Chambery Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 16 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"je suis un passager, sortez-moi d'ici"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Check in reasonably efficient despite several flights being due to depart in a short time frame. Seating availability land side very limited. Several people sitting on the floor and maybe over 100 on the grass outside - not possible if raining. Toilet facilities poor - not adequate for volume of passengers. Limited food options. Temperature in airport very hot. I have visited here several times and this never changes. Not pleasant to board a flight dripping with sweat. Security is appalling. I fully respect the reasons for checks but it is the organisation of this area which could hardly be any worse. They have added extra screening conveyors but it is a single tray collection zone behind a solid wall and door to the screening area. Trays constantly ran out as no system evident to return empties other than the sole officer gesticulating in vain through a window in a locked door. Staff on the other side never seemed to appreciate the need to return trays. Having prepared a tray by removing belt into hand baggage; removing liquids in their clear bag, iPad and kindle from bag into clear view it was only when around the next corner (away from tray collection zone) that a different officer decided that everybody had to remove shoes (contrary to the rolling info film before that showed only someone wearing boots having to remove them). Another tray required. A total of 3 trays needed, as the trays are small and officers wanted everything spread out so distinctly. Unlike in Security at more advanced airports (but bear in mind the French have newly designed and created this Security area) trays have to be "self pushed" along a roller belt until x-ray scanners are close but then the tray roller belt does not go into the scanner. Each person has to lift their own tray and carry it across. Maybe 3 journeys. Whilst shuffling back and forth with trays it might be that other people's trays are interspersed with yours going through the scanner and then unexpectedly although checked already to gain access to this area, your boarding pass is required again, so if you have put it in your bag (to avoid objects in pockets) you have to re-extract it. Only at this point officers decide that not only iPad etc had to be out of bags but every charging cable etc as well. Cue general bag unpacking by all passengers just as trays are about to go into scanner. More possessions mixed up in multiple trays, including passport and boarding card. So once all trays come through you might get one full of cables etc and start trying to repack that but other valuables following maybe 5 trays behind. Only enough repacking area to really handle one or 2 trays - not helpful with say, 5 people all waiting in their socks, with trousers falling down, for 2 or 3 trays each arriving in a random sequence with those of other people. For a panicky minute or 2 I had no idea where my passport and boarding card actually were, which one might think would be exactly the opposite of the definition of "security". Eventually clearing x-ray screening I had then lost my wife who I assumed had somehow got through quicker, so I carried on. Long, very slow passport control queue manned by the sloths from Zootropolis! My wife then re-appeared from the underwired bra interrogation zone. 1 min to shuttle bus boarding closure. Buy water! Tiny stall, manned by 1 person, warm bottles. People rushing through, bootlaces not yet re-tied and cursing the staff... “Je suis un passager, sortez-moi d'ici”
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"it all worked well"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Not so bad! Flew from Amsterdam to Chambery and back to use the airport as the port to the snow. Its obvious that it is a small airport not used to a huge amount of people but it all worked well. They have two belts and they use 1 for skis and 1 for the suitcases of all flights. It all went reasonably fast. Its 10 meters from the belt to the exit. On departure it was funny to see how they checked the luggage in, it took some time. At security they made a little mess by opening the wrong door so schengen and non.schengen almost mixed up. A very friendly lady excused and laughed. Staff very friendly and helpful, clearly not used to big groups of travelers. Behind security a couple of guys tried to sell food and drinks. Realy not a horrible place to be, keep in mind that it is a small airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"cannot cope with passenger flow"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport simply cannot cope with passenger flow: Arrival-06 Jan 2018. One luggage carousel for 3 arrivals! Had to wait for each to clear prior to loading the next. Only one toilet cubicle was functioning in the male toilet. Seating is grossly inadequate and there was not enough standing room in the arrivals lounge. In effect, passengers were trapped for over an hour awaiting luggage and unable to buy refreshments, sit, or use toilet facilities. Departure-13 Jan 2018. Check in was fairly efficient, with long queues, but moving fairly rapidly, it was good that skis and bags are taken at the same check in point. The experience rapidly deteriorated from then on. In the departure lounge, once again, only one male and one female toilet cubicle are offered within the same room, there are no more, apart from a single disabled toilet. Shared facilities are unacceptable in a civilised country and the queue was extensive with over 300 passengers struggling to find comfort or refreshment with the single, understaffed and overworked small refreshment kiosk. Vending machines only accepted Euro coins and not cards. The facilities are unacceptable in any civilised country, even Kathmandu Airport has better facilities. On the tarmac, the transfer coach to the airplane had a broken door with a sign that stated ‘This door is doomed’ an understatement of the Chambéry Airport experience. This is, undoubtedly, the worst airport that I have visited for toilet and refreshment facilities and I vow that I shall never use it again, even if offered a free holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terminal was very overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Travelled here for skiing. My arrival was delayed by about two hours due to fog. When we landed, it was apparent that several other 'planes had recently landed and the terminal was very overcrowded. After a long time queuing to get through passport control (only two officers), I found there were only two luggage belts and the indicator initially designated the wrong one for my flight. This caused consternation for many passengers when luggage did not appear as expected. The error was corrected and I managed to fight my way through the crowds to get my skis and case. Not a pleasant experience. The return journey was an absolute nightmare. Once again, flights were delayed due to fog. Driving the last 15 miles to Chambery was difficult due to the dense fog. Direction signs were few and far between and lacking a Satnav I became concerned I would be unable to locate the airport. The terminal was full to overflowing, people were sitting on the floor, on the stairs, standing wherever there was room. If there had been any sort of security scare I hate to think of the injuries which could have been caused in a stampede to exit the building. The catering business must make a fortune in this airport as there was a massive queue for the whole of the eight and a half hours I was waiting there. Once my flight was called, we were forced to queue in a very small area with tape barriers creating a snake of people waiting to pass the two customs officers. They did their best to move people through, but there was a jam back from the security checking area which is too small with insufficient staff to cope with the volume of passengers. I was becoming concerned I would miss my flight, but I guess they are used to this state of confusion as we were herded directly onto a transfer bus as soon as we cleared security. This airport is just too small for the number of passengers using it. There is no overflow capacity in the event of delays, which I now understand are very common here. Why on Earth build an international airport in an area known to suffer from regular dense fog? Next time (if) I fly to the French Alps, I will go to Lyon. As a matter of interest, if I had chosen to drive to the Alps (as I usually do), I could have made the complete return journey home in less time than it took me by air. Makes you think, doesn't it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"great little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Chambery is a great little airport, the closest to the major ski resorts like The Three Valleys. It's small and gets crowded at weekends, but has a cosy bar/restaurant on the first floor. In 2014 we were delayed 6 hours here due to bad weather and they couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable, drafting in extra sandwiches etc. We were on time this year but still had time to enjoy refreshments/drinks etc. Much better than using Geneva or Lyon
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

Horrible airport and rude security staff. Hoards of people going through 2 x-ray machines and security were unnecessarily obnoxious and arrogant. They made the situation a lot worse by shouting at people when they weren't doing exactly as told. People have the right to be treated with dignity and these people have obviously forgotten that. Once through security there are not enough seats and people just standing waiting or sitting on the floor for long periods for planes delayed due to the shoddy airport and it's staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute hell on earth"

(United Kingdom)

Absolute Hell on Earth. I estimate there were around a thousand people crowed into the check-in and gate area. No structure to the queuing area and the check in desk was changed mid way through. There are plenty of staff wandering around with radios and clip boards but the chaos continued. I will never travel through this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nowhere near enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived at this airport on Saturday 2nd Jan 2016 to be herded like cattle through passport control. There were 2 officers on duty checking every passport, yes just two officers. Ahead was a plane from Russia and while we waited two further plains arrived. It was cold and throwing down with rain, the queue area was inadequate to say the least. Eventually the situation got to the point where the authorities just decided to give in and let everyone in. What was the point? If you are going to do it have the staff to do it properly. We understand security is heightened due to the Paris attacks but this was a farce. The return a week later was worse. This is an airport which simply does not have the facilities to deal with the number of passengers it serves. Massive queue to get in, queue to check in, queue to go through passport control, facilities more suitable to a rural bus station, dirty toilets, nowhere near enough seats. Then to top it off when collecting our luggage later it had clearly been left outside in the pouring rain. This airport clearly needs investment and urgently.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"entire gamut of airport services"

(United Kingdom)

For second year running this airport has succeeded in totally ruining an otherwise very enjoyable experience in Val d'isere over Xmas and New year. As committed Francophiles, with interests elsewhere in France, we are appalled by the arrogance of the local authorities and agencies involved in the provision and management of such services to hundreds of thousands of international visitors who ultimately supplement if not almost entirely underwrite the payments of their wages and salaries. Having tried, what appeared to be the most direct route to our favourite ski-resort in the world, we will continue to visit Val but not via Chambery Airport. The areas of complaint cover the entire gamut of airport services and are already articulated by an increasing list of similarly minded visitors posting on the Internet. It will not be long before you have to do some real work to justify and sustain your current lifestyles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
na

Chambery Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

A terrible airport. Nowhere near enough facilities staff or processes to cope with the peak demand. An awful experience which ruined the holiday. Snow on runway caused major delays and backed up flights in UK - in the Alps? In the winter? Why should this have been a surprise? Limited snow clearing equipment. This airport should not be allowed to operate as a tourist airport for high volume of ski flights. Staff flustered passengers under pressure and tempers flaring. A horrible horrible experience but one for which there is little alternative choice with Crystal Ski to the Mont Blanc area. Unfortunately - same airport destination already booked for next year (prior to this horrific experience). 4.5 hours in slow moving road traffic to arrive at airport for 10 hour delay with what seemed like thousands and thousands of other similarly angry people. Read many reviews since which all give similar warnings over a long period of time - what do we have to say differently to prompt some dignified changes to this facility's operation? Avoid if you can.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews