Chicago Midway Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"used to have efficient TSA"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport used to have efficient TSA but now only 2 lines open besides pre, they gave me excuse of shift change. Returned week later and passed area, still long lines with the same amount open. This is all agenda to get people annoyed so they purchase TSA pre for $90. Also there used to be inexpensive food such as McDonald's, Potbelly but now those are gone forcing us to buy $9 hotdogs or $12+ hamburgers. Most places all clone pricing. Also some use signs to block prices unless you get very close to look.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the service is slow"

(United States)

Verified Review | The changes made to the airport are horrible. The food/restaurant choices are horrible and the service is slow. I now get food before going to the airport every time. Also the wait time at security are getting considerably worse, even for TSA-PRE. I went through last week with a friend who didn't have TSA-PRE, and only two scanners were open. It took 35 min for a short line to get processed. This used to be my airport of choice for convenience and my preference for Southwest Airlines. I will start flying from O'Hare if they continue with the decline. Very unhappy customer!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago"

(United States)

Verified Review | The mayhem to get through security was very unpleasant. After waiting in the long line that wound back to the CTA, I got around and there was a lady in uniform yelling "Precheck open". This encouraged many people to step out of the long line and walk towards what we thought was precheck. Walked all the way in to learn that is was not precheck. Came out and were told to start the line over again. People were unpleasant and mean. I was able to get back in line to then be accosted by people around me. Please work to ensure this doesn't happen to other travelers. Communication will make or break any organization. This could have been certainly prevented by training all personnel on protocol. Not a pleasant feeling leaving Chicago - don't you want visitors leaving in anticipation of returning? Horrible experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible terrible restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | Terrible terrible restaurants. Their bars are tiny and the service is very slow for food or alcohol. The security line is very unorganized and the TSA people working there couldn’t care less. I’ll fly into O’Hare from this point on and never here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"restaurant changes horrible"

(United States)

Unverified | The restaurant changes at Midway have been horrible. The quality, prices, choices and service is extremely poor. This was a poor move by Midway. I used to eat my meal at Midway prior to departure and on arrival. I now make sure and eat ahead as it's not worth it. Home Run in pizza may be good but the rest of the menu isn't good, healthy and the service takes forever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"this restaurant change is a travesty "

(United States)

Verified Review | I have used Midway airport regularly for almost 10 years. The recent change in the available restaurants selection has made it so that I don't eat here anymore. As a frequent flyer who has maintained status for every year of that time, this is a problem. They've removed a convenient, and inexpensive (!) Sandwich restaurant (Potbellys) and replaced it multiple times with a restaurant (Home Run Inn) that costs almost 2x as much for a simple sandwich. On the plus side, the new place appears to have the advantage of being slower also with less professional service. Truth be told, I like Home Run Inn Pizza. It's really good and I recommend you try a slice or two when you're in Chicago. However, pizza is more messy to eat than a sandwich. This is a big concern when you have on the same clothes you are going to attend a business meeting in. I like this airport, it's small, convenient and really easy to get around in. But this restaurant change is a travesty for me and food is a necessity. You've taken the normal routine of mild annoyance that air travel had become and taken it too a much higher level of annoyance. Now, I'm annoyed and hungry. One suggestion, maybe they could install a few more electric plugs. I think these cell phones and computers will catch on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
8/10

"useless amounts of trash from the food court"

(United States)

Verified Review | I fly out of midway on a biweekly basis for business. I give this airport a lot of credit for how they keep the security lines moving fast. One area of suggestion is the useless amounts of trash from the food court. The airport boasts being green but the vendors will give you far more trash then you need. An example is, I went to buy a breakfast sandwich at the Greek place in the food court. They wrapped the sandwich in a sort of wax paper and put it in a small brown paper bag and then put it in a larger paper bag and then put in a fork and a knife and a pile of napkins. I told them a few times that I don't need need the fork, knife and extra bag and they can save I for someone else. So what did he do, he threw it in the garbage. Now, I'm not a crazy tree hugger but this happens every time I eat here. I just think Midway should step up its 'reduce waste' initiative. Thanks!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a functional airport with few frills"

(United States)

Verified Review | As a first-time user, I was satisfied with MDW, both arriving and departing. It is a functional airport with few frills, but it does its job well. The CTA Orange Line provides easy, quick and cheap access to The Loop, another MDW selling-point. TSA pre-check lines were quick, staff courteous too. No complaints about the food offerings before departure: the time passed agreeably in the Windy City Taproom.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

"food options are nothing but expensive"

(United States)

Unverified | Supposedly Chicago Midway was upgrading the food options at the airport. Upon my arrival I was quite shocked that the new food options are nothing but expensive and are completely not nutritional whatsoever. At least McDonald's had some healthy choices. Home Run Inn pizza and Dunkin' Donuts appear to be the only food options. Considering the trend has been going in the opposite direction relative to healthy food options, obviously these new vendors were chosen based on how much they are paying in rent. Awful!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very nice airport"

(United States)

Chicago Midway airport was clean. Since it's not as crowded as the other airport in Chicago (O'hare) the lines were shorter, wasn't much delay, not as many pepole, and you won't worry about being late to a flight becuase of long lines. Get there late you could go thourgh everything quickly. A very nice airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews