Cochin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 43 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"one of the worst in India"

(India)

Unverified | The airport is unique in the sense that it is completely dependent on solar power - it is one of the greenest airports in the world. Having said that, the domestic terminal at this airport must rank as one of the worst in India. The screening of bags before check-in is an ancient process but CIAL seems to be proudly committed to it. The whole process is utterly chaotic with long queues. Once that process is over, we have long queues to check-in at the airline counters. The check-in process with most airlines is painstakingly slow. Once you've crossed that hurdle, we have more queues for the security check - the number is screening points is just not adequate. After this process, one gets into a waiting lounge which is woefully inadequate in size - if there are more than 3 flights, it is filled to the brim and people have to stand due to lack of seating space. Finally boarding is announced - once again, long queues that wind through the lounge. This time around, I was in a queue that ran perpendicular to another boarding queue - can happen only in Cochin! How do they manage to have exit / boarding gates that are perpendicular to each other? Simply brilliant! They seem to be renovating the part of the airport that has been vacated by the international terminal - hopefully things will improve. Until then it will remain one of the worst airports in India.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"air conditioning is pathetic"

(India)

Unverified | The new Cochin International airport is very spacious but unfortunately there are no restaurants or food courts on arrivals. We arrived at 11 pm on Air India express famished as they only served a piece of cake and dry sandwich on the flight. Couldn't find a place to eat (plenty of whisky in duty free) and had to go outside to the other side of parking to a pathetic restaurant aptly called Chillies as you need a fire extinguisher to douse the spicy flames. No menu, its more like a wayside joint. Impossible for people with bag carts as there is no access over the islands, and you've had it rains. Very poor planning. Even the food court in departures is not marked clearly and entrance is through escalator in one corner of duty free. Most people dont see it. The air conditioning is pathetic and cheap flooring which is sticky. Wish they had some international consultants for an international airport as its clearly not the case. In a few years its going to look run down as they have used cheap stuff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"procedures are unwanted and very inefficient"

(Germany)

Unverified | I visited Cochin with my wife and had to pass through this airport. When we arrived, it took us ages to get our bags. There are unwanted checks at the arrival and the policemen who work there make things complicated. At the departure terminal, we've been checked 12 times from entering the terminal. The staff bully the passengers in the name of security. Most of the procedures are unwanted and very inefficient. There were queues everywhere, the passengers are treated like criminals here. Even if it's an international airport, hardly anybody of the security staff speaks english. There aren't enough chairs for the passengers at the departure terminal. The air conditioning wasn't effective either. It was a very bad experience for us.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"all in all a poor experience"

(Oman)

Verified Review | At Cochin Airport everywhere it is written 'This is a silent zone, no boarding announcements will be made, please check TV Monitors for departure' but announcements were made all the time with female and male voices shouting over the loudspeaker system. Duty free leaves a lot to be desired, very limited goods on display, non-exciting promotions. Couldn't even find a pack of biscuits. Air conditioning not at all effective throughout the terminal right from the check in until boarding. All in all a poor experience. Avoid if you can
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it is the terminal which is a big let down"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Domestic terminal Departure: Getting to this airport is no mean task what with all the construction going on. However it is the terminal which is a big let down, old and dilapidated! The check in counters are insufficient to deal with the number of passengers. The security check in takes ages, mostly due to just a few counters, once that is done on the other side there is one big waiting hall very 70s possibly. The only food option is a tired little shop selling south Indian food, which with all that spice is not the first thing that comes to mind at 0700hrs. However there is a new terminal coming up and I am pretty sure that will overcome the present shortcomings.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"immigration took centuries to finish"

(Singapore)

To be honest, I had a pretty bad experience at Cochin Airport. We got to the airport 2 hours before our scheduled flight, but immigration took centuries to finish. The staff were so slow in doing their work and some of them didn't even know English, so it was very hard to communicate with them for directions. There were also so many unnecessary security checks that wasted a lot of time. I wouldn't recommend coming here unless you have to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"all is smooth and all is on time"

(India)

I frequently use this airport for travel needs from my city Kochi. This Airport may look old, but has free WIFI and modern duty free shops which make it quite good. The First Class and Business Class Lounges are also very good, especially for Emirates and Malaysian Airlines flights. But with the new airport coming, this Airport will become operational only for Domestic Services. For almost 8 years, I have been using this airport. But lets talk about the airport. There are many places to eat but the selection is not great. Then the 3 duty free shops are nice. The prices aren't bad either and free wifi is everywhere. It's also quite clean and the staff at immigration and airline counters are friendly. All is smooth and all is on time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"immigration was a standstill"

(United States)

I was traveling from New York to Cochin in the last week of September. My first impression was it looked nice. But when I went inside to arrival immigration, it was a standstill. The time was 2am. There were 20 counters but only 4 staff. I had to stand there for 1 hour to get clearance. When it was my turn, I asked the officer and he said "2 planes came together". I asked "so does that mean your international airport doesn't have the facility to handle 2 aircraft together?" He said nothing. Additionally the air conditioning system was bad. It was hot inside. It was an unwelcoming situation and the worst I have ever seen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a good experience"

(Qatar)

Departures are quite pleasant as there is enough space to move around and ample seating. Restaurant choices are quite poor. Arrival is like entering a busy market place, especially when landing at the peak times. If an airline misplaces your baggage consider yourself in for a ride as there is usually 1 complaint counter to handle 100s of passengers. Immigration is slow moving and they use outdated equipment. The airport is very humid and uncomfortable. At the customs check everyone is in a rush and pushing - it's a chaos. Outside arrivals is overcrowded - overall not a good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

Cochin Airport customer review

(United States)

Quick tips: When you're flying in carry a pen. Both customs and immigration forms are required but your airline may not provide you with both. When you're flying out (especially international) make sure to arrive as early as possible during peak season. If you're flying outside of the main tourist season you'll be okay if you arrive within the time recommended by your airline otherwise make sure to give yourself an extra hour or so. Be as courteous as possible do not act entitled and be careful when questioning the authority of airport officials. This is generally a good guideline for flying anywhere in India. People working at the airport will be happy to return the gesture if you go out of your way to show them some kindness. Arriving in India for the first time can be pretty stressful but I've seen the process become downright awful countless times as other westerners get held up because they acted contentiously at a checkpoint. If it takes you 90 minutes to get into Kochi you need a new driver. Granted Kochi is big but without traffic it takes only 20-30 minutes to get to Lulu Mall which is in Edappally.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 43 Reviews