top100_2016  

Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 204 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"never seen such poor arrangements"

(United States)

Arrived on an international flight at 1.30am and had to transfer to domestic airport for a 5.30am flight. After several inquiries (signage is very poor), was directed to a small desk to get our tickets on the "free" shuttle to the domestic terminal. The staff member sends us to another place a couple of hundred meters down to catch the shuttle. Guess what? There's no shuttle but after about a 20 minute wait a city bus packed with people arrives. No easy way to get luggage into the packed bus. We eventually end up taking a taxi. On our way back we avoid the airport transfer by choosing a domestic airline that lands in T3. But this time we were not allowed to enter the check-in area because we were an hour too early and were held in a small cramped up staging area. In my years of travel I had never seen such poor arrangements. In general, the signs are inadequate, very few restrooms and in general a very poorly functional airport. The custom and immigration agents were very efficient even they just don't smile or greet you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"slovenly paced security screening"

(India)

I was in transit at Delhi arriving from London Heathrow by AI 112 and was connecting to AI 142 dep.12.30 hrs. The incoming flight arrived on time and I was happy that I can have a shower at AI's Business class lounge. Alas, the airport security had other plans. We passed through the AI counter at the entrance of the transit security and was bunched in the first bay of the security queue (out of three). I have not experienced a more slovenly paced security screening ever. The CISF men were so slow that it took 1.25 hrs to pass through this rigmarole and it was nearly 12.00 hrs by the time I could extricate myself from this ordeal. There were only around 25 passengers and this is definitely a great disincentive for transit passengers. If Delhi's claims of being the best airport has any takers let them experience the ordeal of transit passengers and decide. To say the least, it is atrocious.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"appalling customer service"

(United Arab Emirates)

Delhi airport looks shiny and beautiful on the outside, but on the inside appalling customer service, inefficient use of security equipment, limited differentiation between a 'domestic' and 'international' airport, limited language skills on the part of security staff. Chaotic queuing, outmoded service in cafes (receipt couldn't be printed), lack of attention paid to travellers who had to rush to catch their flight, a long list of grievances, sadly. I feel ashamed to think that this is supposedly one of the better airports in Asia. The authorities must come up with customer friendly, hassle free experiences. Otherwise, a holiday for many, can turn into a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the best I have visited"

(India)

Delhi airport is the best I have visited. The airport is beautifully built and consists of a huge variety of places to shop. It's pretty lively and clean and the staff are nice. There is just one problem - the immigration lines are long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"adequate seating"

(India)

Flew out of Delhi T3 on an international flight to Paro in Bhutan. The flight was supposed to leave early morning so we arrived at the airport at around 4am. There are not many international departures at this time so the airport was empty. Check in took 15 mins and then immigration was another 10 minutes as was security. Adequate seating, shopping and eating facilities available. Arrival was as easy and efficient and took us not even 30 minutes to get our bags and get out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"good modern facilities"

(Netherlands)

Good modern facilities. The airport is huge and well run. Adequate seating areas for waiting passengers, relatively affordable duty free prices etc. I have used this airport over 5 times, and I have found my experience absolutely worth it. The immigration and the security on the way out can be slow, however this is pretty much the same in any big European hub.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"surprisingly fast and efficient"

(United States)

Arrival on an international flight was surprisingly fast and efficient. Passed through the e-Visa immigration line very quickly, and was out the door to my waiting taxi in no time. Departure was another story. Ticketed passengers are not allowed to enter the main terminal until 3 hours before departure. You can either be herded into a small waiting area that has too few seats for too many people, or sit in a cafe or restaurant on the lower level as you wait for the 3 hour mark. The passport control line was huge, and the hall it's located in is not air-conditioned so it's a long, hot wait. Once you're past the long check-in, immigration and security lines things get better. The airport is modern, clean and a variety of shops, cafes and bars. The Metro line from the airport to the city is very fast, efficient and cheap.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"the sheen is going"

(India)

Delhi Airport - whoever heard of a 'silent' airport playing non-stop music loud enough to be a nuisance. Play some instrumental if at all and at a low volume please. Some of us are international transit passengers who would rather catch some shut eye than be forced to listen to music. Air conditioning in the terminal did not seem to be functioning very well. The carpeting at the terminal seemed to be a bit jaded. A big jump from earlier days, but the sheen is going.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"endless queues and waiting"

(United States)

Overall, our experience at the airport was extremely negative. We arrived at the international terminal (T3) around 2.30am and had to transit to domestic terminal (T1) to catch a domestic flight at 6.30am. With 3.5 hours in between our international arrival and domestic flight, we assumed that we would be able to catch the domestic flight, but unfortunately we missed our domestic connection. The bad experience started with a bus-transfer from T3 to T1 which took over 1hr 20min from the time we exited customs to the time we arrived at the check-in counter in the domestic terminal. Not only that, the bus driver ended up asking us (and other passengers) for money and when we refused to pay, he threatened to drop us off the bus, this inter-terminal connection is supposed to be free. The check-in process was slow due to a long line, and since the baggage allowance was lower on the domestic flight, it was made even slower as we had to go into another line to pay the extra baggage fee before check-in. The whole check-in took slightly over 40min. Security took another 30 mins. At the end of this endless queues and waiting, we arrived at the departure gate about 15 min prior to flight's scheduled departure, but the airlines have a policy of closing the gate 30 mins before departure so we were not allowed to board the flight. Exiting the post-security departure to go back to check-in counter to rebook on to later flight was another strange story. One would expect that we could walk back to the check-in area, but that isn't the case. You have to be escorted by an airline official who will first gather many passengers that have missed their flights, walk them to the security area (the same security checkpoint that one stands in line before the departure gates), and write down the passengers details one by one manually in a notebook before letting you go. Once in the check-in area, we managed to rebook onto a later flight by different airline, but still had to wait another 45 mins before we could get our luggage back from the airline who flight we had missed. In other words, from the time we missed the flight to the time that we received our luggage was another 1hr15 mins, and then we had to go through the same checkin/pay extra luggage/security before we could board onto another flight. By the time we got on our domestic flight, it had been a total of 6+ hours since we had landed in T3 terminal. We hadn't sat down for a single moment in all this time, and had been under constant stress of moving in different queues or waiting on/for something. Our experience at Delhi airport was in sharp contrast to our smooth sailing at Shanghai airport (we were flying into Delhi from Shanghai). We had a total of 4 hours at Shanghai airport. There are many things to say and infer, but it suffices to siply say that it is a tale of two different worlds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff gone from their desks"

(Canada)

We arrived 4 hours ahead of our International flight to London and we should have allowed 5 hours to get our boarding passes and get through security. I've never encountered such disregard for international travelers as they stood in lines for hours while the security staff slowly took their time processing people while people were missing their flights. At one point our line had all 4 of the staff gone from their desks and supervisors scratching their heads wondering where they went. No one moved for 15 minutes until they wandered back like they had no concerns at all. Several planes were late including ours because of this incompetence at this airport. One security guard asked my husband to take everything out of his carry-on after it had gone through the scanner and then left him standing there while he harassed some other "guests" and then motioned to pack it up without having taken a closer look for anything. What a waste of precious time as it was 2.30 am and our flight was scheduled to leave at 2.30 am. They held the plane while we ran. They seem to think they are doing "security" but it is a joke. Best step it up Delhi. Another example: We had arrived at the airport and walked through the front doors and sat and enjoyed a coffee near the doors. My husband went to go out for a smoke and was told he could not leave the airport, he asked why and the guard said "security". We hadn't even gone through any security yet. Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no