top100_2016  

Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"security queue unbelievably long"

(Switzerland)

Calgary airport is a total disaster. The airport is extremely old fashion and very ugly. When arriving at luggage claim, the belts weren't big enough to handle all the bags, so employees were throwing bags on the floor to make space. But when departing the airport, is was even worse. Only 6 check-in counters for a long-haul flight. Out of the 6 available, 2 weren't being used. Took over an hour to check-in my suitcase. Then it was time for security. The queue was unbelievably long (1h30m according to an airport employee). I arrived 2h30 before the planned boarding time and I had to jump part of the queue otherwise I would have missed my flight. Unacceptable situation for such a big airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"check in and security were quick"

(United Kingdom)

It was years since I last went to Calgary and the airport has expanded a lot. On the way in this meant a very long walk (golf buggies were waiting for the less fit). Immigration checks and a long wait for baggage (I had skis with me) then took about an hour, so not too good. On the way back, check in and security were quick, everything was close together and the BA lounge was comfortable (but slow WiFi), so a lot better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"airport is bright and roomy"

(Canada)

Calgary Airport is bright and roomy and I especially like the free luggage carts. Lots of bathrooms. Look for the volunteers with red vests and white hats - they will assist and answer questions. Lots of self-service kiosks and staff to help out with problems.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"security lines very long - allow extra time"

(Canada)

Security lines very long - allow extra time for security no matter time of day. The WiFi connections are sporadic throughout the airport, confirmed by staff (unless you are a Shaw customer which must be frustrating for tourists) The full service restaurants are over priced and service slow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hate having to use Calgary airport"

(Canada)

No services on international flights side. No restaurants, terrible food options. Hate having to use Calgary airport, fix the problem.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"signage was clear"

(United States)

YYZ terminal 1 appears to be a well appointed and sleek new terminal. Numerous choices for food, drink, and shopping were evident. We were arriving on a redeye from the west coast, in transit to the Maritimes, and had a tight connection to make it through customs to the domestic terminal in time for the onward flights. Was afraid we might not make it. However, must say we were both impressed with the level of professionalism and efficiency of the Customs, Security, and Air Canada personnel. The signage was clear, and there always seemed to be personnel available to direct us to the next stage of the process of transit to our onward flights. Just wish we could have had time to explore the airport amenities. Maybe next time. USA airports should take notice. Flying through some major international USA hubs seems inefficient and poorly managed in comparison.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"they opened a closed security line"

(United Kingdom)

I cannot thank the airport and weather enough. Our transatlantic flight was 90 mins late. We were going to miss interconnecting flight. Westjet representative escorted us through to security. We were fast tracked and they opened a closed security line to get us through in time. Can't thank them enough.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Calgary Airport customer review

(Australia)

All very efficient, amiable and clean with no delay at all more than a minute or two. The shopping part is delightfully sparse except for a spectrum of eateries / drinkeries. There are very comfortable chairs. The merry go round of historic aeroplanes in neat. Free wifi abounds with various places to charge electronics, but we did not need to use either, so I cannot say if it was fast or slow. Calgary Airport has to be the best international airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

Calgary Airport customer review

(Canada)

I can't believe that it took me 45 minutes to get through one domestic security line-up! Good thing I gave myself 3 hours allowance to fly domestic. I have never seen such a slow security check. There were 5 lines but only two were operational and one of them was for Nexus. However there were at least 6 personnel being trained on the functioning machines and so many other personnel hovering around. When my husband asked why it's taking so long the staff said no it's not taking long and one personnel said that everyone came together all of a sudden. I don't think this airport is equipped to handle massive amounts of passengers. Then my husband's backpack was searched for the hand scale that he had in his bag. Meanwhile I had the same hand scale in my backpack and my bag was not searched. Such inconsistencies and inefficiencies. I travel around the world frequently and I have not seen such slow-paced and inconsistent security check point.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Calgary Airport customer review

(Canada)

This Airport is an airport that supports your needs. Food was great and staff were helpful. The signage was helpful in guiding us to the correct area for check-in and I don't have to keep asking every single staff member I meet to ask "Where is ..." Departure: Once past check-in you can enjoy views of the aircraft or eat or if you are late go to security. Once there you go past like a breeze (Full Queen = 10-15 Min. wait time). After that there are shops offering travel comforts (e.g. Headphones Neck rests pillows toothbrushes etc.) and coffee shops are there. US pre-clearance is also good and takes ~5 min. per person (if you are a normal traveler). The US pre-clearance features shops. Arrivals: After you arrive head up the stairs wait ~20 min. on average and you are out of there.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews