Christchurch Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the worst international airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This is by far the worst international airport I have landed in (and I’ve been to LAX multiple times). The queue at immigration took more than 45 minutes (there was one person on the counter) and then we get out to customs to be faced with another long queue! By the time I got out - it was more than an hour since we had landed. I was in the “all passports” line and clearly we were treated like second class citizens with only one employee having to deal with us. If I had a choice again - I would not choose to land at the Christchurch Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"desperate lack of seating throughout"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | This is an attractive airport with a nice variety of food and gift shops. My complaints are two: firstly when I arrived there were no signs to show where to go to get picked up so headed for the nearest obvious exit and wandered around in the rain trying to find signs to hwere the pick up area is. Another group coming to Christchurch said exactly the same thing when we met up later. The second is the desperate lack of seating throughout the airport and especially at the boarding gate where more people were sitting on the floor than in seats. I find this totally unacceptable for a major airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"security was good"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Christchurch is a nice and smooth-looking airport. Now they are adding a hotel. Security was good, and I had no problem getting my luggage after flying from Singapore. The airport is quite big - I'd recommend it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"absolutely appalling"

(Australia)

Unverified | Christchurch International airport is absolutely appalling. While the checkin area as adequate amenities and restaurants the departures lounge has only one restaurant which is very overpriced. Lack of food sources means that we had to wait over an hour for our food. Additionally there is a lack of power outlets and the wifi does not work on mobile devices. Avoid this airport if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"facilities were very limited"

(United Kingdom)

Clean modern airport easy check in unfortunately our flight was very delayed and we were stuck airside for 6 hours. Facilities were very limited and there was only one outlet for the food and drink vouchers provided and limited shops. The Qantas lounge staff were guilty of conveying information about our delayed flight and the choice of food in the lounge was rather limited.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"check-in smooth"

(Australia)

Arrived on QF135 from Brisbane in afternoon. Only flight arriving at this time. From disembarking to walking out airport was 20 minutes. Departing on QF134 back to Brisbane, check-in smooth, international departures good for an airport this size. Used Qantas Manaia Lounge, it is quite dark. Good selection of drinks and food available. I went out into the departures area and found a nice comfy chair. Plenty of personal space in departures area. Immigration was all by SmartGate which made the airport experience more pleasant because it was quicker. Christchurch Airport is my favourite of all New Zealand airports. My only disappointment is being made to walk through duty free on arrival and departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"slowest airport I travel through"

(New Zealand)

Christchurch International arrivals hall baggage handlers can't seem to handle more than one plane arriving at a time. Slowest airport I have to travel through. Forcing all arrivals through duty free shop is unnecessary. Needs covered walkway to pick-up point
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really should do better"

(New Zealand)

Absolutely awful experience. Four planes arrive at once causing huge congestion. The queue for Smartgate was enormously long. My wife's picture wasn't recognised causing a delay. My picture also wasn't recognised, so I had to join the queue of people being dealt with manually. The worst airport experience of any I have had in NZ and Australia. They really should do better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"excellent once again"

(Australia)

Excellent once again. The queue to pass through security was quite long (150-200 people) as people had been queuing up prior to it opening at 4.30am. Once it opened it only took 15 mins or so to go right through as there were plenty of staff available. Staff friendly as always.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a fantastic airport"

(Australia)

Christchurch is a fantastic airport. Very clean, short (or non-existent queues), friendly staff. Nothing more really needs to be said.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews