Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 244 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"need a course in common courtesy"

(United States)

Not Verified | Your security clearance workers need a course in common courtesy. They are the most unfriendly and rude agents I have witnessed at airports and I thought JFK was bad. There is no excuse to treat paying customers so rudely. We follow the rules and don't need to be shouted at or treated like we stupid people. Chicago wants to improve their image, I suggest they start with the airport personnel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst managed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible. Probably the worst managed airport i’ve seen. So badly managed - how can get you get the whole airport shut down by having all gates blocked by taxiing aircraft? A bit of rain and the airport is down, complete chaos, nobody knows whats happening, all flights cancelled as crews run out of time, no planning no nothing. Look how Minneapolis MSP airport is run - no matter what weather is there it just runs like a clockwork. Shame to ORD.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is terrible. The services have not been updated and for example Concourse C has terrible food service and hardly any place to sit down and everything is old and torn and there are no tables like Newark Airport or a lot of updated airports. It is uncomfortable and not very nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Signage is terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Signage is terrible in the international wing. Although it is easy to find where you need to go for immigration, the line for customs is not marked at all and I ended up in a very long line when I could have been in a short global entry line. The staff are clueless, I asked two people who sent me to the wrong line. There’s also insufficient signage to explain where to go to recheck your bags. Many people stood in one long line only to find that there was no line at all at their connecting airline but the signage not indicate any other option. It is bad enough the customs official asked me to please submit this review!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are completely clueless"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am a born and raised Chicagoan that is extremely embarrassed at the poor operation for international arrivals at O'Hare. The airport staff are completely clueless and have no issue yelling at each other and at passengers (employees at passport control). They go out of their way to make the process more chaotic and difficult (customs). As an example, the line at customs to leave the baggage claim area was extremely long. Personnel waited until passengers went almost completely through the line before telling a few people "there is no line at carousel 3". If they had directed passengers to other available counters, the whole process would have been easier. The tram to other terminals and to access CTA was not available, but they had shuttle buses. Instead of having signage posted, they simply put "Closed" signs on the escalators heading up and had rude and unprofessional staff standing there. When asked how we were supposed to access the CTA, I was told "it's not running." What she really meant was that the tram was not running. At that point, I had already spent over 2 hours in the airport and was so tired of dealing with incompetence that I took a cab rather than deal with any other employees. Seriously, O'Hare. You need to get it together. So many people experience Chicago only through your airport, and you make us look hood. I didn't even mention the dirty bathrooms and old tattered looking furniture in many of the terminals.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"only airport that provided wheelchair"

(United States)

Not Verified | My handicap father and I took six flights this April. Chicago O’Hare is the only airport that provided us with the requested wheelchair both times. The other airports failed to provide the wheelchair and forced us to wait the other 4 times. Great staff!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"have no intention of helping you"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I had a connecting flight from Narita to this airport going to Winnipeg. Rudest airport staff I have seen, signage is not so clear. Airport staff have no intention of helping you. Stay away from this airport. Very dissapointing.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"ended up losing our flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The flight information displays in terminal 3 only show the flights from American Airlines. All other flights are not shown, not even in the display right in front of their boarding gate. We arrived at the airport several hours in advance, since we were traveling with young children. After passing security, we looked at the displays, saw that there was a single flight leaving for our destination and assumed that it would be ours, but it turned out that it was an AA flight leaving half an hour later than ours. We ended up losing our flight with Spirit, having to spend the night in a hotel and buy new tickets for the next morning with a different airline. We were going on a four day trip Friday to Tuesday, and the earliest flight that Spirit was offering us was leaving on Monday, unacceptable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"found the gate personnel more than helpful"

(United States)

Not Verified | I'm writing this review because of the negative reviews I always see for O'Hare. I've flown to this airport (to and from and mostly for connections) at least 30 times. Certainly smaller airports with no connecting flights are more comfortable because of the sheer volume of flights and customers. But I have to say that I have always found the gate personnel more than helpful each time I've needed them. Flights at O'Hare are typically delayed and take a long time but that's part of the business when you travel to a place with so many flights. When I have tried to board earlier flights or needed exceptions made, the gate personnel are always as accommodating as they can be. If you know what to ask for and ask politely you'll find typical Midwest hospitality at O'Hare.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is very unprofessional"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Customs line was extremely long, the shuttle between terminal 5 and 2 was closed requiring us to use the bus between terminals, the bus dropped us off at terminal 2 that was closed. We had to run to terminal 1, go through security again due to having to go on the bus because the airport shuttle was closed. Security had 2 staff working, TSA staff extremely rude, then we had to run to terminal 2, still did not make our flight and plane left without us. Shuttles and terminals should be open until all flights are in, especially connecting flights. All airport direction staff should be informed of closed terminals to accurately direct people to their next flight to prevent delays. Airline staff at boarding window extremely rude - staff reported. I will avoid this airport from now on as customer service is very unprofessional.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no