Vote Now  

Dallas Fort-Worth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 121 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"frustrating and chaotic"

(United States)

I have just arrived for the second time from Mexico, and once again found the international arrivals experience both frustrating and chaotic. The initial immigration clearance (using kiosks) was fine. I have Global Entry and it was no problem. The problem begins after you retrieve your bag. Signage in the baggage claim area is completely lacking. There is only one sign indicating the exit for the customs line. You will have to look for it. More amazingly, there is no signage directing travelers to the Global Entry expedited line. It is at the far end, and nobody appears to know about it. It is empty, and the person manning it wasn't even at their post, rather was busy talking to a colleague several feet away. I had to ask a TSA representative where it was. They were aloof, disinterested and told me to ask someone near baggage carousel 6 and 7. After clearing customs, the baggage re-check was easy enough. But the security lines to re-enter the terminals for your connecting flight was miserable. The pre-check line is not apparent. Again, nobody offers help. The stanchions/roping are not adjusted to even out the two lines. No bins. Everyone piles their possessions onto the belt which all come out the other end in a bunched up pile before you get through the X-ray. One woman lost her purse and a cellphone was laying there unclaimed! Once through the whole ordeal, I took the Skytrain to Terminal C for my connecting flight which I found to be woefully outdated, crowded and lacking in services. It is a complete food desert. The restaurants they do have on offer (standard fast food) all lack seating. All in all, DFW is not a pleasant experience. I will avoid it in the future, at least for international arrivals.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was sheer chaos"

(United States)

Verified Review | Will avoid DFW at all costs for future travel. This was a shocking experience for transit between international and domestic AA flights. With 1.5hrs between arrival and departure, we arrived on time and felt comfortable. We'd been informed new immigration procedures were in place but the on board arrivals video was not that clear and it only got worse on disembarking. Eventually we figured we could go through the automated passport channel which required us to scan our passport and green card and then collect print out. I was referred for 2nd inspection which didn't take much time although on entering the baggage claim area, it was sheer chaos. After collecting our bags the queue to get through a 2nd immigration channel snaked through the whole of half of the baggage reclaim area, moving at snails pace, causing many travellers, including ourselves much stress, and no options for fast track even with tight connection times. Lines were not clearly signed and caused uncertainty for travellers. Abrasive and officious CBP Officer did little for the "welcome to the USA" experience. Next challenge - rechecking bag for domestic leg. Bags everywhere, with 3 people trying their best to put bags on the conveyor. Pushed ours to the front in order to ensure they had some chance of making the now very tight connection. And then of course the next security check which again was plagued by queues and confusion over a new policy that means there are no bins to put things in to and no requirements to take out PC etc. and take off belt and shoes. This wasn't explained at the approach. A quick sprint for our family of 5 meant we made the gate with 5 mins to spare before doors closed. The DFW transit took a ridiculous and extremely stressful 1hr 15mins.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"almost every time we walked less than 5 minutes"

(India)

Have used the airport several times during July to October 2016 on both within US and international flights. Have always been surprised and amazed that the actual walking within the airport after getting out of the taxi cab is so small! Almost every time we walked less than 5 minutes to the check in counter or the departure gates. I think this has something to do with the layout of the airport - so the car can drop you so close to your check in counter / boarding gate. Same on arrival - very easy. Could not care much about other things like shopping etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"poor and disorganised service"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Dallas DFW at 4pm from Mexico City (where we had great service). As we exited the plane, no staff were visible to direct passengers. Many people were confused, and the few staff that were visible were rude and unhelpful. Despite having an international connection, we had to line up and exit through customs and immigration, and then re-enter yet another security line to re-enter the terminal to get to our connecting flight. This took us 2 hours. I have travelled through many airports, most bigger and busier than Dallas, and I have never experienced such poor and disorganised service. Many passengers, including flight attendants and pilots, were just as confused and angry at the lack of help from ground crew. I hope I never have to pass through this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"management at DFW is doing a very poor job"

(United States)

Verified Review | As an American who has lived and worked abroad for the past 13 years and has traveled through major hubs all over the world, I had one of my worst experiences to date at DFW when flying from Puerto Vallarta to Charlotte, arriving January 11, 2017 around 5.00 pm. I was stuck along with thousands of other passengers in immigration and customs for 2 hours and would have missed my connecting flight had it not been delayed by 40 minutes. American Airlines claims their reservation system safely factors clearance times into their scheduling. This is not true as I and many others found out. There were many passengers around me who were told that they had already missed their connecting flights when they rechecked their bags following customs clearance. There were no airport employees visible in the baggage claim area to direct the multitudes and there were many immigration stations and TSA security lanes that were closed at what appears to have been the busiest period of the day. I ran into one AA flight attendant in the crowd who was just as bewildered as the wandering masses! The capacity is available, but employees need to be hired and scheduled for peak times. From my experience, management at DFW is doing a very poor job. I have already cancelled future flights I had booked through the international terminal at DFW.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"baggage claim is too slow"

(United States)

Verified Review | Baggage claim is too slow - waited for over 30 minutes after our flight landed to get our luggage. Flew 1st class with our bags tagged priority and they were some of the last bags off. Thought I paid for a service. The temperature in the baggage claim area was also extremely unpleasant. The inside should still be cool even if it is unseasonanly warm.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"staff are helpful and friendly"

(United States)

I flew through Dallas-Fort Worth Airport on my way to China. It is one of the best airports I have been to so far. The terminal signage is very clear. The terminal is spotlessly clean and has ample seating around gates. The airport staff are helpful and friendly. The food and shopping options are excellent. There are a variety of choices ranging from Asian, to European to American, to Fast Food, the variety at DFW is exceptional. The airport's WiFi is also fast and easy to connect to and the connection rarely breaks up. The check-in and security lines are also both very fast. The only complaint I have is the queuing times at Customs and Immigration. The lines are very long and it takes about 1.5 to pass through it. I would recommend DFW - an all around great airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"each experience has been horrible and disorganized"

(United States)

This is my eighth experience with DFW in 6 years. Each experience has been horrible and disorganized. The airport staff are rude including American Airlines staff. Each experience there have been delays and numerous gate changes. Today 12-02-2016, I have experienced 4 gate changes and a total of a 2 hour delay so far. I will avoid this airport at all costs and advise anyone getting a connecting flight here, go to Chicago or anywhere but here. I don't know how this airport remains in operation. Customer service is non-existent. Fly somewhere else.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a terribly run airport"

(Cayman Islands)

Rude and insensitive staff, especially customs staff. They shout at passengers, and don't seem too concerned if people miss flights. Terrible operations. Longest queues I've seen in ages. All in all, a terribly run airport. To be avoided at all costs in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nearly missed both flights"

(United States)

I am elderly with a disabilty. I was traveling to visit my pregnant daughter in Boston and changed planes both ways in Dallas. Both trips I made special arrangements to have wheelchair assistance. On neither trip did the airport follow through with assisting me. I nearly missed both my flights. Will never use this airport again. If you have a disability you may want to arrange your layovers at another airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews