Boston Logan Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 133 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"tons of them doing absolutely nothing"

(United States)

Verified Review | Our arrival was incredibly simple, but we didn't check bags so it was pretty simple. It was the departure that was frustrating. We made it to the airport in good time - about an hour before take-off, made it through the first ID and boarding pass check quickly. Then the security bit. The TSA agents were flat out rude. Not only were they getting frustrated and unnecessarily annoyed with a woman who clearly did not speak English (after they asked her to do something 4 or 5 times and then getting progressively angry with her I finally had to tell them she obviously doesn't understand), but there were tons of them doing absolutely nothing. Both our bags were held because I had saline solution that I knew needed to be tested and my partner forgot he had carried in our water bottle. We and 2 or 3 other folks sat at the end at the security check point for (and this is a rough estimation) about 10-15 minutes before anyone started checking bags, but there were security people sitting around. Talking with each other. Standing around. And all the while our plane is about ready to begin boarding. I was furious. After waiting another 5-10 minutes for our bags to be checked and for my partner to go through security (a second time) with their water bottle we were finally able to make it to our gate. The guy who looked through our bag was nice, but it was like no one knew what their job was that day! Overall I hope I never have to fly out of this airport again. I've never been so annoyed or had this much trouble travelling.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport was hot and stuffy"

(United States)

Unverified | Flight 2863 arrived into Boston from Manchester U.K. I had a connecting flight to Tampa. Had to go through immigration then collect my luggage and walk miles to connecting flight terminal. I was sent to wrong line by the terminal reps who did not know what they were doing they were very unfriendly and not helpful. The airport was hot and stuffy. Long lines and unfriendly personnel. To make matters worst I had to go through airport security second time for same flight. It was the worst experience I've ever had.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Deeply disappointed"

(United States)

Unverified | I am unhappy with this airport. First of all, the staff at the terminal C Jetblue counter are rude and don't tell you whether or not your bag is overweight. They also seem to not know what gate flights are at. Deeply disappointed, though wifi is good. Unfortunately, I have to fly through Logan once a year.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"horrible, inexcusable delays"

(United States)

Unverified | I have never found Logan Airport to be efficient or well-run. It's runway renovations are causing horrible, inexcusable delays. I am sitting on a Dallas runway waiting to take off to Boston on a Sunday morning and we have already been delayed twice. Three weeks ago, I experienced a six hour delay due to this same thing. I am going to start driving to RI or other airports rather than waste time trying to use Logan. Colleagues of mine in Boston are also doing the same.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security very slow, badly organised"

(United Kingdom)

I flew from Boston Logan a few weeks ago on my own. Getting into the airport is good - traffic was well organised and I parked easily. This was the only good comment I can make. Security / bag check must be the worst airport I have travelled through. Very slow, badly organised, unacceptably long queues. Surly unhelpful staff. Extremely poor choice of dining. The usual Fast food (very busy). A restaurant was dingy with long queues. A wine bar looked okay. The staff were overworked but pleasant and trying their best. No food after 9:00. My flight was 22:40. The toilets were smelly. I travelled through again this week. Exactly the same. Send someone to look at Gatwick or Terminal 5 Heathrow to see how it should be done. I gave it 2 due to good parking.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poor customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | My wife and I used Boston Logan to fly to Toronto then Japan. We took Air Canada and it's hard to not notice the poor customer service. We had 4 people "working" at our Gate. Three of the ladies gossiped loudly and endlessly about how bad one of their fellow employees was. It's an embarrassment! Needless to say, when we flew to Japan, employees would bow and run to greet us with smiles. They tended to their stations with a high degree of professionalism and exuded politeness and friendliness. What happened to our airports? How bad have we lowered our standards? What ever happened to customer service and a respect for the position? Furthermore, these "workers" are the first impression people from other countries are greeted with when they come to the United States-can't we do better?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"lots of additional seating"

(United Kingdom)

The queue at immigration on arrival was terrible - 90 minutes. However, my departure experience was very good. I was pleased to see that the E gates area has been upgraded, with lots of additional seating. Plenty of sockets and USB charging points at the seats and desks to work at if you needed to. I'm surprised that they didn't increase the number of shops and catering outlets at the same time though. Delighted to get free and fast wifi without a time limit - well, I think it might have been 12 hours, but that was plenty!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"troubling and problematic"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have flown in and out of Boston Logan many times. This was my first international travel in/out of BOS. My experience departing from BOS was smooth and timely. However, my arrival and experience getting through Customs and Immigration upon arrival in BOS was horrible. My flight arrived at approximately the same time as another international flight, as the lines were very long. Customs was understaffed. Upon getting through the automatic booths and the first round of Customs, you enter baggage claim. Here, even if you weren't collecting a checked bag, you had to wait in a single file line that wrapped behind the baggage carousels because Customs officials weren't organized enough to get set up for the number of people coming through. At this point, I was confused whether everyone had to wait in the same line whether or not you had checked luggage, and I asked two airport workers and neither could answer my questions, which was very frustrating. As the long line finally progressed (slowly because there was only one person taking the forms from us), one Customs official yelled at me for using my phone even though I wasn't at the booth and (I would like to emphasize) there are no signs saying you cannot use your phone in that section. The Customs official was just completely unnecessarily harsh and I would have been very happy to hang up if he had asked, but as I said goodbye, he yelled at me a second time, simply stating, "NOW!" On a side note, there was not a single female Customs official working throughout the whole process, and I find that very troubling and problematic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"I would not use Boston"

(United States)

Decided to use Boston since Hainan Airlines flies from here. Departure was easy with short immigration and security lines. Took about 30-45 minutes to get thru in Terminal E. Very few shops thereafter, but place was not very busy in mid afternoon. Arrival is a different story, immigration lines were very long. The ESTA system in use, with two counters open. Took one hour plus to get thru. By then, bags were on carousel. Cart provided free, and long custom line next. Fortunately, one of the officer waved us thru a special line with junior sleeping over my shoulders. Conclusion, I would not use Boston thinking it was easier than JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"okay airport to transfer at"

(Canada)

Verified Review | On arrival I started to see how dedicated the airport staff and TSA agents were. I was transferring from American to Westjet and having never been to the airport I didn't have the best idea of what I was up to. Upon approaching staff they made sure I had every ounce of information they could think of to make sure I would be going in the right direction. Talk about outstanding customer service. Being that Boston is right on the great Atlantic almost every variation of food has some form of seafood in it (a plus for me... there's nothing better than a good piece of lobster), but it does tend to be overpriced. There aren't that many shops (at least where my gate was) so it might be a bit underwhelming for the fanatic shopping-passengers. The airport was mostly clean, but the washrooms could have had some more attention paid to them. Overall, Boston is an okay airport to transfer at, the staff are very good at what they do, and although you may get bored, you probably won't have an issue flying through there again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews