Top 100 Airports  

Chennai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a bad first impression"

(United Kingdom)

I have travelled through this airport for 17 consecutive years and is the worst airport anywhere in the world. The immigration wait is not at all necessary, and the baggage claim wait is a joke, always takes far too long before luggage starts to come through and then is a stop and start affair. I cannot understand why this has not been addressed, it is a bad first impression for first time travelers to India, shame on the administration.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"shop charges exorbitant"

(India)

The international departure area of Chennai Airport was good but the arrival area was hot and smelly. The toilets were ill-kept and the air conditioning could have been better. The officers at the arrival area were not wearing their uniforms properly. The luggage collection area was in bad shape and belts were not running properly. The shops in the airport charge the passengers so exorbitantly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst of all"

(Malaysia)

I have travelled to over 40 countries across all continents. Chennai airport is the worst of all. Even within India, Mumbai and Bangalore airports are far better in all respects. Very often I encounter bitter experiences with security officers. They are arrogant and seem to enjoy showing their authority for petty reasons. This airport doesn't have a single restaurant despite Chennai's reputation as an excellent food place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one immigration officer"

(Australia)

Chennai International Airport is perhaps one of the worst airports I have ever had to use. We were queuing up at the immigration counter and there was only one immigration officer servicing over 100 travellers, many of them with children. When asked about it the floor manager/immigration officer replied that the flights in and out are always delayed so don't worry about missing our flight. It took us over an hour to get through immigration. The new terminal has no restaurant facilities or coffee shops which were operational during the middle of the day. The airport handle such low volumes of traffic and still they can't seem to get their acts together.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very bitter experience"

(India)

Very disappointed with the behaviour of the security staff at the arrival gates. They would not let us wait inside (near the gates where there are some chairs) until our hotel pick up arrived, a 10 min wait. If this was due to security procedure, its very disruptive, very in your face and causes immediate inconvenience. Not the kind of welcome you probably expect after an international travel. Not international standards at all. Overall a very bitter experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"arrival was not at all good"

(India)

One of my worst airport experiences. I had a flight to Delhi and then returned 2 days later. The departure was OK but the arrival was not at all good. When I arrived only one baggage belt out of 5 were working and luggage from 4 flights was on the same conveyor belt. It took half an hour for me to claim my luggage. A very bad experience overall. The international airport is even worse than the domestic airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"new terminal is a total waste of money"

(India)

The new domestic airport is now starting to smell, the toilets are the worst. They have improved the food and catering facilities in the departure hall. Security clearing is pretty slow. There are lot of birds in the departure hall and carpets are not cleaned. Overall the new terminal is a total waste of money.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Immigration can easily take an hour"

(United States)

This must rank as the worst international airport in the world. It is certainly the worst I have seen. Makes Dubai and Bangkok airports seem like paradise. I have used this airport many times during the past 10 years. There has always been promises of a world class airport but it has not happened after nearly a decade of construction activity. The international arrival area is still in the old terminal. Immigration can easily take an hour if your flight lands within minutes of another. The restrooms have probably never been cleaned since the first building was constructed in the 50's. Very limited food choices at high prices.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"I would like to see this airport with good facilities"

(United Arab Emirates)

Being a regular user of Chennai Airport, I would like to see this airport with good facilities. While the taxi service and availability of food and beverages has improved, providing basic amenities needs great improvement. Clean toilets, good seating arrangement for passengers and waiting area for passengers needed. Hope the concerned authorities look into the matter.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Chennai Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

I had the misfortune to fly home from Chennai airport just under two weeks ago. It must be the slowest airport in the world. I've been to India six times now so am well acquainted with the slowness of almost everything in the country. However one expects better of an airport especially one that's fairly new and modern-looking and no other Indian airport I've travelled flown home from has been as bad. The first queue was a long one but no longer than many other airport queues I've been in but unlike in most other airports it hardly moved the queue for immigration at Heathrow when I got home was just as long but constantly moving so didn't take too long. The Chennai queue was unbelievably slow. Then came the queues (plural) for security. I understand that they have good reason to take security seriously and I'm glad they do but they kept recalling bags to have another look at them and then someone would search them by hand. One young woman who was just in front of me had her handbag taken from her and put through three times and searched by hand twice - this really can only mean that the staff didn't do it correctly the first time unless it was the result of a malicious desire to make passengers miss their flights. My bag was put through the scanner twice and searched by hand. I saw this happening to other people too. This was on top of the body searches of course (which I know are necessary but do add more time to the process). This is without question the most inefficient airport I've ever used and I shall do my best never to have to use it again.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
no
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews