Vote Now  

Dubai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 676 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an over-populated gateway"

(United Kingdom)

When I must, I use Dubai Airport Terminal 2 to travel between the GCC countries with FlyDubai. Frankly, this terminal is an over-populated gateway to the other GCC countries. With seating far inadequate to house the hundreds of passengers passing through its doors daily and a quality of bathrooms equally poor, it is surprising that this terminal can be allowed to run the way it does. I aim to spend as little time in airports as possible owing to their prison-like feel - once you're inside the terminal, there is no getting out (until you reach your destination). I arrive, check in and go through security expecting to be boarding roughly 15 minutes later. It is not until I am through security, checked in, visited the dirty bathrooms and found a tight-squeezed spot to perch, that I find out that my flight has been delayed by an hour when I looked at the gates screen. Had this information been relayed to me 5 minutes earlier before entering, I would have opted for the cleaner option - anywhere but this terminal. The floors are covered in all manner of rubbish. It seems as though the staff have no control over what is going on, where. Rubbish? Pick it up. Dubai is said to be one of the best airports in the world. Fair to say the Emirates terminal is okay (just), however Terminal 2 is a shambles. One that should be knocked down, re-built, extended and for pity's sake - install an air ventilation system.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"One of the worst airports in the world"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Dubai is one of the worst airports in the world. The waiting time for luggage is twice that of the worst European airports. The toilets are comparable to third world country airports. Half the time when you board a plane you have to use a terrible shuttle which takes 20mins minimum! What a joke
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"slow customs processing"

(United Kingdom)

I love stopping over in Dubai from London to Australia, but I have always found the slow customs processing a bad introduction to the city. Between midnight and 1.00am travellers are very tired and standing in line with few staff to handle the traffic is very disappointing. The Duty Free shop is outstanding. The only food/drink on either side of the arrivals hall is from Costa so be aware of that.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"airport is suffering growing pains"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This airport is suffering growing pains. When you have to go down stairs to a bus rather than walk into the airport that is the first negative. Then go into these huge impersonal emirates lounges. It's just a huge box, Singapore is a much better international lounge.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything was dirty and messy"

(Australia)

As breastfeeding mum I have to say: this is the worst airport. Women wihout babies standing in queue to baby room for toilet due lack of toilets. In baby room absolutely no place to sit and breastfeed. I also needed to express but there was no electrical point. And hygiene? I couldn't even put my child on the changing table, as they were either broken or dirty! I had to spend several hours at this airport due to a delay and it was just awful with an infant. There were people sitting and sleeping on the floors, everything was dirty and messy. To be fair, wifi was good enough and directions clear.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"DXB makes flying slow"

(Germany)

DXB makes flying slow. I use this airport many times and every time it gets worse. For everything you need to do long queing is needed. Starting with airline approach. 3 to 4 extra rounds is average and quite annoying after long hours onboard the plane. Especially when arriving at T1 (non EK flights) a long walk follows along with taking a people mover to main building. Immigration and baggage return is not possible within less than one hour and then finally there are long queues for taxis. For departing its the same. Yesterday it took me one hour from check in to getting past the security check. Even at peak times only half of the security lanes are open. Once inside the gate area its quiet nice. But then again usually long taxiing and waiting till departure. They call themselves a world class airport, but as long you are not Emirates business or first class flyer its a mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one-hour-long queue at immigration"

(New Zealand)

One-hour-long queue at immigration, with only 30% of the desks being manned. Completely unacceptable, and could result in Dubai being avoided by many travellers. Emirates needs to exert pressure on the airport authorities to run the airport properly. Also, the e-gate system does not work: we were advised that our passports were now registered, but this did not work on our departure (fortunately the queues were shorter).
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute chaos at immigration"

(United States)

Absolute chaos at immigration. 4 desks open and a 3 hour wait time. If Dubai wants to attract tourists this is not the way to do it! You would have thought that given how important this airport is to Dubai they would do a much better job of managing it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was terrible"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Customer service was terrible. We arrived here at midnight from London and were made to wait two hours in a queue to getting through customs. It was so hot inside the terminal, just not good enough as there were nowhere near as many customs officers on duty as there should have been. There were so many empty counters without any staff. Two or three other airlines had arrived at the same time and the length of the lines of people waiting to go thru customs was just unacceptable. There were customs staff chatting away in private conversations with each other and ignoring the long line of travellers waiting to go thru. I found them to be very arrogant and ignoring the fact that the lines of people were so long was just not acceptable. When we got to a customs officer counter staff were not friendly with no smile or hello. We got out of the airport at 2.30am, our flight arrived at 12 midnight, when you have little kids the experience was not acceptable. The airport is too big, our experience arriving at Dubai on our first leg of our trip on the way to London the fact that you have to catch trains to go to different terminals once you arrive at the airport to check in and then walk for hours on end to actually get to the departure gate is something that I and my family was not expecting as first time travellers through Dubai airport. It's an airport I will try to avoid if I can and in the future will endeavour to stop over in Hong Kong or Singapore when travelling to the UK or Europe from Australia.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"cares only about the top spenders"

(Malaysia)

Agree with other reviews that Dubai airport is all about first and business class, and consumerism for the rest. There is a disconnect between Emirates which cares about customer whatever class, whereas Dubai airport cares only about the top spenders. It starts with not having a gate for a A380 with elderly pilgrims on the way to Mecca struggling down the stairs. Due to the size of the airport, the bus trip took forever with the poor elderly including myself still holding on for dear life. Not enough resting facilities in the most modern terminal 3. A far cry from Singapore where we mostly transit. If Dubai does not improve, Emirates will feel the backlash, there are options out there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no