Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 84 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is too small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The check in counters only opened 2 hours before departure which leaves very little time to go through security checks. This can take 45 minutes or longer. In order to speed up the process, the airport staff intermittently redirect some of the passengers to use the domestic security counters. Once we are through the security checks, there are no queues at the immigration counters and they are friendly and efficient. The airport is too small to serve its purpose, extremely stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"barely enough time to reach the gate"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | The queue for security was extremely long and took about 30-40 minutes for us to complete. The gate number was announced with barely enough time to reach the gate without rushing. On arrival at the gate we passed through passport control and then stood in the Priority Boarding queue for 30 minutes - no seating was available and the passengers behind us were queued on the stairs for all that time. There was sufficient space in the room for everyone to enter but they kept people on the stairs instead. On boarding the shuttle bus there was a small roped off section for the priority passengers which was clearly insufficient space. We stood on the shuttle bus with the exhaust fumes gusting into the bus, for about 15-20 minutes before finally being taken to the plane. The plane took off later than scheduled. It seems to me that an organization which deals with hundreds of travellers per day should be able to streamline all the processes to ensure a smooth travelling experience. After all, it is your business and you should be constantly improving the flow of all your services.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"belongs to another time"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Possibly the worst facility for the main airport of an European capital; I've flow low cost several times, and I know that these airlines don't usually choose the best area of any airport. Yet boarding at Budapest Ferihegy is an experience that belongs to another time or another continent. Most low cost airlines share a boarding metal roofed hangar that can be reached walking on the tarmac under a tin roof. This hangar has narrow lines for passengers and can't accomodate all the passengers of a flight, therefore the rest are kept waiting in the open (with the only shelter of the above mentioned tin roof) for a time. In my case I waited outside for 35 minutes (luckily rain was stopping and it was mild summer evening, I wonder what this exeprience might be in winter). Needless to say there were no toilets and the "catering" available was an automatic coffe machine in the open. When, eventually, I made through this hangar there' was a very long walk to reach the aircraft). This does not look like a temporary facility but as something that is there to stay!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"room for improvement"

(France)

Verified Review | Room for improvement in all directions at Budapest airport. Definitely undersized for current traffic. Check in too small to accommodate decent queues, and not enough counters being open. Security does not have enough lines being open and can be very long queues up to the check in area (and you have possibility to pay if you want to reach the priority line) Duty Free shop: you have to go though the duty free store - Heinemann- to reach the gates. Food is OK with quite some possibilities, but very expensive. The bar outdoor where you can smoke is nice idea. Lounges need renovation and better food offer. Not enough seats at the gate (and old ones). Broken tiles everywhere. Boarding: 80% by bus (some antique ones) Taxis have potentially long queues. I do not get it why they do not re-open Terminal 1 that quite renovated and was dedicated to the low cost airline. It would already solve some issues at Terminal 2.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"check in area is too small"

(United Kingdom)

So, when you finally get airside in the non schengen area of Budapest airport, Fraport have done a decent job, the commercial area is light and bright with a decent range of shops and restaurants, very pleasant. It's the getting airside which is a challenge. The check in area is too small and badly managed, so the queues all just merge in one big chaotic mess. Then the security queue meets the check in queues somewhere in the middle of the hall, adding to the carnage. Security is badly organised, there are automatic boarding card readers but the were no staff managing them, so anyone who had a problem was just stranded. The boarding card read spits you out into a bottleneck where joining the single winding queue is a riot with folks just pushing and shoving with more joining the melee all the time. This could all be fixed just by having some staff around to help. So by the time you get airside, you've had enough and shopping is the last thing on your mind, particularly as the processes have taken so long you will have timed out anyway.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"No staff to be seen"

(Austria)

Due to our connecting flights we had to choose this airport. Horrible airport! There were no gates or busses. You have to walk to the plane outside, very unpleasant in winter time. Waiting for the luggage for almost an hour at 3 am in the morning. No staff to be seen. No clear signs and low lights at the car park. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"food and beverages ridiculously expensive"

(Germany)

Budapest airport is the worst I have visited. On the way to the airport it was not marked which airlines operate from which terminal, during the security check there was lack of staff to look over our bags while passing the personal control, the food and beverages were ridiculously expensive, not mentioning the water dropping from the roof and queuing before the luggage drop-off. The only positive is the WiFi access, which was working fine while waiting for our departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"check in counters very crowded"

(Romania)

Verified Review | This year I've been many times to Budapest airport. Always the same problems. No Wifi (there is Wifi, but is not working). Employees are rude at both the security check and the information desk. I had to exchange 40 USD into EUR to pay my shuttle and they said 22 EUR for 40 USD which is a very poor rate. Always big queue at security check, sometimes they send people thru fast track because they can't handle in normal line. Check in counters are very crowded, if there are 2-3 flights open for check in, is a mess. There are not so many shopping options and the duty free is not so "duty free". No free water (like in other airports) and of course to buy the water after the security check is very expensive (not normal prices like in other airports). Very few seats, be prepared to sit on floors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there is just no seating"

(Russian Federation)

Our flight was early in the morning and Budapest List Ferenc airoport is the worst I have seen. To begin with, there is no normal and convenient transportation from the city center. Next thing we discovered - business lounges are closed at night. Talking about food and beverages options - everything is very sad. One small cafe with an enormous queue. But the worst thing is that there is just no seating. People were sleeping on the floor, waiting for their departures. All in all, bad mood and awful experience. Not recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"frequently overcrowded with people"

(United Kingdom)

Both Budapest airport terminals are really small so they are frequently overcrowded with people and to check-in for my flight took around 80 minutes. The landside has a small number of stores / cafes but airside has many more options. The cleanliness of landside is not well done but again, the airside is quite clean. The connections to the airport are good by the bus company and metro (even if the trains are old). Overall, because of the long time I had to queue it was a bad experience, which left me almost no time to shop or eat something before my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews