Vote Now  

Calgary Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 92 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"don't come to this airport hungry or thirsty"

(Canada)

Long boring confused walk to C73. No food, water or washroom nearby. Don't come to this airport hungry or thirsty. The worst upgraded airport. Wonder who designed this. Definitely someone who never travel regularly. Seeing parents with crying kids having nothing to eat is sad. Vending machines are not the answer. Wake up YYC.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the walk was exceptionally long overall"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Arrival at the new International wing from the USA was very smooth with the automated Customs declaration - I like it. However, the walk was exceptionally long overall. In addition, upon exiting the Canadian Customs area one must make a long walk under the surveillance of everyone meeting their friends, to make a U-turn to go back opposite the exit doors you just came out, to leave the building to the Cell-phone-lot pickup. This wasteful walk is identical to the original exit layout at the Canada Customs exit in the old terminal. Years later a short cut was installed there. Why this unnecessary regression in the new terminal? Dropping passenger off: I used the short term parking in P2 and found taking the elevator down to a cavernous hall, to walk under the roadway and then walk back up a very long ramp to the arrivals level, nowhere near the escalators up to the departures level, to be very time consuming and frustrating. 15 minutes of your parking time will be spent walking. Departure: I dislike stores that make me walk through the cosmetics department to get to where I want to go. The U.S. departure path at the new terminal dumps you directly into the Duty Free Store, with no option to avoid the congestion there, complete with obstacles (display cases) in the way to the free-flow of passengers and their drag-along luggage. The common waiting areas for multiple gates should make for more efficient operation of the airport, but when seated there one cannot hear the local gate announcements re passengers needing to complete their passport check-ins, explanations for delays, etc. I remain seriously underwhelmed by the design of this new wing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
5/10

"Calgary could have done so much better"

(Canada)

I had been told that there were problems with the new terminal. I was not prepared for the unbelievable poorly designed mess of the new departure terminal. What were they thinking. So little seating, limited food choices. It is like they want to make the traveler as uncomfortable as possible. Very disappointed. Calgary could have done so much better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"connection times were horrendous"

(Canada)

Again connection times in Calgary on this and previous trip were horrendous and involved running through the airport to make my flights. A minimum connection time between 1.5 and 2 hours is required. Not 45 minutes at full speed and stressed. If this happens again I will not hesitate to book with another airline even if KLM is one of the best airlines I have flown.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a big disappointment for a business traveller"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The new international terminal is a big disappointment for a business traveler. If you are traveling with professional tools or going to trade shows on a Carnet be prepared for undetermined wait times at both Canadian and US customs. It's first come first served for both immigration and customs so if there's a lot of immigration issues ahead of you you could miss your flight. Even if you arrive very early. There also never seems to be a "Nexus" line for security as well. If you lucky enough to get through with a little time to spare there's no airline lounges in the international area. What's with that?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"best airport experience in the past 10 years"

(United States)

Verified Review | The new Calgary terminal is definitely one of the most efficient operations in North America. From check-in, security and thru to USA immigration the process is seamless and faultless. The open environment waiting area has loads of shops, eateries and seating. It's bright, clean, inviting and very modern. My best airport experience in the past 10 years without comparison and I have a pretty tattered and we'll travelled passport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"how can a brand new airport get it so wrong"

(Canada)

How can a brand new airport get it so wrong? Though the physical airport itself seems well designed, with a clean and modern look, the operations and systems of the new terminal fail completely. Call to gate is not necessary at an airport this small and seems an awful lot like YYC put it in because other big airports employ it, not because it was the best solution for YYC. The food and retail offerings are poor at best, especially since F&B was one of the justifications given for CTG. Connecting from Intl to domestic is a mess, with customs poorly laid out, and the re-check through security completely under-built from day one, with only one scanner active following major arrivals and only 2 scanners in total with no expansion potential. If you want to be a connecting hub for aircraft coming into North America you need to offer the passengers and airlines benefit, especially as a smaller airport with lower O&D. In it's latest expansion YYC has done exactly the opposite.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lets get some fountains"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Upon clearing customs on arrival at the new YYC (Calgary) International terminal, I looked around for a drink of water. Could not see any fountains. I asked a helpful info hostess who didn't know where there were any. A janitor said there were none. What? A $2B terminal and no one thought of putting in water fountains? I'm going to try to take the high road here and assume there wasn't some scheme between the water vendors and the designers of the public spaces to allow them to sell more water. Come on YYC! Lets get some fountains.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"not designed for passenger comfort"

(United States)

Verified Review | This comment is on the international section of Calgary airport handling flights to the U.S. Large, clean airport that is not particularly designed for passenger comfort. The walk from the arriving gate to the immigration area was unusually long - no moving sidewalks available. However, immigration clearance was quick and the checked-in ski gear was handed to us very carefully in good shape. At departure, the walks were long and so were queues at the airlines counter and at the security checkpoint, at the U.S. immigration. Once you exit the last, the escalator leads you into a duty free shop. The shop clerks waved the passengers out of the shop to the exit to the departure gates. Seems to be a bad place to locate a shop. The distance to the gate was, again, quite a bit and the floor sloped down rather steeply. Relatively few eating options and few other quality stores - the duty free shop was too far away to return to. Not enough sitting chairs either. The airport has two brand hotels on its premises - which are very convenient for early departures. A taxi ride to downtown cost us 35 Canadian dollars - and credit card is accepted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very poorly thought out design"

(Canada)

Not at all what I expected after all the media attention and money spent. Very poorly thought out design. Long walk with no signage to get to customs, I had expected a shorter more direct route. The route its self was a bit steep as the attendants pushing/guiding wheel chairs were leaning back when going down. I was very thirsty, but there was no access to water (or a washroom) until baggage claim area - or if there was I missed it due to lack of signage. Luggage did not come with everyone elses, went to counter after waiting 45 minutes only to find it sitting by the counter as it had come on an earlier flight. Overall very disappointed with the new multi million dollar terminal for arrival, hope my first departure is a better experience!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews