Chicago O'Hare Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 245 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"passport officer rudest encountered"

(United States)

Unverified | I want first to second the comments of a UK traveler about passport control (I’m an American citizen, Chicago native.) The passport control officer was the rudest I’ve ever encountered, and I’ve traveled throughout the world, he had no eye contact, no speech, just pointed, with a scowl on his face and an attitude of pure hatred toward the people passing through. The personnel in the automated passport control, seeing people with clear need for assistance, ignored them, except to bark commands like “no cell phones” and it was unclear who they were talking to and what that really meant. I had just returned from Edinburgh where security was very careful but where people explained things clearly and were extremely polite. Apparently in Chicago expressing hostility is how you make things secure. Also last month I picked up my son there who flew in on Virgin America. Zero flight information posted for Virgin, zero. Virgin office closed. Employees I asked acted suspicious about why I was there. All the pretty restaurants don’t make up for the people.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rudest, least helpful, least polite staff"

(United States)

Unverified | This passport has the rudest, least helpful, least polite staff in the USA. When my husband and I arrived at passport control, the guy asked us how long we were staying. We answered that we were residents with a visa. Very sarcastically, he replied "No you're not! What does it say here?" (pointing at our passports cover, as if we were unable to understand). It says "United Kingdom", not "United States". We tried to reply that we actually live in the USA and we have visas that allow us to do so, but he wouldn't have it. "Again (as if he were speaking to one year olds), what does it say here? "United Kingdom". You are not citizens". He repeated this several times, without listening to us. Knowing that, unfortunately, he could potentially be spiteful and delay our entrance to the country indefinitely (and our dog is here, so at least we wanted him back!), I had to restrain myself and just reply: "We are residents, we never said we are citizens. We live here and have done so for four years now". Finally, the penny dropped. "Ah, yes, there's a difference". And that was all. No apology for treating us like children, for his smugness, rudeness, or his mocking attitude. I can understand he can make a mistake, but it's unforgivable that he should have that attitude without even having listened to us. He treated us like we were having a hard time understanding anything, when in fact it was him who was misunderstanding the situation (and not making any effort to get the facts before answering with his stupid arrogance). It's always a shock to come back to O'Hare, as anywhere else staff is friendly and helpful. Every single time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"solid beer-and-a-shot airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | The more I travel, the more I appreciate O'Hare, one of my home Chicago airports. It's big and sprawling, but everything is clearly marked, staff are generally friendly and laid back, and boarding is by zone or section of the plane (not by who shoves as in much of Europe and elsewhere). You can eat well and get your drink on easily and without paying that much more than going city prices. You can take a train into town for $5. Overall, it might not be glamorous, and I'm sure that business-class travelers don't get the fawning attention they might receive elsewhere, but this is a solid beer-and-a-shot airport for the rest of us.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"usually has lots of delays"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid making connections here in late summer, especially to small regional airports. ORD usually has lots of delays and cancellations at that time of year because of thunderstorms. Other than that this airport has nice-looking terminals and good places to eat. I never went through security here, but that didn't seem to be a problem because everyone arrived at my gate on time despite the weather delay.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Signage confusing"

(India)

Confusing. Far too big. Lufthansa does not fly out of the international terminal. Plane taxies for at least 20 minutes. Signage confusing. Trains not easy to find. Slow baggage claim area. Avoid the airport if possible. Better fly from a smaller airport if that option is available.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"no trouble getting around"

(Pakistan)

Overall a nice airport. Not that big so no trouble getting around. Lines for immigration are quite long. Departure lounge is always very crowded but once you check in and clear security, the lounges are quite nice with plenty of dining options. The seating area near the gates is quite small and thus it always seems crowded.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"polite and friendly employees"

(United States)

I am continually impresed with the polite and friendly employees within Chicago O'Hare Airport. From information desks to food services and even the TSA and Customs Agents, everyone is always friendly, talkative and willing to engage in friendly conversation. Chicago has quite a reputation for many things, but my last 4 trips through O'Hare in the last 3 months have been pleasant and noteworthy. Now, if we could just work on better transportation options between terminals.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Scheduling needs to be addressed"

(United States)

Verified Review | After the flight landed, was forced to sit on tarmac for more than an hour. Apparently due to weather, however, still very unacceptable. Crew seemed embarrassed since they were not able to predict when we would get moving. Were told "15 min" at least 4 times. Scheduling needs to be addressed by airport management.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"what happened to respecting people?"

(United States)

Chicago O'Hare treats passengers like garbage. The security check was torture and not the process just listening to the rude attitudes the employees gave travelers. No respect for the elderly even. They tell and talk down to people. I asked a question and the gentleman working said "I'm busy ask someone else." I'm very disappointed. Next time I'll make sure to connect my flights through Detroit! What happened to respecting people?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"every single employee was surly and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Following a great traveller/customer experience travelling out of Heathrow, where everybody I encountered was pleasant and polite, I arrived to the complete opposite at Chicago O'Hare. Every single employee of this airport I encountered was surly and rude. The immigration officer checking the kiosk outputs was off the scale rude - sarcastic, shouting out at other lines with a face like thunder - he was scowling so much. What a contrast from my Heathrow Terminal 5 experience - it just isn't necessary. Whomever is responsible for the staff at this airport needs to invest in some customer service training for their staff and sort out whatever it is which makes them so miserable if they hate their jobs so much!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no