Top 100 Airlines  

Bournemouth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 118 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"queues are horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

What a rip-off. I have never known an airport to charge passengers drop off and collect fees and now I've seen they have increased there charges as from the first of April 2016 to £3.00 for the first half an hour to drop off and the same to collect. They even forbid passenger to be able to walk in, you have to drive in and once your in you have to go through the car park and pay the rip-off fees. The queues are horrendous, the food is overpriced. Well done Bournemouth Airport, a good way to discourage customers from using your services.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"arrivals is a shocker"

(United Kingdom)

First, the airport. Lovely departure area and restaurant, but oh dear the arrivals is a shocker. I thought Zanzibar was bad but c'mon Bournemouth, its pre war and it shows. The rip off charge for my wife to drop me off and pick up is just extortion. Nowhere have I been that charges to drop off and pick up and its a disgrace. I'm not surprised more airlines are reluctant to use this airport. The place still needs major investment to its arrivals hall and until the drop off/pick up charge is dropped, they will lose passengers too. Its my local airport and its awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an awful experience"

(Switzerland)

Arrival was an awful experience. I got off the plane and arrival staff didn't know which door to take us through into the terminal, she had to confirm with another member of staff. Passport control made all passengers walk up and down lanes about 7 times whilst the local police who check passports just laughed at us. It was like a comedy act. Obviously, me as well as many others were critical over their stupidity of not opening the lines up and blocking once complete like all other airports. I mentioned to the police officer and said it is a crazy system and badly managed. She got quite annoyed saying it's not crazy when you get 100 passengers arriving at once. Well by the time we got to them whilst they were twiddling their thumbs and laughing at us they could have served about 20% of the passengers between them. The flight only had 101 passengers! Not the best welcome to the UK in an airport with only a handful of arrivals each day. Departures was better organised and check in staff very friendly and bubbly so two different experiences. Security was a queue as just one person doing the trays, but overall this was not too much of an issue. At least they were courteous and efficient with the basic resources. I hope the airport gets their act together before it's an international airport with no flights at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff all pan faced"

(United Kingdom)

Ripped off before you even enter the airport. Disgusting having to pay £2.50 to pick up/drop off. Airport staff all pan faced and no flight announcements made. I doubt management read these reviews, neither would they care anyway.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has to be one of the worst"

(United Kingdom)

This airport has to be one of the worst. Firstly, you cannot be dropped off or collected without being ripped off to the tune of £2.50 for both dropping off and collecting. We travelled with Thomson and, for what should have been a straightforward baggage drop, we queued for 45 minutes with only 3 check in gates open for a full 737-800 flight. Going through security was no better with inadequate staffing levels. By the time we got to the departure lounge there was hardly time for a loo stop before embarking. Coming back wasn't much better. Presumably they weren't expecting our Thomson flight as, my partner tells me, the ladies loos were dirty with no toilet paper. There was a form in baggage reclaim for our thoughts. We completed the form but no one was interested in processing the form. Why are passengers being charged £2.50 a time for using a chaotic system? Go to Palma, Majorca and see how it's done properly. We are local to this airport and, quite frankly, it's embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"can't do a simple drop off"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived two hours early hoping to get a cooked breakfast before take off, only one person serving, the cafe had a massive queue. Went to "express" cafe, again one person serving another massive queue, stood for 40 minutes in queue before being called for flight, unable to have a coffee or a bite to eat. The drop off is ridiculous, just dropped my son off, he only had a rucksack, 30 seconds to jump out of the the car but they have barriers everywhere so you can't do a simple drop off, you have to pay, they even have cctv to prevent you from trying to drop off without paying - what a rip off. If it wants to be an international airport they need to make improvements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"infuriating, immoral and unfair"

(United Kingdom)

Dropped of my wife at Departures, 3 minutes in and out of the grounds, got charged for parking. There is no way of dropping anyone off without being charged, this is the only airport I have ever been to that does this, in fact even multi-storey car parks have a 10 minute window before they charge. This is infuriating, immoral and unfair. It should also be pointed out that you cannot drop passengers outside of this charge zone, the whole thing is designed to ensnare you and grab your cash.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

Bournemouth Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

No drop off area without charge, no warning of a charge without entering the complex, rude staff. This is not a serious operation in customer service it is a two bit attempt to rip off the public for getting out of a car, even taxis are charged. Car park attendant banned me from the airport for refusing to pay the TAX, also threatened me with a fine and a nasty letter (I stopped for 30 seconds out of sheer disbelief). I fly up to 10 times a year and have been to dozens of airports all over the world and never experienced such terrible, inept, money grabbing tactics. Whoever is responsible for the policy needs to look for another job and make room for someone with some customer satisfaction ethics. Appalling service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Bournemouth Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

My first experience of this airport is very positive, at odds with most recent reviews but I would be very happy to use it again (and hope to). The car park is fairly expensive but no more than other airports in southern England and it is 2-3 minutes walk to the terminal. We had pre-printed boarding cards and walked straight through security and were in the departure hall within 10 minutes of leaving the car and that included stopping to buy a paper and having a chat with the very friendly security staff about our destination. The flight was delayed by about an hour, but that is not the airport's fault, and it was a nice environment in which to wait, plenty of seating and a reasonable café. Returning was even better, no queue at all for passport checks and in the car under ten minutes from leaving the aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
na

Bournemouth Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

I totally agree with the reviews posted regarding the surly staff at check in and the comments regarding clear plastic bags (they change the goal posts constantly) drop off charges etc the only smiling staff employed there are in the the main bar/food area. Do management ever read or act on these reviews or do they not care enough about their customers as they have a pretty good captive market?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews