Vote Now  

Brisbane Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 155 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport security was a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Virgin's check in was poorly staffed and the queue to 50+ minutes. The airport security was a joke. I am all in favour of airport security and, having two metal knees, am well used to being body searched. I am not used to being made to wait 10 minutes for this, nor having to go through the scanners a second time as they have kept me waiting so long. I suggest they get their act together. Even sub Saharan African airports are more efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"the worst designed airport I have ever encountered"

(Japan)

Unbelievable. Having traveled through quite a few different countries in my life, this was by far the worst experience. I was going through Brisbane airport from Tokyo on my way to Adelaide. I had 1.5 hours to transfer. Customs was extremely busy - usually in this case there are staff to usher domestic connections through so they do not miss their flight. Not here! When notifying staff of my domestic connection I was told - bad luck! I got out with 40 mins to spare, lined up for the bag drop to be told they could not take it as it was within an hour and to run outside to take a bus to the domestic terminal and grab the first person for help. The bus comes every 10 minutes which I of course just missed. There were so many people waiting I barely got on the next one. Anyway - I obviously missed the connection. The response I had was - it happens. Right. That is the worst designed airport I have ever encountered. Avoid at all cost or give yourself three hours for the connection and expect zero help from any staff. Disgraceful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"virtually no staff to help"

(Australia)

You'd better hope your international flight does not arrive early in the morning, because if there is another flight arriving at the same time it's a nightmare. No one working at arrivals seems to know what going on, virtually no staff to help confused customers, no Australians Only arrival lane, people arriving whose first language isn't english get all the help. Australians are left to their own devices and queues quickly get out of control as people start jumping lines. Someone needs to take things under control, it's just a shambles.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one very unhappy client"

(Australia)

If there is anyone out there who believe the seating at Brisbane airport is good? I travel regularly all around the world and Brisbane International Airport has to be the worst airport I have ever experienced, not one comfy sofa or armchair to be seen anywhere. They have spent a lot of money modernising the airport but the seating is awful. Not only are they horrible, the proportions are all wrong, you would need to be 7 feet tall to sit comfortably. They should try visiting, Changi airport in Singapore but let's change that to any airport in the world to see what can be done. Horrible. One very unhappy client.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poorly managed, very expensive"

(Australia)

Although Brisbane is a relatively new and modern airport it is poorly managed, very expensive to park and there's always issues. Today only 1 elevator is working in the car park and people with luggage either departing or arriving are having to wait up to an hour just to use the elevator to get to or from the terminal. There's always a shortage of car parks and it can often take ages to find a parking space. Escalators and elevators seem to be out of order or out of use more often than not. Huge gaps in the concrete cause trolley to jam with suitcases always flying off the trolleys. The problem is that they have a monopoly and this means that they couldn't care less. It's best to use nearby airports if possible as this one is a shocker.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"plenty of comfortable couches"

(Bahrain)

Congratulations on having plenty of comfortable couches at the departure gates, perfect for sleeping. I had a 9hr stopover, waiting for a very early flight. Another positive point is the amount of charging stations throughout the airport and the smoking area is very pleasant. It was a great idea to have an outdoor area. I did have to pull a pair of ski gloves out of my carry-on luggage to stay warm though. Fortunately, I had read a review that warned me it would be freezing. This was in the middle of winter, but I swear it was as cold inside as outside.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"always so freezing cold"

(Australia)

Why does Brisbane international departures always have to be so freezing cold? It's a waste of electricity and not necessary. Please warm it up. Are constant announcements necessary? Impossible to have a phone conversation. Other airports don't have public announcements and its better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

"dire need of a re-vamp"

(Australia)

Have recently flown through Brisbane's Domestic terminal half a dozen times over the last three months (November 15 - January 16) and it is clear that the Domestic Terminal is in dire need of a re-vamp (or demolition). The building itself is very dimly lit and crowded in both the arrival/baggage claim sections and airside. Walkways are narrow and there is very little open space. Another major issue is the seating, the seating arrangements are absolutely horrendous in the Qantas wing of the terminal. Extremely cramped and close together and hard to move to and from seats especially during peak times due to them being arranged in all different layouts. It just looks messy, which adds to the feeling of being hemmed in. The seating in the Virgin Australia and Low Cost sections are miles ahead of the Qantas wing but the terminal itself is too small and poorly laid out to cope with the growing number of domestic passengers that pass through. Chewing gum stuck to seats and rubbish also present throughout all area's of the terminal. The International Terminal is centuries ahead in terms of design, layout and efficiency but Brisbane Airport is in need of a new domestic building.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I came away impressed"

(Australia)

Have previously been critical of Brisbane Domestic Airport but now all of the renovations are complete for Virgin Australia I came away impressed. From the time I was dropped off to the time I arrived in the Virgin lounge was less than 10 minutes. Only criticism I have is that it is a long walk from the Virgin lounge to the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"facilities were clean"

(Australia)

Emirates check in staff weren't very friendly but that's Emirates, not the airport. Very quick progression through security and immigration return probably took 15 mins. Facilities were clean and there were enough shops/food outlets to keep one busy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes