Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 243 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"more than two hours"

(Dominican Republic)

Not Verified | I must add my voice to the long list of people who have been writing to complain about the length of time, more than two hours, needed to verify the E visa at Delhi airport. All aspects of the airport are very good but no one can expect that an elderly passenger should wait so long in a crowded line just to have the E visa verified, it is never asked for again while traveling in India.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Delhi Airport should lift its game"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Delhi Airport T3 started off well in 2010, before it went down the tubes. Its got a lot to do with the Kejriwal Government in Delhi and the new Federal Government, which is better at talking up India, than setting things right. Rude and inept immigration staff were the hallmark of Indian Airports in the 70s, 80s and 90s. Back on 10-11 when the Airport was new, things worked like a clock. Polite friendly staff and security personnel. All that has changed. The departure and arrivals area wear a tired look. Time for a refurbishment. Typical of third world airports. It starts off well, but quickly degerates to rotten. This 4 hour limit on entry is another absurdity. Travel light if you can, and definitely report 4 hours before departure for heavy travelled/ popular flights like SQ, TG, EK, LH etcetra. Delhi Airport should lift its game. There are a lot many worse airports in the western and the developing world, but Delhi holds much promise.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the most inefficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Where to start, the beginning I suppose. This airport can only be described as hell on earth. I imagine this airport was created purely to antagonise the traveller. Being allowed into the airport is in itself a unique experience. The military guards on the door do at least make a passable attempt at looking like they are doing something useful. If you are lucky to get one who is fairly competent you may be through the doors in a couple of minutes. You will likely not find one though. Once at check in you will more than likely be served by someone who appears to be on work experience or may be their first day on the job. Once the 10 minutes or so has passed and you get your boarding card it may be worth double checking it. Then you have immigration. To describe it as a mental test is perhaps doing it a disservice, this is single-handedly the most infuriating immigration procedure I have gone through. Digital India is not real I tell you. If it were, the humming to himself/self satisfying smirk immigration officers wouldn't realistically be taking 10 minutes per person when the queue is all the way out to the check-in desks. To be fair once past this test of fortitude the shops are fairly decent. Although to balance I didn't expect to be haggling with Indian street merchants just to buy a few sweets for home. The endless checking of documents would make sense if they followed any kind of logical procedure. I cant honestly remember someone checking both my boarding pass and passport at the same time. Also don't leave anything in your bag that looks remotely bulky. To have to go down to security and physically verify the contents to your bag 30 minutes before departure is quite a strain. (By the way it was a head torch, one that has been with me through countless airports without issue). I can safely say as a frequent traveller this is without doubt the most inefficient airport I have ever flown from and has guaranteed that no matter the cost implications flying via Delhi is just not worth it. A shame as the rest of India was brilliant. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a great airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a modern airport, renovated and expanded in 2010, it has many check in counters, helpful staff, quick security check in. Though last time, it took a while at the security. There are enough shops at both domestic and international terminals. Enough seating area, some lounge chairs to relax. Food court serves mostly Indian food. Very limited western foods. Airport has lounges operated by Plaza Premium. You can find them both before and after security. There're some sleeping pods out there. You can pay and sleep. Make sure to book in advance. There are hotels at the airport, and a Holiday Inn attached to the terminal. After international security while departing, there's a huge area selling all kind of Indian stuff. This is a very good place to buy gifts. I always spend some time here and look around. Almost always found stuff to buy. It's little expensive though. Overall, a great airport with all the amenities you need.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"countless check-up-points "

(Finland)

Unverified | Presenting a sign that Delhi airport is the number one in two consecutive years is a sheer insult to passangers having walked approximately 1km in stifling heat from the arrival gate to utterly understaffed immigration. You then stand in line sweating in heat for 1.5hrs to get to the counter to be met with a rude immigration officer for at least 5-10 minutes for each person when all documentation has been electronically supplied and is in order. This is followed by countless army check-up-points before collecting your luggage - which takes an other 30min-1h to arrive, going out and trying to find the departures hall with no signs whatsoever, checked 3 times before even entering by army men with no understanding of anything. You must queue to check-in for another 30 minutes-1h pouring sweat, queuing through security another 30 minutes, scanned inside out only to walk the same 1km back to your departure port! Why do you even bother to have any shops there, one has no time whatsoever to shop after all this. I would never come to Delhi were it necessary to reach some destinations. Do something! But based on the "performance" seems they are utterly incapable for that.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"turn on the air-conditioning"

(India)

Verified Review | Authorities need to turn on the air-conditioning. Delhi being hot at this time of the year and the air-conditioning either not working or set too high was not very pleasant. Initially I thought may be its just me but then released that many passengers were using flyers or magazines to air themselves. Humble request with a beautiful airport like this someone needs to turn up the air-conditioning.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever seen"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have been to India many times as my company owns part of a business there. I have to go to India at least once a year. Many posters to this forum have complained about understaffed and slow immigration process, which is true. This is about leaving. Whatever you do don't get there early. Airline check in counter doesn't open until 4 hours prior to flight. Meanwhile no place to have a beer or decent meal. Doesn't matter if you have business or first class ticket. Horrible WiFi in waiting area. Gauntlet starts with security. Afterwards the awful departure control, which of course is understaffed. Business and First class get a faster line. Poor you if you fly Economy. After getting through departure control you will discover that airlines are no longer allowed to operate their own lounges. Giant step backwards. Makes ORD T5 shine in comparison while still being on of the worst in the western world. Once you get to the lounge you have to complete paperwork to get a drink. Did I mention that electric outlets were turned off in the lounge? Their excuse was due to security! Good thing I had a large battery. After you finally board your flight you hope nothing goes wrong. At least you are allowed to have a drink when aircraft is on the ground. In conclusion, DEL is the worst airport I have ever seen. Don't use unless you absolutely must.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"immigration minimum wait time of 1h"

(Canada)

Unverified | Immigration was understaffed at Delhi Airport with a minimum wait time of 1 hr to the counter. Also, not sure what takes so much time to process passengers in "Digital India". My observation was, each passenger spending on an average 5 mins or more with the immigration officer scrutinizing letters, documents etc. It was not what one would expect traveling out of an international airport to line up for an hour at the immigration check point. I am sure authorities must be looking into this and turn this into a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the management can't get it right"

(Sweden)

Unverified | Sad that with such a nice facility, the management can't get it right. Military guard entrance making sure nobody enters more than 4 h prior to departure, which comically/tragically is barely enough to go through the tedious immigration (very sleepy impolite persons behind counter). Upon immigrations, follows a security check, where they have asked me to turn my hand luggage inside out every single time I've been through. However, nobody even watches what is in the bag. Once through, you're exposed to Hindi songs non-stop through the omni-present loud speaker system.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Not a bad airport, but not a calming experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Arrival: Very typical international arrivals procedure - nothing too special to speak of. On the long walk to immigration, watch out for the speedy golf carts, and remember to fill in the immigration form if you're traveling on a non-SARC passport. Departure: Very typical departure procedure for India (but will be a slightly unnerving overall experience for passengers accustomed to international airports outside of India). Two "first world problem" annoyances in Departures: Wi-Fi is a joke. After 45mins of free access, you're invited by Tata and DoCoMo to buy an access pass with mediocre bandwidth and minuscule total data limits. For international guests, this will be an annoyance compared with the unlimited free Wi-Fi available in most international airports. Climate control is tuned for a much higher temperature than most other international airports. For those connecting from cooler climes or who are used to standard room temperature, 23-deg C (73.4-deg F), it's going to feel warm. Overall Departures: Security begins with checkpoints and excessive numbers of traffic calmings on the road as you approach the airport, but these are more like military-manned speed bumps with no real checking taking place. You will only be allowed to enter the terminal (even just the departure hall) if you present your passport and a valid printed / electronic ticket to the armed military personnel who guard the sliding doors. Check-in counter experience is typical to most international airports, though, noticeably sluggish. Exit Immigration process can also be relatively sluggish, even with all documents and visas readily available. Immigration agents clearly don't earn bonus salary based on throughput rates. Similar to other Indian airports, the security checkpoint will likely be frustrating if you're used to the more technology-supported and less touchy-feely procedures in most other international airports. Despite removing all metal from your person and walking through a metal detector without setting off the alarm, you will be asked to stand on a box, arms out, and be swiped with a metal detector and be patted down. Though I did not personally experience it in Delhi, I saw my fellow travelers be heavily scrutinized for the contents of their bags to an extent above and beyond most other international airports (in a way similar to experiences I've had in Mumbai that felt petty and unnecessary). Be warned: you will likely receive no sympathy for items whose dimensions are near the borderline of allowed sizes. Duty-Free and shopping area are typical to most international airports. A number of shops specializing in Indian wares are dotted throughout the airport. Convenient for those last-minute pashmina purchases. Overall: The military presence throughout the airport combined with military involvement in so many aspects of the operations makes for practical and procedure-centric security protocols, but it's a clumsy and heavy-handed approach that doesn't win bonus points for customer experience. Not a bad airport, but not a calming experience, very little joy can be derived from spending time there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no