Brussels Charleroi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 38 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st April 2015

The airport is far too small to handle the number of passengers visiting and this was on a wet Monday in March. Dread to think what it would be like in summer. On the arrivals side there is one narrow corridor where everyone mingles and consequently no one goes anywhere quickly. Decent sandwich at Paul's though and not bad value. However the departure gates have to be the worst aspect of the airport experience. There is hardly any seating so the vast majority of people are sprawled on the floor. Very disappointing experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 18th December 2014

Eat before you come here! There is no good food at this airport except for a sandwich place near Gate 10. The main eating area is shoved in your face after the metal detectors and you have to walk through it to get to your gate. The overpriced low quality food and shopping screams "haw haw we dragged you out to a rural airport and now you can't leave." WiFi is 3 euros for 30 minutes.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 19th May 2014

We had a flight with Ryanair out to Malaga. When we arrived we had to line up for going through security which is normal but there we were packed it was hard to do. There were many people packed together it was very narrow no space to breath. Once through security you come through the tax free store which is an ok store. They plane was delayed and we had to hang out in the terminal. The toilets were very dirty. I saw a cleaning lady with a trolley but apparently she did not have to clean the toilets. We ate and drank at Meli Melo. It was awful. I had to stand in line for twenty minutes. The french speaking guy was totally inadequate to be working at the counter. The whole terminal was narrow not a lot of space like in most other airports. I prefer not to go there anymore.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
7/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Italy) 20th December 2013

Relatively new and shining clean due to the generous use of stainless steel. Epitome for the low-cost airport of the XXI century: Extra long and narrow tarmac to avoid using buses or skyways. Where the similarly long and narrow building can't reach there are long covered walkways airside. Be prepared for possible long walks both on arriving and departing. This is an airport that depends on Ryanair so you can't expect any pity. Asking for a boarding pass (a minimalist slip of paper) for a checked in flight costs 70 euros no matter what. There are two ATM machines in the hall one near the arrivals one at the opposite corner of the building (on the left exiting from airside). Exiting at this same corner you can reach the bus station where you can buy a ticket for Charleroi South Station from the machines (coins notes cards accepted). The bus station is not covered and Charleroi is a very rainy place but lucky enough you get the bus from platform A which is the nearest to the terminal. On departing I was puzzled by the double way in at security apparently doing the same things but working alternatively. Security fast and professional. Duty free looks good but I had no time to spend. After stepping to the gates you are in no- man land: long minimalist bleaky corridors where the stainless steel only adds up to the coldness of the environment. There's a bakery stand before the last hop to the tarmac. In winter I suggest buying a hot drink. The low cost travel industry states that if passengers have to wait they have to do it as close as possible to the aircraft they are boarding and in this airport this means in the open air though under a covered walkway.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 11th January 2013

Bad points - Directions to the airport are confusing : at times you will see two signs "Airport" pointing in opposite directions. Arrival Hall is way too small Parking only allows to park your car for 10 minutes for free. Although some signs in front of the parking lot say 15 minutes. Still no direct train connections to the airport after all those years. Good: Clean and modern facilities. Low cost hub to many destinations.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 9th October 2012

Charleroi is one of two airports serving the city of Brussels but Charleroi is quite some distance from Brussels. Charleroi is popular because the rock-bottom price discount airlines that fly to Brussels are based here rather than Brussels Zaventem. Be warned the security lines at Charleroi do take quite some time to clear around 30 minutes compared to perhaps half that time at Brussels Zaventem. Decent choice of food air side though pricey. Toilets were slightly cramped. Bus service to Charleroi-Sud train station will take you where you can catch a train to Brussels (takes about 1 hour by train). There is also the Ryanair coach if you prefer that. Some hotels in Charleroi provide a shuttle taxi to/from the airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 12th June 2012

Excellent airport: very efficient clean friendly people no queues for check-in or customs. Excellent parking with reasonable rates. However limited restaurants railway connection is not good (compared to Brussels) with a limited number of flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 24th April 2012

In a line for 20 minutes to show passport and boarding pass. Asked to leave the line to put my iPad in my carry on case. Rejoined the line and passed through to security and the usual snake. 20 minutes on and still 9 people in front of me. They opened up 2 more lanes and let all the people behind me through. Complained and told all lines were the same. Removed belt watch and jacket and placed in tray. Told to take iPad back out of carry on. Passed through scanner in socks slacks and shirt. Set off alarm and told to stand for body touchdown. Then given the most obtrusive pat down in 30 years. Thought I would have a nice lunch before boarding on a par with McDonald's on a bad day and twice the price. All this before the usual delights of Ryanair.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (Austria) 15th April 2012

This airport is a total disaster! There is no way to drop off passengers without going to/through the express parking. There are hundreds of cars squeezed in all at the same time 90% of them unloading passengers and baggage while blocking the flow. Access signage on the highway is more than poorly done. How about simply copying systems which work in other parts of the world? Inside the airport there is no space at all for exiting passengers. They are all packed together in a far too small corridor. The bottom line is simple: if you can just avoid this airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Brussels Charleroi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th February 2012

Positives - relatively clean airport convenient and easy to move around when there aren't any queues. Negatives - there is nothing to do in the airport besides drinking awful tasting coffee buying over-priced magazines going on the internet (which costs a fortune and takes forever to load) and wait for your flight. Staff in 99% of cases only speak French and very broken English. Bus and Train are horrific. Road indications to the airport are borderline non-existent.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews