Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 12 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by (Brazil) 18th November 2013

Note that this airport has not been officially called Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena airport for several years. It was renamed the Bob Hope Airport in 2003 (though most people just call it the Burbank Airport and the airport code is BUR). It is a small domestic airport with fewer airlines than in the past since American Airlines departed last year. Departing on our recent trip was a breeze: we stopped off our rental car at the Avis facility (Avis Hertz and one or two others are on the terminal site; other such as Budget and Enterprise require a shuttle bus) I quickly walked to the terminal and got a luggage cart and we returned to the terminal and checked in. I think we were the only ones in the TSA security line. Breezed through. There is one restaurant outside security and a smaller eatery and bar inside. A couple of small shops inside the terminal. One walks up a sort of sideways V shaped ramp to get to one's plane (I think they may offer use of umbrellas if it rains).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
6/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th October 2011

Burbank provides a convenient and easy alternative to LAX although the departure hall in Terminal B is too small to accommodate more than 2 flights at a time. There were 4 flights (an MD-80 a 737 and 2 CRJ regional jets) boarding simultaneously and the small space and cramped conditions caused confusion and delayed boarding for everyone.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by (Brazil) 8th September 2011

Bob Hope Airport as it is formally known is small and easy to navigate. Check-in counters have limited service with strong encouragement to use automated kiosks. No collection of hotels nearby as in the case of LAX but there are a few with shuttle service. As noted sparse food and shopping options. Not the best place to kill time if your flight is delayed. With some rental car companies you can quickly walk between the terminal and your car while with others you need to take a shuttle bus. You can also take one of the parking shuttles to the nearby Metrolink/Amtrak rail station.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 1st February 2010

Burbank is a very small regional airport serving the San Fernando Valley and northern Los Angeles suburbs with only 12 gates and no jetways but it's a very good alternative to the chaos that is LAX. There are flights on Southwest (dominant carrier) United US Airways JetBlue American and Alaska to all major western USA airports plus Dallas/Ft. Worth and New York JFK. The terminal is very small and can get overcrowded during peak times and food/beverage/concession options are very Spartan but it's easy to navigate has excellent free wi-fi and the security screening process is streamlined and well-run. You can also walk from the terminal to the long-term parking lot which you can't do at LAX.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 30th August 2009

BUR provides a pleasant alternative to LAX. The terminal complex is a bit small so during peak times it can get crowded but security and check-in lines move quickly. There are no jetways but being in California weather is seldom an issue and it's quite nice walking onto the tarmac to board your plane by stairs. If you're in a wheelchair they will use a mechanical lift to raise you to the aircraft door. The food and shopping offerings are bare bones and quite disappointing. If using the Metrolink rail is convenient to your travel BUR is an excellent alternative because there is a station across the street from the terminal but the airport is a bit difficult to get to by road because there is no freeway access within 2 miles. Traffic at rush hour can be difficult.
no
3/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 5th November 2008

Small airport dating back to the early days of aviation when the thinking was that would be aerodromes in most towns. Today BUR is convenient airport for those wishing to avoid LAX. You pick up your bags from the baggage conveyor belt outside the terminal.
no
4/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 30th January 2008

Enjoy flying in and out of BUR-very easy compact airport it is my preferred LA area airport. There about 10 times a year. If you rent from the correct car rental no need for buses you can walk right out to your car. The only bad aspect is time. Car rentals do not open for returns (if you want a receipt) until 6am and security does not open any earlier. Flew out yesterday and by the time I returned the car and got through security they were already boarding my flight-walked directly onto the plane. Not such a terrible thing I guess.
no
3/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 22nd October 2007

This airport is incongruous. On the one hand the food service stand such that it is is a cave. I am kind of worried that Sloth is hiding in the shadows. The music - effeminate EuroPop from the late 1980s - think Frankie Goes to Hollywood - just does not match the interior that may never have been renovated. Then you've got the external baggage claim. And Southwest. And JetBlue And a large mountain dominating the horizon. Once the DEA interrogated me on a tip during my business trip. And the exterior looks ripped out of 1973. It's all very bizarre.
no
/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 5th September 2006

Burbank airport is a welcome relief from LAX. It's small and yes does not have the amenities of a large modern airport but those are its strong points. It's a "human scale" airport the type that is fast disappearing. The convenience of the train station and the freeways makes it a great place to fly from.
no
/10

Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport customer review

Review by 31st May 2006

Just flew through BUR a couple of times. What a quaint little airport straight out of the 1930's. I'm sure it was fine for DC-3's but it struggles immensely with 737's. Christopher Schmidt mentions that terminal A is narrow. Well I flew out of terminal B and I thought that it was exceptionally narrow. Burbank is well located and fares are good but if you go there patience and a happy disposition will be great virtues. Also don't expect to get somewhere to sit while you're waiting.
no
1 to 10 of 12 Reviews