Top 100 Airlines  

Denpasar Bali Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 187 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"trying to irritate their customers"

(United Kingdom)

Denpasar Bali airport is an absolute joke. You have to go through a first security screening to get to check in. You can't see if your flight is checking in unless you go through and once you're through there are no restaurants in this no man's land. Then you check in and they test every bag for trace explosives in the queue which is fine. You go through the normal security and immigration which is fine too. The massively pointless part comes when you've been through all of this and go down to the gate. They have already checked you for everything by this point but again decide to make you queue for a fairly long wait for what is a simple check of your bag (they barely check it) for any liquids or lighters. It makes the airport look ridiculous as there are no shops beyond this point. So getting onto our 6 hour overnight flight people were having their duty free items confiscated and water bottles taken from them. These had all been purchased after security so posed no threat to anyone. Then they do the briefest pat downs for some reason and finally let you through to sit at your gate. It's just weird and this odd extra check which accomplishes nothing - unless they're just trying to irritate their customers. Also there is no map saying what restaurants are available. There is a general map of the location of gates but nothing to say what they have to eat / drink without walking around the whole place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"no one could even direct me"

(Australia)

The recent modernisation of both terminals has left the transit passenger out of the loop, with the signs from domestic to international ending at the front of a hotel, which as it turned out may be at the end of the International building - but hard to tell as there is no footpath, spare roadspace or even line of sight that allows you to know where to go, especially at night. I asked Customer service staff, security, and random persons for directions - no one could even direct me. The only way round the problem seems to be hiring a porter when I collect my bag, as this worked when travelling into Bali. He escorted me to the designated [unsigned and unmarked] shuttle collection point.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"out in under 15 minutes"

(New Zealand)

This is for the domestic airport terminal which has to be one of the best I have visited. If they could only sort the chaos out in the international terminal it would make the start of a holiday makers vacation so much better. Back to the domestic, very clean and plenty of choices to eat - I was impressed. Arrivals similar and got of plane and out in under 15 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Guaranteed to be ripped off"

(Australia)

Restaurants in departure lounge grossly overpriced. Guaranteed to be ripped off upon arrival at the airport taxi stand. Worst airport to get a taxi with a meter. No other private taxi companies with metered cabs are permitted to pickup passengers at the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport is pretty well maintained"

(Philippines)

Bali's 3 year old international terminal works. Despite the large number of tourists arriving and departing, the airport is pretty well maintained and queues in immigration, both inbound and outbound were reasonably fast moving. They still have that strange passage through the Dufry shop going out and in the transit area, but so do a lot of other airports. There is a reasonable amount of shopping and dining that is to be had and gate seating is ample. One complaint I had was the weird location of the check in desks, which is usually right at the entrance of other airports. In DPS, one has to go through some commercial areas and restaurants before one sees (at least in my experience) the partly hidden check in counters.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"an hour before our bags arrived"

(Australia)

We were amazed at how quickly we got through immigration at Denpasar and were expecting to get out of the airport in record time. Wrong. We waited along with many other disgruntled travellers for over an hour before our bags arrived. When we complained to staff, we were told that each bag is now X-rayed before it is put on the conveyor belt. Fortunately we didn't have to wait long to get through customs once we had our bags. Be warned.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff friendly and cheerful"

(Singapore)

Denpasar Bali airport is huge and clean. There were extra arrival immigration counters being opened when our aircraft arrived. The waiting time for my check in baggage was short and the terminal signs were very clear. For my returning flight, I arrived the airport more than 4 hours before flight, I thought I might have a long wait at the check in area, but there was early check in service available. The check in counter staff was friendly and cheerful. The airside is very spacious, with many duty free shops and restaurants. The airport lounges are available one floor above the departure level. The only thing that need to be improved is that some parts of the airport are hot, I could see many people fanning themselves. But overall I liked this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"average cleanliness"

(Indonesia)

My first time travelling through Denpasar Bali airport. My flight with AirAsia from SUB to DPS return was quite smooth, although I got delayed for the return. The airport is big but maintained well. Staff are polite, and there are many restaurants with good WiFi service. Average cleanliness. The only problem is they have few toilets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"airport is clean and feels very safe"

(Sweden)

Flew to Denpasar Bali airport for a vacation in Bali. The airport staff were quite courteous. Baggage was delivered on time, even though there was a problem with the baggage belt, but it was fixed very quickly. There's just the usual taxfree shop when exiting the airport, but there are more shops when departing. Some quite expensive shops, like Gucci, Prada, Louis Vuitton etc. are available. The airport is clean and feels very safe. On thing that stood out was the Wifi-service. It was free and very fast (10-14 mbit/s) compared to other modern airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"forced to walk around the shops"

(Austria)

Denpasar Bali is clean but passengers are forced to walk around and around the shops before you come to the departure gates. Air Conditioning is bad, restaurants are crazy overprized. At least the toilets are acceptable. There is not much to say, besides I would if I could avoid this airport. Big is not always beautiful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no