Vote Now  

Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 198 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"terrible for a number of reasons"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I am mainly a full time resident in Bali for the past 7 years, and have travelled in and out over 50 times. The airport is terrible, for a number of reasons. The cost of food and drink in the airport (and duty free) is between 3-400% higher than outside. I do not know of an airport in the world that gouges its customers more than Bali. When someone arrives at the airport, they are very likely to encounter incredibly long line ups at immigration - 20-40 minutes and often much longer. When you get out of the airport, it is like a bad movie. People are best upon by "taxi" drivers, it is totally relentless and aggressive. I have my usual driver pick me up, and I speak Indonesian well and explain to each person I have a driver already, and I still often get followed out into the parking lot and asked 10-30 times. It is a terrible way to arrive after a long flight. When departing, the airport and security staff all try to get you to wrap your luggage saying it isn't safe - lovely! Basically, you get harassed on arrival at the airport, and completely ripped off on the way out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"many shops and restaurants"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Denpasar Bali is one of the best airports in whole of Indonesia. Much better than Jakarta. Arrival is quick and easy, we got taxi to our hotel and ATM's if you need. While flying out in departures there were many shops, restaurants and seating areas. It has really cool view of sea. There are a lot of place to charge your phone. The WiFi wasn't as good as promised.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"everything is massively overpriced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Denpasar Bali is a horrible airport. Everything is massively overpriced, its swelteringly hot, and there are way too many staff just bumbling around with nothing to do. After deciding we were hungry enough to pay an outrageous amount for food, we went to a Sushi place, and despite there being seven members of staff, they couldn't make any new food and there was only a stale selection of rather sweaty looking sushi left. So went to a different place and as walking in saw someone sending their food back, not a good sign. Upon receiving the bill there was 10% tax added on top, something i've not experienced anywhere else in Bali. And this was all just on leaving, upon arriving my partner was stopped and had every last item of his luggage pulled out by security. And when leaving the airport you will be aggressively harassed by a million and one taxi drivers, and if you choose to go with the official taxi counter, prepare to be ripped of yet again. This place will leave a bad taste in your mouth when arriving and leaving the island.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"prices that will make your eyes water"

(Australia)

Verified Review | 3 times through security at Denpasar Bali, on each occasion you are "lucky enough" to have any liquids taken from you so you can re-buy them at prices that will make your eyes water in any airport. Security staff with a power trip that enjoy the chance to laud it over visitors who nowadays are too scared to do anything but almost bend themselves over in two to comply.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"rules of engagement keep changing"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Poor air-conditioning for a recently built airport. Worse still, a security officer told me that I should get my suitcase wrapped in plastic (8000 Rp) as they are experiencing theft issues because so many workers handle luggage on the conveyor belts. This is the 5th year I've been through this airport and the rules of engagement keep changing every time I go through. Airport taxes are part of our air ticket fee and yet they cannot guarantee our checked luggage will not be tampered with, nor will they provide this as a complimentary service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"what a disappointment"

(Australia)

What a disappointment the new Bali International Airport is. For a new airport the carpets are in need of replacement, the air conditioning doesn't work and the prices are so inflated when trying to get a meal or a drink before departure. The staff in some of the so called restaurants are rude and take Bali time to a new level of wait forever. Airport seating in the waiting area for plane boarding is lacking and tourists have to sit on the floor whilst the staff sit in seats that should be available for tourists. Not sure if I would ever go back as the actual hotels and Balinese are very friendly and accommodating but the leaving experience of the airport will last a lot longer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a massive disappointment"

(Hong Kong)

This was our first time to Bali. Our arrival went smoothly and quickly. We got a taxi to Sanur from the designated taxi counter and what a ripoff it was. I showed them the price on the airport website and was told that was the old price - the new price was more than double the price advertised. I later found out that the price advertised is the correct price as our metered taxi back to the airport for our departure, from a different company, worked out to be the price on the airport website. Our departure from the airport was equally a ripoff. It was straightforward going through security and checking in but once we were in the terminal area, it was a massive disappointment. The restaurants are overpriced, even by airport standards. We ended up paying nearly 500 000 Rp for a very bad meal with equally bad service. The toilet facilities were clean, but not all of them flushed. The wifi is good. We had such a wonderful holiday there and the hotel we stayed at made a lot of effort to make it memorable. It's such a shame that our first and last experiences of Bali were so negative.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"new airport terminal look nice and modern"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The new airport terminal look nice and modern. There are quite a number of food stall/restaurants in the open air area outside the terminal building which is reasonable in both quality and price. One security check area before entering the terminal, with long queue but progress fairly quickly. Once checked in, it is just a short walk to immigration and then to the shopping area with confusing walk way and no signage. There are more restaurants around but seemed to be more expensive. Try to avoid their toilet, and keep your time at departure gate at minimum since some section of the area have glass roof, resulting in uncomfortably warmth and air conditioning unit could not fight the heat. Tried to log into their free wifi, but it is completely useless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"trying to irritate their customers"

(United Kingdom)

Denpasar Bali airport is an absolute joke. You have to go through a first security screening to get to check in. You can't see if your flight is checking in unless you go through and once you're through there are no restaurants in this no man's land. Then you check in and they test every bag for trace explosives in the queue which is fine. You go through the normal security and immigration which is fine too. The massively pointless part comes when you've been through all of this and go down to the gate. They have already checked you for everything by this point but again decide to make you queue for a fairly long wait for what is a simple check of your bag (they barely check it) for any liquids or lighters. It makes the airport look ridiculous as there are no shops beyond this point. So getting onto our 6 hour overnight flight people were having their duty free items confiscated and water bottles taken from them. These had all been purchased after security so posed no threat to anyone. Then they do the briefest pat downs for some reason and finally let you through to sit at your gate. It's just weird and this odd extra check which accomplishes nothing - unless they're just trying to irritate their customers. Also there is no map saying what restaurants are available. There is a general map of the location of gates but nothing to say what they have to eat / drink without walking around the whole place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"no one could even direct me"

(Australia)

The recent modernisation of both terminals has left the transit passenger out of the loop, with the signs from domestic to international ending at the front of a hotel, which as it turned out may be at the end of the International building - but hard to tell as there is no footpath, spare roadspace or even line of sight that allows you to know where to go, especially at night. I asked Customer service staff, security, and random persons for directions - no one could even direct me. The only way round the problem seems to be hiring a porter when I collect my bag, as this worked when travelling into Bali. He escorted me to the designated [unsigned and unmarked] shuttle collection point.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes