Chicago Midway Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Terrible terrible restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | Terrible terrible restaurants. Their bars are tiny and the service is very slow for food or alcohol. The security line is very unorganized and the TSA people working there couldn’t care less. I’ll fly into O’Hare from this point on and never here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"restaurant changes horrible"

(United States)

Unverified | The restaurant changes at Midway have been horrible. The quality, prices, choices and service is extremely poor. This was a poor move by Midway. I used to eat my meal at Midway prior to departure and on arrival. I now make sure and eat ahead as it's not worth it. Home Run in pizza may be good but the rest of the menu isn't good, healthy and the service takes forever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"this restaurant change is a travesty "

(United States)

Verified Review | I have used Midway airport regularly for almost 10 years. The recent change in the available restaurants selection has made it so that I don't eat here anymore. As a frequent flyer who has maintained status for every year of that time, this is a problem. They've removed a convenient, and inexpensive (!) Sandwich restaurant (Potbellys) and replaced it multiple times with a restaurant (Home Run Inn) that costs almost 2x as much for a simple sandwich. On the plus side, the new place appears to have the advantage of being slower also with less professional service. Truth be told, I like Home Run Inn Pizza. It's really good and I recommend you try a slice or two when you're in Chicago. However, pizza is more messy to eat than a sandwich. This is a big concern when you have on the same clothes you are going to attend a business meeting in. I like this airport, it's small, convenient and really easy to get around in. But this restaurant change is a travesty for me and food is a necessity. You've taken the normal routine of mild annoyance that air travel had become and taken it too a much higher level of annoyance. Now, I'm annoyed and hungry. One suggestion, maybe they could install a few more electric plugs. I think these cell phones and computers will catch on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
8/10

"useless amounts of trash from the food court"

(United States)

Verified Review | I fly out of midway on a biweekly basis for business. I give this airport a lot of credit for how they keep the security lines moving fast. One area of suggestion is the useless amounts of trash from the food court. The airport boasts being green but the vendors will give you far more trash then you need. An example is, I went to buy a breakfast sandwich at the Greek place in the food court. They wrapped the sandwich in a sort of wax paper and put it in a small brown paper bag and then put it in a larger paper bag and then put in a fork and a knife and a pile of napkins. I told them a few times that I don't need need the fork, knife and extra bag and they can save I for someone else. So what did he do, he threw it in the garbage. Now, I'm not a crazy tree hugger but this happens every time I eat here. I just think Midway should step up its 'reduce waste' initiative. Thanks!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a functional airport with few frills"

(United States)

Verified Review | As a first-time user, I was satisfied with MDW, both arriving and departing. It is a functional airport with few frills, but it does its job well. The CTA Orange Line provides easy, quick and cheap access to The Loop, another MDW selling-point. TSA pre-check lines were quick, staff courteous too. No complaints about the food offerings before departure: the time passed agreeably in the Windy City Taproom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

"food options are nothing but expensive"

(United States)

Unverified | Supposedly Chicago Midway was upgrading the food options at the airport. Upon my arrival I was quite shocked that the new food options are nothing but expensive and are completely not nutritional whatsoever. At least McDonald's had some healthy choices. Home Run Inn pizza and Dunkin' Donuts appear to be the only food options. Considering the trend has been going in the opposite direction relative to healthy food options, obviously these new vendors were chosen based on how much they are paying in rent. Awful!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very nice airport"

(United States)

Chicago Midway airport was clean. Since it's not as crowded as the other airport in Chicago (O'hare) the lines were shorter, wasn't much delay, not as many pepole, and you won't worry about being late to a flight becuase of long lines. Get there late you could go thourgh everything quickly. A very nice airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"quick TSA check is wonderful"

(United States)

Good old Midway airport. This is my airport of choice due to the flight selection combined with the quick TSA check and having plenty of restaurants to choose from. The quick TSA check is wonderful never having spent more than 15-20 minutes in line. Would gladly always recommend this airport one of the best I've been too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"internet is good for nothing"

(United States)

Worst "free wifi" ever. I can't even get a good enough signal to load iMessage on my phone. Absolute worst airport to have a layover if you need Internet at all. Free wifi but the internet is good for nothing. Will remember this in the future when flying solo. If you need Internet to get anything done during a layover, plan on sucking up all of your personal data.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"very packed, loud and chaotic"

(United States)

Chicago Midway airport is a densely packed airport crammed into an old neighborhood. 1) Check in and Security - Give yourself at least two hours. The terminal is very packed, loud and chaotic. Lines are very heavy both at check-in and security. 2) Cleanliness and Restrooms - The airport is in general pretty dirty and not kept very clean. Same can be said for the restrooms. There are usually and souvenirs - They do a very good job at offering a wide variety of food options and souvenirs are all over the place and are of high quality. Everything is available from Chicago deep dish pizzas and hot dogs to nice city magnets and mugs. 4) Staff - Despite the chaos and stress of this airport the employees seem to manage well, are kind, and helpful. When flights are delayed or cancelled, the mood here is much more stressful than other locations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews