Top 100 Airports  

Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 75 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"frequently overcrowded with people"

(United Kingdom)

Both Budapest airport terminals are really small so they are frequently overcrowded with people and to check-in for my flight took around 80 minutes. The landside has a small number of stores / cafes but airside has many more options. The cleanliness of landside is not well done but again, the airside is quite clean. The connections to the airport are good by the bus company and metro (even if the trains are old). Overall, because of the long time I had to queue it was a bad experience, which left me almost no time to shop or eat something before my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"terminals are small, too many people"

(Germany)

It is clear that Budapest airport is out of free capacity. The terminals are small and there are too many people to move around freely. The restrooms we visited were not clean at all. They should consider building a new terminal. The connection to the city center by the bus (bumpy roads, non AC) and the old metro isn't the best. On the other hand the staff was nice and our flight had no problems departing on time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no clear signage"

(Singapore)

Looks like the airport has a shortage of gates so you are often made to disembark a long way from the main building. The immigration area and queuing system were just abysmal. No clear signage. People jostling past each other. Extremely tight suffocating space. Number of open counters extremely low. Long queue to book a taxi. About 1.5 hrs wasted in the airport itself. Would have thought of avoiding Budapest altogether if I had known of the airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not so pleasant experience"

(Czech Republic)

Departure from Budapest Terminal 2A on a short regional flight. Check in was very quick with almost no one in line. Check-in staff was very friendly. I have to complain about the behaviour of security staff. They were practically barking at people to put everything into the box, arrogantly lifting eye brows if you forgot to take off your watch. I haven´t experienced such a rude attitude from airport security staff anywhere else so far. After this unpleasant experience you get into the duty free shops and Café area where you are asked many times if you want to sign up for a new credit card or if you want to buy cosmetics. It was annoying. Gate number was not displayed until 35 minutes before departure, after 5 minutes the assigned gate was changed again. Overall not so pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"hardly any queues"

(Hungary)

I was travelling to and from Frankfurt and due to the fact that it was not that busy, Budapest airport was a great experience. The staff were nice, hardly any queues. The only thing did not like is were sales people of different banks in the lounge, pretending to help you with finding your way but in the end they want to sell you credit cards. I don't mind direct sales, just do not pretend to help with anything.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were friendly and smiling"

(Poland)

My overall experience is really positive. The staff were friendly and smiling, it was really clean, and the internet connection was free and fast. However, I notices two problems one at the departure the on other at the arrival. I had my both flights to and from Budapest with Wizzair whose base hub is the same airport. But at the arrival and after disembarking the aircraft, we had to "walk" about 7 to 8 minutes to enter the terminal. At the departure, we left the gate to a bus and we stood on the bus for 35 minutes until it set off to where the plane was waiting for us. The funny point is that I had priority boarding pass, and actually with this form of boarding and waiting on the bus, it was absolutely useless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"never seen more indifferent airport staff"

(Czech Republic)

When we arrived to the airport parking, due a really thick fog we couldn't see even the terminal building. Because the weather our flight was delayed for 14 hours, so we were pushed to overnight. OK, no one can predict this, but I have never seen more indifferent airport staff. No one there was able to give us any useful information, about the flight, acomodation, transfer - nothing. The only thing that they cared about was, if they got home on time. Wifi broke down, when the 100 phones tried to find some accommodation. No place to seat, almost no shops. I'll try to avoid this airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"security process inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Security process inefficient and needs to be redesigned. Adds level of stress to an already difficult process. I was asked to remove shoes because the staff member said they were "boots" but she ignored my thick fleece over jumper. Hard to remove shoes while juggling trays on short conveyor belt. Very clean and good choice of shops but prices are astronomical even by airport standards. A pencil case was Euro 14. Seriously who is buying this tat at inflated prices. Does not leave a good impression on departing customers. Interesting that the departure lounge and experience more attractive than the arrivals experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"clean, good restrooms and friendly staff"

(Hungary)

Budapest Ferihegy Airport is not the best. I travel from here about 10-12 times a year. Good things: clean, good restrooms, observation terrace, nice exterior (except low-cost terminal) and friendly staff. Bad things: Awful public transport, expensive duty-free shop and restaurant, awful, degrading low-cost terminal, slow, and bad wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time"

(United Kingdom)

A nice airport which was clean and signs easy to follow. The viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time if you have to wait a long time, however, we did feel it was a bit overpriced as it is just literally a viewing platform, unlike LHR's T4 with tablets with flightradar24 installed on them. The people at security and bag check were extremely rude and just glared at you and threw the plastic trays at you and picked up your luggage and threw it to you so they could get more trays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews