Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"rudeness of the staff"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | The only reason I'm choosing this airport is for the variety of flights from Budapest. Otherwise, there is nothing that makes me recommend it, and it's a shame that such a nice city as Budapest, has this kind of airport. The worst thing about this airport is the rudeness of the staff, which honestly I don't understand in any way. Recovery of luggage it is another black mark against them, besides the fact that you wait to long for the luggage, you may be also be mislead by the screens showing the pick up line. They show one line, and deliver to another one. There are many other points, such as cleanliness of toilets, seats comfort etc.. but there is too much to write. Resuming, if it was not for the different flight options, I wouldn't have recommended the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"ashamed of this airport"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | I'm ashamed of this airport. I’m Hungarian. I would like to apologize to all those who use this airport. You want to pick up your luggage, but you have to wait half an hour. Why? I hope, that your luggage will arrive safe. If you see any damage to your luggage, check it out and report it to the office! Then you want a trolley for your luggage. This is not free, and the airport charge is very high. I use to say: hey guys, you have to raise the price by 1 Euro if you need this money so much, don’t make trouble for other people who just arrived from a faraway country. Even me, I don’t have 1 Euro in my pocket when I travel home. Then you might want to get to city by public transport. The price of the ticket is 300.- Huf, if you buy 10 pieces (you will need them). If you take 1, then it costs 350.- Huf. I was totally surprised, when they wanted to sell a ticket for 950.-Huf in the office. They created a bus service, which goes directly to Deák Ferenc square, the central of Budapest, and they charge it 950.- Huf. It is very slow, and overpriced. Better take a bus to Kőbánya Kispest for 300.- Huf, then take the metro (it costs another 300.- Huf) to Deák Ferenc square. You will reach the central before the overpriced bus.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Just your average puny airport"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | Just your average puny airport that's supposed to serve a capital! Tiny airport with half the gates not supporting arrivals, so you have to take a bus to the arrivals section. The food court is average for its size. Just an average airport and not a great one. The staff are not good, many are unwilling to help or try to help.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is very clean"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | I am living in Budapest for 2 years and at the time of writing this review, I am going through my 2nd year. The airport is very clean and large enough for the demand it gets (which is not a lot). If you are traveling via a budget airline get ready to put on your coat because you're going outside. You walk through the terminal and eventually get to this walkway that leads you outside. All that is protecting you from the occasionally harsh weather is a thin metal roof with supports holding it up and a fence so you cant wander off. Then you get to a concrete box
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"easy to find where to go"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | It’s a nice airport - clean and easy to find where to go. However, the staff are quite rude. Especially at the foodcourts. For example, my boyfriend bought a sandwich at upper crust. His bread was totally stale and when he went to tell the people working there to ask for a new one they just laughed in his face, warmed it up so it got all soggy and kinda threw the sandwich back at him while continuously laughing amongst themselves and pointing. When I asked if I could change a sandich since including alleric to dairy and don’t eat meat they also laughed and told me to go order somewhere else and walked away. Not really what I call service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

" Direction signs are clear"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Best Airport in Eastern Europe! Not too big, not too small. You can find your way easily to everywhere. Direction signs are clear. The whole building makes a very clean and proper impression. For thre first time in my life I did not feel the stressy and hectic way of work here, which is so typical in Western Europe. Staff still smile here from the heart!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there is a significant room for improvement"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | I am using the airport about 45-50 times a year. Departing from there, arriving there both in economy and business levels. Generally speaking the airport and its "service areas" are very small, and there is a significant room for improvement, however my biggest concern is theft from checked-in bags! 1) Many rude staff during the airport process, does not matter if that is departure or arrival. 2) At Terminal 2B, basically there are 2 peak periods a day in terms of arrival rush hour, and every single time there is a significant waiting time at passport control area, because out of 10 boxes, there are an average of 4 officers there at a time. 3) Baggage belts are extremely small, means: only a limited amount of bags can be loaded to a belt at a time. Until people queuing at the passport control, others cannot have their bags, since it is not possible to load it. So one problem generates the other. 4) At check-in the number of security gates and number of staff is not enough for the increasing passenger demand. 5) The toilets are horrible! Small, dirty and smelly, does not matter if those are inside or outside the inner check-in or transit area. 6) Theft is a known issue. Both middle and both upper management know about it, but neither level does anything against it. 6) Passengers are blamed, about why they bring valuable things with them which is clearly unacceptable in Europe, in the 21st century! 7) Both the airport and the Hungarian authorites prohibit drones in the carry on. I'm a traveler and I want to take my equipment with me for photography purposes, but with the previously described situation, it is far from reasonable to put a several thousand dollar/euro equipment into the checked-in bag, which will most probably be destroyed or gone! Unfortunately, this airport tends to be the shame of the nation, so it would be about time to do something about it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"refused entry to the Skylounge"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | As a Qantas Gold customer and sapphire One World Alliance member, I was refused entry to the Skylounge when travelling with Finnair, because they were unable to find the right code! Seriously? I have been enjoying airport lounges all over the world when travelling with One World Alliance companies, but the provincial lounge at the Budapest Airport refuses entry do to book-keeping / admin coding reasons. Oh well, I guess I won’t be flying to Budapest Airport then.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total shambles - avoid"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | Disgraceful queue of 40+ minutes waiting to even get close to security, and total chaos in the departure lounge as the queue got longer and longer. Maybe this is to force you to pay for the fast track service, but it was clear the whole airport simply could not cope with the number of people wanting to use it. This has happened too often recently. A total shambles - avoid!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude staff"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever traveled. Transfer desk doesn’t exist, one security point where we were asked to wait for 15 min until the personal came from break. We had purchased duty free, a bottle of champagne and wine, both in a STEB bag, which was pulled so hard by the lady handling that it broke open and then told us is not allowed to pass with. They don’t speak English, they spoke between them and with us in their language, ignoring completely what we were saying. We have been screamed at and treated horribly. My bags were checked and messed up all my things inside. My husband had to go to the check in desk outside to recheck his bag, after they broke our Steb bags. Awful experience, the worst airport ever, very rude staff. Never again transiting here after this horrible experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews