Boston Logan Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 126 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"What an awful airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | What an awful airport. Every problem is under control of the airport management, US immigration and TSA, not airlines. Skybridge for international arrival was "discovered" to be inoperative. Passengers forced to remain on aircraft more than one hour while airport marshaled buses to drive them around the airport to another walk-in entrance. Baggage transfer location (transfer bags from international to domestic connections) staffed by only one person at desk; another staff gave incorrect instructions causing delays. US immigration required everyone to walk through a Disney maze for 5 minutes even though there were no other customers (late flight); had to use automated scan system; then had to go through another actual line with INS agents to do the same job. Way-finding signage after baggage transfer non-existent. Inquiries to uniformed police resulted in more misinformation sending us to locked doors, stairs without elevators and eventually walking outside to walk to terminal. Terminal design is terrible (as others have commented); but the simplest aides to overcome (signage and staffing). Because we were forced to go outside, had to go through TSA screening again; TSA staff were clustered together talking about their off-times and how long their hours were; and the few working were surly and slow. We are experienced international travelers. It is easier to negotiate airports in non-English speaking airports like Stockholm, Paris, Barcelona and Tokyo than Logan.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the most poorly-designed airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I've never felt compelled to write a review about an airport before, but I had never been to Boston Logan Airport before either. This place is the most poorly-designed airport that I've ever encountered. I think someone would literally have to TRY in order to construct something more horribly inadequate for flyers. I had no issues with staff or anything, my main issue is with the fact that the terminals are segregated into tiny sections that are wholly unequipped to accommodate the number of people that have to occupy them. Security dumps everyone out right into the gate areas, which make traversing through the already puny space incredibly difficult. There are maybe four tiny restaurants in each wing (which means they're packed at any reasonable hour) and the gates have far too little seating. I walked around for over an hour before I was able to poach a seat at a random gate that had just started boarding. It's that bad. What a mess!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"apathy does not build confidence"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They closed pre TSA at 8 pm. Then the TSA people - where do they even get these guys who seemed so unconcerned. I know they are trying to screen and protect us. But their mannerisms. Their apathy really does not build confidence.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Doesn't anyone monitor them?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A couple of the baggage staff were quite rude and sarcastic ("this isn't complicated people"). I was told 2 days earlier by the security staff in Raleigh, N.C. that I didn't need to remove my Ipad, then the opposite by a member of the Logan security team. "I don't know why anyone would tell you that". While I understand the job may be stressful, don't take it out on me and other travelers by being rude. We all have stress in our lives and I don't need your rude behavior to aggravate me and make my day worse. Doesn't anyone monitor them?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely predictably awful"

(United States)

Not Verified | Delays every week on my return trips home from business travel. Absolutely predictably awful. Ground delays or some other excuse. Use another airport if possible. Oh, and the most expensive airport parking Fly elsewhere. I recommend MHT if possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"less appealing airport"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | After many years that I am traveling to and from Boston I can tell that Boston is still one of the less appealing airports I traveled in. They improved a lot the arrival zone, but terminal E is really depressing. Always a long line for the security - luckily the staff is friendly - and 4 shops, literally. It is too bad for an international airport like Logan.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"TSA staff were working hard"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived terminal E, 7.30pm. After delay waiting for airbridge to disembark it all went well. First time ESTA passenger, line initially looked long slow and disorganised, but TSA staff were working hard to send people to the shortest lines, bags waiting on reclaim belt. On SL1 to downtown within 50 minutes of landing. Can't complain. Departure at 9.40pm was equally painless, check in fast security not bad, staff not the friendliest but the hardware they are given is cumbersome compared to that at somewhere like LHR. The only downside was the Priority Pass 'Club'. It looked as if it has been refurbished recently, but with the cheapest dingiest materials available, more like a government waiting room, and I mean the old soviet block. Food was very poor. Hey but not as bad as the Aspire lounges in the UK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no appealing dining options"

(United States)

Verified Review | Airport should be scraped from the ground and rebuilt from ground up. Massport's planning is grossly inadequate and infrastructure inadequate. This airport is a bad nightmare of 1960's shortsighted planning. Wifi is terrible, bathrooms filthy, no appealing dining options and surly staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"major overhaul is required"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | At Terminal C the lines for security checks are a slow and tedious process, not because of thorough checking, no that would be acceptable. The reason for the tardy lines is the attitude and laziness of the (clearly not supervised) TSA agents. A major overhaul is required Boston, the airport is many people’s first, last and over-riding impression of a city. Boston’s Logan lets down an otherwise friendly place. Marty Walsh, it’s a good job no-one is running against you! The city should be ashamed of the TSA staff and the lasting impression of a lazy, poorly organised team, not what you see elsewhere in New England.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rude and unhelpful today"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Security staff terminal A. While I appreciate that they do a vital job for the safety of all of us, and they are under a lot of pressure, the security staff at terminal A were rude and unhelpful today. I was told off by one staff member for leaving one item in my pocket, as if I were already under some sort of investigation. It was a clear plastic wallet containing money, which I did not want exposed to public glare. I then found four trays of my belongings piling up at the end of the runners tipping over, being pushed by the following trays, risking my laptop, kindle and phone being sent crashing to the floor. I had to grab them and was left with an empty tray to get rid of, with nowhere to put it, and no staff offering to help. My reaction was to throw it back onto the runners as I felt I had no other choice, and the staff thought I was throwing it at them. I admit my reaction was not the best one, but I felt pushed into a corner by the staff doing nothing to help me and being rather aggressive. When I asked where I could go to sort my things out the answer was "I dunno, get outta here". Unhelpful, rude. This contrasts markedly with the courtesy, helpfulness, and friendliness of everybody else we have met in Boston, including strangers. It also contrasts with the attitude of security staff at other airports I have travelled from recently, such as London Heathrow, Arrecife Lanzarote and Gibraltar. I apologise for my own reaction, but may I respectfully suggest your terminal A security staff undergo some more training in how to be constructively helpful and courteous?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no