Dalaman Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"prices are very high"

(Turkey)

Like all Turkish International terminals, prices are very high in Dalaman airport. A Tuna and sweetcorn sandwich in the departure lounge was 32Tl (about £7 GBP), KFC was also very expensive, but the biggest rip off of all was a pint of draught Efes beer at the unholy price of 45tl about £10 at todays rates. So be prepared.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rip off prices are still happening"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Just to make everyone aware that the food and drink rip off prices are still happening in Dalaman airport. The price lists are placed too high and with too small a font to read and it is only when you ask how much for a can of Efes, you are told it is 32TL! That is the same (fixed) price across the airport. It is possible to be waited on, sitting in the harbour of Kalkan with the same drink for 10TL. No wonder all the seats are empty in this airport. When will they realise that 1 or 2TL profit on a 10TL beer is better that no sales/profit on a 32TL beer. I really do feel sorry for the staff that have to convey these prices and rip off the Turkish tourists. I couldn't find any official web site to lodge this complaint/warning other than on here. These prices were as of 1st May, 2017. Also, after had to endure the amateur security as we entered the departure gate area and were swabbed down and searched, we reported an unattended bag in the area. We waited for it to be investigated and it was just left until the passenger who forget it came and took it some 20 minutes later, no official showed at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the most expensive airports"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | There are 2 things about Dalaman Airport that badly let it down. Firstly something that has been mentioned here before, namely the cost of food and drink. I paid 27 TL for a small beer (the exchange rate at the time meant this was about £7.30). This makes it not only one of the most expensive airports but in fact one of the most expensive places in the world to drink (a beer at the Ritz in London is cheaper, and litre-per-litre it's cheaper to have a glass of champagne at the Eurotunnel terminal lounge). The second part is the way the security checks are organised (or possibly, not organised). I don't mind having my main luggage and my hand luggage go through 2 scanners, being searched twice and having my passport checked 3 times. What I do object to, is at the last moment (well whilst boarding, about 10 minutes before the flight is scheduled to take off) is then checking the passengers electronic items (phones included) and to be told that if you can't turn it on (say, the battery is dead) you can't take it with you. If this really is necessary (and I haven't seen it elsewhere) could they not tell you a little earlier? I will not be going back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a blatant rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I know prices at airports are usually slightly higher. However, I was horrified yesterday when I was asked for 80TL (£20) for two beers. The prices weren't displayed anywhere that I could see before I ordered. I find this sort of over charging a blatant rip off. It shouldn't be allowed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"duty free prices seem to creep up"

(United Kingdom)

The airport is very nice and modern and has every facility you could wish for. The duty free prices seem to creep up a little every year and it's now cheaper to buy basic spirits from the plane. The biggest rip off is are the food and drink prices. £10 for a large Efes and £6 for a can of Coke. The authorities are going to kill off the tourist trade before long.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Dalaman Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

You expect airports to be more expensive than normal but the Allsport pub at Dalaman is pushing it. A beer and a large glass of rose wine at 87 lira (£22/$29) is an absolute disgrace and I can guarantee I will never use that facility again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the most expensive airports"

(United Kingdom)

Dalaman has to be one of the most expensive airports in the world. I was going to buy a can of coke and a small bottle of Fanta for my children but, after being asked for £12.50 I declined. The most ridiculous part is that in the duty free shop, there was a bottle of whisky on sale for £10. As our flight was delayed and we hadn't brought a packed lunch, I bought 2 small rolls from subway and a coffee, grand total £18. Having looked at the other options on offer, ie Burger King, KFC and McDonalds, I really do think this is the most expensive airport I have ever visited. I would love to know how the company that runs it justifies these charges. My advice would be, be prepared for a delay and take snacks with you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there is a lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

This is possibly the worst airport of any European country, trust me having worked in aviation I've seen a few. The staff are surly, the BA check-in staff are lazy, rude and lie to the passengers. Once through immigration it's like they ran out of money or forgot to buy lightbulbs. There is a lack of seating and the concessions are the biggest rip off. How do they justify £10 for a Big Mac meal. Even the concessions closer to the gates want £4 for a bottle of water or a coffee. I also find it quite surprising that for an airport in Turkey and their love of smoking there was no smoking area - this was really making passengers grumpy. As this was the end of the holiday it leaves a really sour taste as Turkey is struggling with tourism at the moment and this is the last memory visitors have of the destination, it would put a lot of people off from coming back to what is a lovely country. I would like to hope that that Turkish Tourism Authority can put pressure on this dreadful airport for them to improve.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"prices for food and drink are extortion"

(United Kingdom)

Airport security at Dalaman treat people awfully. They never have the air-con on even when it's 40-degrees. Check in is so slow and I would recommend getting there with plenty of time, although having to spend more than a couple of hours is not great. The prices for food and drink are just plain extortion - even Mcdonalds have had a sign made up saying they are not responsible for the prices being charged. I shall never be returning to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"retail area is a rip off"

(Ireland)

Dalaman is a shocking airport. Leaving aside the official staff attitude, the retail staff are slow, lazy and under trained. Commercially the retail area is a rip off. €22 for 2 cans of Effs beer at the Bar (not purchased). €19 for a Big Mac (not purchased). Duty Free cigarettes advertises at €35 magically converted at a ridiculous rate to TL at the checkout to become €62. My advice. Arrive at the place well fed and watered. Do not go airside until you absolutely have to. Expect to have all the positive thoughts you built over your time in Turkey to questioned by this repugnant airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews