Top 100 Airlines  

Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 175 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"forced to walk around the shops"

(Austria)

Denpasar Bali is clean but passengers are forced to walk around and around the shops before you come to the departure gates. Air Conditioning is bad, restaurants are crazy overprized. At least the toilets are acceptable. There is not much to say, besides I would if I could avoid this airport. Big is not always beautiful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"departure was unbelievable"

(Australia)

What an experience at Bali Airport. We used the official airport taxi service to avoid being ripped off as suggested on many websites. Well, we were ripped off by the official taxi stand. In little mood to argue we accepted the 300,000 IDR fare for the trip to Seminyak, normally around 30-40,000 IDR. The departure was unbelievable. Around an hour simply to get into the terminal building before any security. I accept security is high in Bali but when there are thousands of people stuck in queues outside the airport without any security measures, surely that is cause for concern? Another massive queue to have your bags x-rayed. Then another long queue for another security check before immigration and then another bag inspect and frisk at the gate. Overall a 2 hour journey simply to get to the gate. Most of the queuing was due to the lack of staff and out of operation machinery. 4 immigration attendants for 7 flights leaving within a 1 hour timeframe, departing to Korea, UAE, Japan, Australia - all large passenger planes. What is it with taking liquids from you even after the security checks when water etc have been purchased within the airport? Bali needs to lift its game.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"overall, good airport"

(Malaysia)

Nice airport with a touch of Balinese tradition. A compact airport and could get pretty hot inside as there's a lot of open spaces (not air conditioned) around. Could do a with a little more improvement. The toilet was pretty decent though a few have some problem with the flush. Food choices aren't that many to choose from and it's a bit pricey. Overall, good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"toilets are worn out"

(Singapore)

Beautifully design airport but if you want to look at a country's maintenance or hygiene standards look at the toilet. Sad to see the toilets are worn out, dirty and can't be flushed. Duty free products are pricier than Singapore and Malaysia. Not much air flow and many tourist fanning themselves. Overall it's a beautifully designed airport but there is a lack of maintenance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"is now a good experience"

(Australia)

This airport has improved out of sight since it's opening. My wife and I have used both the new and old airports and have been far from impressed with the new one. in February of 2016 we arrived and were through the airport in 40 minutes. A similar experience on departure, but they still cannot get the boarding gates right the first time. You have to be on the ball. The buses to the planes are still an issue. Very backward for a new facility. Apart from these 2 things it is now a good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"premium lounge is overpriced"

(Australia)

Had to walk from domestic terminal to international terminal. No shuttle bus nor coach. The premium lounge is overpriced. Poor service. Poor food. They only provide one shower room for the customers, so you need to queue up. No slippers. The only beauty of this airport is the architectural design.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very friendly and efficient"

(Czech Republic)

Wonderful. The new terminal is a dream. Duty free for domestic a bit lacking and overpriced but otherwise a great experience every time. I have been travelling to Bali for more than a decade. I knew the old terminal well and was a big fan of it. It feels like Singapore only a much more humble tropical feeling and far less sterile even though it is also immaculately clean. The "old days" where you have to queue for several hours for your VOA (visa upon arrival) have now been replaced by what can literally be done in 15 minutes. And since July 2015 they've even waived the $35US fee. And when they did away for airport departure taxes in all of Indonesia the entire world breathed a sign of relief. Customs agents are very friendly and efficient. Shops at the domestic terminal (which we arrived at from Surabaya) aren't very interesting but international one (which we left from) is great. You can still pick up stuff for a reasonable price if you didn't have time during your stay and don't have to worry about your luggage allowance. The only criticism I have (and I'm not sure if it's in any related to the airport or is solely ruled by the taxi companies) is that there is no organised shuttle or bus company operating in Denpasar like in Jakarta so unless you have family or friends who can pick you up or your hotel offers it free of charge, you are forced to fork out a lot of money for a cab ride (which has increased dramatically since 2014). The latest cab ride in February cost Rp 180,000 (or about €14) to get us to our place in Sanur which on a good day with no traffic should take no longer than 20 minutes. A 2-hour bus ride to Bogor (near Jakarta), in contrast, costs Rp 55,000. Basically every major airport I've visited has some form of public transit except this one. I appreciate that taxi service are the livlihood for a lot of people here but it's still gouging and needs to stop.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"now a pleasant experience"

(Indonesia)

Departed and arrived from the domestic terminal. Since opening after extensive renovations it is now a pleasant experience to use. Plenty of check in desks with no queuing. Security is easy to navigate and there is now the customary walk through a shopping arcade. The views are great from the gate areas and plenty of food and drink options.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"took me 2 hrs"

(Indonesia)

I think it is time for the airport authority to buy some more x-ray machines. It took me 2 hrs from stepping out of the taxi to clearing immigration (just 10 mins of that at check in). Inside eateries have the captive premium prices with 2 to 4 four times mark up compared outside. On the plus side, the airport is far better than when it first opened.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"various rules and regulations to adhere to"

(Singapore)

Various rules and regulations to adhere to when travelling to and from this airport. Airport underwent recent construction and had a refreshed international airport terminal. On arrival, witnessed an Immigration officer telling off one particular tourist for taking photos in the arrival hall. More could have been done to provide a better experience for all travelling through this airport. Signs could have been more prominently placed to alert travelers on this rule. Bag were out on the carousel after a half an hour wait and from the a different belt. Hence, felt that they could provide better real time information with regards to baggage collection. Security at the airport is strict and is a plus point. Helps to provide a batter travelling experience and also a fast immigration process. Flight departure gate could switch rather frequently for passenger boarding a smaller aircraft. As we are being fetched from a boarding gate to the domestic terminal for boarding, it seems to be an awful lot of hassle for passenger with bulky baggage.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes