Top 100 Airports  

Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 208 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"sitting on the dirty floor"

(United States)

I'm actually sitting on the dirty floor at Delhi airport right now, wondering why didn't I knOw India is like this? I've visited a lot of developing countries om my life for leisure and volunteering work, but this one is by far the worst airport I've ever visited. Avoid this airport when in transit. I'm a member at the United lounge but I cannot enter until 4 hours prior to the flight. I'll never return to India, I prefer to spend my money where I'm treated with dignity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"adequate seating and facilities"

(India)

Used Delhi Airport for an international flight on AI to Melbourne. Got to the airport and checked in quickly. Immigration queues were short - took 5 minutes. Security was also about 10 minutes. After that the airport was pretty much a shopping mall with food and shops - there is adequate seating and facilities for boarding are quick and efficient. Arrival back from MEL was also quick. No lines for immigration and customs was a walk through. Was out in 30 minutes flat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"suggest avoiding this airport for transfer"

(United Kingdom)

Had the misfortune to transit at Indira Gandi Airport Delhi, yesterday during a Jet Airways flight from Bangkok to London. The Transfer route is clearly marked and eventually brings you to an International Transfer desk. Here one has to queue to see an Airline Agent who studies the onward boarding card that was issued at the point of departure and then having examined your passport, sticks a small stamp on its cover. You then follow the transfer route to security which is where the fun really starts. Men and women are split into separate queues which is fine and it took me about an hour to be processed in the queue I had joined. It appeared that the metal detector 'gates' weren't functioning properly so each passenger had to be screened by a hand held detector. The was conducted in a thorough manner as is expected but only one individual member of the security staff was doing this. About 7 or 8 other security staff were either standing around talking or staring at a hand luggage x-ray machine, only one of which appeared to be working. Frequently, hand luggage was stopped from going through because it contained either a laptop or a camera so the offending item needed to be removed adding further delay. It didn't appear to have occurred to the staff to display a sign instructing these items to be removed first. Having got through security, I proceeded to the departure gate for my onward flight to London which was now showing a one hour delay. There I joined a small queue to enter the gate area where yet again, an airline official closely examined my boarding card and passport and then allowed me to enter the gate area. After about 20 minutes, all those who had entered the gate area with me were instructed to leave it and yes you've guessed it, join an extremely long queue that had formed in order to go through the whole process of re-entering the gate area by once again having my boarding card and passport examined yet again. When I asked an airline representative why this was necessary, he merely shrugged his shoulders. Would strongly suggest avoiding this airport for transfer purposes if at all possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"overall feeling of being cramped"

(India)

Used Terminal 1D for departure and arrival. Improved since the last time I used it and it seems better catered to the needs. Has a great food court and seating areas. Only nagging thing is the confused layout after security and overall feeling of being cramped. Wi-fi is abysmal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"never seen such poor arrangements"

(United States)

Arrived on an international flight at 1.30am and had to transfer to domestic airport for a 5.30am flight. After several inquiries (signage is very poor), was directed to a small desk to get our tickets on the "free" shuttle to the domestic terminal. The staff member sends us to another place a couple of hundred meters down to catch the shuttle. Guess what? There's no shuttle but after about a 20 minute wait a city bus packed with people arrives. No easy way to get luggage into the packed bus. We eventually end up taking a taxi. On our way back we avoid the airport transfer by choosing a domestic airline that lands in T3. But this time we were not allowed to enter the check-in area because we were an hour too early and were held in a small cramped up staging area. In my years of travel I had never seen such poor arrangements. In general, the signs are inadequate, very few restrooms and in general a very poorly functional airport. The custom and immigration agents were very efficient even they just don't smile or greet you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"slovenly paced security screening"

(India)

I was in transit at Delhi arriving from London Heathrow by AI 112 and was connecting to AI 142 dep.12.30 hrs. The incoming flight arrived on time and I was happy that I can have a shower at AI's Business class lounge. Alas, the airport security had other plans. We passed through the AI counter at the entrance of the transit security and was bunched in the first bay of the security queue (out of three). I have not experienced a more slovenly paced security screening ever. The CISF men were so slow that it took 1.25 hrs to pass through this rigmarole and it was nearly 12.00 hrs by the time I could extricate myself from this ordeal. There were only around 25 passengers and this is definitely a great disincentive for transit passengers. If Delhi's claims of being the best airport has any takers let them experience the ordeal of transit passengers and decide. To say the least, it is atrocious.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"appalling customer service"

(United Arab Emirates)

Delhi airport looks shiny and beautiful on the outside, but on the inside appalling customer service, inefficient use of security equipment, limited differentiation between a 'domestic' and 'international' airport, limited language skills on the part of security staff. Chaotic queuing, outmoded service in cafes (receipt couldn't be printed), lack of attention paid to travellers who had to rush to catch their flight, a long list of grievances, sadly. I feel ashamed to think that this is supposedly one of the better airports in Asia. The authorities must come up with customer friendly, hassle free experiences. Otherwise, a holiday for many, can turn into a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the best I have visited"

(India)

Delhi airport is the best I have visited. The airport is beautifully built and consists of a huge variety of places to shop. It's pretty lively and clean and the staff are nice. There is just one problem - the immigration lines are long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"adequate seating"

(India)

Flew out of Delhi T3 on an international flight to Paro in Bhutan. The flight was supposed to leave early morning so we arrived at the airport at around 4am. There are not many international departures at this time so the airport was empty. Check in took 15 mins and then immigration was another 10 minutes as was security. Adequate seating, shopping and eating facilities available. Arrival was as easy and efficient and took us not even 30 minutes to get our bags and get out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"good modern facilities"

(Netherlands)

Good modern facilities. The airport is huge and well run. Adequate seating areas for waiting passengers, relatively affordable duty free prices etc. I have used this airport over 5 times, and I have found my experience absolutely worth it. The immigration and the security on the way out can be slow, however this is pretty much the same in any big European hub.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes