Cologne/bonn Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"hardly any plug sockets"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is quite a small airport, there is plenty of seating around the gates in Terminal 2. There is not a large selection of food and drinks, in the non-Schengen gates, there is only one store which is quite expensive. The terminals are linked landside only. The most annoying part of the airport is that gate calls are played across the entire departures area, so every minute there is a call for a flight, which can get frustrating. There are very few charging points, you will find some in the cafes, however they are under the tables usually. Strange for such a modern terminal to not include hardly any plug sockets. Good views of the runway from most of the airport. No queues at security or passport control. There are indoor smoking booths near the gates (airside).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airside services are very inefficient"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | There are many nice cafes and shops on the non airside, but the airside services are very inefficient. We waited over 30 minutes at B02 baggage carousel for our luggage from a Eurwings EW397 flight from Dublin in Friday July 27. The first group of bags appearerd after 25 minutes wait. There was then a gap of 6-7 minutes until they started to load the second (and final) group. Very slow and no staff or service desk available.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"facilities airside are excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival and departure from this airport . Inbound the queue for immigration was perhaps 10-15 minutes but at least it was a spacious area in T2 unlike Manchester T3. Airport clean and spacious. Inbound today at the same terminal security was a pleasure with perhaps a 3 minute wait max. Facilities airside are excellent as are the transport links landside. If only Manchester was up to a similar standard than flying would be a pleasure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rudest check in and security staff"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | The rudest check in and security staff. You end up just wanting to leave as fast as possible. Impolite, tough, non English speaking in an international airport and not making any effort to facilitate the issues or help. They could try harder given the not small amounts of airport taxes!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lack of shopping facilities"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Next time I’ll visit Cologne, I’ll drive there by car or by train. I came there from Hamburg, this airport is a complete disappointment and the worst thing this great city has! To be fair, it’s well connected by train, suburban and regional trains in the direction of Cologne Central Station and Troisdorf/Siegen/Frankfurt arrive there, mostly on-time and it has a station for coaches. The queuing times are also good but inside the building there is a lack of shopping facilities, especially behind the security scanners. I couldn’t find a single restaurant in the terminal area and outside the gate area it is expensive. The terminals aren’t even clean, there is a lack of (uncomfortable) seats and the wifi is just very slow. At least the staff is good because they’re friendly (such as most of the Cologne-citizen), organized and they definitely know how they can help you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"just the right size"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I use Cologne airport quite frequently. The connection to the city centre by train (quite cheap, around Euro 3) or car is easy. The airport has just the right size: Large enough to offer many connections, small enough to be very efficient. Queues at check in and security are not predictable, sometimes you can just go ahead, sometimes you have to wait for about 20 minutes. Behind security you find only very few shops / restaurants, but I think this is ok, because the airport is not a hub. I saw some reviews here, that one should prefer Dusseldorf as an airport to travel to Cologne. I cannot support this opinion at all: Departure (security!) and arrival procedures in Dusseldorf are much more time consuming, one needs quite some time to transfer from the terminal to the airport train station and then you still have a quite lengthy trip to Cologne main station - usually in cramped trains - ahead of you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"good opportunities for food and shopping"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Cologne/Bonn is a nice middle size airport with two terminals. Nothing is really spectacular. Airport is clean and there are good opportunities for food and shopping. Negative aspect is that the airport is not rigorous regarding fast lane passengers. Sometimes the queues at the security are mixed and sometimes there not enough staff for fast lane customers such that waiting time in regular queues is even shorter. The seating design in terminal 1 is really bad, the access to the gates are always very crowded. Terminal 2 however is better regarding this issue. Terminal 2 is brighter and much better designed then Terminal 1.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"security was top notch"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have to say, this is the best run airport I have passed through, the security was top notch and everybody was thoroughly screened. The staff were helpful, and the airport as a whole was calm, unlike the mad rush and confusion at Stansted where only a small percentage were checked. Here at Cologne airport, everybody was checked.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"experience at the airport was unsatisfactory"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My experience at the airport was unsatisfactory. The staff was rude, unhelpful and arrogant at the security. Also they refused to answer in English but clearly they understood what I was saying. The airport should review they way of treating customers, I'm a frequent flyer and have never been treated with this level of disrespect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the whole experience was very unpleasant"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | The staff in this airport were rude and the security queue was unreasonably long. I arrived early at the airport because it was my first time flying from Cologne, only to have to wait for one hour outside security control because there were no staff available to perform the controls. The staff did not explain anything to the passengers waiting, leaving us wondering if our flights would even depart. On top of that, the staff were rude and only spoke in German even when spoken to in English. Luckily I did not miss my flight but the whole experience was very unpleasant. I will try to avoid this aiport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews