Best Cabin Crew  

Budapest Ferihegy Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 69 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"staff were friendly and smiling"

(Poland)

My overall experience is really positive. The staff were friendly and smiling, it was really clean, and the internet connection was free and fast. However, I notices two problems one at the departure the on other at the arrival. I had my both flights to and from Budapest with Wizzair whose base hub is the same airport. But at the arrival and after disembarking the aircraft, we had to "walk" about 7 to 8 minutes to enter the terminal. At the departure, we left the gate to a bus and we stood on the bus for 35 minutes until it set off to where the plane was waiting for us. The funny point is that I had priority boarding pass, and actually with this form of boarding and waiting on the bus, it was absolutely useless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"never seen more indifferent airport staff"

(Czech Republic)

When we arrived to the airport parking, due a really thick fog we couldn't see even the terminal building. Because the weather our flight was delayed for 14 hours, so we were pushed to overnight. OK, no one can predict this, but I have never seen more indifferent airport staff. No one there was able to give us any useful information, about the flight, acomodation, transfer - nothing. The only thing that they cared about was, if they got home on time. Wifi broke down, when the 100 phones tried to find some accommodation. No place to seat, almost no shops. I'll try to avoid this airport in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"security process inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Security process inefficient and needs to be redesigned. Adds level of stress to an already difficult process. I was asked to remove shoes because the staff member said they were "boots" but she ignored my thick fleece over jumper. Hard to remove shoes while juggling trays on short conveyor belt. Very clean and good choice of shops but prices are astronomical even by airport standards. A pencil case was Euro 14. Seriously who is buying this tat at inflated prices. Does not leave a good impression on departing customers. Interesting that the departure lounge and experience more attractive than the arrivals experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"clean, good restrooms and friendly staff"

(Hungary)

Budapest Ferihegy Airport is not the best. I travel from here about 10-12 times a year. Good things: clean, good restrooms, observation terrace, nice exterior (except low-cost terminal) and friendly staff. Bad things: Awful public transport, expensive duty-free shop and restaurant, awful, degrading low-cost terminal, slow, and bad wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time"

(United Kingdom)

A nice airport which was clean and signs easy to follow. The viewing platform is brilliant to pass the time if you have to wait a long time, however, we did feel it was a bit overpriced as it is just literally a viewing platform, unlike LHR's T4 with tablets with flightradar24 installed on them. The people at security and bag check were extremely rude and just glared at you and threw the plastic trays at you and picked up your luggage and threw it to you so they could get more trays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"there is still a lot to be said for improvements in service"

(Russian Federation)

I travel to and from this airport every 3-4 months, and have been doing so for at least 3 years now. While they've done a bunch of upgrades throughout the facility, there is still a lot to be said for improvements in service. Generally, since the flagship carrier Malev went bust 3 years ago, the "flagship" airline of Hungary is a budget company called Wizz Air. When your flagship airline is a budget airline, by default everything becomes a challenge. Up until recently, even with Platinum or Gold status with Skyteam, you'd still have to pay 5 Euro or so for the Priviledge Pass to bypass the predictably slow and cumbersome security process for departures. The service and standards for the security controls is not logical and consistent, so each time you come it is a total surprise. I assume that is why the lines are constantly long, as nobody can ever prepare for the whim of whoever is responsible for the security check lanes of the day. Arrivals is always a disaster with very long lines and people cutting, as there is no clear separation of lines. You have a mix of little budget airlines such as Wizz Air and Ryan Air landing, getting mixed along with the jumbo jets from Qatar or Turkish Airlines which at the end is painful for everyone. On the positive end, the food is very cheap in the common areas compared to Western Europe, Asia, and American airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Budapest Ferihegy Airport customer review

(United States)

Arriving at the airport at 4 a.m., we entered to check in, check our baggage. We saw one massive mob in front of the KLM counter area going all the way back to the entrance doors. The small, designated line for baggage drop off and boarding pass printing kiosks were not visible. No signage available. We asked a person in line where to start. They pointed to where the boarding pass kiosks were located. There were no crowd control stanchions to designate a line in front of each kiosk. Having no choice, we joined the mob slowly forcing their way towards the kiosks. 25 minutes later, we reached a kiosk. Check in process was slowed by long response times by the kiosk. After scanning our passports, later on we were asked if we had our passport. Really? Kiosk didn't know it had already scanned it. (What we were not told by our travel company, Viking, was could we have avoided this hassle by printing our boarding pass at the hotel.) 4:40 a.m., boarding passes in hand, we joined the other mob moving forward slowly to access a very short line with crowd control stanchions. Our flight was scheduled to depart at 6:10 a.m., would we make it? I got the impression the airport didn’t have a clue about crowd control, how to use more crowd control stanchions to manage long lines. At 5:20 a.m. we had our bags checked, headed to the security lines. Was shocked to see the security section had crowd control stanchions to manage long lines. Guessing the airport manager has never seen this, never actually gone on the land side the airport. Passing through security, we go right into a fancy, spacious, shopping area. Wow. Going through we reach the area to access departure gates. Was amazed at all the open space for retail sales, shops everywhere, no problem finding space for display racks, etc. No professional management, no crowd control, nothing. Airport managers must only live and work on the airside, never seeing the hassle passengers must go through. Best way to see the Budapest airport is from your plane's window as you fly out to the modern world.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
6/10

Budapest Ferihegy Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Flying in was fantastic quickly through passport control but had to wait 50 minutes for our baggage. Terminal 2B is modern efficient and has great facilities. Oh how I miss T1 with its old world charm. Flying out was strenuous and a long process. Although we had checked in online we still had to queue for over an hour to get our bags checked leaving very little time to go through the ergonomically bad security again after a long wait. Still as typically Hungarian all staff are extremely polite and helpful. It was the amount of times we had to present our travel documents that become irritating. Hopefully the next time I fly into Ferihegy I will be staying in Hungary permanently.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Budapest Ferihegy Airport customer review

(Netherlands)

Ferighegy Airport is a quite efficient clearly signed airport. On our arrival from Amsterdam we were directed to an escalator about 25 meters away from our arrival gate and within 20 minutes we were out of the airport and on our way to our Hotel. Seamless experience there. Leaving Budapest towards Bucharest with TAROM was a smooth experience as well the SkyPriority counters were completely free and we were checked in in a matter of minutes. As they were very strict with the FastTrack we chose for the standard lane as my wife has no Priority status and we did not want to separate there but the queue on this busy 8am was short and efficient and within a small 8-10 minutes we were security cleared. Another few steps in the terminal to the non-schengen departures which were deserted at the time of our departure. The boarding process via the bus (it was a small commuter plane) was less orderly there was a priority section in the bus but which was not enforced so the run to the plane was opened as soon as the bus opened it's doors. Further up for the smoker the cigarette prices are highly competitive and you can take two cartons when travelling within the EU per person.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Budapest Ferihegy Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Everything seemed to run pretty smoothly here and baggage arrived quickly. The handlers were quite efficient at getting missing bag to me after it arrived on the next flight. Departing there was about a 20 min queue at the Lufthansa check in but security was quite quick.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews