Charlotte Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not enough seating and dirty bathrooms"

(United States)

Verified Review | This airport is always like a zoo with far too many people, not enough seating and dirty bathrooms. American Airlines is to blame for getting all these people in the same place at the same time without adequate facilities. This is probably a safety hazard. DFW feels open and easy to navigate and so are many other airports. Avoid CLT!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I've never been so poorly treated in my life"

(United States)

Unverified | I have arrived at this airport twice in a span of a few months and while I had hoped my experience was a 'one-time thing' or just a bad day, I'm sorry to say that was not the case. I have not flown a lot in my life but when I do I usually have 18+ hour journeys. As a citizen of the United States, it is nice to come back after a few years. Well, after an eight hour flight over the ocean, the first thing you are met with is passport control. I have to say that the TSA, guards and police who work there are some of the most unhappy, unhelpful, and rude people I have ever had the mispleasure of interacting with. There were many lines and unclear, sometimes conflicting instructions. We were met with a man who did nothing but treat everyone like an animal, yelling and being rude to people who were confused. Even after the handful of times I have flown, flying and airports are still daunting and I feel sorry for the people who are first time flyers or tourists who will be met with this the first time they are in the country. In May, when I arrived with my boyfriend from a European country, we were met with hostility. When attempting to go through the line, they asked if we were family, if we were from the same household, which we were. The woman simply barked at us that we were indeed not together or family before we could even say anything. She then told her colleague to not help us because we were trying to get through the line faster. We were separated, he needed to be pulled to another line and I was forced to wait at least an hour on the other side. Needless to say we missed our next flight. I've never been so poorly treated in my life. These people should be ashamed of themselves. I understand they have an important job to do but there is no excuse for being so hateful and so rude to people, most of which are confused or afraid. We were almost in tears by the time the process was over. This airport was a stark contrast to the previous in London which was quick, painless and effective. Charlotte Douglas is anything but. On a brighter note, after we got through security, we talked to a woman to rebook our flight and she was very nice and very helpful. The security process is so long, so uncomfortable and the people are so rude I couldn't possibly recommend this place. I hope I never have to arrive in that airport again. Nothing says welcome to the USA like a bunch of angry people screaming at you and treating you like yesterday's trash.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"avoid this airport"

(United States)

Unverified | On August 10, 2017, we arrived at Charlotte airport on a flight from Rome, Italy. We had a 2.5-hour layover for a connecting flight to New Orleans. We have made round trips from the US to Italy for 35 years, and we have never had such a long delay in passing through US Immigration. There were at least 500 people in line, and there were only 7 agents checking passports. There were about 20 passport kiosks for do-it-yourself scan of passport, finger prints, etc. After about an hour, we made it to the Kiosk; then about another 45 minutes to the agent who repeated the same procedure himself that we had already done at the kiosk. The process couldn't have been more confusing and when I finally said something to an airport courtesy worker, she said "we make no promises". We barely made our connecting flight. They were closing the door. Many in line were for more than one hour after their connecting flights were due to depart. In short, avoid this airport until changes are made. It is a beautiful facility with worse than poor management and organization in the Passport Control area.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"service was pitiful"

(United States)

Unverified | The service at Charlotte airport was pitiful. We arrived from Punta Cana and had a connecting flight to Oregon. We had 3 hours of lay over which you'd think is enough but with the incapacity of the passport control we missed our flight. I can assure you I will never travel through to this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"has always been a tough place to get around"

(US Virgin Islands)

Verified Review | Charlotte airport has always been a tough place to get around. You generally always have to go from one end of one terminal to the end of another. Handicapped individuals used to reliably depend on the Club Car to pick them up and take them to their destination. You sat in a designated spot and they would pick you up. However, now probably for some politically correct reason, the Club Cars no longer run. They have been replaced by men and women who will push you in a chair to where you are going. However, the sit and wait in the designated chairs no longer works. I sat for 25 minutes and watched empty chair after empty chair walk by me. Some looked at me, but just walked on by. If the airport was bad before [high priced restaurants and ling distances to walk with intermittent functioning if the skywalks] it is now even crueler.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything is horribly delayed"

(United States)

Unverified | Avoid this airport at all costs. Every time I come here it is an absolute nightmare. They can never get gates right and everything is horribly delayed. It looks like the Olympics are taking place because everyone is running around like mad to catch gates since everything is late. Will try my best to never come through this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport has gone downhill fast"

(United States)

Verified Review | Charlotte airport has gone downhill fast. I understand they are growing but it is an absolute nightmare to navigate. Every concourse is overcrowded. The air rarely works well. Bathrooms are disgusting and feel like you're in an old gym locker room. Staff are the most discourteous I've experienced and I'm in airports every week. I've been knocked over, pushed, and had my bag knocked off of my arm multiple times trying to get to my gate. It's everything everyone dreads about travel these days.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"doesn't appear to have been planned"

(United States)

Unverified | So far I have used 20 airports on 2 continents and Charlotte is the absolute worst. It doesn't appear to have been planned but seems to have grown randomly like a snake firework from the 4th of July. You have to be in pretty good shape to comfortably hike from one point to another with your carry-on, personal item and whatever else in tow. The whole thing should be razed and rebuilt.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"a lack of available seating"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have connected several times at Charlotte Airport in 2017. At least in Terminals B and E, there is a lack of available seating coupled with a lack of places to charge electronic devices/work while waiting for your next flight. At 9 am, I am currently sitting on the floor between terminals. The bathrooms are also showing their age and the smells are not inviting. The bathroom attendant helps but the problems in the bathrooms go much deeper than an attendant can solve. The carpets in the terminal should be ripped up and replaced with tile or a hard surface. For a city with so many affluent bankers, this airport is not measuring up.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"held on the plane for 35 minutes"

(United States)

Flying in we were delayed due to a line of planes trying to get to a gate. When I returned on an international flight, we were held on the plane for 35 minutes because the customs hall was backed up and the fire Marshalls would not let any more people in. This is the second time this has happened to me and the last time we missed our connecting flight. This is only going to get worse as they are building more gates to allow more planes to land and doing nothing that will increase capacity of the immigration hall. I don't care how many rocking chairs they have or places to eat or shop, just get me to my gate without a major hassle, I've flown internationally through a dozen airports and this is the worst!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews