Brisbane Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 159 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This is pathetic"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Time from passing through customs to pick up of baggage was over one hour. This is pathetic. We have traveled extensively around the world and would have to rate it as on of the worlds worst performances. Pity those pour people attending the commonwealth games.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it is poorly signed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane International is OK for departures, the car drop off is quick, and so is check-in, however there is one very rude lady who works in security who yells at people for no good reason, I note there are other complaints about her, BAC obviously don't care. Arrivals is good for customs, but bio screening is poorly laid out, not well signed, and different every time I come through. You often find you have to go all the way around the other end of a carousel to get to the entrance, and I fly into this airport several times a year. It gets worse when you come out into the arrivals hall, if you are catching the train, going to the exorbitant carpark, or gettting the Skygate bus with luggage then you have to use the lift, for which there is about a 10min+ queue! There is actually a second lift, but it is poorly signed, so only the locals find it. There is no signage to tell you that the skygate bus is level 4 until you get outside and then have to backtrack again. If you are getting Uber or getting picked up prepare for a long uncovered walk outside. It's ridiculous that they changed this without making it covered first. The seating inside is ordinary. Also prepare for being delayed by air traffic especially if your flight gets in early. With the Comm games nearly here, there is no excuse for some many problems.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the officers just shrugged and laughed"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Last week I flew with my daughter from Wellington NZ through to Zurich Switzerand via Brisbane Airport. We arrived ahead of time and had a good 1.5 hours to catch our next flight to Singapore. We followed the illuminated sign to international transit. We got to the end and were told by the many passengers walking back that it was closed. (We also walked past two airport staff who seemed to think it was hilarious we'd all walked the wrong way). We then joined the line of roughly 100 passengers waiting to go through transit security. There was only one security belt and progress was painfully slow, 50 minutes later we were still standing there, our plane was already boarding. The staff were laughing and joking and the one female officer in particular was downright rude, since when is it ok to treat everyone like a bunch of halfwits. We waited hopelessly as there was noone to help and the officers just shrugged and laughed. Fortunately we reached our flight minutes before it closed. While I understand the importance of security and am grateful for the job these officers do, the situation on Friday was totally unacceptable. Perhaps one belt working was unusual and I get that officers were under pressure however I would still have expected them to be professional and take the situation seriously. Surely there must be procedures for this kind of situation? For a start they could have communicated the problem to those airlines concerned and called for passengers with a short turnaround to come forward. Shockingly bad service and needless to say I won't be transiting in Brisbane again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Only in Brisbane"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I travelled with my wife and 2 year old. Departure - It took us 45 mins to get though customs (after the baggage scan). The customs officer was only talking to us in sign language. I found that very offensive as during the 45 minute wait she was speaking to her colleagues several times. We travelled on 7th January. Arrivals - After a long flight and sick child we were put in a very long queue. We have Australian passports but had to be in the foreigners queue with about 100 people in front of us. I requested to be put in the priority queue as we had a sick child who had vomitted several times which we were denied. I had to carry my crying child for about 50 minutes. In all the third world countries we have travelled to on this trip we did not have any issues at any other airport. Only in Brisbane.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Staff were totally disinterested"

(Australia)

Unverified | Brisbane International needs to really sort out issues. I was picking up the outlaws from a flight, waited, waited, waited, waited. Apparently a couple of planes came in at the same time, as per usual, very few staff to deal with this. It was well over 90 minutes after their arrival time, I started to ask questions. Staff were totally disinterested. I had no idea if they were on the plane or not. Finally after nearly 2 and a bit hours, they emerged. What a shambles! Then they hit me for the parking! A lot of improvement needed to be a real International Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no excuse for this woman's attitude"

(Australia)

Unverified | Hundreds of very tired travellers arrived on Cathay Pacafic flight CX157 arriving in Brisbane from Hong Kong, Tuesday 10th Oct at 23.15, and were greeted at the customs desk by a very rude person employed by Customs office. There were only 2 security desks opened and a number of 'self serve' booths. Most of the passengers had no idea how to use the self help booths and with no one to assist us, we were directed to the 'assistance desk'. The person behind the desk on the left facing the queue, was being very rude to most of us, but especially the staff of Cathy Pacific, telling them in a bullying way to 'get back to the end of the queue and that they were no more important than anyone else. They had not pushed in, but were told by another member of the staff to go there. Other people were bullied also for not knowing how to use the 'self help' booths. In my opinion, there was no excuse for this woman's attitude.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"short-term parking is terrible"

(Australia)

Unverified | First of all: as a disabled person with a disabled parking pass, the short-term parking at the international airport is terrible. When my daughter and I went to pick up husband, all signs said "Undercover parking full - please only park in undercover parking, if your a long-term parking customer. All short-term parking customers: please proceed to the outside parking lot". OK, so we did what we were told and followed the signage to the outside parking lot for the designated short-term parking. It was located at the end of the undercover multilevel car parking building. We drove around and around and could not locate 1 designated disabled spot whatsoever. We looked again: Nothing!! And had we chosen one of those spots, it was a very long distance from the terminal access - a longer walk and more difficult for those with a disability coming to pick up family or friends. There was no way, that I or my daughter could handle such a difficult trek and may I add: there was no signage that we could easily see pointing anyone from the outside short-term parking to the terminal access. So, we decided we had no choice but to ignore all temporary and permanent signage and try and search for a disabled park inside the multilevel car park, close to the elevator's. After 2 levels, we found several vacant disabled spots in the designated long-term parking section. This is what we needed, so we took one. Major problems here: Undercover Multilevel carpark was not full, when signs said it was. For the requirements of disabled people: clear signs need to be pointed to all disabled parking. It would make better sense to put long-term parking outside and short-term parking inside, as the turnover and movement of passengers and family meeting passengers is greater. Disabled drivers or those with a disabled parking pass need to know where to go clearly and quickly. There are no disabled parking places for anyone forced to park outside. Those who cannot walk long distances, with a disabled parking pass need to access all available disabled parking places, whether they are short or long term with clear signage and a physical person assisting those coming in. Brisbane Airport Corporation need to understand that the current parking set up and organisation is too complicated, confusing and unhelpful for those of us who already suffer daily from mobility issues. The other issue is the following: The aluminium and brown tan rows of seating provided in the international arrivals waiting hall must be at least 20 years old. I am sure I remember these exact same seating rows in use in this same seating / greeting area when I was in my early 20's - which was about 28 years ago. If not, they certainly look and feel that old and make one feel like the BAC does not concern itself with the comfort and health of family / friends arriving to pick up loved ones in the arrivals hall at the international terminal!!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"found the staff to be polite and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I didn't have any problems at the airport, my son found a parking space straight away and yes it is expensive. There was no queue at the Qantas check in and I found the staff to be polite and friendly, what was nice was that my son was allowed to come to the gate with me to see me get my flight and say goodbye. We had a walk through and the shops were very good and staff polite. Even though I wasn't there long it wasn't as bad as some of the reviews make it out to be.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"seating was clearly not designed for comfort"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Whilst the airport is modern and clean, the seating was clearly not designed for comfort. We arrived at 21.30 for a 00.55 flight which was delayed by two hours. Not a cushion in sight and our 5 hour sojourn was probably the most uncomfortable I have spent in an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Brisbane airport is cold"

(Australia)

Unverified | Brisbane airport is cold. Make sure to pack warm clothes because they are running the air conditioning to suit Eskimos rather than Queenslanders travelling to Bali. Overall the airport is very modern, clean and safe as you would expect in an Australian capital city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes