Christchurch Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"security was good"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Christchurch is a nice and smooth-looking airport. Now they are adding a hotel. Security was good, and I had no problem getting my luggage after flying from Singapore. The airport is quite big - I'd recommend it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"absolutely appalling"

(Australia)

Unverified | Christchurch International airport is absolutely appalling. While the checkin area as adequate amenities and restaurants the departures lounge has only one restaurant which is very overpriced. Lack of food sources means that we had to wait over an hour for our food. Additionally there is a lack of power outlets and the wifi does not work on mobile devices. Avoid this airport if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"facilities were very limited"

(United Kingdom)

Clean modern airport easy check in unfortunately our flight was very delayed and we were stuck airside for 6 hours. Facilities were very limited and there was only one outlet for the food and drink vouchers provided and limited shops. The Qantas lounge staff were guilty of conveying information about our delayed flight and the choice of food in the lounge was rather limited.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"check-in smooth"

(Australia)

Arrived on QF135 from Brisbane in afternoon. Only flight arriving at this time. From disembarking to walking out airport was 20 minutes. Departing on QF134 back to Brisbane, check-in smooth, international departures good for an airport this size. Used Qantas Manaia Lounge, it is quite dark. Good selection of drinks and food available. I went out into the departures area and found a nice comfy chair. Plenty of personal space in departures area. Immigration was all by SmartGate which made the airport experience more pleasant because it was quicker. Christchurch Airport is my favourite of all New Zealand airports. My only disappointment is being made to walk through duty free on arrival and departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"slowest airport I travel through"

(New Zealand)

Christchurch International arrivals hall baggage handlers can't seem to handle more than one plane arriving at a time. Slowest airport I have to travel through. Forcing all arrivals through duty free shop is unnecessary. Needs covered walkway to pick-up point
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really should do better"

(New Zealand)

Absolutely awful experience. Four planes arrive at once causing huge congestion. The queue for Smartgate was enormously long. My wife's picture wasn't recognised causing a delay. My picture also wasn't recognised, so I had to join the queue of people being dealt with manually. The worst airport experience of any I have had in NZ and Australia. They really should do better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"excellent once again"

(Australia)

Excellent once again. The queue to pass through security was quite long (150-200 people) as people had been queuing up prior to it opening at 4.30am. Once it opened it only took 15 mins or so to go right through as there were plenty of staff available. Staff friendly as always.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a fantastic airport"

(Australia)

Christchurch is a fantastic airport. Very clean, short (or non-existent queues), friendly staff. Nothing more really needs to be said.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

(Australia)

Arrived on 3/4 full Emirates B777-300ER. Disembarking aircraft swift. Bags on belt within 10 minutes. Flught arrives mid-afternoon and is only international arrival at this time. Enough customs staff working to handle passenger numbers. Cleared customs and out of airport within 20 minutes from disembarking aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Christchurch Airport customer review

(Australia)

The renovated Christchurch Airport is one of the best airports I've visited. The design is passenger friendly - well signed, open spaces and appears to be cleaned regularly. Bags are usually quick on the baggage belt from arriving aircraft. Christchurch benefits from only having a handful of airlines servicing the airport so this cuts down on clutter. My only complaint about this airport is security. For domestic gates for jet operations, I noted about 100 passengers queuing for only one open security scanning lane when there are three. It seems New Zealand Agiation Security are trying to skimp on funding more aviation security employees.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews