Christchurch Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 25 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 31st May 2015

Recent upgrades have made this airport far more international in flavor but it still has a friendly Kiwi feel. The NZ landscape scenes and birdsong in the jetways make a lovely welcome and farewell! Good view of Southern Alps from min international departure lounge. The new domestic lounge is also a nice piece of architecture. Although it handles international flights Christchurch is still a fairly compact airport and you should not anticipate long waits. Border checks on arrival may take a little longer but border staff are protecting the country from nasty bugs that could devastate NZ primary industries. Only downsides: big multi-storey car-park dominates the exterior on the city side; lack of fast and easy express bus to city center and taxis are expensive.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th October 2014

Small but fantastic airport very modern and clean. Terminal is easy to get around Internet is quick and many shops and dining areas present at the airport. All in all a great new airport and one of the finest in Australasia.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 22nd October 2014

Arrived on a 100% full Emirates 777 (economy class) and was out of the terminal in 20 minutes. The new international departure area is the best part of the terminal with a lot of space and great views across to the snow capped mountains. The regional part of the terminal is a zoo with totally inadequate space and seating.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (China) 9th January 2014

Jan 5 Queenstown-Christchurch Jan 8 Christchurch-Singapore. Small but lovely airport easily access to downtown with airport shuttle bus. Very efficient check-in security check immigration and baggage claim service polite and friendly airport staff food and beverages price reasonable.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
3/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th December 2013

This airport has a very bad attitude to travellers who need to wait overnight. My wife and I had an early flight and could not check-in online so had to arrive at a time when it would have been pointless to book a hotel room. We were not the only ones in this situation but all of us were herded to the most draughty place in the terminal and forced to sit on uncomfortable metal seats all night even though there were more comfortable seats nearby. We could have paid to use a "lounge" area but on investigation this was found to be a dark dingy airless space barely more comfortable than in the terminal. A security check was carried out on all those waiting and we were issued with wristbands so restricting our comfort in this way is completely unreasonable. Some passengers tried to get some sleep laying on the floor but were woken up and forced to move by the security staff. The excuse for this? We would be safer if there was another earthquake! What spurious rubbish. Shame on you Christchurch Airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 8th September 2013

I travel to Christchurch probably 3 times a year. I find the airport great with a very New Zealand feel to it. Comfortable seats lovely shops in the departure lounge to pick up some memorabilia. For the size of the city it is perfect - a very relaxed feel.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Italy) 28th August 2013

I really love CHC airport after its thorough renewal basically a new airport (especially in the domestic section which was somewhat dingy before renewal). Modern clean spacious and efficient in my opinion currently the best airport in NZ (though obviously smaller than AKL).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Cambodia) 14th July 2013

It is hard to believe that this airport is a new design - a new design should be better than what has gone before not worse. The worst aspect of it for me was the 50 metres my elderly mother had to walk in the icy wind from the only drop-off point to reach the terminal (200 metres to International Arrivals). There is neither roof nor windbreak. Wheel chairs are available only once you reach the terminal. Have a look at Auckland: out of the car/taxi/bus - into the terminal; Singapore Wellington and thousands of others including the old Christchurch airport the same. What genius designed this in Christchurch? The regional terminal is a zoo with grossly inadequate facilities - especially seating - to service the volume of passengers. The old airport used to be pretty good - perhaps a bit of a mess in terms of design but it had a lot of character and history behind it. The new(ish) International Lounge area is also good with lots of glass and natural light and good passenger facilities. The recently completed airport is a windowless concrete block totally focused on commercialism.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 26th June 2013

Arrived at airport on flight NZ 888 at about 11.25pm. I travel frequently and have used the airport before. I usually sit in the arrivals area watching TV after buying a coffee and sandwich at the cafeteria (the only venue open). I was travelling to Dunedin and was waiting for the bus that left at 6am. Last night I was ordered to leave the lounge having no where to go since the departures lounge opens only at 3am. I asked why I was not allowed to use the lounge since I was not breaking any of the written rules displayed in the airport. The tart answer from the official was that it was their airport and they decide who sits where. You can not afford to infuriate visitors to your country by having ridiculous rules and rude staff as the first point of call to an international airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 28th August 2011

Airport is currently under renovation. A new section of the terminal is complete and it is a vast improvement from the old building. The check-in area is spacious modern and very New Zealand. The airport is well signed. Entry and exit by vehicle to the airport is a breeze. Air New Zealand check-in area is great and not cluttered. Looking forward to when the whole renovation is complete.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 25 Reviews