Chicago Midway Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 35 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"they have definitely gone downhill"

(United States)

Not Verified | Changes have been made to the restaurants in the food court area and they have definitely gone downhill. The new choices are poor in terms of quality. Seating has always been poor as long as I have been flying through Midway. They lost about 20 tables for general seating as they gave it to a single restaurant for expansion. Most of these were empty when I was there on a Friday night. I go though Midway about 10 times a year, but this was the first time I arrived for departure after 8:30 PM. TSA Precheck was closed! I am so glad I never leave on Sunday as those lines for Security stretch all the way back to the parking garage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"lines are frequently long"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Midway is okay. The airport is relatively clean compared to other American airports and the flights are typically on time and departure gates are easy to find. TSA, without Pre, appears to be a disgrace. The lines are frequently long with only one or two employees checking boarding passes. TSA Pre, however, is easy and extremely quick at Midway. Southwest dominates here, so the check-in process is simple and quick. It seems that on arrival checked baggage arrives extremely late without reason. Lastly, the food is below par and the seating is almost non-existent. But still, Midway's accessibility and gateway to the rest of the US makes the airport tolerable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Very poorly organized and inefficient"

(United States)

I am so disappointed in the food options since the new vendors were in place. More expensive and poor options! I utilize Midway approximately once per month and I am continually frustrated by the extremely slow luggage delivery. Very poorly organized and inefficient! When I pick up people from Midway, they voice the same frustrations. My plane landed 60 minutes ago and I'm still waiting. In general, it is at least a 35 minute wait. Cell parking is excellent. Police monitoring of drop of and pick up. No waiting cars allowed! Regular parking is very expensive. Don't check luggage if you don't have to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the seating is almost non existent"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel weekly, Midway with no exception has the worse food of any airport in the country, better pack your own food. The selection is poor, the quality is the worst and the seating is almost non existent. Unti 2017 the selection was mediocre, but the new restaurants are horrible, you may believe that they intentionally made every effort to be bad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"new changes amount to less options"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel every week for work and fly in and out of Midway Airport. Earlier this year, Midway airport had some renovations and changed out many of its long time restaurants. These new changes amount to less options, as well as poor food choices. Many of these changes include Home Run Inn pizzas at the court and at both A and B wings. Likewise they allowed Dunkin Donuts coffee at the court and on both wings (where donuts is the worst kind of breakfast option) Many of the pre-packaged foods along the stands were also reduced to less choices and wilted looking lettuces. Overall the food options are heavy carb load choices and do not offer high quality fresh foods and lack variety. Mayor Emmanuel reportedly eats healthy and the airport eateries are not a place that he would be found dining in as a meal. Disappointed that he and the city allowed these changes to be made.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"Lines are long for coffee"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The restaurant changes here have been terrible. The breakfast and coffee options are minimal at best. Lines are long for coffee. Zero healthy food options overall. Airport itself is easy to navigate. Lines for regular security are usually long, but precheck is generally quick.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"used to have efficient TSA"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport used to have efficient TSA but now only 2 lines open besides pre, they gave me excuse of shift change. Returned week later and passed area, still long lines with the same amount open. This is all agenda to get people annoyed so they purchase TSA pre for $90. Also there used to be inexpensive food such as McDonald's, Potbelly but now those are gone forcing us to buy $9 hotdogs or $12+ hamburgers. Most places all clone pricing. Also some use signs to block prices unless you get very close to look.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the service is slow"

(United States)

Verified Review | The changes made to the airport are horrible. The food/restaurant choices are horrible and the service is slow. I now get food before going to the airport every time. Also the wait time at security are getting considerably worse, even for TSA-PRE. I went through last week with a friend who didn't have TSA-PRE, and only two scanners were open. It took 35 min for a short line to get processed. This used to be my airport of choice for convenience and my preference for Southwest Airlines. I will start flying from O'Hare if they continue with the decline. Very unhappy customer!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago"

(United States)

Verified Review | The mayhem to get through security was very unpleasant. After waiting in the long line that wound back to the CTA, I got around and there was a lady in uniform yelling "Precheck open". This encouraged many people to step out of the long line and walk towards what we thought was precheck. Walked all the way in to learn that is was not precheck. Came out and were told to start the line over again. People were unpleasant and mean. I was able to get back in line to then be accosted by people around me. Please work to ensure this doesn't happen to other travelers. Communication will make or break any organization. This could have been certainly prevented by training all personnel on protocol. Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago - don't you want visitors leaving in anticipation of returning? Horrible experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible terrible restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | Terrible terrible restaurants. Their bars are tiny and the service is very slow for food or alcohol. The security line is very unorganized and the TSA people working there couldn’t care less. I’ll fly into O’Hare from this point on and never here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews