Chicago Midway Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 33 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Very poorly organized and inefficient"

(United States)

I am so disappointed in the food options since the new vendors were in place. More expensive and poor options! I utilize Midway approximately once per month and I am continually frustrated by the extremely slow luggage delivery. Very poorly organized and inefficient! When I pick up people from Midway, they voice the same frustrations. My plane landed 60 minutes ago and I'm still waiting. In general, it is at least a 35 minute wait. Cell parking is excellent. Police monitoring of drop of and pick up. No waiting cars allowed! Regular parking is very expensive. Don't check luggage if you don't have to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the seating is almost non existent"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel weekly, Midway with no exception has the worse food of any airport in the country, better pack your own food. The selection is poor, the quality is the worst and the seating is almost non existent. Unti 2017 the selection was mediocre, but the new restaurants are horrible, you may believe that they intentionally made every effort to be bad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"new changes amount to less options"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel every week for work and fly in and out of Midway Airport. Earlier this year, Midway airport had some renovations and changed out many of its long time restaurants. These new changes amount to less options, as well as poor food choices. Many of these changes include Home Run Inn pizzas at the court and at both A and B wings. Likewise they allowed Dunkin Donuts coffee at the court and on both wings (where donuts is the worst kind of breakfast option) Many of the pre-packaged foods along the stands were also reduced to less choices and wilted looking lettuces. Overall the food options are heavy carb load choices and do not offer high quality fresh foods and lack variety. Mayor Emmanuel reportedly eats healthy and the airport eateries are not a place that he would be found dining in as a meal. Disappointed that he and the city allowed these changes to be made.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"Lines are long for coffee"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The restaurant changes here have been terrible. The breakfast and coffee options are minimal at best. Lines are long for coffee. Zero healthy food options overall. Airport itself is easy to navigate. Lines for regular security are usually long, but precheck is generally quick.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"used to have efficient TSA"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport used to have efficient TSA but now only 2 lines open besides pre, they gave me excuse of shift change. Returned week later and passed area, still long lines with the same amount open. This is all agenda to get people annoyed so they purchase TSA pre for $90. Also there used to be inexpensive food such as McDonald's, Potbelly but now those are gone forcing us to buy $9 hotdogs or $12+ hamburgers. Most places all clone pricing. Also some use signs to block prices unless you get very close to look.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the service is slow"

(United States)

Verified Review | The changes made to the airport are horrible. The food/restaurant choices are horrible and the service is slow. I now get food before going to the airport every time. Also the wait time at security are getting considerably worse, even for TSA-PRE. I went through last week with a friend who didn't have TSA-PRE, and only two scanners were open. It took 35 min for a short line to get processed. This used to be my airport of choice for convenience and my preference for Southwest Airlines. I will start flying from O'Hare if they continue with the decline. Very unhappy customer!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago"

(United States)

Verified Review | The mayhem to get through security was very unpleasant. After waiting in the long line that wound back to the CTA, I got around and there was a lady in uniform yelling "Precheck open". This encouraged many people to step out of the long line and walk towards what we thought was precheck. Walked all the way in to learn that is was not precheck. Came out and were told to start the line over again. People were unpleasant and mean. I was able to get back in line to then be accosted by people around me. Please work to ensure this doesn't happen to other travelers. Communication will make or break any organization. This could have been certainly prevented by training all personnel on protocol. Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago - don't you want visitors leaving in anticipation of returning? Horrible experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible terrible restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | Terrible terrible restaurants. Their bars are tiny and the service is very slow for food or alcohol. The security line is very unorganized and the TSA people working there couldn’t care less. I’ll fly into O’Hare from this point on and never here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"restaurant changes horrible"

(United States)

Unverified | The restaurant changes at Midway have been horrible. The quality, prices, choices and service is extremely poor. This was a poor move by Midway. I used to eat my meal at Midway prior to departure and on arrival. I now make sure and eat ahead as it's not worth it. Home Run in pizza may be good but the rest of the menu isn't good, healthy and the service takes forever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"this restaurant change is a travesty "

(United States)

Verified Review | I have used Midway airport regularly for almost 10 years. The recent change in the available restaurants selection has made it so that I don't eat here anymore. As a frequent flyer who has maintained status for every year of that time, this is a problem. They've removed a convenient, and inexpensive (!) Sandwich restaurant (Potbellys) and replaced it multiple times with a restaurant (Home Run Inn) that costs almost 2x as much for a simple sandwich. On the plus side, the new place appears to have the advantage of being slower also with less professional service. Truth be told, I like Home Run Inn Pizza. It's really good and I recommend you try a slice or two when you're in Chicago. However, pizza is more messy to eat than a sandwich. This is a big concern when you have on the same clothes you are going to attend a business meeting in. I like this airport, it's small, convenient and really easy to get around in. But this restaurant change is a travesty for me and food is a necessity. You've taken the normal routine of mild annoyance that air travel had become and taken it too a much higher level of annoyance. Now, I'm annoyed and hungry. One suggestion, maybe they could install a few more electric plugs. I think these cell phones and computers will catch on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews