Vote Now  

Dubai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 669 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"DXB makes flying slow"

(Germany)

DXB makes flying slow. I use this airport many times and every time it gets worse. For everything you need to do long queing is needed. Starting with airline approach. 3 to 4 extra rounds is average and quite annoying after long hours onboard the plane. Especially when arriving at T1 (non EK flights) a long walk follows along with taking a people mover to main building. Immigration and baggage return is not possible within less than one hour and then finally there are long queues for taxis. For departing its the same. Yesterday it took me one hour from check in to getting past the security check. Even at peak times only half of the security lanes are open. Once inside the gate area its quiet nice. But then again usually long taxiing and waiting till departure. They call themselves a world class airport, but as long you are not Emirates business or first class flyer its a mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one-hour-long queue at immigration"

(New Zealand)

One-hour-long queue at immigration, with only 30% of the desks being manned. Completely unacceptable, and could result in Dubai being avoided by many travellers. Emirates needs to exert pressure on the airport authorities to run the airport properly. Also, the e-gate system does not work: we were advised that our passports were now registered, but this did not work on our departure (fortunately the queues were shorter).
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute chaos at immigration"

(United States)

Absolute chaos at immigration. 4 desks open and a 3 hour wait time. If Dubai wants to attract tourists this is not the way to do it! You would have thought that given how important this airport is to Dubai they would do a much better job of managing it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was terrible"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Customer service was terrible. We arrived here at midnight from London and were made to wait two hours in a queue to getting through customs. It was so hot inside the terminal, just not good enough as there were nowhere near as many customs officers on duty as there should have been. There were so many empty counters without any staff. Two or three other airlines had arrived at the same time and the length of the lines of people waiting to go thru customs was just unacceptable. There were customs staff chatting away in private conversations with each other and ignoring the long line of travellers waiting to go thru. I found them to be very arrogant and ignoring the fact that the lines of people were so long was just not acceptable. When we got to a customs officer counter staff were not friendly with no smile or hello. We got out of the airport at 2.30am, our flight arrived at 12 midnight, when you have little kids the experience was not acceptable. The airport is too big, our experience arriving at Dubai on our first leg of our trip on the way to London the fact that you have to catch trains to go to different terminals once you arrive at the airport to check in and then walk for hours on end to actually get to the departure gate is something that I and my family was not expecting as first time travellers through Dubai airport. It's an airport I will try to avoid if I can and in the future will endeavour to stop over in Hong Kong or Singapore when travelling to the UK or Europe from Australia.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"cares only about the top spenders"

(Malaysia)

Agree with other reviews that Dubai airport is all about first and business class, and consumerism for the rest. There is a disconnect between Emirates which cares about customer whatever class, whereas Dubai airport cares only about the top spenders. It starts with not having a gate for a A380 with elderly pilgrims on the way to Mecca struggling down the stairs. Due to the size of the airport, the bus trip took forever with the poor elderly including myself still holding on for dear life. Not enough resting facilities in the most modern terminal 3. A far cry from Singapore where we mostly transit. If Dubai does not improve, Emirates will feel the backlash, there are options out there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"does not cater for the increased amount of travellers"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Dubai airport has exceeded its capacity and is struggling under the sheer weight of passengers and flights to the extent that nearly every flight has some delay both on arrival and departure. Arriving from London the plane had to circle several times due to traffic and on departure the plane was delayed leaving the gate again due to the number of departures. Once we did push back and taxied there were 12 planes ahead of us waiting to depart with the overall effect that we were some 50 minutes late taking off. This is notwithstanding the sheer numbers of passengers in the terminal which, although is well laid out and functional, does not cater for the increased amount of travellers especially at busy periods. Whilst I value Emirates as an airline I would question if I would transit via Dubai in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff are not courteous"

(United States)

Worst experience at Dubai airport - especially security check which is ridiculous. Staff are not courteous. I would recommend not to travel through this airport and I will for sure not come to this airport again. They landed our flight in a remote area and we had to carry our luggage down a flight of steps to catch a shuttle which took half an hour to get us to terminal. People with kids and disabled also had to go through this horrendous travel.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"this is a slightly better than average airport"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I was flying with Emirates on business class, so this review concerns mainly terminal 3. This terminal is solely dedicated to Emirates. First and business class lounge is in a separated and big area, away from the economy and group check in. Check in process was fast and painless, dedicated security checks and passport control speed up everything. Within minutes one can be at the lounge relaxing, or browsing at the wide range of duty free goods etc. One thing I noticed is some areas of the airport can be quite dim. However, overall, signage is clear and boarding gates are easy enough to find. I would say this is a slightly better than average airport, but not in the league of Singapore or Seoul.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"lots of shops but no soul"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | An over priced and appallingly bad airport. Lots of shops but no soul. The security staff were rude and FlyDubai's transfer desk was so understaffed I gave up. I will never use this airport again unless there is no other option. Emirates let me down previously and now FlyDubai with delays and missed connections. I hate the tour of the airport you're forced on to board planes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it is basically a mall"

(United Kingdom)

I had high expectations for this modern airport but was completely and utterly disappointed in almost every way. It is basically a mall and doesn't cater properly for the needs of weary travellers, many of whom use it as a transit airport. There was very little seating and surprisingly little space for the number of people who pass through here. It seems they would rather you spent your time shopping which didn't interest me at all. The staff at security were gruff and seemed to have an attitude and there was an air of apathy around the airport in general. Perhaps the most shocking thing though is the lack of toilets, there simply aren't enough and I remember some of them being absolutely filthy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no