Airline of the Year  

Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"cannot recommend Cairo airport"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | As a frequent traveller, I cannot recommend Cairo airport. Confusing at the parking, poor directional signage. Harassment from vendors, taxi drivers and luggage assistants. First airport I've had to pay for using a trolley. Chaos at the first security check. Dirty floors and / or carpets and you have to remove your shoes for screening. Impolite officers and not familiar with safety standards and rules. Messy check in, long queues and too much interference. Local passengers are waved in front, jumping queues. Passport control time consuming. Duty free poor selection. Restaurants over priced and very poor food quality and service standards. Lounges are dirty. Very poor standard toilets and dirty. Disgraceful smoking areas. This airport has many issues just need someone to take initiative to solve the huzzle around travelling, apply a service attitude, price value for restaurants. Clean bathrooms, proper employee behavior. It's a shame with all the issues of shortage of holiday makers that safety issues have been solved, however the first and last impression for the sadly few visitors are not. Please do something it's in the airport's best interest.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"totally useless security personnel"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | Very promising new Terminal 2, even has air bridges. Unfortunately they have not updated the rude, ignorant and totally useless security personnel. We live in the vain hope that something positive happens in future. In the meantime just grit your teeth and prepare for a couple of hours wishing you had taken Valium.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"the staff inside are very friendly"

(United Arab Emirates)

It is a nice airport especially terminal 3 the newest one. I am a member of Egypt plus and they gave me access to the VIP lounge. Area and entertainment is excellent, I enjoyed the 3 hours spent inside. Cleanliness is okay and the staff inside are very friendly. Price of service is okay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"generally not a nice airport"

(Canada)

Arrived at Terminal 1. Luckily I had a service meet me. No one in front of me at the bank to get the visa. A few lines for immigration that moved well. No problems with immigration. Luggage fairly prompt. Departure Term 1. Metal detector at entrance, before check-in at gate and even frisked on entering plane. Check-in was very fast. No real line at immigration. Departure gate area is small and not user friendly. Only saw one place to eat. People sitting everywhere. You can't get into gate until an hour before your flight. Note - walk all the way to end of the corridor and there is a seating area on your right. One of the worst places to wait for your plane. Now Term 3 is quite different my rating is for Term 1 but Term 3 is wide open. Lots of seating (upstairs) til you go down to the lower level. New airport and bus to planes? Generally not a nice airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it hasn't improved in 10 years"

(Australia)

Probably one of the worst airports I have been to. It hasn't improved in 10 years. The arrivals terminal is poorly signed and gives no information on how and where to buy an entry visa. Taxi drivers are permitted to harass you before you even have passed customs. On departure it is not much better, long queues to check in, to pass through immigration and to board the flight. was lucky enough to be told two completely different things about 10 seconds apart when boarding, just held everyone up even longer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there is no real management"

(United States)

Mass confusion. The airport itself is huge and seems to offer limitless potential, but there is no real management and the employees, as well as those who are not but pretend to be, simply do as they please. There are endless, and pointless, security checks (the machine no was even operating in one case) as well as countless inspections of documents, but no one even so much as glanced at my photo. The worst part are the touts and hustlers who roam around pretending to be airport employees and offer to direct you in and out of various lines, naturally for a tip. If I was spotted at LAX posing as an airport employee and directing people when in fact I am not an employee, I'd be in jail in under thirty seconds. It was absurd. The condition of the toilets is totally dependent on who is assigned to clean them, some were sparkling while others were filthy. Food selection in the food court was mediocre and priced at levels equal to any Western airport, which meant ridiculously expensive by Egyptian standards. There really aren't enough seats in the main departure areas so you need to move well away from the gates just to find a place to sit down. This place was just bad news.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic, smelly and uncomfortable"

(United States)

As a multi-million mile traveler that has been to over sixty countries and hundreds of airports I can safely say that Cairo is near the bottom of all the airports I have visited. The security is a joke, mostly security theatre, with uniformed officials asking for your passport and then leafing through it without looking. Then there's a massive and disorganized security queue where "helpers" sequester your passport and move you to the front of the queue just to ask you for money (and they won't return your passport unless you pay up). All in front of an uniformed official, which "feels" every single person going through the disconnected metal detector, without stopping to check when he feels something in your pocket. Completely useless. The lounges are poor and the air is toxic, given the number of people smoking (yes, inside the airport terminal and lounges, and it is sanctioned given that there are ashtrays everywhere). Cleanliness is OK, and signage is acceptable, but there's nothing to do at the airport. Also, I've been at CAI 4 times, with different airlines, and the 4 times my flight left with a significant delay, so there may be a pattern here. Announcements are loud and mostly in Arabic, preceded by a very loud "Ding Dong" that hurts your ears. I guess it has to given the level of noise in the airport in general. Not much to do once inside, there's no public wifi and shops are sparse and with little selection. In all, chaotic, smelly and uncomfortable. Not a good experience for a country that is supposed to live off tourism.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"huge bottleneck of people"

(Spain)

What a total disaster of an Airport. Huge bottleneck of people squashed into the security area. Then a bottleneck to check in, then a bottleneck mass questions to pass Visa and passport inspection. Then a another slow passport inspection by a solo staff member. Then another before going to your gate - awful design. Very bad management. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"so much quality is missing"

(Egypt)

I have travelled many times via Cairo Airport, especially the Star Alliance Terminal 3. I have to say that so much quality is missing, considering the fact that this is an international airport. For example, at the passport check / control, there are no lines or single files, people are just pushing each other. In terms of the airport environment, the staff are friendly and the airport itself is clean and free from any noticable garbage on the floor. Terminal signs are very clear and easy for one to easily navigate around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no lines, people pushing"

(India)

Cairo is possibly the worst airport I have travelled through. The entry was like entering a market with no lines, people pushing and no one to maintain order. The police at the entrance are callous, disorganised and don't care - taking an age to do anything. In departures, the only seating available is in each gate which only open 50 minutes prior to departure. If you check in early you either stand around or go to the food court. The announcements are mostly in Arabic even though Cairo is frequented by tourists. No aerobridge which is pathetic and hellish for anyone with mobility issues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews