Vote Now  

Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 79 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"No staff to be seen"

(Austria)

Due to our connecting flights we had to choose this airport. Horrible airport! There were no gates or busses. You have to walk to the plane outside, very unpleasant in winter time. Waiting for the luggage for almost an hour at 3 am in the morning. No staff to be seen. No clear signs and low lights at the car park. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"food and beverages ridiculously expensive"

(Germany)

Budapest airport is the worst I have visited. On the way to the airport it was not marked which airlines operate from which terminal, during the security check there was lack of staff to look over our bags while passing the personal control, the food and beverages were ridiculously expensive, not mentioning the water dropping from the roof and queuing before the luggage drop-off. The only positive is the WiFi access, which was working fine while waiting for our departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"check in counters very crowded"

(Romania)

Verified Review | This year I've been many times to Budapest airport. Always the same problems. No Wifi (there is Wifi, but is not working). Employees are rude at both the security check and the information desk. I had to exchange 40 USD into EUR to pay my shuttle and they said 22 EUR for 40 USD which is a very poor rate. Always big queue at security check, sometimes they send people thru fast track because they can't handle in normal line. Check in counters are very crowded, if there are 2-3 flights open for check in, is a mess. There are not so many shopping options and the duty free is not so "duty free". No free water (like in other airports) and of course to buy the water after the security check is very expensive (not normal prices like in other airports). Very few seats, be prepared to sit on floors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"there is just no seating"

(Russian Federation)

Our flight was early in the morning and Budapest List Ferenc airoport is the worst I have seen. To begin with, there is no normal and convenient transportation from the city center. Next thing we discovered - business lounges are closed at night. Talking about food and beverages options - everything is very sad. One small cafe with an enormous queue. But the worst thing is that there is just no seating. People were sleeping on the floor, waiting for their departures. All in all, bad mood and awful experience. Not recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"frequently overcrowded with people"

(United Kingdom)

Both Budapest airport terminals are really small so they are frequently overcrowded with people and to check-in for my flight took around 80 minutes. The landside has a small number of stores / cafes but airside has many more options. The cleanliness of landside is not well done but again, the airside is quite clean. The connections to the airport are good by the bus company and metro (even if the trains are old). Overall, because of the long time I had to queue it was a bad experience, which left me almost no time to shop or eat something before my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"terminals are small, too many people"

(Germany)

It is clear that Budapest airport is out of free capacity. The terminals are small and there are too many people to move around freely. The restrooms we visited were not clean at all. They should consider building a new terminal. The connection to the city center by the bus (bumpy roads, non AC) and the old metro isn't the best. On the other hand the staff was nice and our flight had no problems departing on time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no clear signage"

(Singapore)

Looks like the airport has a shortage of gates so you are often made to disembark a long way from the main building. The immigration area and queuing system were just abysmal. No clear signage. People jostling past each other. Extremely tight suffocating space. Number of open counters extremely low. Long queue to book a taxi. About 1.5 hrs wasted in the airport itself. Would have thought of avoiding Budapest altogether if I had known of the airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not so pleasant experience"

(Czech Republic)

Departure from Budapest Terminal 2A on a short regional flight. Check in was very quick with almost no one in line. Check-in staff was very friendly. I have to complain about the behaviour of security staff. They were practically barking at people to put everything into the box, arrogantly lifting eye brows if you forgot to take off your watch. I haven´t experienced such a rude attitude from airport security staff anywhere else so far. After this unpleasant experience you get into the duty free shops and Café area where you are asked many times if you want to sign up for a new credit card or if you want to buy cosmetics. It was annoying. Gate number was not displayed until 35 minutes before departure, after 5 minutes the assigned gate was changed again. Overall not so pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"hardly any queues"

(Hungary)

I was travelling to and from Frankfurt and due to the fact that it was not that busy, Budapest airport was a great experience. The staff were nice, hardly any queues. The only thing did not like is were sales people of different banks in the lounge, pretending to help you with finding your way but in the end they want to sell you credit cards. I don't mind direct sales, just do not pretend to help with anything.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were friendly and smiling"

(Poland)

My overall experience is really positive. The staff were friendly and smiling, it was really clean, and the internet connection was free and fast. However, I notices two problems one at the departure the on other at the arrival. I had my both flights to and from Budapest with Wizzair whose base hub is the same airport. But at the arrival and after disembarking the aircraft, we had to "walk" about 7 to 8 minutes to enter the terminal. At the departure, we left the gate to a bus and we stood on the bus for 35 minutes until it set off to where the plane was waiting for us. The funny point is that I had priority boarding pass, and actually with this form of boarding and waiting on the bus, it was absolutely useless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 58 Reviews