Charlotte Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport has gone downhill fast"

(United States)

Verified Review | Charlotte airport has gone downhill fast. I understand they are growing but it is an absolute nightmare to navigate. Every concourse is overcrowded. The air rarely works well. Bathrooms are disgusting and feel like you're in an old gym locker room. Staff are the most discourteous I've experienced and I'm in airports every week. I've been knocked over, pushed, and had my bag knocked off of my arm multiple times trying to get to my gate. It's everything everyone dreads about travel these days.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"doesn't appear to have been planned"

(United States)

Unverified | So far I have used 20 airports on 2 continents and Charlotte is the absolute worst. It doesn't appear to have been planned but seems to have grown randomly like a snake firework from the 4th of July. You have to be in pretty good shape to comfortably hike from one point to another with your carry-on, personal item and whatever else in tow. The whole thing should be razed and rebuilt.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"a lack of available seating"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have connected several times at Charlotte Airport in 2017. At least in Terminals B and E, there is a lack of available seating coupled with a lack of places to charge electronic devices/work while waiting for your next flight. At 9 am, I am currently sitting on the floor between terminals. The bathrooms are also showing their age and the smells are not inviting. The bathroom attendant helps but the problems in the bathrooms go much deeper than an attendant can solve. The carpets in the terminal should be ripped up and replaced with tile or a hard surface. For a city with so many affluent bankers, this airport is not measuring up.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"held on the plane for 35 minutes"

(United States)

Flying in we were delayed due to a line of planes trying to get to a gate. When I returned on an international flight, we were held on the plane for 35 minutes because the customs hall was backed up and the fire Marshalls would not let any more people in. This is the second time this has happened to me and the last time we missed our connecting flight. This is only going to get worse as they are building more gates to allow more planes to land and doing nothing that will increase capacity of the immigration hall. I don't care how many rocking chairs they have or places to eat or shop, just get me to my gate without a major hassle, I've flown internationally through a dozen airports and this is the worst!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"had the worst experience with TSA"

(United States)

Verified Review | The airport itself is fine but I had the worst experience with TSA. They were all rude and not helpful at all. I was traveling with a toddler and had no idea how I was supposed to go through security with her. When I asked several different TSA workers they were very rude.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the wheelchair was not there"

(United States)

Verified Review | I requested medical equipment because I have a brace on My leg. When I landed, the wheelchair was not there and waiting. I waited for a good 15 minutes for the person that was supposed to get me with the chair and get me to my next gate to board the next flight. I attempted to exit the plane not being able to bend my leg, hobbled to the door in the rain to finally get the help! When the person got me to my gate he said Sorry, you missed the flight. I got an apology and was told that they apologized for being short staffed and received a discount voucher for a hotel, I asked for management and again was told about them being short staffed. By the time I got shuttled to the room I should have already been with my son in Kansas. I missed a night with him, had to pay for a room because of them being "short staffed" and was placed outside in the wheelchair in the freezing cold and rain! I was told that I needed to be outside so I didn't miss my shuttle! 45 minutes is how long it took! By the time I reached the room, my luggage was soaked, I hobbled to a vending machine because I was starving, showered, and got to sleep at 2am I had to be back up at 5, take a shuttle at 5.30, and be back at the airport by six. In fear of being short staffed again although the plane was scheduled to depart at 7.30am. Have sent 2 strongly worded complaints to the Airport and if I had a choice, I would rent a car, with my bad leg, and drive the 15 hour trip back home!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"will not be flying out of Charlotte again"

(United States)

Buyer beware: the airport's website will assure you that there is always ample parking for every flight, but when we arrived at the airport on the morning of our flight, every long-term lot was closed for construction. The daily parking lot was full as a result, leaving only "business valet" or hourly parking at a significantly higher cost. When we contacted the airport later to complain, they informed us that they were not responsible for our extra expenses because it was "our choice" to park or not - as though it was a valid option to miss our flight and sacrifice thousands of dollars in airfare. I will not be flying out of Charlotte again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport is always extremely crowded"

(United States)

Verified Review | I used to like this airport but I don't any longer. Some of the problems are not exactly with the airport itself. Traffic from where I live to and from the airport is bad almost all the time. Being a hub airport this airport is always extremely crowded and I found that the wifi in the airport the worst I have seen. There is also a lack of places to plug in electronic devices.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the staff are absolutely awful"

(United States)

Verified Review | Honestly, I fly out of CLT very often, as it is frequently the airport where I am forced to take my connecting flight. I say forced, because the staff are absolutely awful. The food service and cleaning personnel are the kindest people I have met, however the check in attendants are the most entitled staff I have ever dealt with. Each and every time I go here (4 times in the past 2 months), the customer service provided is absolutely awful, not taking the customer into consideration whatsoever. I was asked to check my bag, and when I questioned why (as the bag could clearly fit beneath the seat in front of me), the man says to me "because she said so." And had no sort of explanation to follow. Of course when I finally boarded there was enough room for my bag in more than a few overhead bins. I do not recommend this airport at all. The only reason I do is for the kindness I have received from every food service or cleaning crew member, once I thought I lost my phone in the bathroom and the woman in there cleaning was so willing and so kind enough to help me find it. I think this airport's staff need an update on how important customer service is to any business.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly run and extremely inefficient"

(United States)

Multiple TSA agents standing around with no apparent function while 6 agents handled three screening lines funneling through one of two scanners. Poorly run and extremely inefficient. There is much room for improvement with screening process. Airport also under construction.causing more problems.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews