Top 100 Airlines  

Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 73 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no clear signage"

(Singapore)

Looks like the airport has a shortage of gates so you are often made to disembark a long way from the main building. The immigration area and queuing system were just abysmal. No clear signage. People jostling past each other. Extremely tight suffocating space. Number of open counters extremely low. Long queue to book a taxi. About 1.5 hrs wasted in the airport itself. Would have thought of avoiding Budapest altogether if I had known of the airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not so pleasant experience"

(Czech Republic)

Departure from Budapest Terminal 2A on a short regional flight. Check in was very quick with almost no one in line. Check-in staff was very friendly. I have to complain about the behaviour of security staff. They were practically barking at people to put everything into the box, arrogantly lifting eye brows if you forgot to take off your watch. I haven´t experienced such a rude attitude from airport security staff anywhere else so far. After this unpleasant experience you get into the duty free shops and Café area where you are asked many times if you want to sign up for a new credit card or if you want to buy cosmetics. It was annoying. Gate number was not displayed until 35 minutes before departure, after 5 minutes the assigned gate was changed again. Overall not so pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"hardly any queues"

(Hungary)

I was travelling to and from Frankfurt and due to the fact that it was not that busy, Budapest airport was a great experience. The staff were nice, hardly any queues. The only thing did not like is were sales people of different banks in the lounge, pretending to help you with finding your way but in the end they want to sell you credit cards. I don't mind direct sales, just do not pretend to help with anything.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were friendly and smiling"

(Poland)

My overall experience is really positive. The staff were friendly and smiling, it was really clean, and the internet connection was free and fast. However, I notices two problems one at the departure the on other at the arrival. I had my both flights to and from Budapest with Wizzair whose base hub is the same airport. But at the arrival and after disembarking the aircraft, we had to "walk" about 7 to 8 minutes to enter the terminal. At the departure, we left the gate to a bus and we stood on the bus for 35 minutes until it set off to where the plane was waiting for us. The funny point is that I had priority boarding pass, and actually with this form of boarding and waiting on the bus, it was absolutely useless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"never seen more indifferent airport staff"

(Czech Republic)

When we arrived to the airport parking, due a really thick fog we couldn't see even the terminal building. Because the weather our flight was delayed for 14 hours, so we were pushed to overnight. OK, no one can predict this, but I have never seen more indifferent airport staff. No one there was able to give us any useful information, about the flight, acomodation, transfer - nothing. The only thing that they cared about was, if they got home on time. Wifi broke down, when the 100 phones tried to find some accommodation. No place to seat, almost no shops. I'll try to avoid this airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"security process inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Security process inefficient and needs to be redesigned. Adds level of stress to an already difficult process. I was asked to remove shoes because the staff member said they were "boots" but she ignored my thick fleece over jumper. Hard to remove shoes while juggling trays on short conveyor belt. Very clean and good choice of shops but prices are astronomical even by airport standards. A pencil case was Euro 14. Seriously who is buying this tat at inflated prices. Does not leave a good impression on departing customers. Interesting that the departure lounge and experience more attractive than the arrivals experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"clean, good restrooms and friendly staff"

(Hungary)

Budapest Ferihegy Airport is not the best. I travel from here about 10-12 times a year. Good things: clean, good restrooms, observation terrace, nice exterior (except low-cost terminal) and friendly staff. Bad things: Awful public transport, expensive duty-free shop and restaurant, awful, degrading low-cost terminal, slow, and bad wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time"

(United Kingdom)

A nice airport which was clean and signs easy to follow. The viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time if you have to wait a long time, however, we did feel it was a bit overpriced as it is just literally a viewing platform, unlike LHR's T4 with tablets with flightradar24 installed on them. The people at security and bag check were extremely rude and just glared at you and threw the plastic trays at you and picked up your luggage and threw it to you so they could get more trays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"there is still a lot to be said for improvements in service"

(Russian Federation)

I travel to and from this airport every 3-4 months, and have been doing so for at least 3 years now. While they've done a bunch of upgrades throughout the facility, there is still a lot to be said for improvements in service. Generally, since the flagship carrier Malev went bust 3 years ago, the "flagship" airline of Hungary is a budget company called Wizz Air. When your flagship airline is a budget airline, by default everything becomes a challenge. Up until recently, even with Platinum or Gold status with Skyteam, you'd still have to pay 5 Euro or so for the Priviledge Pass to bypass the predictably slow and cumbersome security process for departures. The service and standards for the security controls is not logical and consistent, so each time you come it is a total surprise. I assume that is why the lines are constantly long, as nobody can ever prepare for the whim of whoever is responsible for the security check lanes of the day. Arrivals is always a disaster with very long lines and people cutting, as there is no clear separation of lines. You have a mix of little budget airlines such as Wizz Air and Ryan Air landing, getting mixed along with the jumbo jets from Qatar or Turkish Airlines which at the end is painful for everyone. On the positive end, the food is very cheap in the common areas compared to Western Europe, Asia, and American airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Budapest Ferihegy Airport customer review

(United States)

Arriving at the airport at 4 a.m., we entered to check in, check our baggage. We saw one massive mob in front of the KLM counter area going all the way back to the entrance doors. The small, designated line for baggage drop off and boarding pass printing kiosks were not visible. No signage available. We asked a person in line where to start. They pointed to where the boarding pass kiosks were located. There were no crowd control stanchions to designate a line in front of each kiosk. Having no choice, we joined the mob slowly forcing their way towards the kiosks. 25 minutes later, we reached a kiosk. Check in process was slowed by long response times by the kiosk. After scanning our passports, later on we were asked if we had our passport. Really? Kiosk didn't know it had already scanned it. (What we were not told by our travel company, Viking, was could we have avoided this hassle by printing our boarding pass at the hotel.) 4:40 a.m., boarding passes in hand, we joined the other mob moving forward slowly to access a very short line with crowd control stanchions. Our flight was scheduled to depart at 6:10 a.m., would we make it? I got the impression the airport didn’t have a clue about crowd control, how to use more crowd control stanchions to manage long lines. At 5:20 a.m. we had our bags checked, headed to the security lines. Was shocked to see the security section had crowd control stanchions to manage long lines. Guessing the airport manager has never seen this, never actually gone on the land side the airport. Passing through security, we go right into a fancy, spacious, shopping area. Wow. Going through we reach the area to access departure gates. Was amazed at all the open space for retail sales, shops everywhere, no problem finding space for display racks, etc. No professional management, no crowd control, nothing. Airport managers must only live and work on the airside, never seeing the hassle passengers must go through. Best way to see the Budapest airport is from your plane's window as you fly out to the modern world.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1 to 10 of 52 Reviews