Cardiff Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th July 2015

Hadn't been to Cardiff for a number of years due to poor flight choices. This time I was on Business. Great car parking and shuttle service. The security experience was horrendous. Staff were aggressive and patronising. As I had some liquids in my case, they quite rightly had to inspect it. However this was done in front of everyone with all personal belongings shown to everyone who was passing. It was an unnecessarily humiliating experience and easily solvable by having a screened area. The security staff were very unpleasant however and seemed to take great delight in ordering passengers around. I might have thought this was a one off but on my return trip we were again 'barked at' and ushered unpleasantly and officiously whilst having our passports checked. I will fly from Bristol or Heathrow from now on. I will not be going back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit24-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th June 2015

Outward, my grumble was the extremely high prices for food and drink at the Echo bar! The return experience was the worst I've experienced. Upon arrival there was a very long walk from the arrivals gate to immigration where we joined a queue which took over 30 minutes to get to the front. There were 3 immigration officers on duty, 1 of whom just sat and looked at the queue and served no one. My hope was that with the delay in clearing immigration, our luggage would be on the belt. Unfortunately, this was not the case and we had another 20 minute wait for the luggage (50 minutes after arrival!). After leaving the terminal, we tried to find the bus stop for the courtesy bus to car park 2. It was really badly signed and when we did get it's location verified by an airport worker, we had another 20 minute wait for the bus. To top it all, there didn't appear to be any visible exit signs, so another 5 minutes was wasted driving around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit28-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (Ireland) 19th June 2015

Very limited choice of shops and eating facilities compared to alternative airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit19-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
na

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th April 2015

Having decided to go to Prague for the weekend of my wife's birthday my children and I decided to do the costings as this was going to be her 60th birthday present. Can you imagine the shock that the price's quoted from our (local airport we live in Porthcawl) were so much more than the package we put together flying from Bristol including the parking and 3 nights in the Hilton in Prague! As the people of Wales airport you are a country mile from getting it anywhere near right.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
7/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th October 2014

After many years of using Bristol airport we decided to give Cardiff another go (we only live 8 miles from CWL). The main problem is the poor choice of flights but we managed to get a flight to Barcelona which almost fitted our needs. The airport's recent modernisation seems to be pretty good. Drop-off area was good and no charge (well done CWL). Check-in staff were fine security was no worse nor no better than most airports we use so all in all not bad. As part of the modernisation Cardiff seems to have followed the Bristol plan - enlarge the Duty Free shops at the expense of seating - not good. The catering is average but the prices are eye wateringly expensive over £2 for a cup of tea is such a rip-off. I thought the Welsh government owned this airport. They should stop such profiteering. Would we use the airport again. The answer is most definitely yes if suitable flights are available but that's the snag there aren't many flights to anywhere.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd August 2014

I was checking in my disabled grandmother and the staff were nothing but miserable rude and unhelpful. I saw a smile from one member of staff while checking in my grandmother and I felt we were made to feel a nuisance to these people. At one point someone told me to 'put her in a chair and take her to a desk!' Then they had a cheek to charge me 5 pounds for parking as it obviously takes longer to assist a person who requires a wheelchair. I phoned to complain and again felt the staff were not bothered and refused to refund me telling me to call another department. Not happy at all.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
6/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th July 2014

Much smaller than I imagined for a capital city airport and not one that I would want to be stuck in for too long as facilities are quite limited but overall a positive experience with short queues and friendly staff. A nice touch was a machine at the security exit allowing passengers to rate their experience. I hope these results are looked at and acted upon and believe that every airport should do it as it is often seems that it is this part of the travel process that determines how good or bad a passenger's overall experience is.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th January 2014

I will never use Cardiff Airport again. My wife and I have always used Cardiff for holidays but after being let down three times over one holiday never again. We are going to Bristol for the first time this year and even through its further away I believe we wont be let down. We have had our flights changed three times from Cardiff and we did not know what time we are supposed to fly or even if we can take two suitcases that we had paid for! I am sorry to say that I have lost faith in Cardiff airport. Is it any wonder people are going elsewhere? Also Cardiff is an international airport not a regional airport what a bad joke.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 30th September 2013

My experience of this airport was positive. I can't understand all the negative reviews trashing the place. Staff were friendly. Security also efficient and friendly. Seemed a little bit too quiet for a modern airport. I know they are trying to attract more business and I really hope they succeed. I'd read all kinds of horror stories about the place but it was fine. I'd been using KLM to travel into Bristol as it's usually a little bit cheaper but will definitely use their service into Cardiff again as it is closer to my destination.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Cardiff Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th September 2013

We have flown from Cardiff airport for over 30 years. My mother and father used to fly twice a year back and forth between Dublin in the late 50's and early 60's and as a child I flew regularly between Cardiff and Dublin to visit family. As a family I my husband and my two teenage sons have used the airport since 2001. In December 2001 we flew on a day trip to Lapland. In 2006 it was with Thomson to Sanford Florida and experienced no problems. Again in 2008 to Sanford Florida with Monarch. In this occasion we arrived at the airport at 4am for our 7 am flight and didn't check in until 6.15 due to a computer crash. We then used the airport in 2009 to fly to Dublin. We didn't return until 2012 where we flew back to Dublin. We are flying yet again to Dublin in October this year and are hoping to have another stress free experience at this airport!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews