive for towns and cities in Ireland to have snow removal equipment. However, Dublin Airport is a major connection point for many international flights every day. Aer Lingus and Ryanair generate millions of dollars of revenue probably on a daily basis. All AL and RA flights for 4 days were cancelled. Not counting other carriers having delays in and out of the DA. Fortunately, I was able to book another flight on Vueling to Barcelona. These cancellations and delays could have been avoided if the Dublin Airport had proper snow removal equipment. Snow removal issues aside, returning home on March 15th, I encountered lengthy delays into DA because of security clearance issues stated above. Also, T2 which opened in 2010 has VERY little in terms of restaurants, bars, etc. There were 2 small snack shops that were grossly over priced and had little or no seating. What's more, each gate has approximately 50 seats. For international flights, this is absolutely ridiculous. There should be at the very least 100-150 seats. Many passengers, myself included, sat on the floor while waiting for our flights. Plus there are very few power points in the terminal for charging electronic devices. For a newly built terminal, it is poorly designed and appointed. Having flown thru several airports throughout Asia, Europe and the US, this recently built airport is extremely lacking. Especially in comparison to it's Scandanavian and Asian counterparts. Though Ireland has come a very long way with modernizing in some ways it is still very antiquated and backwards though it likes to think of itself as modern and sophisticated. My past experience in Dublin Airport reinforced my sentiments further. If you are connecting into other places in Europe or going to destinations outside of Europe, I'd avoid Dublin at all costs especially if you have a layover that's 3-8 hours long.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I eventually lost the flight"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience. We spent literally more than an hour in the baggage control and I eventually lost the flight, because my gate was 15 minutes away from the control. The security staff was absolutely useless and mean, and they did not help me when I was going through an anxiety crisis. Really awful. Worst airport ever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"toilets were filthy"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | T2 is nice to look at but thats it, the toilets were filthy. Border control staff about as friendly at a rattlesnakes. There are not many duty free shops even though T2 has been open now for 10 years T1 is much better. Next time it will be T1 for shopping hopefully their toilets will be clean.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"treated like animals"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Unfortunately myself and my wife and another 170 passengers were subjected to the late night arrival experience of Dublin Airport South Gate terminal after arriving home from Las Palmas on Saturday 25th March onboard EI783. On a cold night we disembarked the aircraft by steps, walked unescorted across the apron were we saw 1 Aer Lingus employee who looked like he wished to be anywhere but on the tarmac. We were then herded through the South Gate Terminal which had all the toilets closed off and shepherded onto a bus to be brought to Terminal 2 and then subjected to 4 flights of stairs to begin our journey to passport control. To be quite frank I cannot believe that a gate on terminal 2 could not have been kept empty to allow for the flight to be disembarked by having one of the parked aircraft moved and parked on the apron. A lot of the passengers on the flight were elderly and families with young kids who had just been on a flight for 4.5 hrs with significant turbulence and the toilets had been off limits for nearly 2hrs. Both Aer Lingus and the DAA will claim that customer satisfaction is one off there main priorities but in my opinion and many of the other disgruntled passengers we were treated like animals. Aer Lingus claim to be a 4 Star airline, don’t make me laugh.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no