Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 211 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"avoid this airport if you can"

(Australia)

Unverified | Poor treatment of passengers at Bali Airport. Firstly they will take away your liquids at the first security check which is normal. So you go and buy bottles of water for your family for big bucks at their shops assuming that it would be allowed to take on board like at other airports. You will get a nice surprise though when you come across the last security check where they are going to take your drinks thus making you pay for them again onboard. What is even worse that the transit bus drivers park their vehicles positioned in a way so that their exhaust fumes fill the passenger space of the other bus during waiting to be filled up. People literally suffocate while waiting there. Once the bus is full they close the doors and people suffocate for 5-10 minutes until arriving at the aircraft and being let out. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"air conditioning quite useless"

(Sweden)

Unverified | Arrived into Bali just after 6 PM on Sunday, June 11th and the lines for the immigration were just crazy. It took around 1 hour 20 minutes to get through. Departure was however a lot better with shorter lines but the air conditioning was quite useless and made the wait quite sweaty.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"eat before you get to Bali Airport"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Eat before you get to Bali Airport. The most expensive (and worst) food we ate in Bali was at the airport at Made's Warung. 80,000 Rp for 2 vegetarian springrolls and 200,000 Rp for a miniature beef burger. If you need to eat go to Prada Bar. Full range of alcohol (most of the other places just have beer) and the food is more reasonably priced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"lines for the immigration were just crazy"

(Sweden)

Unverified | Arrived just after 6pm on Sunday, June 11th and the lines for the immigration were just crazy. It took around 1 hour 20 minutes to get through. Departure was however a lot better with shorter lines but the AC was quite useless and made the wait quite sweaty.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"profiteering at it's worst"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | What a great new airport, fast and convenient especially compared to the old one. Myself and my family were in Bali for a short vacation, always a welcome break for a few days. Arriving at the airport with some time to spare at around 9am the airport was busy but efficient, check in, passport control and even the security was quick and easy. Once air side we looked for brunch, now airports around the world tend to be pricy, here the restaurants were almost empty, we finally chose a place to eat, how expensive could 2 plates of noodles and a hot dog be? Along with 3 juices the bill came to 740,000 Rupiah roughly US$54.00, a little pricy I can handle. This was profiteering at it's worst. I can't help wonder why the restaurants were empty? Wake up people fix the problem, this is your last chance to make a good impression on the people you need to come back soon.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"beautiful experience"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Beautiful experience at Bali airport with their staff. There were friendly and patient explanations given throughout. One of the ground staff at my flight had assisted in explaining why my odd shaped luggage was not suitable and needed to be checked in at the airline counter. Feeling skeptical at that point and ready to lose that piece (it was cheap though had been meaningfully bought for the recipient), was absolutely pleasant to find luggage arriving in 1 piece. A very big thank you to the ground staff who attended to us. A very memorable and amazing experience in Bali.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Horrible service. Terribly disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After an amazing 15 days in Bali we made a stress free early arrival to the airport to commence our return to the UK. Unfortunately when approaching the final immigration check, our final interaction with a Balinese representative tainted our experience. Despite noticing the one person only sign under the desks, my two daughters age 14 and 17 and I approached​ the desk, where I immediately clarified they were my children. The officer displeased that we had made our way to the desk together, queried their age and mocked me that they were even children. I took him to be rudely referencing my eldest and I gave her passport so she could pass through alone. When I mentioned the youngest was 14 he said I must 'follow the rules' and she was sent to deal with immigration alone also! It's not clear at which age minors are meant to travel with or without parents, therefore for a UK Citizen where my youngest cannot travel alone until 16, I find it incredibly rude the way I was spoken to, like I was being rediculous. Also unpleasant that my youngest wasn't prepared to deal with immigration alone for the first time. Both of my daughter's noted his rudeness. We have travelled dozens of countries from Europe to the UAE and never been separated as a family unit, or addressed quite so rudely! If he had simply said, all over X age must go through alone, or there was an age indicative sign, it would be rational. Horrible service. Terribly disappointed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very busy in the late evening"

(Australia)

For arrival at Denpasar Bali - beware the possibility of a very long walk from your gate to Immigration. Once there, the lines are small and the officers are non-confrontational. Baggage takes a long time, and so does clearing the Customs line. Well, actually, there is no line, just a mass of people all walking through and handing their customs declaration form to one of the officers who look as though they would prefer to be elsewhere. Baggage was not X-rayed at the exit, although I suspect that the slow arrival of all the bags on the carousel was because they were all x-rayed prior to being sent upstairs (although this is mere speculation on my part). Once through the throng at Customs, it's into the hot humid air and your holiday begins! Departure - and your holiday ends here. There's security check and luggage x-ray at the entrance to the terminal. After check-in there is another more comprehensive security screening, at which all shoes and belts must be removed and lighters / matches will be confiscated. The lines move very slowly and there is no separate line for premium passengers. The security officers were efficient, and managed to maintain a professional decorum even when dealing with frustrated passengers (this is in contrast to some other places I have traveled, where security can be downright obnoxious). At evening peak-hour, this will take 45 minutes. Not kidding. The airport has the same international luxury brand shops as every other airport in the world. Our bags made it onto our flight. Ngurah Rai is very busy in the late evening, so be prepared for crowds and noise. All-up, though, it's not too bad, and the security is for a good reason. It is reassuring to see that they take airport security so seriously, and the staff act very professionally.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"cost for food is ridiculous"

(Australia)

I do not have an issue with the airport facilities in Bali but my husband and I decided to buy a snack before getting on the plane. Ordered a burger and chips. Also wedges and spring rolls. Bill was 599000rp. Cost for the burger 250000rp. This is ridiculous - never paid this for a burger ever and not expected to pay this in Bali.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"hardly the welcoming place befitting of Bali"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival into the domestic terminal was seamless and our bags arrived immediately. Once out of the airport you are surrounded by taxi touts and have to be pretty tough to avoid them. At the international terminal upon departure as others have said there is an unwelcome side to Bali airport in that you're approached quite aggressively by guys offering to help you with your baggage for a fee when the actual airport trolleys are there for free. There is then a document check at the doors of the terminal which causes chaos with the volume of travellers trying to go through a couple of entrances. Once inside things improve although the plethora of high-end shops is a bit lost of the average tourist. Overall the airport is hardly the welcoming place befitting of Bali in general.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no