Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 109 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"what a nightmare"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I travel through YYC about two or three times a month. I most often travel Westjet and was happy with the old A terminal. It was compact and easy to change aircraft. Then came the new construction and what a nightmare. It takes forever to change planes, long walks, poor signage, stark white walls and a big lack of services. It went from a nice airport to one I try to avoid. I pick Edmonton any time I can over Calgary now. Tonight I am sitting at C72 With no place to buy a coffee and a weird layout that clearly is not understood by many travellers. Too bad but this is an airport to avoid.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Poor customer service"

(Canada)

Unverified | My gate was changed from A19 at one end of the airport, to gate C70 at the other end of the airport. No announcement was made where we could hear it, ended up missing our flight. On top of this, the Westjet staff blamed me for missing the flight! I waited for 3 hours at the wrong end of the airport for my flight, and then I was blamed for “not paying attention”! This is crazy, they need louder announcements in this airport. I never heard one announcement about our flight. Poor customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"walk was really long"

(Canada)

Unverified | Arrived on United on Oct 27. My first time at the new terminal. Will never arrive at this terminal again. Will go through Toronto. The walk was really long. Fortunately we met someone with a golf cart. If you have any disabilities, good luck getting to customs as there was only one cart.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Will try to avoid YYC in future"

(Canada)

Unverified | Landed in the A tarmac area. I had asked for assistance due to connection. Taken to where the shuttle goes. There is still a walk to the US security from there. Terrible setup. However I did not have a wait at either security or US pre clearance which surprised me. After going through the duty free maze you enter a waiting area. Restaurants are not great. My gate was nearby so no worries but not much seating there. Coming back from USA it is a long ugly passage then usual customs. However now you don't need to pick up your bag it is checked through. Restaurants apart from food court in domestic - 2 - Chilis had those high seats and was crowded. Reminds me of Reykjavik which is even worse at gate area. Not a fan of this European system of common waiting area. Will try to avoid YYC in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"kid unfriendly transfer"

(United States)

Verified Review | Absolutely kid unfriendly transfer security process. We had a connecting flight in Calgary, had to pick up our bags because we were transferring from international to local airline. Bags barely arrived in time to make our connection. To make matters worse in order to go to transfer flights you have to leave secure area and go through check in and security screening again. Then they give you trouble about anything you brought from your previous flight. They gave us trouble about water we had for our 3 year old. Apparently we can't throw it out after x ray, can't drink it. You can only leave the secure area and pour the water there and come through security again. Attending security staff absolutely unhelpful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the poorest I have encountered"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I have been in over 50 airports all over the world in the past 10 years and this is the poorest I have encountered. From the Westjet dungeon to boarding their domestic flights to the available restaurants. For a city the size of Calgary this is unbelievable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"aggressive and invasive security check"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I travel the world and I have never experienced a more aggressive and invasive security check as I just experienced at the Calgary airport. This woman went through my suitcase, purse, carry on bag and made me take my iPad and phone out of their cases. After all this, I still had to put everything through the scanner. Perfect example of giving small minded people too much power. Unbelievable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It is a brand new nightmare"

(United States)

Verified Review | Avoid this airport if you have the least bit of difficulty walking. It is a brand new nightmare. Arrived this morning 7/25/17, after car rental drop off, waited approx 15 min for a cart to assist us to United ticketing which is 10 miles away! No help arrived. After 20 min a kind volunteer said they were all in a meeting which at 10.45 I still did not see a moving cart. Husband is on oxygen and has breathing problems. We were ticketed First Class with United so we proceeded to the only lounge in this pretty good size airport. United directed us to Aspire, only to be told ASPIRE do not contract with United &, it is a private lounge. No admittance. It was literally downhill from there. By that I mean I found a wheelchair & proceeded to Gate 95 which is another 10 miles downhill. Once you pass YYC food courts and "exclusive shops" there are no food service kiosk near gates. Nor does YYC post a sign stating this & Good luck finding charging stations. All in all even though the building is new many many improvements need to be addressed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Be prepared to walk"

(United States)

Verified Review | Positive - beautiful environment, looks quite new and well maintained. To be improved Note: the very bad overall review is mainly due to the first comment below. Aside from that, it has the potential to be a very good airport. Be prepared to walk: infinite corridors, with no automated walkway. On arrival, from the US, from gate to immigration 20 min walk, then from exit to rental car location, 20 min. And I'm fit enough to do long walks. Plan for long walks. Same thing on departure. Some Electric vehicle with drivers available. Would like to understand why the architect designed such a bad configuration for people flow. - waited 40 min on arrival to get luggages (on top of the 20 min walk to get to the baggage claim area). No delay for me at immigration. Not a lot of seating in the departure area. Electrical plugs very limited.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lack of organization/co-ordination"

(Canada)

There are big staffing and organizational/co-ordination problems currently going on at this airport. Arriving on WestJet, there was a delay of 20 minutes to find someone to lower the jetway. Although this delayed all passengers from disembarking after a 4 hour flight, that's a new one in my 47 years of air travel. Then, having a walking disability, there was difficulty and confusion in recognizing where to go for the golf cart or wheelchair assistance pre-arranged with WestJet. Two days later, after checking in for my return flight, there was no attendant at the Air Canada special services counter to coordinate the wheelchair assistance. Some AC staff passing by did inquire and got on the phone but others had a "not my job" attitude. In the end it took about 45 minutes to get moving through security. In conclusion, I refuse to accept that these service problems are due to the construction taking place, but rather problems that have arisen from being short of airport/airline staff at Calgary airport and the lack of organization/coordination of staff that are on duty. Furthermore, assistance for disabled passengers (driving of golf carts; pushing of wheelchairs) should be carried out by third party contractors (as occurring at many other international airports) and not be the duty of airline employees. In my experience, this works better. Good luck Calgary airport, I hope you can work out the bugs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no