Detroit Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"No help for the handicapped"

(United States)

Not Verified | No help for the handicapped at this airport. The disaster started with a 40 minute wait for my arriving plane to get a gate for us to debark. In 60 years of flying, in airports all over the country, I've never had to wait more than 10 minutes for my plane to get a gate. Then finding that my connecting flight was in another building and I would "just have to go downstairs, through the tunnel and upstairs to the other gates," the gate clerk scoffed at me when I said that would take 40 minutes with my arthritic knees. He didn't offer transportation, I had to ask for it. Apparently there are no golf carts or trolleys for the mobility disabled at the airport, as there are in every other airport I've visited. He ordered a wheelchair, which took 20 minutes to arrive. In spite of everyone's assurances that I would make it, the plane left without me when I was only a gate and a half away. No one ever attempted to contact the departing gate to let them know that a crippled passenger was trying desperately to get there on time. Other than the wheelchairs, which are slow and take an inexcusable amount of time to arrive, this airport makes no attempt to accommodate mobility handicapped persons. There were no electric carts traveling the length of the interminably long tunnel between C and A terminals, and none that I could see at gate level either. Again, something I've seen in all but the smallest airports. This is not a place a mobility disabled person would want to travel through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most dysfunctional airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the most dysfunctional airport I have ever seen. I was just there to change planes. It is extremely time-consuming and difficult to navigate the 3 huge far-flung terminals with poor signage and no explanation of how to get from one to the other. I had to ask staff along the way or I would have wandered endlessly. I actually had to go through security a 2nd time that was located *inside a hotel* at the airport because the regular security was not operating. They also seem to have a rule against scanning luggage. My suitcase was *lost for 5 days* with no record of it ever being scanned by either airline I flew, so I thought it was lost at the point of origin. It was finally located at the *wrong airline* in Detroit (why they sat on it for 5 days, I'll never understand). It took a dozen phone calls and literally hours on hold to get the bag located and sent to a 4th airport (because I was no longer in the city where it was supposed to go.) There was one helpful woman at Detroit who tried and did help me, finally. If it weren't for her my bag would still be a mystery. Delta denied all responsibility but was required to reimburse my out-of-pocket expenses (my daughters having to buy changes of clothing.)
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport at all costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | Detroit airport is by far the worst airport I have ever been to. Not only are none of the flights on time but the gate for your flight will change at least once and flights are delayed by 1 or 2 hours. Avoid this airport at all costs. This is not an airport you want to experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
9/10

"DTW is a grand airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | DTW is the unparalleled airport success of the Midwest. The McNamara Terminal is beautiful and architecturally stunning and always clean. There are multiple TSA queues, allowing for quick terminal access, even on international departures. Food options are really strong here (any airport with a Chick-Fil-A is worthy of an award), and as far as I could tell, the shopping options were solid. Gate seating is plentiful, and DTW is a grand airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"their baggage claim is horrible"

(United States)

I fly 2-3 times a year and every time I come into Detroit airport their baggage claim is horrible. It's the longest I have ever waited for baggage. Usually 35-45 min at least before the belt even starts moving. Just completely terrible. It's like they have only one person is working to unload luggage. The airport itself is fine but retrieving luggage is a 0 out of 10.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"baggage claim is horrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | I fly 2-3 times a year and every time I come into Detroit airport their baggage claim is horrible. It's the longest wait I have ever waited for baggage. Usually 35-45 min at least before the belt even starts moving. Just completely terrible. It's like they have only one person is working to unload luggage. The airport itself is fine but retrieving luggage is a 0 out of 10
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"cleaning services not doing their job"

(United States)

The North Terminal of Detroit Airport is one of the worst maintained I have ever experienced. The bathrooms are filthy and in disrepair. Soap dispensers are often empty as well as paper towel dispensers. Toilets, well lets say you should use the facilities on the airplane rather than rely on the airport facilities. The ongoing lack of regular maintenance and general condition of this airport has been a problem since this terminal was constructed. Whoever the airport has contracted with to provide cleaning services is not doing their job.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"annoyed at my questions"

(United Kingdom)

Missed my connecting flight due to the worst international arrivals system I have ever experienced. The attendants I asked for basic information looked bored and annoyed at my questions, took a long time doing everything. Even trying to walk by them in the hall was an extra chore, I said "please excuse me" to an attendant as I rushed past her in a tight space, and heard her yell, "just be patient". I saw them snapping at other international travellers who were not accustomed to American airports and didn't understand why they kept being redirected to different lines. Many people around me also had connecting flights to make and their concerns were continually dismissed. The kiosks for reviewing passports in detail were massively understaffed, for about fifteen minutes there was one clerk servicing three different lines. And when I finally got to my terminal and found out I had missed my flight, the woman running the desk sent me to the wrong area to get a new flight, and refused to answer my questions when I asked for clarification about where to go and what to do. I fly between the US and UK frequently and this was the absolute worst customer service treatment I have experienced. The only positive experience I had was with the waitresses in the restaurant I stopped at during my extended layover, an absolute day-and-night difference in attitude, helpfulness, and general commitment to helping people have the easiest travel possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"one of the better airports"

(United States)

Detroit is one of the better airports I have experienced in the United States. The McNamara terminal is clean and well maintained. TSA wait times can vary greatly depending on time of day. Once inside, concourse A is roughly a mile long from end to end, with many shops and restaurants to check out. They actually have good food inside the terminal, such as Longhorn Steakhouse, although prices may be slightly higher than at the same restaurant outside of the airport. The Delta Sky Clubs are okay, but not necessarily worth the $50+ for a one time visit. They do have nice and clean showers, but the food they offer is not that special. It is a good place to relax, grab some snacks, and get some work done, but don't count on being able to get a full meal there. My only complaint is that the public WiFi is not dependable (or at least I couldn't figure it out). I am able to connect, but usually have no luck getting it to work. I often am only able to use WiFi at a Delta Sky Club, where I use the club's WiFi and not the airport's WiFi. If you ever go through Customs and Border Protection at DTW, your experience can vary greatly. DTW now supports the automated kiosk passport system, however, some officers will ask you question after question, holding up the line..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"nice terminal"

(United States)

Nice terminal at Detroit Airport. Horrible network. Clean and good food/beverage choices. If you want to do a little work between flights - forget it. WiFi and mobile data is very poor in this techno-backwater. Countless drops. Boingo has very poor service here.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews