Bournemouth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 126 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"whole process each time has been flawless"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Have flown from and to Bournemouth airport for last four years and cannot believe the poor reviews I have just read. I do hope I won't be proven wrong with his year. The whole process each time has been flawless, the airport always clean, the shop, typical airport shop, the food, expensive of course, but no more so than at a hospital or Gatwick. The staff, friendly, informative and visible. Only thing which could be improved is the inevitable queue before boarding but I don't know how do hat could be achieved. I have always travelled in September so perhaps that's why my experience has been so much note favourable than those other negative reviews.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a totally different experience"

(United Kingdom)

I wrote a review of this airport last year and I gave it a score of 1. This time it's much higher. It was a totally different experience. There were 10 of us. We all got through boarding pass checks and security within 10 minutes of arriving as there were no other passengers. The Security staff were pleasant and chatty. We all ordered full English at the restaurant and we were served within 10 minutes. The flight was on time and the gate was opposite the lounge. I great start to a long week end away. I expect we just hit it right between flights. Still don't agree with £3 car park fee to get dropped of.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Bournemouth is by far the worst"

(United Kingdom)

As a disabled passenger I found Bournemouth Airport totally lacking: Parking for disabled is awful. Customer Service staff rude and unhelpful. Facilities dreadful. Ryanair employees the worst. We have been to Spain from various UK airports and Bournemouth is by far the worst.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ripping off customers unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Had to pick up my daughter at Bournemouth airport. You are forced to park at the terminal car park. For doing so, you are given a token. No proof of time of entry is given by the airport parking system. I waited 15 mins in the arrival hall for my daughter to come out. We went straight back to the car park. There was a queue at the payment machine. People were complaining that the machine was rejecting some coins. You had to try several times for a £1 coin to be accepted. There were five people in front of me. By the time I registered my payment I was asked to pay £4.80. £4.80 to go to the arrival hall, wait for my daughter and walk straight back to my car parked on a very basic gravelled ground. Will never go to Bournemouth Airport again. Ripping off your customers is simply unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"never fly from there again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We had to pay the £3 charge for a 2 minute drop off which I think should either be free or say £1 max. On arrival at the check in gate with our pre printed boarding passes we were asked by a miserable woman if we had any liquids and if so to have them ready. On going through the security screen although not setting any alarm off I was hauled to one side telling me it was a random check. As I was only wearing shorts and a tee shirt I cannot see why they wasted their time on me but the rude attitude of staff ruined the start of our holiday. I have flown from Southampton, Heathrow, Stanstead, Gatwick, and airports abroad and I understand they have a job to do but have never previously encountered condescending staff such as those at Bournemouth. We will never fly from there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"what a silly system"

(United Kingdom)

I picked up my wife from a flight and had to pay £3 to park. In the process of carrying cases and loading them in the boot I lost the token. This was a small disc of plastic like a Ludo piece. Loss of disc - extra £5 making a total of £8. What a silly system. Southampton Airport has a very simple system with free drop off and pick up for 10 minutes. What is wrong with Bournemouth? We had other problems the last time we used this parking. If I can fly from elsewhere I would do so.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

"car park very crowded"

(United Kingdom)

We did not experience long queues here in Bournemouth like other reviewers and the staff seemed pleasant enough. The food in the Olive Tree was quite acceptable apart from charging £2.50 for 1 slice of toast. The car park was very crowded and my sons had trouble finding spaces and had to walk a long way with small children. You could not get your pound back for the trolley as the clips in the trolley parks did not fit in the money part to release the money - a good way of making money. We had meet and greet parking which was very good. My complaint was the toilets with no baby-changing facilities. We had to change nappies on the floor of the disabled toilet and then found there was no bin - very poor facilities.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"£3.00 for 3 minutes parking"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Bournemouth airport at 5.10am for a 7.00am flight travelling with 7 friends. We only had cabin luggage so plenty of time. We walked to the airport departure area after watching our minibus driver pay £3.00 for 3 minutes parking - disgraceful. Went straight to security where there were 2 staff checking boarding cards. This took 20 minutes and extra staff would have been futile as there is no space for them. We then joined a queue of about 120 people to get through security. There was 1 person getting people to put all their items into trays (even flip flops). Due to the size of the area only 2 people at a time could get to the trays. Then there was 2 people checking travellers who set the scanner off and because of the original bottle neck they stood chatting for 2 minutes at a time. Another member of security staff was looking at the x-ray machine. Whilst a sixth just leaned against a partition doing absolutely nothing. 1 hour later I got through the metal scanner which I set off as usual (hip replacement). Inside the terminal there were 2 people working in the restaurant making coffee and taking the money, so everyone had to join the long queue - even if you just wanted a beer. The worse run airport I have ever used. Coming back - immigration just as bad with another huge queue. 1 desk closed because of a computer fault but they still had someone sat at the desk staring at everyone. Plus a member of staff telling you which of the 3 open desks was empty. Appalling airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queues are horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

What a rip-off. I have never known an airport to charge passengers drop off and collect fees and now I've seen they have increased there charges as from the first of April 2016 to £3.00 for the first half an hour to drop off and the same to collect. They even forbid passenger to be able to walk in, you have to drive in and once your in you have to go through the car park and pay the rip-off fees. The queues are horrendous, the food is overpriced. Well done Bournemouth Airport, a good way to discourage customers from using your services.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"arrivals is a shocker"

(United Kingdom)

First, the airport. Lovely departure area and restaurant, but oh dear the arrivals is a shocker. I thought Zanzibar was bad but c'mon Bournemouth, its pre war and it shows. The rip off charge for my wife to drop me off and pick up is just extortion. Nowhere have I been that charges to drop off and pick up and its a disgrace. I'm not surprised more airlines are reluctant to use this airport. The place still needs major investment to its arrivals hall and until the drop off/pick up charge is dropped, they will lose passengers too. Its my local airport and its awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no