Vote Airport  

Brisbane Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 145 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"dire need of a re-vamp"

(Australia)

Have recently flown through Brisbane's Domestic terminal half a dozen times over the last three months (November 15 - January 16) and it is clear that the Domestic Terminal is in dire need of a re-vamp (or demolition). The building itself is very dimly lit and crowded in both the arrival/baggage claim sections and airside. Walkways are narrow and there is very little open space. Another major issue is the seating, the seating arrangements are absolutely horrendous in the Qantas wing of the terminal. Extremely cramped and close together and hard to move to and from seats especially during peak times due to them being arranged in all different layouts. It just looks messy, which adds to the feeling of being hemmed in. The seating in the Virgin Australia and Low Cost sections are miles ahead of the Qantas wing but the terminal itself is too small and poorly laid out to cope with the growing number of domestic passengers that pass through. Chewing gum stuck to seats and rubbish also present throughout all area's of the terminal. The International Terminal is centuries ahead in terms of design, layout and efficiency but Brisbane Airport is in need of a new domestic building.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I came away impressed"

(Australia)

Have previously been critical of Brisbane Domestic Airport but now all of the renovations are complete for Virgin Australia I came away impressed. From the time I was dropped off to the time I arrived in the Virgin lounge was less than 10 minutes. Only criticism I have is that it is a long walk from the Virgin lounge to the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"facilities were clean"

(Australia)

Emirates check in staff weren't very friendly but that's Emirates, not the airport. Very quick progression through security and immigration return probably took 15 mins. Facilities were clean and there were enough shops/food outlets to keep one busy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"has lots of seating"

(Papua New Guinea)

Maybe I've only been through the international terminal at off-peak times but I've had no problems with queues for check-in, customs and immigration (both directions). Signage can be poor, especially outside for buses (note the free shuttle between terminals, which doesn't run particularly frequently), trains and pickups. Airside is not very big but has lots of seating, a few cafes and shops and great views of the runway. The 500MB/3 hours free wifi is incredibly slow every time I've used it - sometimes unusable. The only serious problems is the toilets - really not enough of them on my visits, with long waits for a stall (so I can't imagine what it's like in a busy period) plus the cleanliness is below expected Australian standards (although not filthy).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a shortage of seating"

(Australia)

The free access departure terminal is quite bare and there is a shortage of seating both inside and out. I went there in summer and there is a need for more shaded areas and trees. The jetstar check-in facility is cluttered and there is no queue organisation for the kiosks so its like a free-for-all rush to get to one. Once in the checked-in part of the terminal there is a lack of seating near the gates as well as a lack of mobile phone recharge ports made even worse by the high number of out-of-service internet desks. Toilets were filthy and no attendants were to be found anywhere. The flight info screens were few and far too small. No wifi service. Apart from that the catering and retail options were quite good but these were limited to the Qantas areas. Skytrain service is excellent however - the rest of the airport should follow their example.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"always been a great experience"

(Indonesia)

We are frequent travelers to Australia and Brisbane Airport has always been a great experience for us, far better than our experiences in Sydney, Melbourne and Gold Coast airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"my worst experience ever"

(United States)

My worst experience ever going through passport control and immigration. My wifes passport failed to read so they put us both in the manual check line, which wasn't too bad, but then the customs check line was lengthy and not well controlled. We got in one line, only to find that it had been redirected, there were multiple lines going around the area - all of them long. Finally, faced with missing our next flight, we cut in line - twice. When we finally got to the head of the line there was a single civil servant slowly waving people through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not enough staff"

(Australia)

Coming back into Brisbane there were not enough staff to accomodate the amount of big planes that landed. Queues that stretched over 100 metres wound round and out the customs hall. Shocking wait after a huge flight. On top of that the electronic passport checker was faulty and had to close putting even more pressure on the ones that were open.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very nice, clean and organised"

(Australia)

The queue takes between 1.5 and 2 hours to pass through immigration. And yes this happens every-time. The airport itself is very nice, clean and organised. I truly cant believe that there are no more than two immigration officers at a time servicing hundreds of travelers. Funds cant be the reason for lack of additional staff, as there are 2 x immigration card jockeys checking cards of travelers in the queues and 1 lady offering the exhausted/frustrated travelers a refreshment. What a terrible way to end a long haul flight.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"proceeded to transit that was closed"

(New Zealand)

Brisbane has been my preferred airport in Australia for transit to New Zealand, however my latest experience with a very early morning transit had me questioning that preference. Our plane landed at around 5am and I proceeded to the transit that was closed. I saw around 4 officers inside and waiting as more and more passengers began queuing behind me. An airline official arrived on our side of the gate and called out to the staff that there were 30-40 passengers now queuing at the door. A response was yelled back "we have no female officers so you'll have to wait". We waited around 15 minutes until they finally opened the door. After 6 hours overnight on a plane queuing at a closed door is the last thing you want to experience. They could at least have processed the male passengers but chose not to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes