Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 155 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 3rd August 2015

There have been numerous improvements made to Bali airport over the last few years. The new facilities have increased the number of retail and food outlets before and after immigration. Duty free shopping has increased and the processing though immigration and check in has also vastly improved. Garuda now collects the departure tax at check-in which also saves time. Overall very happy with the airport and the improvements
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit02-08-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 19th July 2015

The new airport at Bali is a credit to the designer and the people who run it, sure there are some minor delays but if you have to wait there are plenty of places where you can get a good meal for around $6 to $8 AUD. We got there at 5.30 am and even then there was restaurants open, if you compare it to the disgrace that is Perth Airport, where the only food is wet sandwiches or microwaved Pizza at certain times then Denpasar airport is ten star, it also leaves the new airport at Kuala Lumpur in it's shadow, once you are through the gates at KL theres a 20 minute fast walk to the planes with only a muffin stand for food, so if you are delayed as we were, we had two hours with only a muffin and water.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit19-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Austria) 18th July 2015

It is a new airport. But when you have passed the immigration, it is an endless walk till you come to the gates. Why? Because you have to pass numerous shops. There is no direct way. Shame on such kind of passenger "forcing" to walk by!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit18-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
8/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 12th July 2015

Surprisingly nice, new airport (domestic terminal) with ample shopping, coffee bars and restaurants. Nice open, modern feel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit12-07-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 27th June 2015

Arrived mid evening, visa on arrival purchase, immigration and baggage claim was very quick - although the crowd was building up behind us. Customs was a little slower but in the end was just a cursory inspection aided by X-ray. Walking thru a 'shopping mall' to arrivals landslide is a pain. The car park station was chaotic but that is Bali. International Departure was easy. Very pleasant waiting area with lots of food/ drink options. Of course it is another shopping mall. Gate lounge was comfortable enough and Singapore Airlines has the boarding by group well organised. One of the many good SE Asian airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
7/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 18th June 2015

Bit crowded in Arrivals. I was in the baggage hall within about 30 mins of landing in the afternoon which is very bad. No wait on baggage but had the usual confusion about which carousel it's on. The monitors showed the planes that had arrived but did not show the carousel numbers where to collect your baggage. After 45 minutes we finally found our bags. On my next flight departure, it's nicer than the arrival in terms of experience. The check in was smooth and not much problem. But, I think the airport need to improve on the boarding system as to make the queue shorter and make people more convenient. Overall, it's a nice airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit18-12-2014
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
7/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th May 2015

Bit crowded in Arrivals but I was in the baggage hall within about 20 mins of landing in late afternoon which is not too bad. I believe the $35 Visa Fee is about to be dropped. (The Departure Tax has already been dropped). No wait on baggage but had the usual confusion about which carousel it's on. No big deal I was pointed in the right direction and was out of the terminal a few minutes later. Taxi system is fine with no waiting involved. Departures were quick and slick with no queuing at all on Air Asia. The Duty Free Shopping area is extensive for a small airport but didn't appear especially good value. Signage isn't great so you have to check carefully to avoid gate screw ups. A better airport than I was expecting.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 8th April 2015

First visit to Bali for my Wife and I and first impressions of the airport left me fuming. For the millions and millions of dollars the Government makes through the arrival tax (USD $35) and departure tax ($200K Rupiah) surely they can get their systems right. Firstly the queue's on arrival to get your passport stamped and to pay the arrival tax were staggering. They did have almost all the booths open yet it took at least 35 minutes to get through. Then the fun starts - the monitors showed the planes that had arrived but did not show the carousel numbers where to collect your baggage. There were 4 carousels with hundreds of bags on them and people (including us) were going from carousel to carousel trying to locate their own baggage. Don't bother to ask a Airport employee as they have no idea or just don't answer your question. After 45 minutes (yes 45 minutes) we found our bags. Very frustrating. Yet more frustration on our flight home - we checked in and went through the various 4 or 5 steps even before you get through: check in - go to another counter to pay your departure tax - go to another counter to have the departure tax receipted - go to the next counter to have your passport stamped and then at least your through. But wait there's more - our flight we were advised would leave from gate 11 and we proceeded to gate 11 (which is downstairs). When we got to the stairs to go down 2 guards at tables were checking bags etc. for water bottles. When he asked what flight and where we were going we weren't allowed through as "you have to wait for the current flight to leave before you can go to the gate". I'm not sure why but there was no way we were getting through. Once they packed up and left (20 minutes) we then went downstairs to the gate and waited for our flight. But it doesn't end there! There was a monitor above the departure gate but no details - then 30 minutes before our flight was due to leave 2 employees rolled up and placed the various flags and placards of their airline next to the gate - and these were of a different airline to ours. Upon enquiry as to our flight they had no idea (which was understandable as they are a different airline). Result - upstairs again and in a hurry to find which gate we were supposed to be at. We ended up locating where we had to be (gate 9) but there was no announcement; no details on any of the monitors to inform us that the gate had changed. Overall a shambles to be honest which leaves me thinking twice about returning.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 17th March 2015

I've found a quiet time - 2pm on a Friday. Immigration was quick however on the second visit luggage took 45 minutes. Taxis are more organised but despite increasing the listed fares they still don't honour them (the board now says R70k to "Kuta 2" but they want R100k and even my Indonesian colleague couldn't get below R95k). And there's still a long walk from the booking booth (just before the gauntlet of shops at the exit - note that the only convenient ATM is opposite the booth) to where the taxis actually are.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Denpasar Bali Airport customer review

Review by (Thailand) 17th March 2015

Had a connecting flight in just two hours after landing and was a bit worried about the long immigration lines after reading some reviews here. All in all the whole experience with many queues i.e. visa on arrival - immigration - collecting luggage - check-in to the next flight - departure tax - immigration again took less than one hour. Most of the queues were short and fast. The only disappointment was that just transiting through the place cost me 56 USD - 35 USD for visa on arrival and 21 USD for departure tax (it is actually 200000 Rp but they use some crazy exchange rate if you want to pay in USD).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes