Detroit Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
na

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 31st May 2015

For international departure DTW is ideal. For international arrivals DTW is to be avoided at all cost. The gross incompetence of TSA and US Customs at DTW amazes me. It took me almost two hours to slug through security and customs at DTW after arriving on time on a scheduled flight. DTW personnel (of which there are many but poorly trained) seemed taken by surprise by the arrival of my flight. TSA lines were needlessly long due to severe understaffing. DTW and TSA seem to have conspired to hire many employees to shout instructions to arriving passengers to cram into inadequate screening lines rather than to provide more screening lines. Avoid arriving at DTW from an international airport at all costs: TSA + DTW = totally inadequate to the point of utter incompetence. Delta and KLM: this is a major hub for your international operations. Why do you routinely subject your unfortunate customers to such mistreatment at DTW?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 21st December 2014

This is a very convenient clean and well-designed airport. It works well both for international as well as domestic travel. There are numerous transportation options to and from the airport and the tram in the McNamara terminal is very convenient. Security is always very efficient yet thorough. I have been running late a number of times for flights our of Detroit Metro but the ease of parking the efficiency of security and the tram have always got me to the gate on time. Additionally there are numerous dining and shopping options for those who have time prior to take-off or those connecting to another city.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (Brazil) 17th July 2014

We arrived at and connected at the MacNamara terminal used by Delta etc. rather than the older north terminal used by Southwest American etc. which we had used on a previous trip. This terminal is relatively small clean and easy to use. We had a very short walk between gates. Almost disappointed we made our connection as I was secretly hoping we'd have to overnight and be put in the lovely Westin hotel that's in the terminal.
Queuing Times N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd July 2014

I flew AMS-DWT and then on to MKE at the end of May it was a fair walk from the arrival gate to immigration passing the US citizen entry area which was quite full I only had 1 hour left of my transfer time left so was a little apprehensive as to how long the queue for non US persons what a surprise around ten booths open and around twenty people yes 20 people queuing! I was chatting to the CBP guy for 5 minutes since there was no one behind me it seems that immigration had been full at 2pm with flights from 'Asia' but is slow at 3pm for a while. I continued on past baggage claim (I only had hand luggage) and on to security screening again no queues. The staff were very friendly and we chatted about the difference between DTW and the madness at ORD and I was on to my next flight around 20 minutes from leaving the plane and half of that was chatting to officials. The elevators bring you out in departures at the central train stop so on to the train to the north station and the gate was around 2 minutes walk as usual I checked the gate and time I had time to freshen up and bought a Philly Steak which was very nice and around $5.00 soon after they were calling the flight. I have used the airport before without problems I have to give DTW 10 out of 10. A quick note you can take food and drink you buy in the terminal on to planes in the US most people seem to since they don't serve more then pretzels on board it is called buy and fly.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 3rd July 2014

The Customs procedure leaves something to be desired. We will not book another flight that goes through Detroit for international flights again. We were on a flight that originated in Barcelona then onto Amsterdam (where we did a complete security scan) onto Detroit. We passed through customs just fine with the declarations paper completed and verified by an officer before we collected our luggage. Then our luggage was late coming off the plane and by then other flights arrived making the customs line exceedingly long. We told 3 customs officers patrolling the area (there were another 4 just standing around doing nothing) that we had a flight leaving in 30 minutes. Each one said we would make it. Then we had to go through another security check (we just had one at the gate in Amsterdam). Well we missed the flight. The next one we were put on was leaving 6 hours later and did not have the option of an extra 4 inches of leg room previously purchased for our original flight. In Amsterdam by the way there was an express line through customs for those travelers that had a flight leaving in 30 minutes or less. Why US airports don't do this should be explored. Probably because it makes sense.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th February 2014

Passed through on the way to Japan and was pleasantly surprised. I like this airport very much. Very clean excellent signage excellent dining options (pricey but good) video boards with the playoffs on the walls everything seems to run smoothly. Also had comfortable chairs which is nice.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th October 2013

Travelled here from Schiphol in transit to Orlando arriving at 4.20 pm on 10 October 2013. Shortest TSA lines we have experienced ever and the agent was both polite and welcoming which is unusual in our past experience. He apologised as the computer system froze and he had to reboot - as did his colleagues. Took around 10 minutes to get back on line and thereafter very efficient. Baggage recheck very quick and security well staffed and again very polite particularly when dealing with children and one passenger in a wheelchair. Overall Detroit is now our favourite transit airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 7th October 2013

What should have been a simple flight turned into a nightmare. Gate C24 boarded plane was told plane there was a problem had to de-plane and walk all the way over to Gate B18 and get on a second plane. Then told there was another fault had to wait 20 minutes for them to fix it after 20 minutes we had to again de-plane and walk back to the C24 Terminal. Now on third plane - waiting. To compensate they offered me a complimentary can of pop and pretzels. A lousy airline!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 28th August 2013

Great stopover-airport to use for immigration. Immigration is always empty and within few minutes you are through the process. The airport itself is large but they have a train going thru the terminal which avoid long walks. Shops are ok. It is certainly a lot better than what you heard and read about the actual city of Detroit.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Detroit Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd April 2013

This airport is very large and long. It is just one tunnel. There are 3 train stops throughout the McNamara Terminal. However there are constant announcements telling people the time in Japanese Spanish and English. I can't however rate the restrooms due to my non-entering. This airport is very large and spacious. There is never a contest for seats.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
yes
1 to 10 of 48 Reviews