Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"airport is very clean"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | I am living in Budapest for 2 years and at the time of writing this review, I am going through my 2nd year. The airport is very clean and large enough for the demand it gets (which is not a lot). If you are traveling via a budget airline get ready to put on your coat because you're going outside. You walk through the terminal and eventually get to this walkway that leads you outside. All that is protecting you from the occasionally harsh weather is a thin metal roof with supports holding it up and a fence so you cant wander off. Then you get to a concrete box
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"easy to find where to go"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | It’s a nice airport - clean and easy to find where to go. However, the staff are quite rude. Especially at the foodcourts. For example, my boyfriend bought a sandwich at upper crust. His bread was totally stale and when he went to tell the people working there to ask for a new one they just laughed in his face, warmed it up so it got all soggy and kinda threw the sandwich back at him while continuously laughing amongst themselves and pointing. When I asked if I could change a sandich since including alleric to dairy and don’t eat meat they also laughed and told me to go order somewhere else and walked away. Not really what I call service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

" Direction signs are clear"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Best Airport in Eastern Europe! Not too big, not too small. You can find your way easily to everywhere. Direction signs are clear. The whole building makes a very clean and proper impression. For thre first time in my life I did not feel the stressy and hectic way of work here, which is so typical in Western Europe. Staff still smile here from the heart!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there is a significant room for improvement"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | I am using the airport about 45-50 times a year. Departing from there, arriving there both in economy and business levels. Generally speaking the airport and its "service areas" are very small, and there is a significant room for improvement, however my biggest concern is theft from checked-in bags! 1) Many rude staff during the airport process, does not matter if that is departure or arrival. 2) At Terminal 2B, basically there are 2 peak periods a day in terms of arrival rush hour, and every single time there is a significant waiting time at passport control area, because out of 10 boxes, there are an average of 4 officers there at a time. 3) Baggage belts are extremely small, means: only a limited amount of bags can be loaded to a belt at a time. Until people queuing at the passport control, others cannot have their bags, since it is not possible to load it. So one problem generates the other. 4) At check-in the number of security gates and number of staff is not enough for the increasing passenger demand. 5) The toilets are horrible! Small, dirty and smelly, does not matter if those are inside or outside the inner check-in or transit area. 6) Theft is a known issue. Both middle and both upper management know about it, but neither level does anything against it. 6) Passengers are blamed, about why they bring valuable things with them which is clearly unacceptable in Europe, in the 21st century! 7) Both the airport and the Hungarian authorites prohibit drones in the carry on. I'm a traveler and I want to take my equipment with me for photography purposes, but with the previously described situation, it is far from reasonable to put a several thousand dollar/euro equipment into the checked-in bag, which will most probably be destroyed or gone! Unfortunately, this airport tends to be the shame of the nation, so it would be about time to do something about it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"refused entry to the Skylounge"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | As a Qantas Gold customer and sapphire One World Alliance member, I was refused entry to the Skylounge when travelling with Finnair, because they were unable to find the right code! Seriously? I have been enjoying airport lounges all over the world when travelling with One World Alliance companies, but the provincial lounge at the Budapest Airport refuses entry do to book-keeping / admin coding reasons. Oh well, I guess I won’t be flying to Budapest Airport then.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total shambles - avoid"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | Disgraceful queue of 40+ minutes waiting to even get close to security, and total chaos in the departure lounge as the queue got longer and longer. Maybe this is to force you to pay for the fast track service, but it was clear the whole airport simply could not cope with the number of people wanting to use it. This has happened too often recently. A total shambles - avoid!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude staff"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever traveled. Transfer desk doesn’t exist, one security point where we were asked to wait for 15 min until the personal came from break. We had purchased duty free, a bottle of champagne and wine, both in a STEB bag, which was pulled so hard by the lady handling that it broke open and then told us is not allowed to pass with. They don’t speak English, they spoke between them and with us in their language, ignoring completely what we were saying. We have been screamed at and treated horribly. My bags were checked and messed up all my things inside. My husband had to go to the check in desk outside to recheck his bag, after they broke our Steb bags. Awful experience, the worst airport ever, very rude staff. Never again transiting here after this horrible experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is too small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The check in counters only opened 2 hours before departure which leaves very little time to go through security checks. This can take 45 minutes or longer. In order to speed up the process, the airport staff intermittently redirect some of the passengers to use the domestic security counters. Once we are through the security checks, there are no queues at the immigration counters and they are friendly and efficient. The airport is too small to serve its purpose, extremely stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"barely enough time to reach the gate"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | The queue for security was extremely long and took about 30-40 minutes for us to complete. The gate number was announced with barely enough time to reach the gate without rushing. On arrival at the gate we passed through passport control and then stood in the Priority Boarding queue for 30 minutes - no seating was available and the passengers behind us were queued on the stairs for all that time. There was sufficient space in the room for everyone to enter but they kept people on the stairs instead. On boarding the shuttle bus there was a small roped off section for the priority passengers which was clearly insufficient space. We stood on the shuttle bus with the exhaust fumes gusting into the bus, for about 15-20 minutes before finally being taken to the plane. The plane took off later than scheduled. It seems to me that an organization which deals with hundreds of travellers per day should be able to streamline all the processes to ensure a smooth travelling experience. After all, it is your business and you should be constantly improving the flow of all your services.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"belongs to another time"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Possibly the worst facility for the main airport of an European capital; I've flow low cost several times, and I know that these airlines don't usually choose the best area of any airport. Yet boarding at Budapest Ferihegy is an experience that belongs to another time or another continent. Most low cost airlines share a boarding metal roofed hangar that can be reached walking on the tarmac under a tin roof. This hangar has narrow lines for passengers and can't accomodate all the passengers of a flight, therefore the rest are kept waiting in the open (with the only shelter of the above mentioned tin roof) for a time. In my case I waited outside for 35 minutes (luckily rain was stopping and it was mild summer evening, I wonder what this exeprience might be in winter). Needless to say there were no toilets and the "catering" available was an automatic coffe machine in the open. When, eventually, I made through this hangar there' was a very long walk to reach the aircraft). This does not look like a temporary facility but as something that is there to stay!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 70 Reviews