Cairo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (Egypt) 24th June 2015

Cairo Airport Terminal 1 is one of the worst travel experiences I have encountered. Everything about the terminal is unpleasant; from arriving at the terminal to boarding your flight or indeed arriving at the terminal and leaving the terminal is beyond comprehension. What makes it more astounding is carriers such as Emirates, Etihad and Qatar Airways operate into the terminal. Bring on the new terminal, but when will it be completed?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit24-05-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 27th May 2015

The airport is very badly sign posted and I found myself getting lost more than once something that has never happened to me in an airport before and I am a frequent traveler. You are often pestered by staff for a tip for even the most basic service. The selection of souvenirs was poor surprising given this is Egypt. The security arrangements seem illogical as you are screened by security twice just yards apart before check in. There is also a serious shortage of seating which is an issue if you are traveling with old or infirm people. Make sure you pre-arrange a pick up when arriving as fake cab drivers swarm around you on arrival if you appear to be looking lost.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 20th May 2015

Very poor Shuttle Service between terminals. We had to change buses between 2 Terminals. No instructions given the bus just stopped and driver got off. Passengers we looked at each other what should we do now? OK we changed buses on to the desired terminal then we are dropped off across the entrance in a parking lot not in front of the terminal entrance. So off we go pulling our suitcases. What ever happened to the people mover? No clear signs for Shuttle nor for the train between terminals.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (India) 2nd May 2015

Visited Cairo for a conference at a glance during arrival the airport seemed ok clean not at all crowded Immigration was a breeze with only 1 counter operating out of about 30 counters toilets were clean and I was out of the airport in about 30 min. The real problem started when I was departing. Be prepared to get tired of hearing the word "baaksheesh" which means a tip. Every person you see shall approach you for a tip even if it is their duty. The airport doesn't offer free drinking water facilities you have to buy it. Announcements were excellent and they went the extra mile to announce in the language of the destination for International Flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
3/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (Lebanon) 5th January 2015

On 28/11/2014 I arrived to Cairo Airport on an MEA flight bounded from Beirut. The whole situation is in chaos. The smell in the airport is terrible. Immigration officers as well as customs officers are extremely rude and stubborn.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd October 2014

Pleasant modern airport not too big and not too small. Journey to and from Cairo is always fraught a shrug is the common response to asking how long you should allow but let's hope the Metro promised for next year materialises on time. But why can't the toilets have soap? And be less smelly? Why can't the "FreeAirportWifi" work? Why do the scamming porters who clamour to push your luggage 30 meters whether you protest or not and then ask for money apparently do so with the airport's blessing and wearing an official looking uniform? These are all national stereotypes but better airport management would roll them back a bit and encourage tourists back to Egypt.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (Malaysia) 14th September 2014

Flew from KL arrived with Emirates at CAI Terminal 1. This terminal is awful. Upon arrival people rushed to the immigration where only 5 counters were open both for Egyptians and foreigners resulting in long queue. Immigration officer was just rude threw my passport after stamping it. Waited for about half an hour for my luggage. Toilet beside the carousel dirty and disgusting. Before exiting the airport custom officer requested to see my passport and scan my luggage. After scanning them they asked for "tips" and won't let me pass through after I pay them some money. That's not it after exiting the terminal annoying taxi drivers started to surround and trying to take away my trolley. Thank god I had someone waiting for me. When we reached to our car two men out of nowhere came and grabbed our luggage and put them into the boot and then asked for tips. This whole arriving experience was nightmare. Overall it was a bad arriving experience after you have flown for 10+ hour flight.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
7/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th September 2014

Terminal 1 is a bit chaotic but small and friendly enough to get through without too much trouble. With an early departure our hotel had prepared a breakfast selection bags for us all which along with our tots we had no difficulty with at any of the myriad security checks. Well done Cairo T1.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 2nd December 2013

On most of my trips here in Egypt I have encountered extremely nice Egyptians. Today I arrived at the airport to leave and a guy came up to me as I am walking through the security check at the front asking me if I was flying with Lufthansa. He was wearing an employee tag over his neck so I thought he is an airport employee being helpful. I said yes and he grabbed my luggage set it down next to him and asked me for money. At this time another man came by also wearing tags and the younger one says "give him money". I gave the older man 20 Egyptian dollars. He proceeds to say "give him (younger guy) money too". At which point I said I don't have anymore money. He kept pressuring me saying US dollars will be okay too and I kept saying I don't have any. He pestered me all the way to the check in counter while holding on to my luggage almost hostage. After I told him many times that I don't have any more money he dropped my luggage on the floor and left. If Egypt wants to revive their tourism they really need to do something about this situation because now I am much less inclined to come back the next time I have vacation. What a terrible experience! Other than that the airport is new although not too fancy. Quite a selection of shops you can go to and food.
Queuing Times N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Cairo Airport customer review

Review by (Thailand) 21st November 2013

Flew in and out from Doha. Terminal 1 is pleasant even though there are no jet bridges. The check in used to be mainly in the main hall (which is still there) but they decided to open 10 more at the back side and its quite a tight fit and very uncomfortable when it fills up with passengers. You definitely need to jump over many to get to passport control. Cairo is knows with every single staff trying to get some tips. Standing by the gate that clearly says "Doha" they ask me whether I am flying to Doha and as I reply yes they extend their palm and wish me a pleasant flight "and wait for a tip". I'm half Egyptian so I am used to it but can get real annoying after a while. Passport control is fast. Avoid Duty free that has nothing special. cafeteria exorbitant and overpriced. Word of advice. The gates are very very small so in case your flight is full and a wide body aircraft try and be one of the last to get to gate as its filled to the brim and very uncomfortable. When boarding starts everyone is everywhere.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews