Best Economy Class Seats  

Dalaman Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"there is a lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

This is possibly the worst airport of any European country, trust me having worked in aviation I've seen a few. The staff are surly, the BA check-in staff are lazy, rude and lie to the passengers. Once through immigration it's like they ran out of money or forgot to buy lightbulbs. There is a lack of seating and the concessions are the biggest rip off. How do they justify £10 for a Big Mac meal. Even the concessions closer to the gates want £4 for a bottle of water or a coffee. I also find it quite surprising that for an airport in Turkey and their love of smoking there was no smoking area - this was really making passengers grumpy. As this was the end of the holiday it leaves a really sour taste as Turkey is struggling with tourism at the moment and this is the last memory visitors have of the destination, it would put a lot of people off from coming back to what is a lovely country. I would like to hope that that Turkish Tourism Authority can put pressure on this dreadful airport for them to improve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"prices for food and drink are extortion"

(United Kingdom)

Airport security at Dalaman treat people awfully. They never have the air-con on even when it's 40-degrees. Check in is so slow and I would recommend getting there with plenty of time, although having to spend more than a couple of hours is not great. The prices for food and drink are just plain extortion - even Mcdonalds have had a sign made up saying they are not responsible for the prices being charged. I shall never be returning to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"retail area is a rip off"

(Ireland)

Dalaman is a shocking airport. Leaving aside the official staff attitude, the retail staff are slow, lazy and under trained. Commercially the retail area is a rip off. €22 for 2 cans of Effs beer at the Bar (not purchased). €19 for a Big Mac (not purchased). Duty Free cigarettes advertises at €35 magically converted at a ridiculous rate to TL at the checkout to become €62. My advice. Arrive at the place well fed and watered. Do not go airside until you absolutely have to. Expect to have all the positive thoughts you built over your time in Turkey to questioned by this repugnant airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"arrivals were quick and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

True we used this airport in October when it was not exactly a hive of activity, but our impressions were favorable. Yes it appears a bit grim with high ceilings and acres of grey paint. But the arrivals were quick and efficient with smiles from staff. The departure was again no problem. There are two lots of scans and searches which was no problem again staff were pleasant. Plenty of shopping with standard airport prices. The lavatories were a lot cleaner than Birmingham and the shop staff were also o.k.Water was expensive, the stall girl wanted 5 TL for a small bottle, but when I said I only had two she said no problem and let me have it. Plenty of seating at the Gates. If people want to see a really grim airport they should try Goa.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"not enough seating"

(United Kingdom)

Check in very slow. Had to wait over an hour. Then only two passport desks open. To queue again until they opened more desks. Lots of people very angry by this time. It seems the air con was not working. Prices of hot drinks well over the top. Then finally at the gate not enough seating for everyone to sit down. People had to sit on the ground. Not good enough in this day and age. What a way to finish a brilliant holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
6/10

"did not have too long to wait"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival, in the early hours of the morning, we quickly got through the security / passport checks and went to our pick-up point where we were shown on to a minibus and left within five minutes. No problems. When we came to the airport to go home it was very busy but again we did not have too long to wait to get through the various security points etc. The only thing I was a little confused about was that we had a luggage weighing scales in our hand luggage and it was confiscated. We have traveled through this airport at least eight times and have always had our luggage weighing scales in our hand luggage and never been questioned about it before. Why are they now not allowing this through? I agree that the prices of food/drinks at the airport are extortionate (it is one of the most expensive airports in the world) but you either just pay up or remain hungry and thirsty. All in all I think Dalaman Airport is O.K. but would agree that the staff could be a little bit more friendly as the Turkish people you meet on holiday are so friendly and would do anything for you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"gate lounge with views of apron, runaway spacious"

(United Kingdom)

The security x-ray checks just inside the international terminal doors cause a backlog of passengers that spills out onto the pavement, however it clears fairly quickly. The check-in/bagdrop desks are one and the same but a large number are open, so no long wait. The boarder control moves OK. Second security check moves well. Shops typical airport prices. Gate lounge with views of apron, runaway spacious. Impressed with Dalamam.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Dalaman Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

There are air bridges and coach transfers, we had the latter. Arrived at the terminal and swiftly went through arrivals and baggage reclaim. No trolleys available. Strange set up as you have to leave the terminal and go down a ramp to an area that is best described as resembling and auction ring at a livestock show. On the edges were the relevant companies and pick up boards being displayed. Return was not bad, small terminal for the amount of traffic, crowded and hot – no air con and yes the prices are high, just don’t buy. Went to CIP lounge, most depressing place I’ve visited would rather be in an A&E department on a Saturday night, poor selection of pre-wrapped roles as you would find in any modest petrol station and poor selection of drinks, water dispenser, soft drink dispenser (temperamental in operation), wifi painfully slow. Easy to get to gate and board plane, plenty of announcements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

Dalaman Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

There is a recurring theme here. That is re: the food prices. Simple solution stop paying the prices. Somebody said they had to pay 77 lira no you didn't but let me guess you did anyway so as to not cause a scene. We never ever buy at the airport the only thing is water which is costly but not as bad as juice etc. The thing I would like to see is more comfortable seating in departures and more seating at departure gates. Apart from that airport is ok better than what it was bearing in mind it was a military airport! All airports are the same re: prices UK is almost as bad with their prices and yet people still pay >£10 for a breakfast crazy.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Dalaman Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Clean and not hot when we visited. Queues orderly and efficient. However food exorbitant as previously stated but airport lounge equally poor. Pre purchase tickets online or as before you will be paying extra if pay on the day due to conversion rate. CPE lounge badly run staff out of their depth do not monitor who is using the lounge and unhelpful. Acres of space with no seating. Whoever heard of using a premium lounge and having to sit on the floor. Supposed to be a two hour usage but this arbitrary which increased the seating problem.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 67 Reviews