Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 243 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"solid beer-and-a-shot airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | The more I travel, the more I appreciate O'Hare, one of my home Chicago airports. It's big and sprawling, but everything is clearly marked, staff are generally friendly and laid back, and boarding is by zone or section of the plane (not by who shoves as in much of Europe and elsewhere). You can eat well and get your drink on easily and without paying that much more than going city prices. You can take a train into town for $5. Overall, it might not be glamorous, and I'm sure that business-class travelers don't get the fawning attention they might receive elsewhere, but this is a solid beer-and-a-shot airport for the rest of us.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"usually has lots of delays"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid making connections here in late summer, especially to small regional airports. ORD usually has lots of delays and cancellations at that time of year because of thunderstorms. Other than that this airport has nice-looking terminals and good places to eat. I never went through security here, but that didn't seem to be a problem because everyone arrived at my gate on time despite the weather delay.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Signage confusing"

(India)

Confusing. Far too big. Lufthansa does not fly out of the international terminal. Plane taxies for at least 20 minutes. Signage confusing. Trains not easy to find. Slow baggage claim area. Avoid the airport if possible. Better fly from a smaller airport if that option is available.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"no trouble getting around"

(Pakistan)

Overall a nice airport. Not that big so no trouble getting around. Lines for immigration are quite long. Departure lounge is always very crowded but once you check in and clear security, the lounges are quite nice with plenty of dining options. The seating area near the gates is quite small and thus it always seems crowded.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"polite and friendly employees"

(United States)

I am continually impresed with the polite and friendly employees within Chicago O'Hare Airport. From information desks to food services and even the TSA and Customs Agents, everyone is always friendly, talkative and willing to engage in friendly conversation. Chicago has quite a reputation for many things, but my last 4 trips through O'Hare in the last 3 months have been pleasant and noteworthy. Now, if we could just work on better transportation options between terminals.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Scheduling needs to be addressed"

(United States)

Verified Review | After the flight landed, was forced to sit on tarmac for more than an hour. Apparently due to weather, however, still very unacceptable. Crew seemed embarrassed since they were not able to predict when we would get moving. Were told "15 min" at least 4 times. Scheduling needs to be addressed by airport management.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"what happened to respecting people?"

(United States)

Chicago O'Hare treats passengers like garbage. The security check was torture and not the process just listening to the rude attitudes the employees gave travelers. No respect for the elderly even. They tell and talk down to people. I asked a question and the gentleman working said "I'm busy ask someone else." I'm very disappointed. Next time I'll make sure to connect my flights through Detroit! What happened to respecting people?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"every single employee was surly and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Following a great traveller/customer experience travelling out of Heathrow, where everybody I encountered was pleasant and polite, I arrived to the complete opposite at Chicago O'Hare. Every single employee of this airport I encountered was surly and rude. The immigration officer checking the kiosk outputs was off the scale rude - sarcastic, shouting out at other lines with a face like thunder - he was scowling so much. What a contrast from my Heathrow Terminal 5 experience - it just isn't necessary. Whomever is responsible for the staff at this airport needs to invest in some customer service training for their staff and sort out whatever it is which makes them so miserable if they hate their jobs so much!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough seating at the gates"

(United States)

Chicago O'Hare Airport is very dirty, not enough seating at the gates. We had a 5 hr layover and not one place to sit down and have lunch in concourse B or C. Grabbed a sandwich but couldn't even eat it - not sure how you mess up a turkey club but they managed. I think it was about a week old. $11 dollar sandwich in the trash. We will never come though O'Hare again. It's very poorly managed and it's clear management doesn't read the reviews. Visit just about any other airport and you will see what you are doing wrong.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"baggage claim took an hour"

(United States)

I arrived into Chicago O'Hare from a trip in Italy with Alitalia. Once off the plane there is a very long walk to get to the customs office, and it is always a chase to get infront of everyone. In total, the walk was around 10 minutes. The customs is efficient, especially since when I arrived it was not rush hour, where in previous years there were 7 or 8 international flights that arrived from at about the same time, and it was a nightmare. They have the electronic passport checkers, so the process is sped up a little. Baggage claim took an hour, and we had to wait extra time because the airline lost our luggage. After exitting the customs, the arrivals terminal is nothing special, with plenty of connections to downtown and a coach bus terminal to take you elsewhere. In my honest opinion Chicago needs to expand and improve, especially if they want to get more international traffic. If any Airbus A380's start flying there, I would hate to be the people on board that flight because customs will get extremely congested.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes