Vote Now  

Boston Logan Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 123 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"I would not use Boston"

(United States)

Decided to use Boston since Hainan Airlines flies from here. Departure was easy with short immigration and security lines. Took about 30-45 minutes to get thru in Terminal E. Very few shops thereafter, but place was not very busy in mid afternoon. Arrival is a different story, immigration lines were very long. The ESTA system in use, with two counters open. Took one hour plus to get thru. By then, bags were on carousel. Cart provided free, and long custom line next. Fortunately, one of the officer waved us thru a special line with junior sleeping over my shoulders. Conclusion, I would not use Boston thinking it was easier than JFK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"okay airport to transfer at"

(Canada)

Verified Review | On arrival I started to see how dedicated the airport staff and TSA agents were. I was transferring from American to Westjet and having never been to the airport I didn't have the best idea of what I was up to. Upon approaching staff they made sure I had every ounce of information they could think of to make sure I would be going in the right direction. Talk about outstanding customer service. Being that Boston is right on the great Atlantic almost every variation of food has some form of seafood in it (a plus for me... there's nothing better than a good piece of lobster), but it does tend to be overpriced. There aren't that many shops (at least where my gate was) so it might be a bit underwhelming for the fanatic shopping-passengers. The airport was mostly clean, but the washrooms could have had some more attention paid to them. Overall, Boston is an okay airport to transfer at, the staff are very good at what they do, and although you may get bored, you probably won't have an issue flying through there again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"employees basically standing around doing nothing"

(United States)

Security at this airport is grossly inefficient and takes forever. We arrived at the airport two hours prior for a domestic flight. To start with, we were placed in an insanely long line by a TSA agent. Ten minutes later, we were pulled out of that line by another TSA agent and told to go to the back of an even longer line. When we told the agent that another TSA agent had put us in this line, her response was a curt, "I don't care." It took us well over an hour to get through security, then there was another ridiculously long line as they were scanning/checking bags. They had two scanners that were malfunctioning, and a bunch of employees basically standing around doing nothing. With all the security hassles, we barely made our flight with only 3 minutes to spare. All this after we showed up 2 hours beforehand! If you are flying out of this airport, I recommend arriving 3 hours prior if flying domestic, and be prepared for rude, unprofessional employees who constantly contradict one another.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the security line was absurd"

(United States)

Verified Review | The security line was absurd. Thankfully the line was not long when I arrived and I purchased extra speed check in through my airline because the TSA folks who were checking the bags in the X-ray machine were slower than I have ever experienced at any airport. There were at least 8 other tsa workers who were not doing anything, and did not assist the sole woman checking the bags. This equated to a 45 minute wait to get through X-ray and obtain my bags. Completely unacceptable. I had to run to my flight to make it as they were announcing my name over the loud speaker. I am lucky my flight waited for me. I am very disappointed in my wait time today and the lack of attention the tsa workers paid to everyone waiting for nothing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"never had a problem with sufficient airport seating"

(United States)

Logan has been my home airport since 1980. Pretty much used every terminal. The airport is in a constant metamorphosis. Slowly each terminal is being remodeled, and then again remodeled. It's constrained by limited real estate and traffic patterns much like Washington National. There is is no comparison to the bad old days of 1980 when it was essentially a regional airport. However long one must walk, it's nothing like Philadelphia. I agree that a post-security people-mover type of shuttle between terminals for connecting flights. Boston is not a hub airport. I wouldn't think of making a connecting flight out of Logan. It's only recently they've begun real bona-fide international flights to Europe. Every international flight I've ever taken has me switching in Newark/NY. Many of the comments I've read here are terminal-specific. Services are vastly different from one terminal to the next. Don't broadbrush the whole airport. I've seen TSA shut down their lines when demand is low, but then open right back up when it surges. Seen this at many airports. When it is open, it never, ever takes me more than 5 minutes to get through, worst-case. Restaurant quality and quantity is greatly improved. Cooked food after airport security? Yes, there is, again, depending on the specific terminal. Up until last year, you needed to pay for wireless. That's changed. The inconvenience of 45 minute disconnect is a small price to say. Even still, the Rochester, NY wireless service beats Logan any day. I've never had a problem with airport staff. Be friendly, you'll get it back. Be a jerk, you'll probably get it back. Never had a problem with sufficient airport seating. They are slow to install power connections in or near the seats. Lack of toilets? I've never had a problem and I always must go as soon as I get off.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"airport is badly in need of updating"

(United States)

This airport is badly in need of updating and a poor choice, especially if you need to change terminals between flights. There is no internal people mover between terminals so one either has to go back outside and take a shuttle bus to the next terminal or walk a very long corridor between terminals. Then one must get in a long line and go through security again with very curt, rude security workers. Also, Logan does not accept the Global entry card except on Delta, not even for national pre-TSA. The terminal was so overheated, especially after coming off an international flight and having to go without water until I got through 2 long security lines with a long passage in between. I have medical problems such as heart arrhythmias and carry a cane for lupus arthritis, so these issues could have caused a medical emergency. So my family will avoid this airport until it goes through the needed renovations,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worse places to be stuck on a long layover"

(Canada)

An embarrassing gateway and one of the worst airports for a layover. 1) Gateway: As is always the case when someone arrives from outside North America to a US port of entry, we had to claim our baggage. And in every other airport in the world, we would re-check it immediately after customs. But not in Boston. There was no baggage re-check desk for the Star Alliance nor was anyone who worked there aware of one. I asked one of the people in the recheck area what to do. She snarked that we had to take our baggage to the check-in desk in Terminal B. To put this in perspective, the gateway for international passengers is in Terminal E. Boston has no shuttle train between terminals and its bus stop is quite a bit away from the terminal and goes off-site to the T station before returning to the airport, so we had to walk it three quarters of the way around the not-so-small airport to get between terminals. It’s not the most straight-forward of walks between terminals: it goes inside and outside, up elevators, across parking garages—you get the picture. When we arrived at Terminal B, the airline staff member said, “Oh, we do have a drop over there.” I said it wasn’t marked and no one there knew about it. He snarked, “Well that’s the airport.” 2) Layover: If you like cramped waiting areas with 1 recharging station serving passengers at three gates inside the secure area, or visiting Dunkin Donuts stands whose staff desert them but fail to leave any indication that the place is closed or lounges whose servers who keep saying the other server will help you, then this is the place to hang out. But for the rest of us, the cramped conditions, lousy selection, lousier service, and lack of any suitable place to wait makes Logan one of the worse places to be stuck on a long layover between flights. When the layover occurs following an international flight to world-class airports in Europe and Asia that were designed for comfort and efficiency between flights, the conditions at Logan look all the worse. 3) Overall: After experiencing some of the efficient, pleasant, spacious gateways in Amsterdam, Helsinki, Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Copenhagen in recent months, my trip to Logan made me feel like I had gone back in time from the 21st to the 20th century. As a former Boston resident, I expect to find history in Boston-just not at the airport. And as an American, I felt like this gateway was anything but welcoming to visitors.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"over 2 hours later we cleared immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Well, what can you say, we were a party of our, traveling from London into Boston, arrived on time, ushered into the hall leading to the immigration area, barked at by an official to stand in the left or right depending on your status. We were then ushered in to hall (notice on wall stating no washrooms after this point). We then moved very slowly, out a possible 8 desks 2 were staffed, at one point these closed while they changed shift! Over 2 hours later and with 2 of our group bursting for the "restroom" we cleared immigration. We are fully aware how important and serious homeland sercurity is but come guys, get your act together, you know full well when the busy times are and you know where the planes are coming from, get more staff. On telling others of our disappointment it appears this is an ongoing problem. This situation must be affecting tourism. There were notices in the hall to say who to contact if you were unhappy but also notices to say no photos, so to head of homeland security, take note please. The good news, departure was smooth.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is conveniently close to the city"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | The airport is conveniently close to the city and it is easy to get to. The terminal I used - E - had a grand hall with complimentary internet, which worked just fine (despite only allowing free sessions of 45 minutes each time). However, I was a tad taken aback when I passed the security checks - which were very quick, I must say - as the terminal looked too utilitarian and did not really make anyone feel comfortable or welcome. I did like the many electricity sockets available and the rocking chairs by the windows. Also, the screens all over the airport only show the flight numbers, times, airlines and terminal and do not show if the flight is boarding, for example. It would be convenient to have such information on the boards, so that people do not rely only on the information over the speakers. Not to mention that some people have hearing impairments.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"quick, fair and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Logan early evening and expected a long wait for immigration, I was wrong. There were a few empty desks which I initially thought was a little unfair considering how many intercontinental flights were all in attendance. However, desks were opened and immigration and customs were quick, fair and friendly. No frills, but who wants that when you have a hotel to get to. Domestic departures (Terminal C) was clean, efficient and smooth. Very nice indeed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 81 Reviews