Vote Now  

Cancun Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 50 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"cost of any food at the airport is ridiculously high"

(United States)

Verified Review | The cost of any food at Cancun airport is ridiculously high, comparable to Switzerland prices! $17 US for a burger is outrageous. And all food places charge the same. There is no need to gouge visitors so badly, and leaves a negative last impression as we depart. For an inexpensive country it is really fleecing visitors. Add to that no public bus service to the airport and it seems that they grab every last dollar they can from tourists. There are many other places to visit in the world that don't take such advantage of visitors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"barely made the flight"

(United States)

The rental car pick up and return is well organized, as is the gas station location. However, the announcing of flights on screens can be frustrating - our flight, scheduled for 6pm, showed late on the screen as an 8pm. Google was showing 7.30pm. We sat for a dinner, and then suddenly around 6.40pm the screen changed to 6.45 with a new gate and we couldn't finish the dinner, and barely made the flight. It was only by luck we saw the sudden change on the screen. Then we waited in the plane on tarmac for 1.5 hrs.They should really work on their scheduling and announcements. Moreover, we waited 2.5 hrs to check in for a Delta flight. I don't know if this is Delta's fault or the airport's.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"everything flows very nicely"

(United States)

Verified Review | Modern, well organized immigration & customs. Everything flows very nicely. Facilities exceed expectations. This is an airport for tourists and they do exceed in all ways. Comfortable, easy to navigate. I do like arriving and departing procedures. Well done again! Please note that for dining, Mexico is not knowledgeable about "Vegan" and yet, this airport has multiple Vegan-friendly options at its restaurants.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"60 minutes to make it through immigration"

(United States)

Totally shocked at the number of arriving passengers waiting to pass immigration in Cancun. We've been here numerous times and never saw this many people. It took 60 minutes to make it through. Luckily our bags were waiting for us when we got to baggage claim and the final check point moved much quicker.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"customs officer rude and intimidating"

(United Kingdom)

On arriving at Cancun airport we were astounded at the queues of people at immigration. There didn't seem to be any air-con working and the sheer volume of people made it feel stifling. However, the queues did move quite quickly and the immigration officers were pleasant. Once through immigration we made our way to collect our luggage which we didn't have to wait long for. What we weren't prepared for was customs - we were shouted at, asked if we had any cigarettes and when we replied that we didn't we were ordered to press a button which unfortunately turned red and meant that we had to have our hand luggage and cases searched. The officer I got told me to get my suitcase up on the bench, watched while I struggled to do so and then shouted 'open'. He was extremely rude and intimidating. Not once did I hear a 'please' or 'thank you' - disgusting, really. I would suggest that if they want people to visit their country that they take a course in people skills and customer care as they are non-existent!! I am happy to say that departing was far easier, check-in was quick and even security, despite more queues, was quite quick and the officers were far more pleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"angry passengers and crying babies"

(United States)

3 hour delay in customs with angry passengers and crying babies. Deplorable conditions. There was nobody directing the lines that stretched well beyond where the ropes were. A horrible way to start a vacation. Once we got to luggage the bags were left unattended in a carousel different from what the monitors said. Again nobody was there to help. First and last visit to Cancun.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"bathroom conditions were horrendous"

(United States)

Arrival at Cancun airport was fine. For our departure on 3/26/16 the bathroom conditions were horrendous. There was no water flowing in the mens room to wash hands. In the ladies bathroom the toilets were overflowing because people were ignoring the signs not to flush toilet paper. Bring hand sanitizer. Food offerings were variable. If you waited for something to be cooked the wait was long. Pre-prepared items were readily available. We had plenty of time so it wasn't a problem other than our dirty hands.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"signage was very good"

(United States)

I last used Cancun International Airport (CUN) over 20 years ago. My memories of it were that it was a confused morass that I would not return to. But I did return recently and have to say that it has become a surprisingly well laid out and organized entity what with all the improvements (3 terminals instead of 1, a parallel runway to allow simultaneous arrivals and departures, much improved interior architecture, working air conditioning, et. al.). Upon entry into Immigration there are handlers that motion incoming passengers into one of the ten queues that are serviced by over 20 Immigration officers. While waiting to be serviced there is a monitor that tells you which baggage carousel your luggage will be on when you leave Immigration. Once done there you go pick up your baggage then head to Customs where there is another series of queues like there is in Immigration. While it looked like I was going to be at Customs for hours, it took less than 10 minutes. In total, and with about 1,500 other passengers from various airlines being processed, it took me 50 minutes from deboarding the plane to exiting the airport. When leaving Mexico, I found the airport to be equally very useable. Signage was very good, there were plenty of places to buy stuff you don’t really need, enough eating places, wide passageways, a clean environment amongst many other things. Even though it was a Saturday afternoon, which is their busiest time, the airport flowed instead of being that confused morass that I experienced so many years previously. Note: Try to arrange for ground transportation BEFORE you fly if you know where you are going to go once you leave the airport. Otherwise you will be assaulted by “hungry” cab and limo services.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"An absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Slowest check in ever, almost 45 minutes at check in desk. Security was pretty much the same, very slow and unorganised. Business lounge was rubbish, no food, no air-conditioning, no bottled water and flights weren't showing on departures board or being announced on tannoy. An absolute disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"sailed though immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Third time heading into Cancun and we were dreading it based upon past experiences. I don't know if we were just lucky but we actually sailed though immigration and then realised that two fully loaded 787's were disgorging all luggage onto a single carousel. Deep joy. We even beat the dreaded 'Red light-green light' lucky dip thus avoiding a personal search of our stuff. So, out we went past the scrum of baggage handlers all stating that they worked for Thomson (they do not) and found our coaches to take us to our resort in just over one hour since landing, miraculous. Coming back, nicely surprised to find that the airport tax had been lowered to 700 peso's per person (is it just Thomson that does this?) and easily through security into the departure lounge. Be warned, prices for food and drinks are extortionate. £6.00 for a bag of crisps.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews