Top 100 Airports  

Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 70 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a lack of shops"

(United States)

Calgary International Airport is overall an airport you will want to avoid but most of the time can't. There is a lack of shops and restaurants in the airport. The wifi at the airport is barely even functioning. Security takes far too long at an airport handling 15 million passengers per year (San Francisco International Airport, for example, handles 50 million passengers per year and has shorter security lines). Finally, there are no water fountains forcing you to buy water. Would avoid but this is the closest airport to the parks in the Rocky Mountains and since Edmonton is four hours away from the parks compared to Calgary at one hour away, Calgary is pretty much unavoidable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we didn't find our bags"

(Canada)

Normally this airport is fine besides the enormous security lines. This time when we arrived at the baggage carousel, we didn't find our bags after waiting for 45 mins. We then proceeded to ask the luggage information desk if all baggage a had arrived and she said that they had. She then handed us a lost luggage form and said that a lot of the luggage had not been loaded due to the prior flight from Amsterdam had too much baggage so they had to take 100 bags off of the plane. The next day, we waited all day for the baggage a to show. We were then woken up at midnight by a person delivering our baggage and only one of the two had been delivered. Horrible experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security queue unbelievably long"

(Switzerland)

Calgary airport is a total disaster. The airport is extremely old fashion and very ugly. When arriving at luggage claim, the belts weren't big enough to handle all the bags, so employees were throwing bags on the floor to make space. But when departing the airport, is was even worse. Only 6 check-in counters for a long-haul flight. Out of the 6 available, 2 weren't being used. Took over an hour to check-in my suitcase. Then it was time for security. The queue was unbelievably long (1h30m according to an airport employee). I arrived 2h30 before the planned boarding time and I had to jump part of the queue otherwise I would have missed my flight. Unacceptable situation for such a big airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"check in and security were quick"

(United Kingdom)

It was years since I last went to Calgary and the airport has expanded a lot. On the way in this meant a very long walk (golf buggies were waiting for the less fit). Immigration checks and a long wait for baggage (I had skis with me) then took about an hour, so not too good. On the way back, check in and security were quick, everything was close together and the BA lounge was comfortable (but slow WiFi), so a lot better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"airport is bright and roomy"

(Canada)

Calgary Airport is bright and roomy and I especially like the free luggage carts. Lots of bathrooms. Look for the volunteers with red vests and white hats - they will assist and answer questions. Lots of self-service kiosks and staff to help out with problems.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"security lines very long - allow extra time"

(Canada)

Security lines very long - allow extra time for security no matter time of day. The WiFi connections are sporadic throughout the airport, confirmed by staff (unless you are a Shaw customer which must be frustrating for tourists) The full service restaurants are over priced and service slow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hate having to use Calgary airport"

(Canada)

No services on international flights side. No restaurants, terrible food options. Hate having to use Calgary airport, fix the problem.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"signage was clear"

(United States)

YYZ terminal 1 appears to be a well appointed and sleek new terminal. Numerous choices for food, drink, and shopping were evident. We were arriving on a redeye from the west coast, in transit to the Maritimes, and had a tight connection to make it through customs to the domestic terminal in time for the onward flights. Was afraid we might not make it. However, must say we were both impressed with the level of professionalism and efficiency of the Customs, Security, and Air Canada personnel. The signage was clear, and there always seemed to be personnel available to direct us to the next stage of the process of transit to our onward flights. Just wish we could have had time to explore the airport amenities. Maybe next time. USA airports should take notice. Flying through some major international USA hubs seems inefficient and poorly managed in comparison.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"they opened a closed security line"

(United Kingdom)

I cannot thank the airport and weather enough. Our transatlantic flight was 90 mins late. We were going to miss interconnecting flight. Westjet representative escorted us through to security. We were fast tracked and they opened a closed security line to get us through in time. Can't thank them enough.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Calgary Airport customer review

(Australia)

All very efficient, amiable and clean with no delay at all more than a minute or two. The shopping part is delightfully sparse except for a spectrum of eateries / drinkeries. There are very comfortable chairs. The merry go round of historic aeroplanes in neat. Free wifi abounds with various places to charge electronics, but we did not need to use either, so I cannot say if it was fast or slow. Calgary Airport has to be the best international airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 62 Reviews